Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Genomics of Microbial Pathogens


  Director : Frank KUNST, Philippe GLASER (fkunst@pasteur.fr, pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We study the evolution and adaptation of three opportunistic bacterial pathogens: Listeria monocytogenes, Streptococcus agalactiae and Legionella pneumophila. Our goal is to understand the interactions between these bacteria, their hosts and their environments by combining comparative genomics, transcriptome analysis, bacterial physiology and genetics. To elucidate the genomic bases of the acquisition of virulence determinants by these pathogens, we study the diversity and evolution of the genera to which they belong.



  report

cale

The species Listeria monocytogenes and the genus Listeria (C. Buchrieser, C. Rusniok, T. Vallaeys, P. Severino, S. Duperrier, P. Glaser)

Listeria monocytogenes is an opportunistic pathogen causing serious food-borne infections (mortality rate up to 30 %) The clinical signs of listeriosis are most frequently meningitis, abortion and neonatal infections. The genus Listeria comprises two pathogenic species, L. monocytogenes and L. ivanovii (a ruminant pathogen), and four non-pathogenic relatives: L. innocua, L. seeligeri, L. welshimeri and L. grayi. We have sequenced and analyzed the first complete genome sequence of L. monocytogenes (strain EGD-e), and have compared it to the genome sequence of L. innocua (Glaser et al., 2001). In order to get a better insight into virulence of pathogenic Listeria we have now determined and analyzed the genome sequence of an epidemic strain of L. monocytogenes (serovar 4b). In collaboration with the National Reference Centre for Listeria (directed by P. Martin), we have used these sequence data to design and construct macroarrays carrying 739 genes specific for at least one of the sequenced Listeria strains. Hybridization results obtained for 263 L. monocytogenes strains of different origin and characteristics as well as for 20 strains representing the remaining 5 species of the genus Listeria show that this "Listeria-array" is a promising typing tool allowing distinction of species within the genus Listeria and classification of strains belonging to the species L. monocytogenes. Analyses in progress aim to better characterize the genomic bases of the epidemic strains.

A second aim is to understand the regulatory networks affecting virulence of L. monocytogenes. Thus we use macro-arrays containing all genes of L. monocytogenes EGDe to perform comparative expression profiling of the wild type strains and derived mutants, in which regulatory genes are inactivated. These experiments are performed under various growth conditions, reflecting different environments encountered by Listeria during infection.

The species Streptococcus agalactiae (M. Brochet, E. Couvé, M. Zouine, C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, P. Glaser, F. Kunst)

We have recently determined the complete genome sequence of strain NEM316, which caused sepsis in a newborn. Based on this sequence we constructed macroarrays containing PCR products representing the complete genome. In collaboration with the teams of P. Trieu-Cuot (Institut Pasteur) and C. Poyart (Hôpital Cochin), we have studied the genes covRS encoding a two-component regulatory system affecting the expression of a large number of secreted proteins, surface proteins and virulence factors (Lamy et al., 2004). These macroarrays were also used to study biodiversity of strains of the species S. agalactiae of highly diverse origins. This has allowed us to identify a highly conserved "core" genome and plasticity regions located in islands, representing, in certain cases, pathogenicity islands.

The covRS system affects only a subset of virulence genes and surface proteins. To characterize additional regulatory networks affecting the synthesis of these proteins, we have developed an high throughput immunological screening method using high-density membranes. This method allows the identification of mutations affecting the expression of secreted or surface proteins. Using this method, we identified differences in the level of expression of certain proteins among different S. agalactiae strains, probably due to a mechanism of phase variation. Based on these results, candidate proteins for the development of a vaccine will be chosen.

The projects on L. monocytogenes and S. agalactiae are carried out in the framework of a GPH funded by the Institut Pasteur and coordinated by Pascale Cossart " Towards therapeutics against low-GC% Gram-positive bacteria ".

Genome analysis of Neisseria meningitidis (C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, E. Couvé, P. Glaser)

Neisseria meningitidis is the etiological agent of meningitis. Vladimir Pelicic (Faculté de Medecine Necker) has constructed a transposon library of 4000 insertion mutants of N. meningitidis 8013 (serogroup C), and characterized by sequencing the transposon insertion sites of 4000 mutants. We have determined the complete genome sequence of this strain. We are analyzing this sequence by comparing it with the three other genome sequences available for this species. The complete genome sequence in combination with the 4000 mutants characterized and positioned on the chromosome will be a powerful tool for identifying virulence genes and for the phenotypic characterization of these genes.

The species L. pneumophila and the genus Legionella (C. Cazalet, H. Brüggemann, A. Hagman, F. Kunst, P. Glaser, C. Buchrieser)

Legionella is an environmental bacterium that colonizes natural water reservoirs and water circuits. Two species, L. pneumophila and L. longbeachae, are responsible for the majority of legionellose cases worldwide.

We have determined the genome sequence of L. pneumophila strain Paris (3.5 Mb), an endemic and epidemic strain in France, and that of the epidemic strain L. pneumophila Lens, in collaboration with the National Reference Centre for Legionella (directed by Jérôme Etienne), Anjou Recherche-Veolia Water, and the Genopole Institut Pasteur. The two most striking features of Legionella are: 1) a large number of genes encoding proteins similar to eukaryotic proteins. Some of these proteins may modulate host functions; 2) a very high genome plasticity as 9 - 13 % of the genomes are specific for each strain (Cazalet et al., 2004).

In order to characterize the diversity present among different Legionella species, we have partially sequenced the genome of a L. longbeachae strain, the second cause of legionelloses in Australia, and the genome of a non-pathogenic relative, L. anisa. The comparison of these partial sequences with those of the L. pneumophila strains has revealed a considerable diversity among Legionella species : for example, only 50 % of L. pneumophila and L. longbeachae genes are orthologous.

Based on these genome data we are developing a genome-based epidemiology project, in collaboration with the National Reference Centre for Legionella and the Anjou Recherche to identify virulence factors, to develop a molecular typing tool and to exploit genomic features from strains isolated from patients to predict the risk following contamination.

European networks

The Unit participates in the establishment of two networks, recently accepted by the European Commission. The Network of Excellence " Europathogenomics ", coordinated by J. Hacker (Univ. Würzburg, Germany) aims to create a scientific impetus in the field of functional genomics of pathogenic bacteria, to favour collaborations and to propose training for postdoctoral researchers. The goal of ERA-NET is the coordination of research efforts of member states to lead to a structured European research on bacterial and fungal pathogens for humans.

Keywords: genomics, comparative genomics, evolution, transcriptome, microbial pathogens, virulence, regulations



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  SAINT MARTIN Françoise (martinf@pasteur.fr) BUCHRIESER Carmen, IP (Chargé de Recherche IP, cbuch@pasteur.fr)

GLASER Philippe, IP (Chef de Laboratoire IP, pglaser@pasteur.fr)

KUNST Frank, CNRS, IP (DR2 CNRS, Chef d’Unité, fkunst@pasteur.fr)

VALLAEYS Tatiana, INRA (CR1, vallaeys@pasteur.fr)

VERGASSOLA Massimo, CNRS (DR2, massimo@pasteur.fr)

BROCHET Mathieu (Ph. D. Student, mbrochet@pasteur.fr)

BRÜGGEMAN Holger, IP (Postdoctoral fellow, hbruegg@pasteur.fr)

CAZALET Christel, CNRS (Ph . D. Student, ccazalet@pasteur.fr)

DUPERRIER Sandra (Technician, sandra@pasteur.fr)

HAGMAN Arne (Ph. D. Student, ahagman@pasteur.fr)

HEJNOVA Jana, (Ph. D. Student, jana@pasteur.fr)

SEVERINO Patricia (Ph. D. Student, patisev@pasteur.fr)

ZOUINE Mohamed, IP (Postdoctoral fellow, mzouine@pasteur.fr)

COUVÉ Elisabeth, IP (Technician, ecouve@pasteur.fr)

MOURIER Claude, IP (Laboratory assistant, cmourier@pasteur.fr)

RUSNIOK Christophe, IP (Technician, rusniok@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Génomique des Micro-Organismes Pathogènes


  Responsable : Frank KUNST, Philippe GLASER (fkunst@pasteur.fr, pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions l'évolution et l'adaptation de trois bactéries pathogènes opportunistes : Listeria monocytogenes, Streptococcus agalactiae et Legionella pneumophila. Notre objectif est de comprendre les interactions entre ces bactéries, leurs hôtes et les environnements qu'elles rencontrent en combinant la génomique comparative, l'analyse du transcriptome, la physiologie bactérienne et la génétique. Pour élucider les bases génomiques de l'acquisition de la virulence par ces espèces pathogènes, nous étudions également la diversité et l'évolution des genres auxquels ces bactéries pathogènes appartiennent.



  rapport

cale

L'espèce Listeria monocytogenes et le genre Listeria (C. Buchrieser, C. Rusniok, T. Vallaeys, P. Severino, S. Duperrier, P. Glaser)

Listeria monocytogenes est une bactérie responsable d'infections d'origine alimentaire, mortelle dans 30 % des cas, dont les signes cliniques les plus fréquents sont des méningites, des avortements et des infections néonatales. Le genre Listeria comprend deux espèces pathogènes, L. monocytogenes et L. ivanovii (pathogène des ruminants), et quatre non-pathogènes : L. innocua, L. seeligeri, L. welshimeri et L. grayi. Nous avons publié la première séquence génomique de L. monocytogenes (souche EGDe) en la comparant à celle de l'espèce la plus proche non-pathogène L. innocua (Glaser et al. 2001). Nous avons maintenant déterminé et analysé la séquence génomique d'une souche épidémique de L. monocytogenes (sérovar 4b) afin de mieux comprendre la virulence des Listeria pathogènes. Pour avoir une connaissance génomique approfondie du genre Listeria nous déterminons, en collaboration avec le consortium allemand PathoGenoMics, les séquences des génomes des quatre autres espèces de Listeria. La connaissance des génomes de toutes les espèces d'un genre nous apporte une information unique pour étudier l'évolution bactérienne.

Nous étudions en collaboration avec le Centre National de Référence des Listeria (Institut Pasteur), la diversité de l'espèce L. monocytogenes et la spécificité des souches d'origine clinique, par hybridation de macro-arrays portant 739 gènes spécifiques d'au moins une des souches séquencées. Les résultats d'hybridation obtenus pour 263 souches de L. monocytogenes, d'origine et de caractéristiques différentes, et pour 20 souches représentant toutes les espèces du genre Listeria montrent que ces puces sont un outil de typage puissant permettant de différencier les espèces du genre Listeria et de subdiviser les souches appartenant à l'espèce L. monocytogenes. Les analyses en cours ont pour but de mieux caractériser les bases génomiques des souches épidémiques.

Pour comprendre des réseaux de régulation impliqués dans la virulence de L. monocytogenes nous étudions à l'aide des macro-arrays, portant l'ensemble des gènes de L. monocytogenes EGDe, les profils d'expressions, dans différentes conditions de croissance, de la souche EGDe, ou de souches mutées dans des gènes de régulation. Ces conditions sont choisies pour permettre de modéliser l'interaction avec l'hôte. Cet outil nous permet aussi d'étudier la spécificité des profils d'expression des souches d'origine clinique comparées aux souches environnementales.

L'espèce Streptococcus agalactiae (M. Brochet, E. Couvé, M. Zouine, C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, P. Glaser, F. Kunst)

Nous avons déterminé la séquence complète du génome de la souche de S. agalactiae NEM316 qui a été responsable d'un cas de septicémie fatale chez un nouveau-né. Sur la base de cette séquence, nous avons développé des macro-arrays portant des sondes représentant l'ensemble des gènes de cette souche. En collaboration avec les équipes de P. Trieu-Cuot (Insitut Pasteur) et C. Poyart (Hôpital Cochin), nous avons étudié les gènes covRS codant pour un système de régulation à deux composants contrôlant l'expression d'un grand nombre de gènes codant pour des protéines de surface ou secrétées et des facteurs de virulence (Lamy et al., 2004). L'hybridation de ces puces avec de l'ADN de souches de S. agalactiae d'origines très diverses nous a permis d'identifier un " squelette génomique " très conservé parmi les différentes souches et des zones de plasticité localisées dans des îlots, représentant, dans certains cas, des îlots de pathogénicité.

Le système CovRS ne régule qu'une fraction des facteurs de virulence et des protéines de surface. Afin de caractériser les réseaux de régulations impliqués dans la synthèse de ces protéines, nous avons développé une procédure de criblage immunologique de clones sur membrane à haute densité. Cette méthodologie permet d'identifier des mutations affectant l'expression de protéines de surface ou sécrétées. Elle a aussi permis de mettre en évidence un niveau d'expression variable d'une protéine de surface entre différentes souches de S. agalactiae, révélant ainsi un phénomène de variation de phase. Ces résultats seront utilisés pour le choix des protéines candidates pour le développement d'un vaccin contre S. agalactiae.

Les projets sur L. monocytogenes et S. agalactiae s'inscrivent dans le cadre du GPH de l'Institut Pasteur " Towards new therapeutics against low-GC% Gram-positive bacteria ", coordonné par Pascale Cossart.

Analyse du génome de Neisseria meningitidis (C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, E. Couvé, P. Glaser)

Neisseria meningitidis est responsable de méningites. Vladimir Pelicic (Faculté de Médecine Necker) a construit une collection de 4000 mutants d'insertion de la souche de N. meningitidis 8013 (Sérogroupe C) pour lesquels son équipe a déterminé par séquençage les sites d'insertion des transposons. Nous avons déterminé la séquence complète du génome de cette souche que nous analysons actuellement en la comparant aux trois autres séquences génomiques disponibles pour cette espèce. Nous aurons alors à notre disposition un outil unique comprenant la séquence complète du génome de la souche parentale, et une collection de 4000 souches mutantes caractérisées au niveau moléculaire.

L'espèce Legionella pneumophila et le genre Legionella (C. Cazalet, H. Brüggemann, A. Hagman, F. Kunst, P. Glaser, C. Buchrieser)

Legionella est une bactérie de l'environnement colonisant la majorité des eaux naturelles et des circuits d'eau. Deux espèces, L. pneumophila et L. longbeachae sont responsables de la majorité des cas de légionellose à travers le monde.

Nous avons déterminé la séquence génomique de L. pneumophila dite " Paris " (3,5 Mb), endémique en France et celle d'une souche épidémique, L. pneumophila " Lens " (3,3 Mb) en collaboration avec le Centre National de Référence des Legionella (Equipe INSERM E320, dirigée par Jérôme Etienne, Lyon), la Société Anjou Recherche-Veolia Water et la Génopole Institut Pasteur. L'analyse révèle deux caractéristiques spécifiques à L. pneumophila : 1) un grand nombre de gènes codent pour des protéines similaires à des protéines eucaryotes. Certaines de ces protéines pourraient moduler des fonctions de l'hôte; 2) une très grand plasticité génomique, 9% à 13% des génomes sont spécifiques pour chaque souche (Cazalet et al., 2004).

Pour analyser la diversité génomique au sein du genre Legionella, nous avons réalisé le séquençage partiel d'une souche de L. longbeachae, deuxième espèce responsable de légionellose en Australie et d'une souche non-pathogène, L. anisa. La comparaison de ces séquences partielles avec celles des souches de L. pneumophila révèle une diversité considérable au sein du genre Legionella : 50 % seulement des gènes de L. pneumophila et L. longbeachae sont par exemple orthologues.

Afin d'identifier des facteurs de virulence, de développer un outil de typage, d'exploiter des caractéristiques génomiques aux souches isolées de malades, et pour prédire le risque associé à une contamination nous avons mis en place un projet d'épidémiologie génomique, en collaboration avec le Centre National de Référence des Legionella et la Société Anjou Recherche. Nous utiliserons l'ensemble de ces informations génomiques pour développer une puce qui servira à la caractérisation génomique d'isolats de Legionella.

Réseaux européens

L'unité participe à la mise en place de deux réseaux qui ont été récemment acceptés par la Commission Européenne. L'objectif du Réseau d'Excellence " Europathogenomics ", coordonné par J. Hacker (Université de Würzburg, Allemagne), est de créer une dynamique scientifique dans le domaine d'étude de la génomique fonctionnelle des bactéries pathogènes, de favoriser des collaborations et de proposer des formations à des chercheurs postdoctoraux. L'objectif d'ERA-NET est de coordonner les efforts de recherche des états membres afin d'aboutir à un espace Européen de la recherche moléculaire sur les bactéries et les champignons pathogènes pour l'homme.

Mots-clés: génomique, génomique comparative, évolution, transcriptome, bactéries pathogènes, virulence, régulations



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  SAINT MARTIN Françoise (martinf@pasteur.fr) BUCHRIESER Carmen, IP (Chargé de Recherche IP, cbuch@pasteur.fr)

GLASER Philippe, IP (Chef de Laboratoire IP, pglaser@pasteur.fr)

KUNST Frank, CNRS, IP (DR2 CNRS, Chef d’Unité, fkunst@pasteur.fr)

VALLAEYS Tatiana, INRA (CR1, vallaeys@pasteur.fr)

VERGASSOLA Massimo, CNRS (DR2, massimo@pasteur.fr)

BROCHET Mathieu (Étudiant en thèse, mbrochet@pasteur.fr)

BRÜGGEMAN Holger, IP (Chercheur post-doctoral, hbruegg@pasteur.fr)

CAZALET Christel, CNRS (Étudiante en thèse, ccazalet@pasteur.fr)

DUPERRIER Sandra (Technicienne Supérieure, sandra@pasteur.fr)

HAGMAN Arne (Étudiant en thèse, ahagman@pasteur.fr)

HEJNOVA Jana, (Étudiante en thèse, jana@pasteur.fr)

SEVERINO Patricia (Étudiante en thèse, patisev@pasteur.fr)

ZOUINE Mohamed, IP (Chercheur post-doctoral, mzouine@pasteur.fr)

COUVÉ Elisabeth, IP (Technicienne supérieure, ecouve@pasteur.fr)

MOURIER Claude, IP (Aide de Laboratoire, cmourier@pasteur.fr)

RUSNIOK Christophe, IP (Technicien supérieur, rusniok@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr