Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Morphogenesis Molecular Genetics


  Director : Benoît ROBERT (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory is studying the function of Msx homeobox genes, using mouse mutants that we produced. These genes are involved in the transduction of molecular signals (BMPs, WNTs…) at major sites of embryonic induction, such as the apical region of the limb buds or the dorsal midline of the neural tube. Experimental evidence further suggests that they play a role in maintenance of cell plasticity. Through the analysis of these genes, we are involved in the study of fundamental mechanisms of embryonic induction and of stem cell properties.



  report

cale

Introduction

The laboratory of Molecular Genetics of Morphogenesis is involved in studying properties and function of the Msx1 and Msx2 homeobox genes. These genes are prominently expressed at sites of induction between ectoderm and mesoderm. We have inactivated both Msx1 and Msx2 by inserting an nlacZ reporter gene in each locus, which permits to follow their expression during development and facilitates the analysis of mutant phenotypes. Msx1: Msx2 double mutants have allowed extending considerably these analyses. These mutants confirm the implication of Msx genes in inductive signal transduction required for organogenesis particularly in limb outgrowth and morphogenesis, and in the formation of the dorsal midline of the neural tube, in vertebrates.

Role of Msx genes in limb morphogenesis (Yvan Lallemand, Marie-Anne Nicola)

Contrary to what is observed in either Msx1 or Msx2 simple mutants, the homozygous double mutant exhibit severe defects in limbs. Anterior elements of the limb skeleton (radius, tibia) fail to form. In the autopod, the situation is more complex: anterior elements (such as the thumb) are often missing, but paradoxically, cases of polydactyly are not rare (photo1). We have demonstrated that at early stages, Msx genes are required to specify dorso-ventral polarity in the limb bud anterior region. Dorsal or ventral identity depends on BMP2, 4 and 7 signalling, and Msx genes are required for BMP signal transduction. Due to lack of dorso-ventral polarity, the apical ectodermal ridge does not form anteriorly, and consequently, limb outgrowth and formation of anterior skeletal elements are impaired in Msx1: Msx2 double mutants. At later stages, BMP4 is the signal that switches off the apical ridge activity and distal proliferation of the limb bud. Due to lack of BMP signalling, FGF activity is maintained, apoptosis is abolished, which lead to outgrowth of the autopod and formation of anterior polydactyly. Extra tissues nonetheless keep a posterior identity, demonstrating that they derive from a limb bud initially truncated. This work shows the importance of Msx genes in BMP signal transduction, in the anterior region of the limb bud as at other sites (such as teeth).

Role of Msx genes in the formation of the dorsal midline of the neural tube (Valérie Borel, Yvan Lallemand, Marie-Anne Nicola)

Msx1 and Msx2, as well as Msx3, are also expressed in the dorsal midline of the neural tube. We showed previously that in the Msx1 mutant, the dorsal midline of the diencephalon is affected and changes identity, correlatively with impairment of WNT1 signalling. In the Msx1: Msx2 double mutant, these defects extend to encompass the mesencephalon and frequently lead to exencephaly. On the contrary, the spinal cord is maintained and even contains extra cells. Preliminary analyses indicate that these cells are maintained because of a reduction of apoptosis. Msx genes would thus be required for apoptosis at this site. Using the nlacZ reporter gene, we can follow the fate of midline cells, which have been poorly described, and analyse the role of Msx genes in the formation, maintenance and functional activity of the midline.

Msx gene expression as a signature for cell plasticity (Olivier Goupille; in collaboration with Didier Montarras, Unit of Molecular Genetic of Development, and Ana Cumano, Unit of Lymphocyte Development)

During development, Msx genes are expressed at induction sites in mesenchymal cells that proliferate and differentiate into several histological cell types (bone, tendon, dermis...). Furthermore, their expression is induced in regeneration blastema in urodele amphibians. Recent work has shown that forced expression of Msx1 into differentiated myotubes leads them to break up and re-enter cell cycle. Proliferating cells can then give rise to derivatives from several lineages. These observations suggest that expression of Msx genes is associated with a state of cell plasticity characteristic of pluripotent stem cells. Taking advantage of the nLacZ reporter in the Msx1 and Msx2 loci, we have observed expression of these genes in scattered cells in adult mice, especially in blood vessels and in the dorsal midline of the neural tube. By clonal analysis, we have shown that single vascular cells give rise to cell populations which simultaneously express markers from two distinct lineages, endothelium and smooth muscle. This implies that they are pluripotent. This work is developed in the frame of a Strategic Horizontal Program (GPH) on stem cells that was recently launched at the Institut Pasteur.

Photo : Posterior limb buds from (1, 2) a double homozygous mutant for Msx1:Msx2 (DH) or (3) from a normal embryo at 12.5 days of development. A single embryo may exhibit both a polydactyly (1, left limb, 6 digit anlagen) and an oligodactyly (2, right bud, 4 anlagen). Polydactyly is always on the anterior side (A). Note that mutant limbs are smaller, digit cartilages are poorly individualised and in most cases, the tibia is missing (2, asterisk).

Keywords: Embryonic induction, organogenesis, limb bud, central nervous system, intercellular signalling, cell plasticity, stem cells



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Croullebois, Elisabeth (celisa@pasteur.fr) Robert, Benoît, Institut Pasteur (Chef de Laboratoire, brobert@pasteur.fr)

Lallemand, Yvan, Institut Pasteur (Chargé de Recherche, yvanlal@pasteur.fr)

Borel, Valérie, undergraduate student Université de Clermont-Ferrand

Goupille, Olivier, post-doctoral fellow, Institut Pasteur, (ogoupi@pasteur.fr)

Saint Cloment, Cécile, technician, Institut Pasteur, (ccloment@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Génétique Moléculaire de la Morphogénèse


  Responsable : Benoît ROBERT (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire étudie la fonction des gènes à homéoboîte Msx, à l'aide de mutants de souris que nous avons produits. Ces gènes sont impliqués en particulier dans la transduction de signaux moléculaires (BMP, WNT…) à des sites majeurs d'induction embryonnaire (apex du bourgeon de membre, mais aussi ligne médiane dorsale du tube neural). Des données expérimentales suggèrent qu'ils jouent un rôle dans le maintien de la plasticité cellulaire. À travers ces gènes, nous abordons l'étude de mécanismes fondamentaux de l'induction embryonnaire et des propriétés des cellules souches.



  rapport

cale

Introduction

Le laboratoire de Génétique moléculaire de la Morphogenèse se consacre à l'étude des propriétés et de la fonction des gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2. Ces gènes sont exprimés intensément dans des régions d'induction entre ectoderme et mésoderme. Nous avons inactivé Msx1 et Msx2 par insertion du gène rapporteur nlacZ à chacun des deux locus, ce qui permet de suivre leur expression pendant le développement de l'embryon et de mieux cerner les phénotypes mutants. Les double mutants Msx1 : Msx2 ont permis d'étendre considérablement ces analyses. Ces mutants confirment l'implication des gènes Msx dans la transduction de signaux inducteurs à l'œuvre dans l'organogenèse, en particulier dans l'émergence et la morphogenèse du membre et dans la formation de la ligne médiane dorsale du tube neural, chez les vertébrés.

Rôle des gènes Msx dans la morphogenèse du membre (Yvan Lallemand, Marie-Anne Nicola).

Au contraire des simple mutants Msx1 ou Msx2, le double mutant à l'état homozygote présente des déficiences graves des membres. Les éléments antérieurs du squelette (comme le radius ou le tibia) y manquent. Au niveau de l'autopode, la situation est plus complexe: souvent, les éléments antérieurs (tel le pouce) font défaut, mais on observe régulièrement une polydactylie paradoxale (photo1). Nous avons montré qu'aux stades précoces, les gènes Msx sont requis pour la spécification de la polarité dorso-ventrale du membre, dans la région antérieure. L'identité dorsale ou ventrale dépend de la signalisation par BMP2, 4 et 7, et les gènes Msx sont requis pour la transduction des signaux BMP. Faute de polarisation dorso-ventrale, la crête apicale ectodermique ne se forme pas dans la région antérieure et en conséquence, la croissance du membre et la formation des différents éléments du squelette est affectée antérieurement chez le mutant Msx1:Msx2. Secondairement, BMP4 constitue le signal qui met fin à l'activité de la crête apicale ectodermique et à la prolifération distale du membre. En l'absence du signal BMP, l'activité de FGF est maintenue, la mort cellulaire abolie ce qui conduit à la prolifération excessive de l'autopode et l'apparition d'une polydactylie antérieure. Les tissus néoformés conservent cependant une identité postérieure, démontrant qu'ils dérivent d'un bourgeon initialement tronqué antérieurement. Ces travaux montrent l'importance des Msx pour transduire les signaux BMP, dans le bourgeon de membre comme à d'autres sites (dent).

Rôle des gènes Msx dans la formation de la ligne médiane dorsale du tube neural (Valérie Borel, Yvan Lallemand, Marie-Anne Nicola).

Les gènes Msx1 et Msx2, ainsi que Msx3, sont aussi exprimés dans la ligne médiane dorsale du tube neural. Nous avons montré précédemment que, chez le mutant Msx1, la totalité de la ligne médiane du diencéphale est affectée et perd son identité, corrélativement à l'interruption de la signalisation par WNT1. Chez le double mutant Msx1 : Msx2, ces défauts s'étendent au mésencéphale et s'accompagnent souvent d'exencéphalie. Au contraire, au niveau de la moelle épinière, la ligne médiane dorsale est conservée et même contient des cellules surnuméraires. En première analyse, ces cellules sont maintenues par déficit d'apoptose. Les gènes Msx seraient donc nécessaires à la mort programmée à ce niveau. Grâce au gène rapporteur nlacZ, nous pouvons suivre le destin des cellules qui forment la ligne médiane, dont l'identité est mal connue, ce qui devrait nous permettre d'analyser le rôle des Msx dans la formation et le maintien de cette structure et dans l'acquisition de ses propriétés fonctionnelles.

L'expression de Msx comme signature d'un état de plasticité cellulaire (Olivier Goupille; en collaboration avec Didier Montarras, Unité de Génétique moléculaire du Développement et Ana Cumano, Unité du Développement des Lymphocytes).

Au cours du développement, les gènes Msx sont exprimés aux sites d'induction dans des cellules mésenchymateuses qui prolifèrent et peuvent donner naissance à plusieurs lignages cellulaires (os, tendon, derme...). Ils sont également induits dans les blastèmes de régénération chez les amphibiens. Des travaux récents montrent que l'expression forcée de Msx1 dans des myotubes différenciés conduit ceux-ci à se fragmenter, entrer en prolifération et redonner, dans des conditions appropriées, des dérivés de plusieurs lignages. Ces propriétés suggèrent que l'expression des gènes Msx peut être liée à un état de plasticité cellulaire caractéristique des cellules souches pluripotentes. Grâce au gène rapporteur nlacZ introduit dans Msx1 et Msx2, nous avons observé l'expression de ces gènes dans des cellules éparses chez la souris adulte, en particulier dans les vaisseaux sanguins et la ligne médiane du tube neural. Par analyse clonale, nous avons montré que les cellules vasculaires isolées donnent naissance à des populations qui expriment simultanément des marqueurs de deux lignages distincts, endothélium et muscle lisse, ce qui atteste de leur pluripotence. Ce travail se développe dans le cadre du GPH "cellules souches", récemment mis en place à l'Institut Pasteur.

Légende : Photo 1: Bourgeons de membres (1, 2) d'un embryon double mutant homozygote Msx1:Msx2 (DH) ou (3) d'un embryon normal à 12,5 jours de développement. Sur un même embryon, le membre (ici, tous membres postérieurs) peut présenter une polydactylie (1, patte gauche, 6 ébauches de doigts) ou une oligodactylie (2, patte droite, 4 ébauches). La polydactylie est toujours antérieure (A). Noter que les membres du mutant sont plus petits, les cartilages des doigts mal individualisés et que, la plupart du temps, le tibia manque (2, astérisque).

Mots-clés: Induction embryonnaire, organogenèse, bourgeon de membre, système nerveux central, signalisation intercellulaire, plasticité cellulaire, cellules souches



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Croullebois, Elisabeth (celisa@pasteur.fr) Robert, Benoît, Institut Pasteur (Chef de Laboratoire, brobert@pasteur.fr)

Lallemand, Yvan, Institut Pasteur (Chargé de Recherche, yvanlal@pasteur.fr)

Borel, Valérie, étudiante de Master 1 (Université de Clermont-Ferrand)

Goupille, Olivier, stagiaire post-doctoral Institut Pasteur (ogoupi@pasteur.fr)

Saint Cloment, Cécile, Institut Pasteur (Technicienne Supérieure, ccloment@pasteur.fr)

Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr