Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Biology of Host-Parasite Interactions


  Director : SCHERF Artur (ascherf@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The research activities of the different groups in the ‘Unité are mostly based on the red blood cell stage of the P. falciparum life cycle that is responsible for clinical symptoms. A major line of research is devoted to the study of the virulence factors involved in malaria pathogenesis (especially maternal malaria and anemia) and the molecular basis of immune escape strategies. These molecules are transported to the erythrocyte surface via unique, parasite-specific, secretory pathways. Another line is the structural organisation of the nucleus. This has given important insights into the biology of telomere adjacent regions and virulence factor genes.



  report

cale

1. Cytoadhesion molecules and malaria pathogenesis:

Benoit Gamain, Nicki Viebig, Marta Nunes, Yvon Sterkers, Christine Scheidig, Artur Scherf

We study parasite-encoded adhesion molecules, which are inserted into the erythrocyte membrane during intracellular blood stage development or during the merozoite invasion of red blood cells (performed in close collaboration with the laboratory of Dr. Gysin, University of Marseille). The adhesion of infected erythrocytes (IE) to chondroitin sulfate A (CSA) in the placenta is an important event in malaria pathogenesis during pregnancy. In a previous study, we had identified the CSA-binding domain of PfEMP1 (encoded by the var1CSA gene) and have now expressed this cysteine-rich domain in insect cells. Analysis of the antibodies raised against the recombinant domain revealed surface reactivity with CSA-binding parasites from different geographic regions, indicating the potential use of this molecule for the development of a vaccine to protect women during pregnancy (photo 1). Knock out mutations of the var1CSA gene were generated (in collaboration with Dr. Lanzers' group University of Heidelberg) and though the parasites initially lost the CSA binding phenotype, it was eventually possible to recover parasites capable of binding to CSA. The adhesion molecule, which mediates binding to CSA in KO parasites is encoded by a member of the var gene family (var2CSA). CSA binding domains within var2CSA were identified and are now evaluated for the development of a vaccine that could protect pregnant women from severe malaria. We have performed KO parasites for the var2CSA gene. These mutant parasites will allow us to investigate if other parasite CSA-ligands exist. In parallel, we are investigating the factors influencing the switch to the CSA binding phenotype during pregnancy.

We have also characterised the PfEMP1-independant cytoadhesion of ring-stage IE. Using several monoclonal antibodies raised against the surface of ring stage IE, we have identified Ring Surface Protein 2 (RSP2) as a crucial molecule in the ring adhesion process (collaboration with J. Gysin). The RSP2 rhoptry protein is inserted into the membrane of infected and non-infected erythrocytes during the invasion process in a large number of erythrocytes. The discovery of non-infected erythrocytes which are "tagged" with RSP2 at their surface has led us to investigate if these tagged cells undergo a change in cellular "rigidification". As a consequence, these red blood cells could be destroyed possibly leading to anemia. In order to test this hypothesis, we have initiated deformability studies of RSP2-tagged erythrocytes (in collaboration with Thérèse Cynober, Hôpital de Bicêtre et Max Hardeman de l'Academisch Meisch Centrum d'Amsterdam). Preliminary studies show that RSP2-tagged erythrocytes are less deformable than control culture of erythcotyes. Further studies are under way to investigate this process in more detail and its biological implication during malaria pathophysiology.

2. Molecular mechanisms of antigenic variation:

Stuart Ralph, Alisson Gontijo, Ana Paola Rojas-Meza, Catherine Keeling, Artur Scherf

Antigenic Variation is a strategy employed by malaria species to outmanoeuvre the host defence mechanisms long enough for their progeny to spread. We have established that epigenetic factors are involved in var gene regulation. In previous studies we demonstrated that the chromosomes ends in blood stage P. falciparum parasites are physically grouped together into clusters (between 4 and 7 in number per haploid nuclei) and are located at the nuclear periphery. This subnuclear compartmentalisation seems to create an environment that allows the expansion and diversification of var gene families located at chromosome ends. Two independent studies pointed to a subtelomeric element called rep20 as a critical DNA region involved in cluster formation between chromosome ends. Despite the significant difference in their subtelomeric organisation, all six Plasmodium species analysed so far present chromosome end clusters. A "telomere position effect"- like mechanism brings about repression of antigenic variation genes located near telomere repeats. P. falciparum orthologues to several yeast telomere-associated proteins have been identified including the gene coding for the "silent information regulator" PfSir2. ChIP experiments have shown that PfSir2 is associated with subtelomeric DNA (telomere, rep20) and to the promoter region of telomeric var genes. However, upon activation of a var gene, PfSir2 is removed from the promoter region, leading to histone acetylation. Another epigenetic factor appears to play a role in telomere-associated var gene activation. Swtching is associated with var loci movement between subnuclear loci, suggesting that specific regions compatible with gene transcription exist in the nuclear periphery. Heterochromatin analysis of the nucleus indicates that a specific region is free of dense chromatin. We are exploring if this region coincides with the transcription of var genes (Photo 2).

3. P. falciparum subnuclear compartments: telomere and nucleolus:

Liliana Mancio da Silva, Artur Scherf

Epigenetic silencing may not be limited to antigenic variation gene families at telomeres but could also control transcription of rDNA genes. A number of specific chromatin factors such as PfSir2 co-localises to telomere regions and the nucleolus. We are investigating the role of these factors using chromatin immunoprecipation assays, FISH and KO of specific genes such as PfSir2.

A candidate for the P. falciparum telomerase catalytic subunit (TERT) has been identified in the genome database. We have localised TERT to a specific sub-compartment of the nucleolus in P. falciparum. The role of telomerase and the nucleolus in the elongation of telomeres is not well understood and will be further analysed.

4. Intracellular trafficking:

Ana Filipa de Novais Julio, Solange Touron, Denise Mattei

We investigate the intracellular traffic of parasite proteins targeted to the membrane of P.falciparum -infected erythrocytes. The identification and characterisation of Plasmodium specific mechanisms and secretory pathways are of fundamental interest and might lead to the identification of new drug targets that might interfere with parasite sequestration to host endothelium. We localised the parasite homologue to the GSK-3 (Glycogen Synthase Kinase-3) in association with membranous structures, the Maurer's clefts, in the cytoplasm of the infected red blood cell (collaboration with Dr. L. Meyer, Roscoff). We study the role PfGSK-3 in parasite cytoadherence. Modifications of the red blood cell membrane, induced by the parasite have been implicated in the cytoadherence. Antigen CLAG9 (Cytoadherence-Linked Asexual Gene) has been described as being an adhesion ligand mediating binding to the host receptor CD36. Our work shows that the clag9 gene is transcribed in parasites selected by their binding capacities on the receptors CD36 and CSA. Moreover, we observed that CLAG9 is localised in the rhoptries but not on the surface of infected erythrocytes. Furthermore, we demonstrated (in collaboration with Irene Ling et A. Holder, NIMR, Mill Hill, Londres, UK) that CLAG9 is part of the RhopH complex. This is in contrast to the previously proposed role of CLAG9 as CD36 ligand. Thus, its role in cytoadherence remains puzzling. The analysis of clag9 mutant parasites (T996 and D10 cloned lines) revealed that parasites still express a member of the var gene family on the red blood cell surface but are unable to adhere to common adhesion receptors (CD36, ICAM-1, E-selectin and CSA). This raises the possibility that CLAG9 controls (by a yet unknown process) the expression of a large subset of genes of the var gene family. Alternatively, these PfEMP1 molecules have a conformation at the erythrocyte surface that is incompatible with receptor binding.

Photos :

Photo 1 : A) Cytoadhesion of CSA-binding parasites to CSA coated to plastic plates.

B) Immunofluorescence showing the reactivity with antibodies raised against the CSA ligand expressed at the surface of placental-binding infected red blood cells.

Photo 2 : A.) Electron microscopy of P. falciparum blood stage parasites reveals heterochromatin regions in the nuclear periphery. Anti-PfSir2 antibodies react with the perinuclear region. Reconstruction of a P. falciparum nucleus of serial ultrathin-sections. Heterochromatin regions are highlighted.

Keywords: malaria, protein trafficking, antigenic variation, cytoadhesion, placental malaria, telomere



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  LOZNER Josyane – jlozner@pasteur.fr SCHERF Artur - Directeur de Recherche (DR1) - CNRS - Chef de Laboratoire - I. P ascherf@pasteur.fr

MATTEI Denise - Chef de Laboratoire - I. P. - dmm@pasteur.fr

GAMAIN Benoit- Chargé de Recherche (CR1) – CNRS bgamain@pasteur.fr

COELHO NUNES Marta - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – mnunes@pasteur.fr

DE NOVAIS JULIO Ana Filipa – Stagiaire – anovais@pasteur.fr

GONTIJO Alisson - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – agontijo@pasteur.fr

KEELING Catherine – Stagiaire – ckeeling@pasteur.fr

MANCIO DA SILVA Liliana - Stagiaire Doctorant – lmancio@pasteur.fr

RALPH Stuart - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – sralph@pasteur.fr

ROJAS-MEZA Ana Paola – Stagiaire Doctorant – aprojas@pasteur.fr

STERKERS Yvon – Stagiaire Doctorant – sterkers@pasteur.fr

VIEBIG Nicola - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – nviebig@pasteur.fr

VINCENSINI Laetitia – Stagiaire Doctorant – lvincens@pasteur.fr

SCHEIDIG-BENATAR Christine - Technicienne Supérieure -I.P. - cbenatar@pasteur.fr

TOURON Solange - Technicienne – I.P. – solange@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Biologie des Interactions Hôte-Parasite


  Responsable : SCHERF Artur (ascherf@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les activités de recherche de l'unité de Biologie des Interactions Hôte-Parasite portent essentiellement sur les stades sanguins du cycle érythrocytaire de P. falciparum. Une des lignes de recherche principale est l'étude des facteurs de virulence impliqués dans la pathogénie du paludisme grave (notamment du paludisme gestationnel et de l'anémie) et dans les stratégies d'échappement immunitaire. Ceci englobe l'étude du transport des molécules à la surface de l'hématie via une voie de sécrétion parasitaire spécifique. Un autre axe de recherche développé plus récemment consiste en l'étude de la biologie du noyau avec un intérêt particulier pour les télomères. Ceci nous a permis de réaliser d'importantes avancées dans la connaissance des gènes subtélomériques codant pour des facteurs de virulence et sur la télomérase de P. falciparum, une enzyme cruciale pour la maintenance des télomères.



  rapport

cale

1. Molécules de cytoadhérence et implications physiopathologiques:

Benoit Gamain, Nicki Viebig, Marta Nunes, Yvon Sterkers, Christine Scheidig, Artur Scherf

Une des lignes principales de recherche de notre équipe est l'étude des molécules de surface de l'hématie parasitée, responsables de la cytoadhérence (en étroite collaboration avec le laboratoire du Dr Gysin, Université de la Méditerrané, Marseille). L'adhérence des globules rouges parasités (GRP) à la chondroïtine sulfate A (CSA) du placenta est une donnée importante de la physiopathologie du paludisme gestationnel. Dans une étude antérieure, nous avons identifié un domaine de liaison à la CSA de la protéine PfEMP1 (codée par le gène var1CSA ) et nous l'avons exprimé en cellules d'insectes. Les anticorps monoclonaux obtenus par l'immunisation avec le domaine recombinant reconnaissent la surface des érythrocytes infectés par des parasites liants la CSA et d'origines géographiques différentes (photo 1). Des mutations du gène var1CSA par "knock out" ont été réalisées (en collaboration avec le groupe du Dr Lanzer, Université de Heidelberg). Bien que les parasites avaient initialement perdu le phénotype d'adhésion à la CSA, il a été possible de les sélectionner à nouveau pour ce phénotype. La molécule d'adhésion responsable de la liaison à la CSA, dans ce cas, est également codée par un membre de la famille des gènes var (var2CSA). Les domaines qui sont impliquées dans la liaison avec la CSA ont été identifiés et sont en cours de validation comme candidats vaccinaux afin de protéger les femmes enceintes du paludisme gestationnel. La délétion du gène var2CSA par manipulation génétique, permettra de déterminer si il existe d'autres molécules de surface pouvant se fixer à la CSA. Parrallèlement à ces travaux, nous recherchons les facteurs qui permettent d'induire le phénotype d'adhésion à la CSA pendant la grossesse.

Nous avons également progressé dans la caractérisation de la cytoadhérence des anneaux. En utilisant plusieurs anticorps monoclonaux dirigés contre la surface des GRP au stade anneau, nous avons identifié la Ring Surface Protein 2 (RSP2) comme une molécule importante impliquée dans l'adhérence des anneaux (collaboration avec le Dr Gysin). Nous avons montré que cette protéine est localisée dans les rhoptries des merozoïtes, mais est également retrouvée jusque 16 heures après l'invasion non seulement à la surface d'hématies parasitées mais aussi à la surface d'hématies non parasitées. De plus, nous avons établi qu'à la surface, RSP-2 est au sein d'un complexe protéique comprenant RAP-1 et au moins une autre protéine non identifiée. La présence d'un tel complexe de protéines parasitaires à la surface d'un grand nombre d'hématies nous a conduit à proposer qu'il soit impliqué dans la destruction des hématies et la survenue de l'anémie sévère du paludisme. Pour vérifier cette hypothèse nous avons réalisé des études de déformabilités en collaboration avec le Dr Thérèse Cynober de l'hôpital de Bicêtre et Max Hardeman de l'Academisch Medisch Centrum d'Amsterdam (Pays Bas). Nos données préliminaires montrent que les hématies d'une culture au stade anneau sont moins déformables que les hématies contrôles et que cette rigidification est majorée en présence d'anticorps spécifiques.

2. Mécanismes moléculaires de la variation antigénique:

Stuart Ralph, Alisson Gontijo, Ana Paola Rojas-Meza, Catherine Keeling, Artur Scherf

La variation antigénique est la stratégie utilisée par P. falciparum pour contourner les mécanismes de défenses de l'hôte. Dans une étude antérieure, nous avons pu établir la base des mécanismes de la variation antigénique (famille des gènes var) de P. falciparum. Les résultats ont mis en évidence une régulation épigénétique de la régulation de l'expression des gènes var. Dans des travaux précédents, nous avons démontré qu'aux stades érythrocytaires, les extrémités des chromosomes de P. falciparum sont localisées à la périphérie du noyau. Quatre à sept extrémités sont physiquement regroupées et forment des amas ("cluster"). Cette architecture subnucléaire semble créer un environnement favorable qui autorise l'expansion et la diversification des familles de gènes var situées aux extrémités des chromosomes. Deux études indépendantes ont montré qu'une région subtélomérique appelée rep20 est impliquée dans le regroupement en amas ("clustering"). Ces résultats suggèrent que rep 20 a un rôle dans la liaison entre elles des extrémités chromosomiques. La formation de ‘cluster' a été également observée chez d'autres espèces plasmodiales ayant une organisation subtélomérique très différente de celle retrouvée chez P. falciparum. L'effet de " position aux télomères " (telomere position effect) apporte un effet de répression sur les gènes impliqué dans la variation antigénique situés à proximité des répétitions télomériques. Les protéines essentielles pour la répression télomérique sont regroupées dans les régions télomériques ou sub-télomériques. Il existe notamment chez P. falciparum un gène orthologue au gène codant le "silent information regulators" (PfSir2) chez la levure. Cette protéine est associée avec des régions subtelomériques (téloméres, rep20 et les promoteurs des gènes var subtélomerique) et est également associé avec une chromatine plus compacte (Photo 2). Nos résultats montrent que P. falciparum peut utiliser un mécanisme de répression de l'expression similaire à celui de la levure pour les gènes var localisés aux extrémités subtélomériques. Un autre facteur épigénétique semble jouer un rôle dans le processus de l'activation d'un membre de la famille multigénique var. Ceci comprend la mobilité d'un locus vers une région du noyau apparemment compatible avec la transcription.

3. Les sous-compartiment nucléaire : le nucléole et les téloméres:

Liliana Mancio da Silva, Artur Scherf

La régulation épigénétique n'est probablement pas limité à la variation antigénique chez Plasmodium mais pourraît jouer un rôle crucial dans la transcription d'une autre famille de gènes, les gènes ribosomales. Plusieurs protéines comme par exemple PfSir2 sont localisé dans le nucléole. Nous allons étudier le rôle de ces protéines dans la transcription différentielle des membre de cette famille multigénique.

Un gène candidat pour la sous-unité catalytique de la télomérase (TERT) de P. falciparum a été identifié dans la banque de donnée du génome de P. falciparum. Nous avons pu localiser TERT dans un compartiment spécifique, qui apparaît être un sous-compartiment du nucléole. Des expériences d'inactivation de génique montrent que la télomérase est essentielle durant le développement des stades érythrocytaires. La télomérase est donc essentielle à la multiplication du parasite.

4. Transport intracellulaire :

Ana Filipa de Novais Julio, Solange Touron, Denise Mattei

Nous étudions le transport intracellulaire de protéines parasitaires adressées vers la membrane du globule rouge infecté par P. falciparum . L'identification et la caractérisation des mécanismes et voies de sécrétion spécifiques de Plasmodium ont un intérêt fondamental et contribuent à identifier de nouvelles cibles pouvant intervenir dans l'adhérence des érythrocytes parasités aux cellules endothéliales de l'hôte. Nous avons localisé l'homologue parasitaire de la GSK-3 (Glycogen Synthase Kinase-3) en association avec des structures membranaires, les fentes de Maurer, dans le cytoplasme de l'érythrocyte infecté (collaboration avec L. Meyer, Roscoff). Nous étudions le rôle de PfGSK-3 dans la phosphorylation des protéines exportées vers la membrane du globule rouge parasité et les conséquences sur la cytoadhérence. Des modifications de la membrane de l'érythrocyte induites par le parasite ont été impliquées dans le phénomène de cytoadhérence parasitaire. L'antigène CLAG9 (Cytoadherence-Linked Asexual Gene) a été décrit comme un ligand parasitaire au récepteur CD36 de l'hôte. Nos travaux montrent que le gène clag9 est transcrit chez les parasites sélectionnés pour leur capacité de liaison aux récepteurs CD36 et également chez ceux liant la CSA. Nous avons observé que CLAG 9 est localisé dans les rhoptries et non pas à la surface de l'érythrocyte infecté. En outre, nous avons démontré (en collaboration avec Irene Ling et A. Holder, NIMR, Mill Hill, Londres, UK) que CLAG9 fait partie du complexe RhopH. Ces résultats sont en contradiction avec le rôle proposé de ce ligand parasitaire à CD36. Le rôle de CLAG9 dans la cytoadherence reste donc à définir. Nous avons étudié des souches de P.falciparum présentant une délétion du gène clag9 (T9.96 et D10). Le marquage de la surface des érythocytes infectés a montré la présence d'une molécule similaire à PfEMP1. Cependant, ces souches ont perdu la capacité de s'adhérer aux récepteurs CSA, CD36, ICAM-1, E-selectin des cellules endotheliales. Il est possible que chez les isolats clag9 négatifs, un membre de la famille PfEMP1, ayant de nouvelles caractéristiques d'adhésion, soit exprimée à la surface des globules rouges infectés. Alternativement, la conformation de la molécule PfEMP1 exposé à la surface ne permet pas l'interaction avec le récepteur correspondant de la cellule endothéliale.

Légendes des photos :

Photo 1 : A.) Cytoadhésion d'hématies parasitées par P.falciparum sur le recepteur chondroitine sulfate A (CSA). B.) Immunofluorescence de surface d'un hématie parasité en utilisant un anticorps spécifique pour le ‘variant CSA'.

Photo 2 : Immuno microscopie électronique d'une hématite parasitée au stade schizonte. Le marquage d'un anticorps dirigé contre la protéine PfSir2 est dans la péripherie du noyau. Reconstitution de la distribution du héterochromatine en utilisant des coups sériées d'un noyau.

Mots-clés: paludisme, transport des protéines, variation antigénique, cytoadhérence, télomére



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  LOZNER Josyane – jlozner@pasteur.fr SCHERF Artur - Directeur de Recherche (DR1) - CNRS - Chef de Laboratoire - I. P ascherf@pasteur.fr

MATTEI Denise - Chef de Laboratoire - I. P. - dmm@pasteur.fr

GAMAIN Benoit- Chargé de Recherche (CR1) – CNRS bgamain@pasteur.fr

COELHO NUNES Marta - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – mnunes@pasteur.fr

DE NOVAIS JULIO Ana Filipa – Stagiaire – anovais@pasteur.fr

GONTIJO Alisson - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – agontijo@pasteur.fr

KEELING Catherine – Stagiaire – ckeeling@pasteur.fr

MANCIO DA SILVA Liliana - Stagiaire Doctorant – lmancio@pasteur.fr

RALPH Stuart - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – sralph@pasteur.fr

ROJAS-MEZA Ana Paola – Stagiaire Doctorant – aprojas@pasteur.fr

STERKERS Yvon – Stagiaire Doctorant – sterkers@pasteur.fr

VIEBIG Nicola - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant – nviebig@pasteur.fr

VINCENSINI Laetitia – Stagiaire Doctorant – lvincens@pasteur.fr

SCHEIDIG-BENATAR Christine - Technicienne Supérieure -I.P. - cbenatar@pasteur.fr

TOURON Solange - Technicienne – I.P. – solange@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr