Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Fungi Culture Collection


  Director : Bernard PAPIEROK (papierok@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Fungi Culture Collection of the Institut Pasteur is in charge of more than 2300 strains of fungi (filamentous fungi and yeasts) and Actinomycetes, most of which originated from human lesions. In addition to specific collection activities (culture, conservation, identity and viability checking, distribution), the laboratory carried out molecular investigations on systematics and phylogeny of potentially pathogenic Entomophthorales of genera Basidiobolus and Conidiobolus.



  report

cale

The Fungi Culture Collection of the Institut Pasteur is in charge of more than 2300 strains of fungi (filamentous fungi and yeasts) and Actinomycetes, most of which originated from human lesions. This collection includes also strains from environmental origin (air, soil, decaying plant material, dead invertebrates, mostly insects). To keep the collection is the basic purpose of the laboratory. In addition, research investigations are carried out on original isolates.

The laboratory keeps strains in checked pure culture and delivers them to the interested research laboratories, as well as to industrial and pharmaceutical ones and to education establishments. More than 600 strains were distributed in 2004. Furthermore, strain identification is performed on request. The laboratory provided also most of the isolates used in the laboratory work at the 2004 Institut Pasteur Medical Mycology course. As the Fungi Culture Collection is involved directly in the Biological Resource Centre of the Institut Pasteur project, the laboratory developed organization and quality control strategy.

Furthermore, research activities are dedicated to characterization, systematics and ecology of filamentous fungi. Owing to the experience of the staff, these investigations focused on entomophthoralean species (Zygomycetes) bearing pathogenic potential for humans and for insects (genera Basidiobolus and Conidiobolus).

Finally, owing to collaborations developed in the framework of European actions, the laboratory got involved in the study of systematics and ecology of Entomophthorales responsible for mycoses in insect populations in Central and Eastern Europe.

Molecular characterization of strains of Basidiobolus spp. (Marie JUILLARD-CONDAT, Marie-Ange ROUFFAUD, Martine KIREDJIAN, Bernard PAPIEROK)

As in 2003 the laboratory gave in 2004 greater importance to the molecular study of strains of closely related species of the genus Basidiobolus. Indeed, this genus, together with the genus Conidiobolus, is outstanding owing to the fact that it is mostly saprophytic; however, several species are more or less regularly isolated from lesions in humans or some other mammals, or from invertebrate cadavers. Moreover, a few Conidiobolus species are only known as naturally occurring entomopathogens. To date, investigations were devoted to sequencing of the rDNA ITS1-5.8S-ITS2 region only. In 2004, attemps were made to study the SSU mtDNA.

A PCR product of ca 600 bp was first obtained. Sequence analysis of the initial fragment underlined a high homogeneity between most of the strains investigated, whatever they originated from plant decaying material, reptile faeces, insect cadavers or human lesions. Then, TAIL-PCR was performed for amplification of adjacent fragments. The method proved to be pertinent when using appropriate primers. Sequences of new amplified fragments appeared highly homogeneous.

Systematics and ecology of entomopathogenic Entomophthorales in Central and Eastern Europe (Bernard PAPIEROK)

In 2003, the collaboration established with Rudolf WEGENSTEINER (Institute of Forest Entomology, Forest Pathology and Forest Protection, University of Agricultural Sciences, Vienna) led to the discovery of rather poorly known entomophthoromycoses in Austrian populations of Homoptera other than Aphididae (Psyllidae, Delphacidae, Cercopidae). The involved species belonged to genera Erynia and Zoophthora. The corresponding strains were studied further in 2004, together with strains of a species of Zoophthora found in June 2004 on Coleoptera in the eastern part of Poland (collaboration with Cezary TKACZUK, Department of Plant Protection, University of Podlasie, Siedlce, Poland, in the framework of a COST Action).

Keywords: Mycology, Strain collection, Entomophthorales, Basidiobolus, characterization, mitochondrial DNA



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
    KIREDJIAN, Martine, mkiredji@pasteur.fr

PAPIEROK, Bernard, papierok@pasteur.fr

JUILLARD-CONDAT, Marie

COUPILLAUD, Aude

COUTANSON, Monique, Technician

PIETFROID, Alain, Technician

ROUFFAUD, Marie-Ange, Technician


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Collection des Champignons


  Responsable : Bernard PAPIEROK (papierok@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Directement partie prenante dans le projet de création du "Centre de Ressources Biologiques de l'Institut Pasteur", la Collection des Champignons entretient en culture plus de 2300 souches de champignons (filamenteux ou levures) ou d'Actinomycètes, isolées pour la plupart de lésions humaines. Aux activités de collection proprement dites s'ajoutent des investigations sur la systématique et la phylogénie d'Entomo-phthorales des genres Basidiobolus et Conidiobolus, qui ont la particularité de comporter des espèces à potentialité pathogène pour l'homme et pour des invertébrés.



  rapport

cale

La Collection des Champignons est un service spécialisé en charge d'une collection de plus de 2300 souches de champignons (filamenteux et levures) et d'Actinomycètes, isolées pour la majorité d'entre elles de lésions humaines. Remarquablement varié à cet égard, cet ensemble comporte en outre des souches isolées de l'environnement (milieu aérien, sol, matières végétales en décomposition) ou d'invertébrés (insectes). Les missions du service sont fondamentalement celles d'une collection de microorganismes ; s'y greffe une activité de recherche liée à l'existence de souches originales.

L'activité première du laboratoire est de conserver des souches fongiques en culture pure et contrôlée, et de les fournir aux laboratoires de recherche académique ou industrielle, aux laboratoires d'analyses et aux établissements d'enseignement qui en font la demande. Plus de 600 souches ont ainsi été distribuées en 2004. La Collection des Champignons a fourni également l'essentiel des isolats utilisés dans les travaux pratiques du Cours de Mycologie Médicale 2004 de l'Institut Pasteur. Elle réalise en outre des expertises en matière d'identification. Pour toutes les activités de collection proprement dites, une démarche qualité et un plan d'organisation associé ont été mis en œuvre, la Collection des Champignons étant directement partie prenante dans le projet de création du "Centre de Ressources Biologiques de l'Institut Pasteur" (CRBIP).

De plus, le laboratoire mène des investigations sur la caractérisation, la systématique et l'écologie des champignons filamenteux. En relation avec les connaissances acquises et avec le matériel récolté, ces travaux portent sur des Zygomycètes de l'ordre des Entomophthorales, principalement des espèces des genres Basidiobolus et Conidiobolus.

Enfin, grâce à des collaborations établies notamment dans le cadre d'actions européennes, la Collection des Champignons a poursuivi l'étude de la systématique et de l'écologie d'Entomophthorales responsables de mycoses chez des insectes dans le centre et l'est de l'Europe.

Caractérisation moléculaire de souches de Basidiobolus spp. (Marie JUILLARD-CONDAT, Marie-Ange ROUFFAUD, Martine KIREDJIAN, Bernard PAPIEROK)

Le laboratoire a continué à s'impliquer dans la caractérisation moléculaire de souches de mêmes espèces ou d'espèces plus ou moins proches du genre Basidiobolus. Ce genre a en effet ceci de particulier, avec le genre Conidiobolus, de comporter des espèces essentiellement saprophytes mais qui sont plus ou moins irrégulièrement isolées soit de lésions chez l'homme ou d'autres mammifères, soit de cadavres d'insectes ou d'autres arthropodes. De plus, certaines espèces de Conidiobolus sont uniquement connues comme pathogènes d'insectes. Jusqu'à présent, les investigations avaient fait intervenir le séquençage de la région ITS1-5,8S-ITS2 de l'ADNr. En 2004, les travaux ont porté sur le séquençage de la petite sous-unité de l'ADN mitochondrial chez des souches de Basidiobolus spp.

Un produit d'amplification PCR d'environ 600 pb a d'abord été obtenu. Un pourcentage d'homologie de l'ordre de 97 % a été noté entre les séquences de cette région pour la grande majorité des souches analysées, et cela quel que soit leur substrat d'origine (matières végétales en décomposition, fèces de reptiles, cadavres d'insectes ou lésions humaines). L'étude des régions flanquantes de la région amplifiée a débuté au moyen de la technique de la TAIL-PCR. Après détermination d'amorces dégénérées ou spécifiques adéquates, des amplifications ont été obtenues. Les séquences apparaissent extrêmement homogènes entre les souches.

Systématique et écologie des Entomophthorales pathogènes d'insectes dans le centre et l'est de l'Europe (Bernard PAPIEROK)

L'année précédente, la collaboration établie avec Rudolf WEGENSTEINER (Institut für Forstentomologie, Forstpathologie und Forstschutz, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, Autriche) avait conduit à la mise en évidence, chez des Homoptères autres que les Aphididae (Psyllidae, Delphacidae, Cercopidae), de mycoses dues à des Entomophthorales relativement peu connues des genres Erynia et Zoophthora. Les souches en cause ont été étudiées cette année, simultanément avec des souches d'une espèce de Zoophthora récoltées en juin 2004 sur une espèce de Coléoptère dans l'est de la Pologne (collaboration établie avec Cezary TKACZUK, Katedra Ochrony Roslin, Akademia Podlaska, Siedlce, Pologne, dans le cadre d'une action COST).

Mots-clés: Mycologie, Collection de souches, Entomophthorales, Basidiobolus, caractérisation, ADN mitochondrial



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
    KIREDJIAN, Martine, Chef de laboratoire à l’Institut Pasteur, mkiredji@pasteur.fr

PAPIEROK, Bernard, Chef de laboratoire à l’Institut Pasteur, papierok@pasteur.fr
JUILLARD-CONDAT, Marie, Étudiante en Master Professionnel

COUPILLAUD, Aude, Étudiante en Maîtrise des Sciences et Techniques

COUTANSON, Monique, Technicienne supérieure de laboratoire

PIETFROID, Alain, Technicien supérieur de laboratoire

ROUFFAUD, Marie-Ange, Assistant-Ingénieur CNRS


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr