Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Anaerobe Bacteria and Toxins


  Director : Popoff Michel R. (mpopoff@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Regulation of the toxinogenesis in Clostridium botulinum and Clostridium tetani, evidence that BotR and TetR are alternative sigma factors controlling the expression of toxin and associated protein genes. Immunogeniciy of botulinum toxin. Study of large clostridial toxins (C. sordellii toxins) which glucosylate Rho and Ras GTPases and investigation of signaling pathways involved in the control of the actin cytoskeleton and intercellular junctions. Structure of C. perfringens epsilon toxin.

The National Reference Center for Anaerobes and Botulism is involved in the survey of botulism and identification of anaerobe isolates (see CNR for anaerobic bacteria and botulism.



  report

cale

BotR/A and TetR are alternative RNA polymerase sigma factors controlling the expression of the neurotoxin and associated protein genes in Clostridium botulinum type A and Clostridium tetani

Clostridium botulinum and Clostridium tetani respectively produce potent toxins, botulinum neurotoxin (BoNT) and tetanus neurotoxin (TeTx), which are responsible for severe diseases, botulism and tetanus. Neurotoxin synthesis is a regulated process in Clostridium. The genes botR/A in C. botulinum A and tetR in C. tetani positively regulate expression of BoNT/A and associated non toxic proteins (ANTPs), as well as TeTx, respectively. The botR/A gene lies in close vicinity of the two operons which contain bont/A and antps genes in C. botulinum A, and tetR immediately precedes the tetX gene in C. tetani. We show that BotR/A and TetR function as specific alternative sigma factors rather than positive regulators based on the following results : i) BotR/A and TetR associated with target DNAs only in the presence of the RNA polymerase core enzyme (Core); ii) BotR/A and TetR directly bound with the core enzyme; iii) BotR/A-Core recognized -35 and -10 regions of ntnh-bont/A promoter; and iv) BotR/A and TetR triggered in vitro transcription from the target promoters. In C. botulinum A, bont/A and antps genes are transcribed as bi-and tri-cistronic operons controlled by BotR/A. BotR/A and TetR are seemingly related to a new subgroup of the &σ 70 family that includes TcdR and UviA, which respectively regulate production of toxins A and B in C. difficile and bacteriocin in C. perfringens. Sequences of -35 region are highly conserved in the promoter of target toxin genes in C. botulinum, C. tetani, C. difficile and C. perfringens. Overall, a common regulation mechanism probably controls toxin gene expression in these four toxigenic clostridial species.

`

Interaction between the two Subdomains of the C-terminal Part of the Botulinum Neurotoxin A is Essential for the Generation of Protective Antibodies

The botulinum neurotoxin A C-terminal fragment (Hc), which mediates the binding of the toxin to neuronal cell surface receptors, comprises two subdomains, Hc-N (amino acids 873-1095) and Hc-C (amino acids 1096-1296). In order to define the minimal fragment of Hc carrying protective antigenic properties, Hc, Hc-N and Hc-C have been produced as recombinant proteins in Escherichia coli, and have been tested for their antigenicity in mouse protection assays. Hc, Hc-N and Hc-C induced similar antibody levels a shown by ELISA. However, a single immunization with Hc (10 g) fully protected mice challenged with 103 mouse lethal dose 50 of toxin, whereas Hc-N, Hc-C, or Hc-N plus Hc-C did not give any protection. Triple immunizations with Hc-N or Hc-C were necessary to induce a higher level of protection. Circular dichroism and fluorescence studies showed that the isolated subdomains were folded and stable. However, an intense near-UV dichroic signal was only observed in the Hc spectrum, revealing a highly structured interface between both subdomains. Taken together, the results show that the generation of protective antibodies requires the whole Hc domain and especially the native structure of the interfacial region between Hc-N and Hc-C.

A phosphatidylserine-binding site in the cytosolic fragment of Clostridium sordellii lethal toxin facilitates glucosylation of membrane-bound Rac

Large clostridial toxins glucosylate some small G proteins on a threonine residue, thereby preventing their interaction with effector molecules and regulators. We show that the glucosyltransferase domain of lethal toxin from Clostridium sordellii (LTcyt; amino acids 1-546), which is released in the cytosol during cell infection, binds preferentially to liposomes containing phosphatidylserine as compared to other anionic lipids. The binding of LTcyt to phosphatidylserine increases by two-order of magnitude the rate of glucosylation of liposomebound geranyl-geranylated Rac-GDP. Limited proteolysis and deletion studies show that the binding site for phosphatidylserine lies within the first N terminal 18 residues of LTcyt. Deletion of these residues abolishes the effect of phosphatidylserine on the activity of LTcyt on liposome-bound geranyl-geranylated Rac-GDP and prevents the morphological effects induced by LTcyt microinjection into various cells, but does not affect the intrinsic activity of LTcyt on non-geranyl-geranylated Rac-GDP in solution. We conclude that the avidity of Ltcyt for phosphatidylserine facilitates its targeting to the cytosolic leaflet of cell membranes and notably the plasma membrane, where this anionic lipid is abundant and where several targets of lethal toxin reside.

Degeneration and Regeneration of Murine Skeletal Neuromuscular Junctions After Intramuscular Injection of a Sublethal Dose of Clostridium sordellii Lethal Toxin

Clostridium sordellii lethal toxin (LT), a 250 kDa protein which is the bacterium's major virulence factor, belongs to a family of large clostridial cytotoxins which glucosylate small GTP-binding proteins. Here, we report the results of our ex vivo analysis of the structure and function of skeletal neuromuscular tissue obtained from mice at various times after intramuscular injection of a sublethal dose of LT (0.25 ng/g body wt). The toxin caused, within 24 h, pronounced localized edema, inflammation, myofibril disassembly, and degeneration of skeletal muscle fibers in the injected area, and it glucosylated the muscle tissue's small GTPases. Regeneration of the damaged fibers was evident 6 to 9 days post-injury and was completed by 60 days. The expression of dystrophin, laminin, and fast- and neonatal-myosin in regenerating fibers, detected using immunofluorescence microscopy, confirmed that LT does not impair the high regenerative capacity of murine skeletal muscle fibers. Functional studies revealed that LT affects muscle contractility and neuromuscular transmission. However, partial recovery of nerve-evoked muscle twitches and tetanic contractions was observed by day 15 postinjection, and extensive remodeling of the neuromuscular junction's nerve terminals and clusters of muscle acetylcholine receptors was still evident 30 days postinjection. In conclusion, to the best of our knowledge, this is the first report to characterize the degeneration and regeneration of skeletal neuromuscular tissue after in vivo exposure to a large clostridial cytotoxin. In addition, our data may provide an explanation for the severe neuromuscular alterations accompanying wound infections caused by C. sordellii.

Clostridium perfringens epsilon toxin shows structural similarity to the pore-forming toxin aerolysin

Epsilon-Toxin from Clostridium perfringens is a lethal toxin. Recent studies suggest that the toxin acts via an unusually potent pore-forming mechanism. Here we report the crystal structure of epsilon-toxin, which reveals structural similarity to aerolysin from Aeromonas hydrophila. Pore-forming toxins can change conformation between soluble and transmembrane states. By comparing the two toxins, we have identified regions important for this transformation.

Photo 1

Representative transverse tibialis anterior muscle sections stained with hematoxylin and eosin, and at various times after mice received a sublethal, intramuscular injection of C. sordellii LT. Note the presence of only necrotic fibers (asterisks) and abundant inflammatory infiltrates (arrows) by 3 days post-injection. Regenerating small myocytes and central nuclei are evident (arrowheads) by 9 to 17 days post-injection, but necrotic fibers and connective tissue are not present, and skeletal muscles possess large regenerating fibers with central nuclei, by 17 to 30 days post-injection.

Photo 2

Structures of C. perfringens epsilon toxin and aerolysin with domains labeled. (a,b) Ribbon diagrams of ETX (a) and aerolysin (b) colored from red at the N terminus to blue at the C terminus. Extra helices and loops in aerolysin are gray and the region possibly inserted into the membrane is highlighted in purple. The coordinates of ETX have been deposited in the Protein Data Bank (accession code 1UYJ).

Keywords:



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Marie Aude Mainemare, mamainne@pasteur.fr Geny, Blandine, INSERM (DR2) geny@pasteur.fr

Stiles Bradley, scientist visitor, bradley.stiles@us.army.mil

Boehm Catherine, PhD student, cboehm@pasteur.fr

Couesnon Aurélie, PhD student, couesnon@pasteur.fr

Raffestin Stéphanie, PhD student, sraff@pasteur.fr

Carlier Jean Philippe, Engineer, jcarlier@pasteur.fr

Pereira, Yannick, Engineer, ypereira@pasteur.fr

Gibert, Maryse, Technician, mgibert@pasteur.fr

Bedora-Faure, Marie, Technician, mbedora@pasteur.fr

K'Ouas, Guylene, Technician, gkouas@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Bactéries anaérobies et Toxines


  Responsable : Popoff Michel R. (mpopoff@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Régulation de la toxinogénèse chez Clostridium botulinum et Clostridium tetani; évidence que BotR/A et TetR sont des facteurs sigma alternatifs contrôlant l'expression des gènes de la neurotoxine et des protéines associées. Immunogénicité de la neurotoxine botulique. Etude des toxines clostridiennes de grande taille qui glucosylent des Rho et Ras GTPases; voies de signalisation impliquées dans le contrôle de la polymérisation de l'actine et des jonction intercellulaires. Structure de la toxine epsilon de Clostridium perfringens.

Le CNR Bactéries anaérobies et botulisme est impliqué dans la surveillance du botulisme et l'identification des souches de bactéries anaérobies (voir CNR bactéries anaérobies et botulisme).



  rapport

cale

Bot R/A et TetR sont des facteurs sigma alternatifs contrôlant l'expression des gènes de la neurotoxine et des protéines associées chez Clostridium botulinum A et Clostridium tetani

Clostridium botulinum et Clostridium tetani produisent de puissantes toxines, la neurotoxine botulique (BoNT) et la toxine tétanique (TeTx), respectivement, qui sont responsables de maladies sévères, le botulisme et le tétanos<. La synthèse de neurotoxine st une processus régulé chez Clostridium. Les gènes botR/A chez C. botulinum A et tetR chez C. tetani régulent positivement l'expression des gènes codant pour BoNT/A et les protéines non toxiques associées (ANTPs), ainsi que TeTx respectivement. Le gène botR/A est loclaisé à proximité de deux opérons qui contiennent les gènes bont/A et antps chez C. botyulinum A, et tetR précède immédiatement le gène tetx chez C. tetani. Nous avons montré que BotR/A et TetR agissent comme desf acteurs digma alternatifs plutot que comme des régulateurs positifs d'après les résultats suivants: i) BotR/A et TetR s'associent à l'ADN cible seulement en présence du core enzyme de de la RNA polymerase (Core); ii) BotR/A et TetR se fixent sur le core enzyme; iii) BotR/A-Core reconnaît les régions –35 et –10 du proomoter ntnh-bont/A, at iv) BotR/A et TetR stimulent la transcription in vitro des promoters cibles. Chez C. botulinum A, les gènes bont/A et antps sont transcrits commes des opréons bi- et tri-cistroniques sous le contrôle de BotR/A. BotR/A et TetR sont certainement apparentés à un nouveau de facteurs sigma de la famille &σ 70 qui inclue TcdR et UviA, qui régulent respectivement la production des toxines A et B de C. difficile et et une bactériocine chez C. perfringens. Les séquences des régions –35 sont hautement conservées dans les promoteurs des gènes cibles des toxines chez C. botulinum, C. tetani, C. difficile et C. perfringens. Ainsi, un mécanisme commun de régulation contrôle probablement l'expression des gènes de toxines chez ces quatre espèces de Clostridium.

L'interaction entre les deux sous-domaines de la partie C-terminale de la neurotoxine botulique A sont essentiels pour l'induction d'anticorps neutralisants

Le fragment C-terminal (Hc) de la neurotoxine botulique A qui est implique dans la liaison de la toxine avec les récepteurs à la surface des neurones, est constitué de deux sous domaines, Hc-N (acides aminés 873-1095) et HcC (acides aminés 1096-1296). Dans le but de définir le fragment minimal de Hc qui porte les épitopes protecteurs, Hc, Hc-N et Hc-C ont été produits en tant que protéine recombinante chez Escherichia coli, et ont été testés pour leur antigénicité dans des essais de protection chez la souris. Hc, Hc-N et Hc-C induisent une réponse identique en anticorps mesurés par ELISA. Cependant, une simple immunisation avec Hc (10 μg) protége complétement les souris éprouvées avec 103 doses létales de neurotoxine botulique A, tandis que Hc-N,t Hc-C, ou Hc-N plus Hc-C n'ont pas produit de protection. Des triples immunisations avec Hc-N ou Hc-C ont été nécessaires pour induire un niveau élevé de protection. Les analyses par dichroisme circulaire et fluorescence ont montré que les sous domaines recombinants étaient structurés et stables. Cependant, un intense signal en UV proche et en dichroisme circulaire a été observé seulement dans le spectre de Hc, révélant une interface hautement structurée entre les deux sous domaines. Ces résultats montrent que l'induction d'anticorps protecteurs requiert le domaine Hc entier et plus spécialement la structure native de la région interfaciale entre les sous domaines Hc-N et Hc-C.

Un site de liaison à la phosphatidylsérine dans le fragment cytosolique de la toxine létlae de Clostridium sordellii facilite la glucosylation de Rac lié à la membraneB

Les toxines clostridiennes de grande taille glucosylent cetaines petites GTPases sur un résidu thréonine, ainsi empêchant leur interaction avec leurs effecteurs. Nous avons montré que le domaine glucosyltransferase de la toxine letale (LT) de Clostridium sordellii (LTcyt acides aminés 1-546), qui est relargué dans le cytosol durant l'intoxication, se lie ;préférentiellement aux liposomes contenant de la phosphatidylsérine comparé aux autres lipides anioniques. La liaison de Ltcyt à la phosphatidylsérine augmente d'une magnitude deux ordres le taux de glucosylation de liposomes couplés à Rac-GDP-géranyl-géranyl. Une étude par protéolyse ménagée et troncation a montré que le site de liaison à la phosphatidylsérine est localisé dans les 18 acides aminés N-terminaux de Ltcyt. La délétion de ces résidus abolit l'effet de la phosphatidylsérine sur l'activité de Ltcyt sur les liposomes couplés à Rac-GDP-géranyl-géranyl. En conclusion, l'avidité de Ltcyt pour la phosphatidylsérine facilité sa liaison sur le feuilleet cytosolique des membranes cellulaires plus spécialement de la membrane plasmique, où ce lipide anionique est abondant et où sont localisés plusieurs cibles de la toxine LT.

Dégénération et régénération des jonctions neuromusculaires squelettiques de souris après injection intramusculaire de dose sublétale de toxine létale de Clostridium sordellii

La toxine létale de Clostridium sordellii (LT) qui est le facteur majeur de virulence de cette bactérie, appartient à la famille des toxines clostridiennes de grande taille qui glucosylent des petites GTPases. Nous avons analysé ex vivo la structure et la fonction du tissu neuromusculaire squelettique de souris après injection intramusculaire de dose sublétale (0,25 ng/g) de LT. En 24h, LT a induit un œdème localisé et sévère, inflammation, désassemblage des myofibrilles, et dégénération des fibres musculaires squelettiques dans la zone d'injection, et la glucosylation des petites GTPases du tissu musculaire. La régénération des fibres musculaires endommagées était évidente 6 à 9 jours après injection et était complète après 60 jours. L'expression de dystrophine, laminine, ainsi que de la myosine néonatale et rapide détectée par microscopie en immunofluorescence dans les fibres en régénérescence, a confirmé que LT n'altère pas la capacité de régénération des fibres musculaires de souris. Une étude fonctionnelle a révélé que LT affecte la contractilité musculaire et la transmission neuro-musculaire. Cependant, une guérison partielle de la transmission neuro-musculaire a été observée 15 jours après injection et un remodelage important des jonctions neuro-musculaires et un regroupement des récepteurs musculaires à l'acétylcholine étaient encore évidents 30 jours après injection. En conclusion, ceci est le premier rapport caractérisant une dégénération régénération du tissu neuromusculaire squelettique après exposition in vivo à une toxine clostridienne de grande taille. De plus, nos données procurent une explication aux altérations sévères du tissu neuromusculaire qui accompagnent les infections de plaies par C. sordellii.

La toxine espilon de Clostridium perfringens montre une structure similaire à celle de l'aérolysine, une toxine formant des pores

La toxine epsilon de Clostridium perfringens est une toxine létale. Des études récentes montrent que cette toxine agît par un mécanisme particulier de formation de pores. Nous avons déterminé la structure cristallographique de la toxine epsilon, qui révèle une structure similaire à celle de l'aérolysine de Aeromonas hydrophila. Les toxines qui forment de pores changent de conformation entre un état soluble et transmembranaire. En comparant les deux toxines, nous avons identifié les régions importantes pour cette transformation.

Photo 1. Représentation d'une section transversale du muscle tibialis anterior coloré avec l'hématoxline et l'éosine, à différents temps après injection intramusculaire d'une dose sublétale de LT. Noter la présence de fibres nécrotiques (astérique) et d'in infiltrat inflammatoire abondant (flèche) 3 jours après injection. Des petits myocytes en régénération et des noyaux centraux (pointe de flèche) sont évidents9 et 17 jours après injection, mais les fibres nécrotiques et le tissu conjonctif ne sont pas présents, et les muscles squelettiques possèdent de grandes fibres en cours de régénération avec des noyaux centraux 17 et 30 jours après injection.

Photo 2. Structure de la toxine epsilon de Clostridium perfringens et de l'aérolysine avec identification des domaines. Diagramme en ruban de la toxine epsilon (a) et de l'aérolysine (b), N-terminus coloré en rouge et C-terminus en bleu. Des boucles et hélices supplémentaires dans l'aérolysine sont en gris et la région qui s'insère probablement dans la membrane est en rouge foncé. La structure de la toxine epsilon a été déposée dans Protein Data Bank (accession code IUYJ).

Mots-clés: Clostridium, botulisme, toxines, Rho-GTPases, cytosquelette, actine



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Marie Aude Mainemare, mamainne@pasteur.fr Geny, Blandine, INSERM (DR2) geny@pasteur.fr

Stiles Bradley, scientist visitor, bradley.stiles@us.army.mil

Boehm Catherine, thèse MRT, cboehm@pasteur.fr

Couesnon Aurélie, thése DGA, couesnon@pasteur.fr

Raffestin Stéphanie, thèse DGA, sraff@pasteur.fr

Carlier Jean Philippe, ingénieur, jcarlier@pasteur.fr

Pereira, Yannick, ingénieur, ypereira@pasteur.fr

Gibert, Maryse, technicienne, mgibert@pasteur.fr

Bedora-Faure, Marie, technicienne, mbedora@pasteur.fr

K'Ouas, Guylene, technicienne, gkouas@pasteur.fr

Manich, Maria, technicienne, mmanich@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr