Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Genetics, Paillomavirus and Human Cancer


  Director : Michel FAVRE (mfavre@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

In our previous studies, two genes (EVER1 and EVER2) were identified which control the susceptibility to infection with the human papillomaviruses specifically associated with epidermodysplasia verruciformis (EV HPVs), in particular the oncogenic HPV5. Our aim is to determine the function of EVER proteins and to define their mechanism of action and their role in the control of EV HPV infections. This should open new perspectives to the study of the susceptibility to oncogenic cutaneous or genital HPVs.



  report

cale

Epidermodysplasia verruciformis (EV) is a rare genodermatosis, with an autosomal recessive transmission, that is characterized by an abnormal susceptibility to related HPVs (EV HPVs) and to the development of skin carcinomas associated with HPV5. We showed that homozygous mutations in EVER1 or EVER2 gene confer the susceptibility to EV. EVER genes encode transmembrane proteins (photo) with unknown function.

Function of EVER proteins

Our first objective was to determine the tissue and cell types expressing EVER genes and the signal (cytokines, chemokines) regulating their expression. Our preliminary data suggest distinct modes of regulation of the expression of EVER1 and EVER2 genes. Indeed, we found a high level of expression of EVER genes in different cell lines derived from the immune system. In contrast, whereas high levels of EVER1 transcripts were detected in different keratinocyte lines, EVER2 transcripts were only detected by a sensitive RT-PCR method.

A second objective was to identify the cellular proteins interacting with EVER proteins, using a two-hybrid method. We constructed a cDNA library obtained from the human keratinocyte HaCaT line in Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Two cellular proteins interacting with the EVER2 protein have been already identified. We are currently studying the biological significance of these interactions.

A third objective is to identify the signaling pathway(s) altered by a mutation in one of either EVER genes, by using the lymphoblastoid cell lines we established from EV patients and healthy relatives.

Role of EVER proteins in the interaction between EV HPVs and keratinocytes

Our aim is to find out whether EVER proteins are involved in the permissivity of keratinocytes to infection with EV HPVs or in the establishment of innate immune responses leading to the eradication of the lesions induced by these viruses. We are currently establishing the conditions for keratinocyte culture and differentiation in vitro in order to analyze the impact of EVER1 or EVER2 mutations (keratinocytes of EV patients) on the first stages of HPV5 infection (virion entry, transport of the viral genome to the nucleus) and on the HPV5 genome transcription (E1, E2, E6, and E7 genes). The late stages of the virus life cycle (viral DNA replication and virion production) will be studied in differentiating keratinocyte raft cultures. Comparative analysis of the transcriptomes of infected keratinocytes from patients or healthy relatives should allow the identification of the genes or signaling pathways differentially expressed.

Cellular proteins and signaling pathways targeted by EV HPVs

Our aim is to identify cellular protein targets of the early proteins of HPV5 that could account for the distinct biological properties of oncogenic (HPV5) and non oncogenic (HPV9) EV HPVs. Our first approach has been to identify the cellular proteins interacting with HPV5 E6 and E7 oncoproteins by the two-hybrid method in yeast. We identified several proteins involved in the TNFα , TGF-α 1 and calcium signaling pathways or in the cell cycle regulation. Our second approach will be to use the TAP-TAG method coupled to mass spectrometry (MALDI-TOF method). We are currently studying the interference of the E6 protein with the TGF-α 1 signaling pathway. This cytokine induces the synthesis of proteins blocking the cellular transition G1-S. The release of this block is a necessary step to allow the viral genome replication.

Further study of these interacting proteins and their involvement in cellular pathways should lead to a better understanding of the cellular mechanisms altered by the viral oncoproteins and, more generally, of the transformation processes induced by oncogenic HPVs.

Photo :

EVER2 protein (red) is a membrane protein located in the cytoplasm in the endoplasmic reticulum. No EVER2 protein is detected in the cytoplasmic membrane (green).

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, genetic predisposition, epidermodysplasia verruciformis, EVER1 and EVER2 genes, human cancers, signaling pathways, virology



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Senlecques, Danielle (dsenlecq@pasteur.fr), secretary of the Department of Virology Favre, Michel, INSERM (Unit Head, DR2, mfavre@pasteur.fr)

Breitburd, Françoise, INSERM (DR2, fbreit@pasteur.fr)

Jacob, Yves, Institut Pasteur (CR, yjacob@pasteur.fr)

Mendoza-Gaviria, José-Andrès (PhD student, jmendoza@pasteur.fr) Cassonnet Patricia (IP, senior technician, pcassonn@pasteur.fr)

Pons, Christian (IP, technician, cpons@pasteur.fr)

Ajinca, Marthe (IP, laboratory assistant)


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Génétique Papillomavirus et Cancer humain


  Responsable : Michel FAVRE (mfavre@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Deux gènes (EVER1 et EVER2) de prédisposition à l'infection par des papillomavirus humains spécifiques de l'épidermodysplasie verruciforme (EV), en particulier le PVH5 oncogène, ont été identifiés dans notre unité. Notre but est de déterminer la fonction des protéines EVER et de définir leur mécanisme d'action et leur rôle dans le contrôle de l'infection par les PVH de l'EV. Ceci devrait ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives dans l'étude de la sensibilité à des PVH cutanés et génitaux oncogènes.



  rapport

cale

L'épidermodysplasie verruciforme (EV) est une génodermatose rare, à transmission autosomique récessive, qui est caractérisée par une sensibilité anormale à des PVH apparentés (PVH de l'EV) et au développement de cancers cutanés associés au PVH5. Nous avons montré que des mutations homozygotes dans le gène EVER1 ou EVER2 confèrent la sensibilité à l'EV. Les gènes EVER codent des protéines transmembranaires (photo) dont la fonction n'est pas connue.

Fonction des protéines EVER

Un premier objectif de nos recherches a été de déterminer le tissu et le type de cellules exprimant les gènes EVER et les signaux (cytokines, chémokines) qui régulent leur expression. Nos travaux préliminaires suggèrent des modes de régulation différents de l'expression des gènes EVER1 et EVER2. En effet, nous avons montré une expression importante des gènes EVER dans différentes lignées de cellules du système immunitaire. En revanche, alors que d'abondants transcrits EVER1 ont été mis en évidence dans différentes lignées de kératinocytes, les transcrits EVER2 n'ont été détectés que par une méthode très sensible de RT-PCR.

Le deuxième objectif est d'identifier par une méthode de double hybride les protéines cellulaires partenaires des protéines EVER. Nous avons, dans ce but, construit chez Saccharomyces cerevisiae une banque d'expression d'ADN complémentaires obtenus de la lignée de kératinocytes humains HaCaT. Deux protéines cellulaires interagissant avec la protéine EVER2 ont déjà été identifiées. Nous étudions actuellement la signification biologique des interactions observées.

Le troisième objectif est d'identifier par une approche transcriptome la ou les voies physiologiques altérées par une mutation dans l'un ou l'autre des gènes EVER. Nous avons établi pour cette étude des lignées de cellules lymphoblastoïdes isolées à partir de patients atteints d'EV et de sujets sains de la même famille.

Rôle des protéines EVER dans l'interaction des PVH de l'EV avec les kératinocytes

Notre objectif est de déterminer si les protéines EVER sont impliquées dans la permissivité des kératinocytes à l'infection par les PVH de l'EV ou dans la mise en place de la réponse immunitaire innée qui pourrait conduire à l'éradication des lésions induites par ces virus. Nous mettons actuellement au point les conditions de culture de kératinocytes et de leur différenciation in vitro afin d'analyser l'impact de mutations dans le gène EVER1 ou EVER2 (kératinocytes de patients atteints d'EV) sur les premières étapes de l'infection par le PVH5 (entrée des virions, transport du génome viral vers le noyau) et sur la transcription du génome du PVH5 (gènes E1, E2, E6 et E7). Les étapes tardives du cycle viral (réplication de l'ADN et production de virions) seront étudiées dans des kératinocytes en voie de différenciation (cultures en radeau). Une analyse comparative du transcriptome de kératinocytes infectés de patients et de sujets sains devrait permettre d'identifier les gènes ou les voies de signalisation différentiellement exprimés.

Protéines cellulaires et voies de signalisation cibles des PVH de l'EV

Notre but est d'identifier les protéines cellulaires cibles des protéines précoces du PVH5 qui pourraient rendre compte des propriétés biologiques distinctes des PVH de l'EV oncogène (PVH5) et non oncogène (PVH9).

Nous avons, dans un premier temps, identifié les protéines cellulaires partenaires des oncoprotéines E6 et E7 du PVH5 par la technique du double hybride chez la levure. Nous avons mis en évidence plusieurs protéines impliquées dans les voies de signalisation du TNFα, du TGF-α1 et du calcium ou dans le contrôle du cycle cellulaire. Dans un deuxième temps, nous étendrons nos travaux à l'étude de complexes multi protéiques à l'aide de la méthode de purification en tandem par affinité (TAP-TAG) couplée aux capacités analytiques de la spectrométrie de masse (méthode MALDI-TOF). Nous étudions actuellement l'interférence de la protéine E6 dans la voie de signalisation du TGF-α 1. Cette cytokine induit la synthèse de protéines qui bloquent le passage des cellules de la phase G1 à la phase S. La levée de ce blocage constitue une étape nécessaire à la réplication du génome viral.

L'étude de ces interacteurs et leur intégration dans les voies de signalisation cellulaire devrait apporter une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes cellulaires perturbés par les oncoprotéines virales et, plus généralement, des processus de transformation induits par les PVH oncogènes.

Légende:

La protéine EVER2 (en rouge) est une protéine membranaire localisée dans le cytoplasme au niveau du réticulum endoplasmique. Elle est absente de la membrane cytoplasmique (en vert).

Mots-clés: Papillomavirus humain, prédisposition génétique, épidermodysplasie verruciforme, gènes EVER1 et EVER2, cancers humains, voies de signalisation, virologie



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Senlecques, Danielle (dsenlecq@pasteur.fr), secrétaire du Département de Virologie Favre, Michel, INSERM (Chef d’unité, DR2, mfavre@pasteur.fr)

Breitburd, Françoise, INSERM (DR2, fbreit@pasteur.fr)

Jacob, Yves, Institut Pasteur (CR, yjacob@pasteur.fr)

Mendoza-Gaviria, José-Andrès (doctorant, jmendoza@pasteur.fr) Cassonnet Patricia (IP, technicienne supérieure, pcassonn@pasteur.fr)

Pons, Christian (IP, technicien, cpons@pasteur.fr)

Ajinca, Marthe (IP, agent de laboratoire)


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr