Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Biologie moléculaire de l'expression génique


  Director : Israël Alain (aisrael@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The laboratory is involved in the study of two signalisation pathways characterized by inducible proteolysis events that lead to the nuclear translocation of transcription factors. The first project deals with the rel/NF-κB family of transcription factors, whose activity is controled by cytoplasmic retention through inhibitory molecules (IκB's) which get degraded in response to multiple signals. In collaboration with the group of Michel Veron we have identified peptides which interfere with the oligomerization of the NEMO protein, the central component of the NF-kB cascade, and specifically inhibit this signaling pathway.

A second project deals with the Notch receptor which transmits its signal following a series of three proteolytic steps which are followed by the nuclear translocation of the intracellular part of the receptor, which then behaves as a transcriptional co-activator. We have pursued 2 directions of research: we have first identified a new step of the activation cascade, which involves monoubiquitination of the receptor following the second cleavage, allowing the third one to take place. We have then shown that the intracellular region of the Notch ligands interacts with proteins that associate with the cytoskeleton, and therefore regulate the motility of the cells which express these ligands.



  report

cale

Structure of the NEMO protein and identification of peptides which inhibit its oligomerization (G. Courtois, R. Weil, T. Lopez ; collab with M Veron and F Agou)

In collaboration with Fabrice Agou in the lab of Michel Veron, we have studied the determinants of the oligomerization of the NEMO protein. NEMO is the regulatory component of the IKK complex, which also includes two kinases, IKKα and IKKβ, and its oligomerization has been suggested to represent a critical event in the activation of this complex. The self association of NEMO involves the C-terminal half of the polypeptide chains containing two putative coiled-coil motifs, a CC2 and a LZ leucine zipper, a proline rich region and a ZF zinc-finger motif. We have shown that the minimal oligomerization domain of NEMO can be restricted to the CC2-LZ segment and we demonstrated that both CC2 and LZ subdomains are necessary to restore the LPS-dependent activation of the NF-κB pathway in a NEMO deficient cell line. We confirmed the association of the oligomerization domain in a trimer and we demonstrated that both the CC2 and LZ subdomains are necessary for trimer formation. We also showed that upon mixing, isolated CC2 and LZ peptides associate to form a stable hetero-hexamer. We therefore proposed a structural model for the organisation of the oligomerization domain of activated NEMO in which three C-terminal domains associate into a pseudo-hexamer forming a six helix bundle.

To search for drugs inhibiting NF-κB activation, we rationally designed cell-permeable peptides corresponding to the CC2 and LZ subdomains that mimic the contact areas between NEMO subunits. The peptides were tagged with the Antennapedia/Penetratin motif and delivered to cells prior to stimulation with lipopolysaccharide. We showed that both peptides inhibit NF-κB activation with an IC50 in the μm range. These molecules were also shown to be able to induce cell death in human retinoblastoma Y79 cells, which require constitutive NF-κB activity for survival. These results provide the "proof of concept" for a new and promising strategy for the inhibition of the NF-κB pathway activation through targeting the oligomerization state of the NEMO protein.

Role of the NF-κB pathway in the differentiation of NK cells (S. Mémet, D. Ndiaye; collaboration Jim di Santo)

While perturbations in NF-κB activity impact strongly on B- and T-cell development, little is known about the role for NF-κB in natural killer (NK) cell differentiation. We analyzed the cell-intrinsic effects of deficiencies in 2 IκB members (IκBα and IκBε) on NK cell differentiation. Neither IκBα nor IκBε deficiency had major effects on NK cell generation, while their combined absence led to NF-κB hyperactivation, resulting in reduced NK cell numbers, incomplete NK cell maturation, and defective interferon gamma production. Complementary analysis of transgenic mice expressing an NF-κB-responsive reporter gene showed increased NF-κB activity at the stage of NK cell development corresponding to the partial block observed in IκBαxIκBε-deficient mice. These results define a critical window in NK cell development in which NF-κB levels must be tightly controlled.

The Notch signaling cascade (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, E. Six, A. Olry, P. Chastagner, D. Ndiaye)

We have proposed a model according to which the activation of the Notch receptor involves a series of three proteolytic steps. The first cleavage is due to a furin-like convertase, and is required for surface expression of a functional Notch receptor. A second cleavage step takes place in the extracellular region of the receptor and involves the membrane metalloprotease TACE. The third and last cleavage is due to an activity called γ-secretase and results in the liberation of the intracellular region of the receptor, which is then transported to the nucleus where it behaves as a transcriptional coactivator.

One of our projects involved identifying the requirements for the γ-secretase cleavage step : we demonstrated that this cleavage requires a new modification of the Notch receptor, monoubiquitination, as well as clathrin-dependent  endocytosis. These steps are probably required for the transport of Notch to the site where γ-secretase cleavage takes place. Presenilin, the catalytic component of the γ-secretase complex, preferentially interacts with the monoubiquitinated form of ΔE. We identified the lysine residue targeted by the monoubiquitination event and confirmed its importance for activation of the Notch receptor by its ligand Delta1.

Our second project deals with a potential cell-autonomous role for the Notch ligands. Using peptide affinity chromatography followed by mass spectrometry we have identified Dlg1 as a partner of Delta1 C-terminal region. Dlg1 is a human homologue of the Drosophila Discs large tumor suppressor, a member of the MAGUK (Membrane-Associated Guanylate Kinase) family of molecular scaffolds. Moreover we showed that deletion of a canonical C-terminal PDZ binding motif (ATEV) in Delta1 abrogated this interaction. Delta4 also interacted with Dlg1, while Jagged1, another Notch ligand, did not. In HeLa cells, transfected Delta1 triggered the accumulation of endogenous Dlg1 at sites of cell-cell contact. Expression of Delta1 also reduced the motility of 3T3 cells. Finally, deletion of the ATEV motif totally abolished these effects, but did not interfere with the ability of Delta1 to induce Notch signaling and T cell differentiation in coculture experiments. These results point to a new, probably cell-autonomous function of Delta1, which is independent of its activity as a Notch ligand.

Keywords: Signalisation, phosphorylation, proteolysis, ubiquitination, NF-?B, Notch



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Marie Dominique Aytac (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) BROU, Christel, Institut Pasteur (chef labo)

COURTOIS, Gilles, INSERM (DR2)

GUPTA-ROSSI, Neetu, Institut Pasteur (CR)

LOGEAT, Frédérique, CNRS (DR2)

MEMET, Sylvie, INSERM (CR1)

WEIL, Robert, CNRS (CR1)

BLAISE, Régis, post-doc

LOBRY, Camille, étudiant thèse

OLRY, Annie, étudiante thèse

HEUSS, Sara, étudiante DEA

SIX, Emmanuelle, étudiante thése

CHASTAGNER, Patricia, technicienne Pasteur

LOPEZ, Tatiana, technicienne Pasteur

NDIAYE, Delphine, AI CNRS

MOURGUIN-NAGUIN Stéphanie, agent de laboratoire


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique


  Responsable : Israël Alain (aisrael@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les projets du laboratoire portent sur l'étude de deux systèmes de signalisation caractérisés par des événements inductibles de protéolyse, aboutissant au transport nucléaire de facteurs de transcription. Un premier projet concerne la famille de facteurs de transcription rel/NF-κB, dont l'activité est contrôlée par des mécanismes de rétention cytoplasmique impliquant des molécules inhibitrices (appelées IκB) dont la dégradation est induite par une variété de signaux. En collaboration avec l'équipe de Michel Véron nous avons identifié des peptides qui interférent avec l'oligomérisation de la protéine NEMO, le composant central de la voie d'activation NF-κB, et inhibent spécifiquement cette voie.

Un second projet porte sur le récepteur Notch qui transmet un signal à la suite de 3 étapes de protéolyse et du transport nucléaire de sa région intracellulaire. Nos efforts ont porté dans 2 directions. Nous avons d'une part identifié un nouveau mécanisme qui par l'intermédiaire d'une étape de monoubiquitination faisant suite à la seconde étape de protéolyse permet à la troisième d'avoir lieu. D'autre part nous avons montré que la partie intracellulaire des ligands de Notch interagit avec des composants du cytosquelette et modifie la motilité de la cellule exprimant ces ligands. Cette interaction ne semble néammoins pas être impliquée dans la transmission du signal Notch.



  rapport

cale

Structure de la molécule NEMO et identification de peptides inhibant son oligomérisation (G. Courtois, R. Weil, T. Lopez)

En collaboration avec Fabrice Agou (laboratoire de Michel Veron), nous avons étudié les déterminants de l'oligomérisation de la molécule NEMO. NEMO est la sous-unité régulatrice du complexe IKK, qui comprend aussi les 2 kinases IKKα et IKKβ, et son oligomérisation semble être un événement important de l'activation de ce complexe. L' oligomérisation de NEMO implique la partie C-terminale de la molécule, qui inclut deux régions de type coiled-coil, appelées CC2 et LZ, une région riche en proline et une région C-terminale en doigt de zinc. Nous avons démontré que la région minimale d'oligomérisation de NEMO peut être restreinte aux domaines CC2 et LZ, et que ces deux domaines sont nécessaires au rétablissement de la réponse NF-κB au LPS dans une lignée cellulaire déficiente en NEMO. Nous avons confirmé l'oligomérisation de cette région en trimère, et le rôle des domaines CC2 et LZ dans cet événement. Nous avons aussi montré que après mélange, les domaines CC2 et LZ s'associent pour former un hétéro-hexamère. Nous avons donc proposé un modèle d'organisation du domaine d'oligomérisation de NEMO dans lequel trois domaines C-terminaux s'associent pour former un pseudo-hexamère composé de 6 hélices.

Afin de mettre au point des inhibiteurs spécifiques de la voie NF-κB, nous avons synthétisé des peptides correspondant aux domaines CC2 et LZ, et les avons fusionnés avec le peptide antennapedia/penetratine. Ces peptides ont été introduits dans des cellules avant stimulation par le LPS, et se sont révélés inhiber l'activation de NF-κB avec une IC50 de l'ordre du μm. En outre, ces molécules sont capables d'induire l'apoptose de cellules de rétinoblastome Y79, qui nécessitent une activité NF-κB constitutive pour survivre. Ces résultats représentent un premier pas vers la mise au point de drogues capables d'inhiber spécifiquement l'activation de NF-κB en interférant avec l'oligomérisation de NEMO.

Role de la voie NF-κB dans la differenciation des cellules NK (S. Mémet, D. Ndiaye; collaboration Jim di Santo)

Tandis que des perturbations de la voie NF-κB interférent fortement avec la différenciation des cellules B et T, à peu près rien n'est connu du rôle que joue la voie NF-κB dans la différenciation des cellules NK. Nous avons analysé les conséquences de la déficience en deux membres de la famille IκB, IκBα and IκBε. Alors que la déficience en l'un de ces inhibiteurs n'a pas d'impact sur les cellules NK, l'absence des deux aboutit à une hyperactivation de NF-κB, à un défaut de maturation et une diminution du nombre de cellules NK, et à une absence de production d'interferon γ. L'analyse de souris exprimant une gène rapporteur NF-κB montre une augmentation de cette activité au stade de différenciation des cellules NK correspondant au bloc partiel observé dans les souris double KO. Ces résultats définissent une fenêtre au cours du développement des cellules NK pendant laquelle le contrôle du niveau d'activation de NF-κB est critique.

La voie de signalisation Notch (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, E. Six, A. Olry, P. Chastagner, D. Ndiaye, O. LeBail)

Nous avons proposé un modèle selon lequel l'activation du récepteur Notch implique 3 étapes de maturation protéolytique. La première coupure est dûe à la furine et est nécessaire à l'expression à la membrane d'un récepteur fonctionnel. Une seconde étape de coupure, nécessaire à l'activation, a lieu dans la région extracellulaire de Notch et est dûe à la métalloprotéase TACE. L'étape finale est dûe à une activité nommée γ-secrétase, et aboutit à la libération de la région intracellulaire du récepteur qui est transportée dans le noyau où elle se comporte comme un co-activateur transcriptionnel.

Un de nos projets consiste à caractériser plus en détail l'étape de coupure par la γ-secrétase, et en particulier les divers éléments, cellulaires et moléculaires, qui la contrôlent. Nous avons montré que cette étape de coupure requiert une étape de monoubiquitination de Notch qui suit la coupure par TACE, et est elle-même suivie d'une étape d'endocytose clathrine-dépendante. La préséniline, le composant catalytique du complexe γ-secrétase, interagit préférentiellement avec la forme monoubiquitinée de Notch. Nous avons identifié le résidu Lysine cible de la monoubiquitination et avons confirmé son importance dans l'activation de Notch par son ligand Delta1.

Le second projet vise à caractériser un éventuel rôle cellulaire-autonome des ligands de Notch. Une approche protéomique nous a permis d'identifier la protéine Dlg1 comme partenaire d'interaction de la région C-terminale de Delta1. Dlg1 est l'homologue chez les mammifères de la protéine Discs Large de drosophile, un membre de la famille MAGUK de protéines d'assemblage reliant la membrane plasmique au cytosquelette. Nous avons ensuite montré que la deletion de la séquence C-terminale de Delta1 (ATEV), un site consensus de liaison aux domaines PDZ, abolit cette interaction. Delta4 s ‘associe aussi avec Dlg1, tandis que les membres de la seconde famille de ligands de Notch, Jagged, ne lient pas Dlg1. Dans des cellules HeLa, l'introduction de Delta1 induit la concentration de Dlg1 aux jonctions cellulaires. Dans des cellules 3T3, l'introduction de Delta1 réduit la motilité cellulaire, d'une manière strictement dépendante du motif ATEV. Par contre la délétion de ce motif n'interfère pas avec la capacité de Delta1 d'activer la voie Notch dans des cellules adjacentes, dans un modèle de différenciation hématopoïétique en coculture. Ces résultats suggèrent un rôle probablement cellulaire-autonome des ligands de Notch, qui est indépendant de leur activité en tant que ligand.

Mots-clés: Signalisation, phosphorylation, protéolyse, ubiquitination, NF-?B, Notch



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Marie Dominique Aytac (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) BROU, Christel, Institut Pasteur (chef labo)

COURTOIS, Gilles, INSERM (DR2)

GUPTA-ROSSI, Neetu, Institut Pasteur (CR)

LOGEAT, Frédérique, CNRS (DR2)

MEMET, Sylvie, INSERM (CR1)

WEIL, Robert, CNRS (CR1)

BLAISE, Régis, post-doc

LOBRY, Camille, étudiant thèse

OLRY, Annie, étudiante thèse

HEUSS, Sara, étudiante DEA

SIX, Emmanuelle, étudiante thése

CHASTAGNER, Patricia, technicienne Pasteur

LOPEZ, Tatiana, technicienne Pasteur

NDIAYE, Delphine, AI CNRS

MOURGUIN-NAGUIN Stéphanie, agent de laboratoire


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr