Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Nuclear Cell Biology - URA 2582 CNRS


  Director : Bachellier Sophie, Nehrbass Ulf (bachelli@pasteur.fr, nehrbass@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We are currently studying nuclear structure function relationships, namely the regulatory function of spatial positioning. Using epifluorescence and spinning disk confocal microscopy, we are developing tools allowing us to follow spatial positioning of a discrete locus or larger DNA regions under active or inactive conditions. We are also using retroelements to define specific functional sub-domains in the chromosomes.



  report

cale

The laboratory has been engaged in nuclear structure function analysis.

Two major approaches have been taken:

We have analyzed how nuclear processes are influenced by nuclear architecture on the example of transcriptional regulation

We have analyzed how viral particles make use of intranuclear structures to integrate in specific sites

Both areas have seen significant advance during this year:

1. The structure/function analysis of transcriptional regulation. (S. Bachellier-Bassi, G. Cabal, B. David-Watine, F. Donnadieu, F. Feuerbach, O. Gadal, M. Mhlanga, A. Romano)

1.1 Perinuclear retention of pre-mRNA.

Building on previous work on the yeast structural proteins Mlp1 and Mlp2, we have shown that both proteins are distributed asymmetrically in the nuclear envelope, adjacent to chromatin. Using a genetic screen (in collaboration with the Unité de Génétique des Interactions Macromoléculaires), we could show that Mlp1 implements a quality control step prior to mRNA export, physically retaining faulty precursors. Therefore, pre-mRNA retention processes might take advantage of this unusual Mlp distribution.

1.2 A molecular model for a provocative hypothesis: "gene gating".

Knowing that nuclear architecture is relevant for transcriptional silencing, we have started to analyze the significance of spatial positioning on transcriptional activation. Building on work from last year suggesting that Cadmium-stress related genes require intact perinuclear architecture to properly activate transcription, we have been zooming in on one transcriptionally regulatory complex which is associated with stress gene transcription, the SAGA complex. In this project, in collaboration with the Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative, we have been able for the first time to track a gene in 3D over time in either an active or inactive state. We can document the relocation of genes upon activation and can further show that this recruitment is mediated by components of the SAGA complex interacting with the mRNA export machinery at the NPC extensions. These results constitute the first direct molecular proof for the gene-gating hypothesis first formulated 20 years ago.

1.3 Can mRNA contribute to the spatial positioning of a transcribed locus ?

Other projects have started to elucidate the role of mRNA in mediating the commitment of a transcribed locus to the perinuclear platform. In this project the location of a tetO-labeled heat shock gene in yeast is established relative to GFP-tagged Mlp-proteins delineating the nuclear periphery. Intriguingly, upon heat shock Mlp1 change their perinuclear distribution, forming few foci mostly at the nuclear periphery. These Mlp1 foci occasionally colocalize with the heat shock locus. We are currently analyzing whether the RNA of the very highly transcribed heat shock locus can recruit Mlp1 towards the transcription site. Whilst we have shown before that Mlp proteins can specifically interact with RNAs, the current experiment goes further in that it suggests an additional role of the transcribed mRNA in the localization of the transcribed gene. This activity of RNA in committing a highly transcribed gene to a given spatial locus could be in synergy with promoter binding factors. In coming experiments the correlation between dynamic Mlp1 delocalization and high turnover transcription sites will be analyzed as a function of individual RNA binding proteins such as SUB2 and YRA1.

1.4 Using rDNA repeats as a model to study spatial positioning during gene regulation.

We have used fluorescent probes to label the repeated ribosomal DNA (rDNA) region. Using a confocal spinning disk set-up and a super-resolution detection algorithm, in collaboration with C. Zimmer (Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative), we could show that histone deacetylase Sir2, a known regulator of rDNA structure, affects the labelled rDNA architecture. We are planning to extend our study to 3D plus time to analyse rDNA dynamics in vivo, and the effect of its extremely active transcription by switching it on and off. Under these conditions, we expect rDNA dynamics to be drastically affected, thus confirming the validity of this quantitative approach. Further, the modified rDNA will be evaluated in electron microscopy after cryo-fixation (EM) (in collaboration with P-E Gleizes). This study should provide more insight in structure function relationship between transcription and chromosome dynamics.

2. Viral elements in the structure function analysis of nuclei. (A. Boese, F. Feuerbach, P. Sommer)

2.1 Ty retrotransposons as tools to investigate modification in chromatin metabolism.

In the viral element related projects, we have used yeast retrotransposons as probes to explore the structural and functional organization of the nucleus. Deletion of genes encoding Mlp-proteins leads to an increase in recombination of cDNA copies of Ty5 with endogenous targets, involving these proteins in homologous recombination (HR) suppression. Analysis of retrotransposons' transposition in cells deficient for Mlp-proteins as well as the Rad52 protein, a component of the HR pathway, reveals the existence of two cell populations differing in their abilities to sustain Ty replication. We are currently analysing these two populations in order to understand their behaviours and exploring the relationships between Mlp-proteins and DNA repair/recombination pathways.

2.2 HIV/INI1 interaction and its role in subnuclear targeting.

The HIV project has analyzed whether HIV routes to and integrates into transcriptionally active sub-domains by the help of an interaction between HIV integrase and the hSNF5 (INI1) component of the SWI/SNF chromatin remodeling complex. Using an LTR-driven HIV reporter construct to infect cells in which INI1 has been reversibly knocked down using the RNA interference (RNAi) technology, we made the unexpected observation that the absence of INI1 at the time of viral infection leads to an increase in transcription rate of the reporter. By contrast, resurgence of INI1 levels after release of RNAi leads to repression of viral transcription. Intriguingly, a second RNAi depletion of INI1 only leads to a modest increase in expression of the already integrated viral reporter, indicating that the repressive release is not reversible. Further work has shown that this may be due to imprinting of a repressive chromatin code through H3 K9 methylation.

2.3 Global correlation between transcriptional potential and spatial positioning of integrated HIV viruses.

HIV further constitutes a very elegant system to correlate intra-nuclear positioning with transcriptional potential. We have generated clones of cells transduced with an HIV-based reporter construct, and determined the integration site via sequencing. Clones expressing varying amounts of LTR-driven proteins, which further vary in their ability to respond to tat activation, will be subjected to FISH analysis to determine HIV localization relative to the according chromosome territory. This work should help to elucidate whether a correlation exists between the expression levels of the viral reporters and their integration into specific functional sub-domains. It will further allow to study the effect of HIV integration on changes in spatial positioning of target sites, both in active and inactive conditions.

3. Further projects : Analyzing actin based locomotion associated with nuclei. (S. Münter)

A functionally compartmentalized nucleus should require some form of communication in-between compartments. In a system where spatial positioning encodes functional information, movement in-between these compartments could assume a regulatory role. Actin, which is associated with nuclei in its monomeric form, as well as ARP-proteins have been associated with nuclear function in a variety of contexts, such as chromatin remodeling and transcriptional activation. We therefore investigated whether actin treadmilling could constitute a possible nuclear locomotion principle. Using live cell confocal imaging combined with image processing, we observed micro-injected fluorescent actin monomers accumulate into a ring-structure around the nuclear envelope (NE) minutes after injection. A fluorescent analog of cytochalasin D (CD-BODIPY) also revealed this distinct ring of actin around NE-membranes. Both CD-BODIPY and fluorescent actin were detected deep inside NE-membrane invaginations. Further, in vitro, isolated NE-membranes nucleated actin polymerization, which was inhibited by the presence of antibodies directed against nucleoporins. Accordingly, we concluded that actin polymerization occurs specifically at the cytoplasmic face of NE-membranes, and depends upon steric availability of nucleoporins.

Keywords: nuclear architecture, gene regulation



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Dulieu, Isabelle, idulieu@pasteur.fr Bachellier-Bassi, Sophie, IP, (CR, bachelli@pasteur.fr)

David-Watine, Brigitte, INSERM, (CR1, bdwati@pasteur.fr)

Feuerbach-Fournier, Frank, IP, (CR, ffeuerba@pasteur.fr)

Gadal, Olivier, CNRS, (CR2, ogadal@pasteur.fr)

Boese, Annette, Postdoc

Cabal, Ghislain, PhD Student

Mhlanga, Musa, Postdoc

Münter, Sylvia, Postdoc

Romano, Alper, Postdoc

Sommer, Peter, Postdoc

Donnadieu, Françoise, (Technician, fdonna@pasteur.fr)

Doualot, Harry, (hdoualot@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Biologie Cellulaire du Noyau - URA 2582 CNRS


  Responsable : Bachellier Sophie, Nehrbass Ulf (bachelli@pasteur.fr, nehrbass@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire étudie les relations structure-fonction au sein du noyau, et plus précisément le rôle régulateur de la position des gènes dans l'espace nucléaire. Nous mettons au point des outils pour suivre la localisation -révélée par microscopie confocale (spinning disk) ou en épifluorescence - de loci discrets ou de régions chromosomiques, au cours du temps et en fonction de leur activité transcriptionnelle. Par ailleurs, nous utilisons des rétroéléments afin de définir des sous-domaines chromosomiques fonctionnels.



  rapport

cale

Le laboratoire étudie les relations structure-fonction au sein du noyau, en utilisant les deux approches suivantes :

1. Nous étudions l'influence de l'architecture nucléaire sur des mécanismes nucléaires (par exemple la régulation de la transcription).

2. Nous étudions l'utilisation de structures nucléaires par des particules rétrovirales dans le ciblage de sites d'intégration.

1. Analyse stucture-fonction de la régulation transcriptionnelle. (S. Bachellier-Bassi, G. Cabal, B. David-Watine, F. Donnadieu, F. Feuerbach, O. Gadal, M. Mhlanga, A. Romano)

1.1 Rétention périnucléaire des prémessagers.

Mlp1 et Mlp2, deux protéines impliquées dans l'architecture périnucléaire, sont distribuées de façon assymétrique dans la membrane nucléaire. Elles sont exclues de la région de la membrane nucléaire bordant le nucléole et se concentrent dans celle adjacente à la chromatine. Par un crible génétique réalisé en collaboration avec l'Unité de Génétique des Interactions Macromoléculaires, nous avons pu montrer que la protéine Mlp1 est impliquée dans le contôle qualité des ARNm avant leur export, retenant les ARN immatures dans le noyau.

1.2 Un modèle moléculaire pour le "gene gating".

Sachant que l'architecture nucléaire influence la répression transcriptionnelle, nous nous somme demandé si le positionnement spatial d'un gène dans le noyau pouvait aussi jouer un rôle dans l'activation de ce gène. A partir de données suggérant que l'intégrité du domaine périnucléaire chez Saccharomyces cerevisiae est nécessaire à l'activation des gènes de réponse au Cadmium, nous nous sommes concentrés sur l'étude d'un complexe de régulation transcriptionnelle impliqué dans la réponse aux stress, le complexe SAGA. En collaboration avec l'Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative, nous avons mis au point une méthode permettant de suivre un gène, actif ou non, en 3D et au cours du temps. Nous avons ainsi pu suivre la relocalisation vers la périphérie du noyau de gènes lors de leur activation, et montrer que ce phénomène est dépendant de l'interaction du complexe SAGA avec la machinerie d'export des ARNm au niveau des extensions nucléoplasmiques du pore nucléaire. Ces résultats constituent la première preuve de l'existence du phénomène de "gene-gating", dont l'hypothèse avait été formulée pour la première fois il y a 20 ans.

1.3 Contribution des ARNm à la localisation d'un locus transcrit.

Nous étudions la position d'un gène de choc thermique de levure marqué par des répétitions "tetO" (auxquelles se lie spécifiquement la protéine TetR fusionnée à la GFP) par rapport à la périphérie du noyau, révélée par la protéine Mlp1 fusionnée à la GFP. De manière inattendue, la distribution périnucléaire de cette protéine est affectée par le choc thermique : elle se concentre en foyers principalement périphériques, mais parfois à proximité du locus marqué par les répétitions tetO. Nous étudions le possible recrutement de Mlp1 par l'ARN au site même de transcription. Nous avons en effet montré que les protéines Mlp se lient à des ARN ; les expériences en cours suggèrent que les transcrits, via cette interaction, pourraient jouer un rôle dans la localisation du gène transcrit, éventuellement en synergie avec des régulateurs de transcription. Nous poursuivons l'analyse de la relocalisation de Mlp1 à proximité de sites hautement transcrits et son possible lien avec des facteurs de liaison à l'ARN, tels SUB2 et YRA1.

1.4 L'ADNr comme modèle d'étude de la dynamique de la chromatine lors de la régulation des gènes.

Nous avons modifié la région codant les ARN ribosomiques (ADNr) pour permettre son marquage fluorescent. L'observation de ce marquage fluorescent à l'aide d'un microscope confocal (disque de Nipkov), suivie de l'analyse quantitative des images obtenues avec un algorithme de super-résolution, en collaboration avec C. Zimmer (Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative), nous permet d'étudier l'ADNr in vivo en 3D. Nous avons pu montrer qu'un mutant de l'histone déacétylase (sir2?) affecte l'architecture spatiale de l'ADNr marqué. Nous allons étendre cette approche statique en une étude en 3D au cours du temps pour mieux comprendre les liens entre régulation transcriptionelle et dynamique de la chromatine in vivo.

2. Utilisation de retro-éléments comme outils d'analyse des relations structure/fonction du noyau. (A. Boese, F. Feuerbach, P. Sommer)

2.1 Utilisation de retrotransposons pour mettre en évidence des modifications du métabolisme nucléaire.

Dans des cellules déficientes pour les protéines Mlp1 et Mlp2, la fréquence de transposition du rétrotransposon Ty5 est augmentée. Ce phénomène n'est plus observé lorsque la machinerie de recombinaison homologue (RH) est également inactive, suggérant que les protéines Mlp jouent un rôle dans la régulation de la RH. Les études réalisées avec ces triples mutants ont révélé l'existence de deux sous-populations disctintes, dans lesquelles la fréquence de transposition des éléments Ty5, mais aussi Ty1, diffère. Les travaux actuellement poursuivis ont pour but d'essayer de déterminer ce qui différencie ces deux populations ainsi que le rôle des protéines Mlp dans les phénomènes de recombinaison et/ou de réparation de l'ADN.

2.2 Interaction entre le virus VIH et INI1 et son rôle dans la détermination des sites d'intégration du virus.

Ce projet avait pour but initial de déterminer si l'interaction entre l'intégrase du VIH et la protéine INI1 (hSNF5), membre du complexe SWI/SNF de remodelage de la chromatine, favorisait l'intégration de ce virus dans des zones transcriptionnellement actives du génome. Des cellules dans lesquelles l'expression de la protéine INI1 est inhibée de façon transitoire en utilisant la technique d'interférence ARN (RNAi) ont été infectées par un vecteur viral contenant un gène rapporteur sous contrôle du promoteur du VIH. De façon surprenante, la transcription du gène rapporteur est augmentée lorsque la protéine INI1 est absente au moment de l'infection, mais est inhibée lorsque la quantité de cette protéine retrouve son taux normal. Une fois le gène rapporteur (et donc le virus) intégré, l'inhibition de la synthèse de la protéine INI1 par interférence ARN n'a qu'un effet modeste sur le taux d'expression du rapporteur. Cette absence de réversibilité pourrait résulter d'une modification stable de la chromatine inhibant la transcription, puisque nous avons pu mettre en évidence une augmentation de la méthylation des résidus lysine en position 9 de l'histone H3 dans la séquence promotrice du gène rapporteur.

2.3 Corrélation globale entre le potentiel transcriptionnel et la position des virus VIH intégrés.

Le VIH constitue par ailleurs un système très élégant pour corréler la position d'un locus dans le noyau à un potentiel transcriptionnel. Nous avons établi des lignées cellulaires après transduction par un vecteur viral contenant un gène rapporteur sous contrôle du promoteur du VIH, et séquencé les sites d'intégration. La position du VIH par rapport aux territoires chromosomiques sera analysée par FISH dans des clones présentant différents niveaux d'expression du rapporteur, et qui répondent différemment à l'activation tat. Ce travail permettra de déterminer s'il existe une corrélation entre les niveaux d'expression des gènes rapporteurs et leur intégration dans des sous-domaines fonctionnels spécifiques. Il nous permettra également d'étudier l'effet de l'intégration du VIH sur les changements de position du locus d'intégration.

3 L'actine et les mouvements du noyau. (S. Münter)

Un noyau est un espace compartimentalisé qui, pour être fonctionnel, doit permettre une certaine forme de communication entre ces compartiments. Dans un environnement où la localisation dans l'espace nucléaire porte une information fonctionnelle, les mouvements entre ces compartiments pourraient avoir une fonction régulatrice. L'actine, dont la forme monomérique est associée aux noyaux, ainsi que les protéines ARP, ont été impliquées dans de nombreux mécanismes nucléaires, tels le remodelage de la chromatine et l'activation transcriptionnelle. Nous avons étudié l'effet de la polymérisation de l'actine dans la locomotion nucléaire. Nous avons observé, par imagerie confocale sur cellules vivantes suivie d'analyse d'images, que des monomères d'actine fluorescente micro-injectés dans les cellules s'accumulent et forment un anneau autour de l'enveloppe nucléaire en quelques minutes. Cet anneau d'actine présent autour de l'enveloppe nucléaire est également révélé par le CD-BODIPY, un analogue fluorescent de la cytochalasine D. Nous avons détecté l'actine fluorescente et le CD-BODIPY à l'intérieur d'invaginations profondes de la membrane nucléaire. Par ailleurs, in vitro, des enveloppes nucléaires isolées stimulent la polymérisation de l'actine, qui est inhibée en présence d'anticorps dirigés contre les nucléoporines.

Mots-clés: architecture nucléaire, régulation de l'expression des gènes



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Dulieu, Isabelle, idulieu@pasteur.fr Bachellier-Bassi, Sophie, IP, (CR, bachelli@pasteur.fr)

David-Watine, Brigitte, INSERM, (CR1, bdwati@pasteur.fr)

Feuerbach-Fournier, Frank, IP, (CR, ffeuerba@pasteur.fr)

Gadal, Olivier, CNRS, (CR2, ogadal@pasteur.fr)

Boese, Annette, Postdoc

Cabal, Ghislain, Etudiant en thèse

Mhlanga, Musa, Postdoc

Münter, Sylvia, Postdoc

Romano, Alper, Postdoc

Sommer, Peter, Postdoc

Donnadieu, Françoise, (ITA, fdonna@pasteur.fr)

Doualot, Harry, (ITA, hdoualot@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr