Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Molecular and Cellular Allergology


  Director : Daëron, Marc (daeron@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Cell activation results from the transient displacement of a balance between positive and negative signals delivered by activating and inhibitory receptors. Both types of receptors are co-expressed on cells involved in allergic reactions. Signals are integrated by transmembrane adapter molecules which organize intracellular signaling complexes. Our working hypothesis is that allergic diseases result from defects in the mechanisms that maintain this balance and prevent the outcome of clinical symtoms in normal individuals. During the last year, we have focused our work on negative signaling generated by FcγRIIB, the low-affinity IgG receptors which we demonstrated previously that they can inhibit cell activation, and by two transmembrane adapters, LAT and NTAL. We found 1) that the intracytoplasmic domain of FcγRIIB contains two tyrosine-based motifs which cooperate to recruit SHIP1, the phosphatase that is responsible for inhibition; 2) that inhibition depends on the F-actin skeleton where SHIP1 is located and to which FcγRIIB associate upon engagement ; 3) that LAT integrates not only positive but also negative signals generated by high-affinity IgE receptors in mast cells; and 4) that NTAL functions as an inhibitor of mast cell activation. Our projects include: 1) further in vitro analyses of the intracellular molecular interactions that regulate cell activation; 2) an in vivo study of interactions between human FcRs in murine allergy models using "humanized" mice; 3) an ex vivo exploration of negative regulation of cell activation in allergic patients.



  report

cale

The activation, proliferation and differentiation of cells involved in the immune response are under the control of membrane receptors that trigger positive and negative signals. These signals are integrated through the sequential interactions of intracellular molecules recruited within signaling complexes that build up underneath co-engaged receptors and whose composition varies with time. As a consequence, the immune response is tightly controlled and, although potentially deleterious, immune effectors are non pathogenic in normal individuals. The research project of the unité lies on the hypothesis that allergic diseases can arise as a consequence of defects - that might possibly affect any step during the allergic reaction - in negative regulation that prevents the outcome of allergic manifestations in normal individuals. It will aim at evaluating the possible contribution of negative regulation defects in allergic diseases, and at characterizing the putative defects in order to correct them and/or to utilize negative regulation as a new therapeutic tool in allergies.

We demonstrated previously that FcγRIIB, a family of receptors for the Fc portion (FcRs) of IgG antibodies expressed by most cells of hematopoietic origin, can inhibit activation and proliferation signals triggered by immunoreceptors and growth factor receptors, respectively. Inhibition depends on an Immunoreceptor Tyrosine-based Inhibition Motif (ITIM) that we first identified in the intracytoplasmic domain of murine and human FcγRIIB and that was subsequently found in a large number of other inhibitory receptors. When FcγRIIB are co-aggregated with activating receptors on the same cell by a common extracellular ligand, such as immune complexes, their ITIM is phopshorylated and recruits the phopshatidylinositol 5-phosphatase SHIP1 which accounts for inhibition. These results were confirmed in vivo using FcγRIIB-/- mice. These mice exhibited enhanced anaphylactic reactions and developed autoimmune diseases. During the last year, we further studied mechanisms by which FcγRIIB generate negative signals and we undertook an analysis of mechanisms by which positive and negative signals generated by high-affinity IgE receptors (FcεRI) are integrated in mast cells. These works led to the following results.

The FcγRIIB intracytoplasmic domain contains a second tyrosine-based inhibitory motif

We identified a second tyrosine-based motif, in the intracytoplasmic domain of murine FcγRIIB, and demonstrated its role in the recruitment of SHIP1. In order for this phosphatase to be recruited by FcγRIIB, the binding of its SH2 domain to the phosphorylated FcγRIIB ITIM indeed needs to be stabilized by Grb2 and/or Grap. These cytosolic adapter molecules bind both to this second motif, in FcγRIIB, via their SH2 domain and, via their C-terminal SH3 domain, to proline-rich sequences in the C-terminal region of SHIP1. These simultaneous interactions enable the formation of a stable tri-molecular complex (Isnardi et al., J. Biol. Chem. 2004).

The F-actin skeleton is critical for FcγRIIB-dependent negative regulation

We have found that, in mast cells, the recruitment of SHIP1 by murine FcγRIIB occurs in the cytoskeleton. Having observed that FcγRIIB and SHIP1 are located in different subcellular compartments in resting mast cells, we investigated where these molecules could meet when FcγRIIB are co-aggregated with FcεRI. We found that receptor complexes associate with the cytoskeleton where the high-molecular isoform of SHIP1 is constitutively bound to an actin-binding protein, filamin. SHIP1, subsequently dissociates from filamin, and remains bound onto FcγRIIB. This mechanism enables phosphorylated FcγRIIB to concentrate the phosphatase at proximity of signaling complexes that form underneath FcεRI with which they are co-aggregated (Lesourne et al., J. Immunol., 2005, in press).

LAT integrates positive and negative signals delivered into mast cells by FcεRI

LAT is a transmembrane adapter the intracytoplasmic domain of which contains 9 tyrosine residues. When phopshorylated, these tyrosines recruit and organize the signaling complex induced upon FcεRI engagement. We investigated the roles played by LAT tyrosines in mast cells derived from knock-in mice bearing point mutations of one, three or the four C-terminal LAT tyrosines and generated by Marie and Bernard Malissen at the Centre d'Immunologie de Marseille-Luminy. We could assign distinct roles to these tyrosines in mast cell activation. These tyrosines indeed differentially contribute to biological responses (release of granular mediators and cytokine secretion) and to signals leading to the generation of intracellular effctors of cell activation (intracellular Ca2+ and MAP kinases). Interestingly, we found that the dominant positive effects of LAT result from an integration of positive and negative signals that depend on distinct tyrosines and that differentially regulate the metabolic pathways leading to exocytosis and to cytokine secretion (Malbec et al., J. Immunol. 2004)

LAT and NTAL are a pair of antaogonistic molecules in mast cells

NTAL is another transmembrane adapter which closely resembles LAT. This molecule was proposed to play a role similar to the role played by LAT, in B cells and macrophages which do not express LAT. Interestingly, mast cells express both LAT and NTAL. Because we had observed, in the above study, that although markedly reduced, IgE-induced activation was not abolished in LAT-/- mast cells, we hypothesized that LAT and NTAl might have complementary roles in mast cells. We therefore examined mast cells derived from LAT-deficient, NTAL-deficient or LAT and NTAL-deficient mice, generated by Marie and Bernard Malissen. Surprisingly, we found that LAT and NTAL play antagonistic roles in mast cells. Whereas LAT functions as an amplifier, NTAL indeed functions as an inhibitor of IgE-induced mast cell activation. NTAL therefore appears as a novel inhibitory molecule of allergic reaction (Roget et al., article en preparation).

Our projects comprise three complementary approaches that will be conducted simultaneously: 1) an in vitro analysis that will further dissect the intracellular molecular interactions which negatively regulate cell activation, 2) an in vivo analysis of interactions between human Fc Receptors in models of allergies in mice in which all endogenous FcRs will have been replaced by human FcRs and 3) an ex vivo exploration of negative regulation of cell activation in allergic patients.

Keywords: Allergies, Immunoregulation, Antibodies, Fc Receptors, Transmembrane adapters, Intracellular signaling



  publications

puce Publications 2004 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Papelard, Solange, (papelard@pasteur.fr) Bruhns, Pierre, CR2 INSERM, (bruhns@pasteur.fr) Frémont, Sophie, MCH-PH, Univ. of Nancy, (sfremont@pasteur.fr)

Lesourne, Renaud, Post-doctoral student, Univ. Paris 5, (lesourne@pasteur.fr)

Roget, Karine, Doctoral student, Univ. Paris 6, (kroget@pasteur.fr)

Mancardi, David, Graduate student (Mastère 2), Univ. Paris 6, (mancardi@pasteur.fr)

Malbec, Odile, Engineer (IE2 INSERM), (omalbec@pasteur.fr)

Iannascoli, Bruno, Qualified Technician Pasteur, (biannasc@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Allergologie moléculaire et cellulaire


  Responsable : Daëron, Marc (daeron@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'activation des cellules impliquées dans l'allergie résulte du déplacement transitoire d'un équilibre entre signaux positifs et signaux négatifs qui sont délivrés par des récepteurs activateurs et des récepteurs inhibiteurs, et intégrés par des adaptateurs transmembranaires. Notre hypothèse de travail est que les maladies allergiques résultent de défauts des mécanismes qui maintiennent cet équilibre et préviennent la survenue de manifestations cliniques chez les individus normaux. Durant l'année écoulée, nous avons étudié la signalisation négative engendrée par les RFcγIIB, des récepteurs pour la portion Fc des IgG (RFc) dont nous avons précédemment démontré qu'ils inhibent l'activation cellulaire, et par deux adaptateurs transmembranaires, LAT et NTAL. Nous avons montré 1) que les RFcγIIB contiennent, dans leur domaine intracytoplasmique, deux motifs inhibiteurs qui coopèrent au recrutement de SHIP1, la phosphatase responsable de l'inhibition ; 2) que cette inhibition dépend du cytosquelette d'actine où est localisée SHIP1 et auquel les RFcγIIB s'associent lorsqu'ils sont engagés ; 3) que l'adaptateur transmembranaire LAT intègre non seulement des signaux positifs, mais également des signaux négatifs délivrés aux mastocytes par les récepteurs pour les IgE ; et 4) que NTAL, est une molécule inhibitrice de l'activation des mastocytes. Nos projets comprennent : 1) la poursuite de l'analyse in vitro des interactions moléculaires intracellulaires qui régulent l'activation cellulaire; 2) une étude in vivo des interactions entre les RFc humains dans des modèles d'allergies chez des souris " humanisées "; 3) une exploration ex vivo de la régulation négative de l'activation cellulaire chez des patients allergiques.



  rapport

cale

L'activation, la prolifération et la différenciation des cellules impliquées dans la réponse immunitaire sont contrôlées par un ensemble de récepteurs membranaires qui délivrent des signaux positifs et des signaux négatifs. L'intégration de ces signaux dépend des interactions de molécules intracellulaires recrutées séquentiellement dans un complexe de signalisation qui s'organise sous les récepteurs engagés simultanément et dont la composition varie avec le temps. En conséquence, les réponses immunitaires sont étroitement contrôlées et, bien que potentiellement délétères, les effecteurs immunitaires ne sont pas pathogènes chez les individus normaux. Le projet de recherche de l'unité repose sur l'hypothèse que les affections allergiques puissent être la conséquence de défaut(s) - affectant n'importe quelle étape de la réaction allergique - des régulations négatives qui préviennent la survenue des manifestations allergiques chez les individus normaux. Il a pour objectif d'évaluer la contribution de possibles défauts de ces régulations dans les maladies allergiques et de les caractériser, afin de développer des moyens de corriger ces éventuels défauts et/ou d'utiliser la régulation négative comme une nouvelle approche thérapeutique des affections allergiques.

Nous avions démontré que les RFcγIIB, une famille de récepteurs pour la portion Fc des IgG exprimés par la plupart des cellules d'origine hématopoïétique, sont capables d'inhiber l'activation et la prolifération cellulaire induites respectivement par les immunorécepteurs et des récepteurs de facteurs de croissance. Cette propriété dépend d'un Immunoreceptor Tyrosine-based Inhibition Motif (ITIM) que nous avons identifié dans le domaine intracytoplasmique des RFcγIIB murins et humains et qui a été, par la suite, retrouvé dans un grand nombre d'autres récepteurs inhibiteurs. Lorsque les RFcγIIB sont co-agrégés avec des récepteurs activateurs sur la même cellule par un ligand commun comme des complexes immuns, l'ITIM est phopshorylé et recrute la phosphatidylinositol 5-phosphatase SHIP1 qui est responsable des effets inhibiteurs. Ces résultats ont été validés in vivo à l'aide de souris RFcγIIB-/-. Ce souris développent en effet des réactions anaphylactiques plus intenses et diverses maladies autoimmunes. Au cours de l'année écoulée, nous avons poursuivi notre étude des mécanismes par lesquels les RFcγIIB engendrent des signaux négatifs et nous avons entrepris l'étude des mécanismes d'intégration des signaux positifs et négatifs engendrés par les récepteurs de forte affinité pour les IgE (RFcεI) dans les mastocytes. Ces travaux ont conduit aux résultats suivants.

Il existe un second motif inhibiteur dans le domaine intracytoplasmique des RFcγIIB

Nous avons identifié un second motif contenant une tyrosine dans le domaine intracytoplasmique des RFcγIIB de souris, et montré qu'il est impliqué dans le recrutement de SHIP1. Pour que cette phosphatase soit recrutée par les RFcγIIB, la liaison du domaine SH2 de SHIP1 à l'ITIM phosphorylé des RFcγIIB doit être en effet stabilisée par Grb2 et/ou Grap. L'un ou l'autre de ces adaptateurs cytosoliques se fixe simultanément à ce second motif des RFcγIIB par son domaine SH2 et, par son domaine SH3 C-terminal, à des séquences riches en prolines, dans le domaine C-terminal de SHIP1. L'ensemble forme alors un complexe tri-moléculaire stable (Isnardi et l., J. Biol. Chem., 2004).

Le cytosquelette d'actine joue un rôle critique dans l'inhibition exercée par les RFcγIIB

Nous avons montré que, dans les mastocytes, le recrutement de SHIP1 par les RFcγIIB murins a lieu dans le cytosquelette d'actine. Ayant observé que les RFcγIIB et SHIP1 sont localisés dans des compartiments subcellulaires différents dans les cellules au repos, nous avons recherché où ils se rencontrent lorsque les RFcγIIB sont co-agrégés avec les RFcεI. Nous avons trouvé que le complexe de récepteurs s'associe au cytosquelette où l'isoforme de haut poids moléculaire de SHIP1 est constitutivement associée à une protéine liée à l'actine, la filamine. Celle-ci se dissocie de SHIP1 qui reste lié aux RFcγIIB. Ainsi, les RFcγIIB phosphorylés peuvent-ils concentrer la phosphatase inhibitrice à proximité du complexe de signalisation formé sous les RFcεI avec lesquels ils sont co-agrégés (Lesourne et al., J. Immunol. 2005, in press).

LAT intègre des signaux positifs et négatifs délivrés aux mastocytes par les récepteurs activateurs

LAT est un adaptateur transmembranaire qui contient 9 tyrosines. Lorsqu'elles sont phopshorylées, ces tyrosines recrutent et organisent le complexe de signalisation induit par l'agrégation des RFcεI. Nous avons étudié les rôles des tyrosines de LAT dans des mastocytes dérivés de souris knock-in portant des mutations ponctuelles d'une, de 3 ou des 4 tyrosines C-terminales de LAT construites par Marie et Bernard Malissen, au Centre d'Immunologie de Marseille-Luminy. Nous avons pu assigner des rôles distincts à ces tyrosines. Celles-ci contribuent en effet différemment aux réponses biologiques (libération de médiateurs granulaires et sécrétion de cytokines), et aux signaux conduisant aux principaux effecteurs intracellulaires de l'activation (Ca2+ intracellulaire et MAP kinases). Surtout, cette étude a révélé que les effets dominants positifs de LAT résultent de l'intégration de signaux positifs et de signaux négatifs qui dépendent de tyrosines distinctes et qui régulent différentiellement les voies métaboliques conduisant à l'exocytose et à la sécrétion de cytokines (Malbec et al., J. Immunol., 2004).

LAT et NTAL constituent une paire de molécules antagonistes dans les mastocytes

NTAL, un autre adaptateur transmembranaire ressemblant beaucoup à LAT, a été décrit récemment. Cette molécule semble jouer un rôle analogue à celui que joue LAT dans les cellules B et les macrophages qui n'expriment pas LAT. Nous avons été intrigués par le fait que les mastocytes co-expriment les deux adaptateurs. Nous avions observé dans l'étude précédente que, bien que très réduite, l'activation des mastocytes LAT-/- par des IgE n'est pas abolie. Nous avons donc fait l'hypothèse que LAT et NTAL pourraient jouer des rôles complémentaires dans ces cellules. Toujours en collaboration avec Marie et Bernard Malissen, nous avons étudié des mastocytes dérivés de souris sauvages, LAT-/-, NTAL-/- ou (LAT et LAT)-/-. Nous avons eu la surprise de trouver que, dans ces cellules, LAT et NTAL jouent en fait des rôles antagonistes. Les réponses à une stimulation par des IgE et de l'antigène des mastocytes dérivés de souris NTAL-/- sont en effet plus intenses que celles de mastocytes dérivés de souris sauvages. NTAL apparaît donc comme une nouvelle molécule inhibitrice des réactions allergiques (Roget et al. article en préparation).

Nos projets comprennent trois approches complémentaires qui seront menées simultanément : la poursuite de l'analyse in vitro des interactions moléculaires régulant l'activation cellulaire, une étude in vivo des interactions entre les RFc humains dans des modèles d'allergies chez des souris dont les RFc endogènes auront été remplacés par des RFc humains, et une exploration ex vivo de la régulation négative de l'activation cellulaire chez des patients allergiques.

Mots-clés: Allergies, immunorégulation, anticorps, récepteurs de Fc, adaptateurs transmembranaires, signalisation intracellulaire



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2004 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Papelard, Solange, (papelard@pasteur.fr) Bruhns, Pierre, CR2 INSERM, (bruhns@pasteur.fr) Frémont, Sophie, MCH-PH, Univ. de Nancy, (sfremont@pasteur.fr)

Lesourne, Renaud, Etudiant post doctoral, Univ. Paris 5, (lesourne@pasteur.fr)

Roget, Karine, Etudiante doctorante, Univ. Paris 6, (kroget@pasteur.fr)

Mancardi, David, Etudiant Mastère 2, Univ. Paris 6, (mancardi@pasteur.fr)

Malbec, Odile, IE2 INSERM, (omalbec@pasteur.fr)

Iannascoli, Bruno, TS Pasteur, (biannasc@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr