Unit: Oncogenic Viruses - URA1644 du CNRS

Director: YANIV Moshe

Our research unit studies the interplay between transcription factors and chromatin remodelling in activating and repressing gene expression programmes in mammalian cells. Our research examines the importance of several families of transcription factors in controlling cell differentiation and organogenesis, cell growth or apoptosis. We use a combination of approaches including complete or conditional gene inactivation in mice, microarray analysis and bioinformatics. Our work has implications for understanding viral and non-viral malignant cell transformation and for deciphering the mechanisms underlying diseases such as Type II diabetes, kidney polycystic disease or hepatic ductal plates malformation.

HNF1alpha and HNF1beta : development and disease Group leader: Marco Pontoglio

Members of the group: Olivier Bluteau, Antonia Doyen, Evelyne Fischer, Lionel Gresh, Serge Garbay and Andreas Reimann

Organ formation during development is a complex phenomenon whose molecular mechanisms are only partially understood. Hepatocyte Nuclear Factors 1 alpha and beta (HNF1α and HNF1β) are two homologous, atypical homeoproteins that appeared during evolution with the first vertebrates. They are expressed in the polarized epithelia of different organs, including liver, kidney, pancreas and intestine, where they control the expression of numerous tissue-specific genes. To gain insights into the role of these genes during development, we have generated mouse models carrying null mutations in HNF1 genes. Mice lacking HNF1β die in utero at embryonic day 7.5 because of a defect in visceral endoderm differentiation. However, the conditional inactivation of HNF1β has shown that this factor plays also a crucial role, later, during organ development. In the liver, HNF1β is essential for bile duct and hepatic artery formation, whereas in the kidney the lack of HNF1β leads to polycystic kidney disease. This renal phenotype is due to the defective expression of PKD2 and PKHD1, two genes whose mutations causes polycystic kidney disease with dominant and recessive inheritance, respectively. Interestingly, mutations in the human HNF1β gene are associated with renal cysts and Type II diabetes. Inactivation of HNF1α leads to postnatal dysfunctions in liver, kidney and pancreas. HNF1α-deficient mice suffer from phenylketonuria, renal Fanconi syndrome and Type II diabetes. Using DNA oligonucleotide microarray hybridization technology (Affymetrix) we identified several hundred genes whose expression is downregulated in the absence of either of these two transcription factors in the liver. We are currently studying the correlation between the transcriptional effects on these target genes and the enrichment for HNF1 binding sites detected in the nearby genomic regions using an in silico approach. Our aim is to develop approaches to predict genetic programs controlled by specific transcription factors.

Proto-oncogenes Jun and Fos: transcription factors regulating the cellular stress response Group leaders: Fatima Mechta-Grigoriou and Jonathan Weitzman

Members of the group : Maya Ameyar-Zazoua, Damien Gérald, Chaouki Miled, Marta Wisniewska.

The AP-1 transcription factor is central to the cell's ability to integrate multiple extracellular signals and initiate the appropriate genetic programme. AP-1 plays a critical role in regulating the cell cycle and the cellular response to stress. AP-1 is composed of dimers of Jun (c-Jun, JunB or JunD) and Fos (c-Fos, FosB, Fra1 and Fra2) proto-oncoproteins. Our laboratory focuses on unravelling the functions of the different Jun and Fos proteins using genetic and biochemical approaches. We have shown that the balance between different AP-1 dimers (Jun/Fos) controls cell cycle progression and the process of oncogenic transformation. We have taken a genomic approach to dissect the complex functional relationship between AP-1 and p53, in order to identify their convergent transcriptional programmes and their roles in tumorigenesis. We discovered a functional cooperation between oncogenic RAS and specific AP-1 heterodimers (c-Jun/Fra-1) in the regulation of the p14/p19ARF tumour suppressor gene, a key regulator of the p53 pathway. Furthermore, we identified novel p53 transcriptional targets that place p53 upstream of the JNK signal transduction cascade, leading to c-Jun phosphorylation and activation. These genomic studies have highlighted the complex convergence of the p53 and AP-1 pathways and their cooperation in determining tumour progression and apoptosis. In addition, we found that JunD protects cells from p53-dependent senescence and stress-induced apoptosis both in vitro and in vivo. Analysis of mice carrying single or double mutations in the c-jun and junD genes has revealed pleiotropic roles for these genes during development. c-Jun and JunD play critical roles in heart morphogenesis and embryonic angiogenesis. A systematic genomic study using microarrays allowed us to identify novel gene targets of AP-1 implicated in the response to diverse stress stimuli including hypoxic and oxidative stress. Our recent results show that JunD can suppress the expression of genes involved in H2O2 production and can activate genes required for anti-oxidative defence. Thus, JunD appears to be a general inhibitor of cellular damage, preventing oxidative stress and tumour angiogenesis in vivo.

Chromatin and transcription Group leader: Christian Muchardt

Members of the group: Eric Batsché, Brigitte Bourachot, Marc Lavigne, Julien Lefèvre, Bogdan Mateescu.

Opening and closing chromatin is essential for the control of gene expression throughout the life of eukaryotic cell. The SWI/SNF complex is one of the machineries controlling the compaction of chromatin. This complex uses the energy of ATP hydrolysis to increase accessibility of histone-associated DNA. It is required for normal development of the embryo and deregulated expression of some of the SWI/SNF sub-units affects cell cycle progression and will in some cases lead to tumour formation. Recently, we identified a mechanism for negative regulation of the SWI/SNF complex via acetylation of the carboxy-terminal region of the catalytic subunit Brm. This post-translational modification affects interaction of the Brm protein with the product of the Retinoblastoma tumour suppressor gene. In addition, we have unveiled a functional antagonism between the SWI/SNF complex and the heterochromatin protein HP1, a potent inhibitor of transcription. This study showed that transcriptional repression by HP1 is partially caused by the inhibiting effect of this protein on SWI/SNF chromatin remodelling. During this study, HP1-binding to chromatin was found to be dependent on an RNA component that is also required for SWI/SNF activity. Currently, we investigate the role of this RNA component in chromatin compaction. In addition, we are characterising the mechanisms of transcriptional repression by the chromatin components HP1 and Polycomb. Finally, we are using in vitro reconstituted chromatin to address the role of the SWI/SNF complex in the integration of HIV1 into the host genome.

Control of human papillomavirus type 18 carcinogenesis Group leader: Françoise Thierry

Members of the group : Sophie Bellanger, Stéphanie Blachon, Caroline Demeret, Sébastien Teissier.

Our research focuses on the mechanisms of malignant conversion of cervical cells infected with the Human Papillomavirus type 18 (HPV18). Cervical cancer is the second cause of mortality in women from cancer worldwide, after breast cancer. The HPV virus specifically infects the genital tract, where it replicates in the upper layers of the epidermis. The virus encodes two oncogenic proteins, E6 and E7, which alter the normal proliferative control of cells by interfering with two regulatory proteins of the cell cycle, p53 and pRB. Continuous expression of the viral oncogenes is required to induce and maintain the transformed phenotype. Transcription of the two viral oncogenes is strongly activated by a higher-order transcriptional control element called an "enhanceosome" that we have characterised in detail. We are currently searching for proteins involved in its activity and its cell specificity using chromatin immunoprecipitation experiments. We have shown that transcription of the viral oncogenes is repressed by the viral protein E2. We used this property of E2 to compare the transcriptome of HeLa cells expressing the viral protein using microarray analyses. We were able to define a pattern of cellular genes, targets of p53 or E2F, whose expression is specifically modulated in cervical carcinomas, thus representing a genetic signature of cervical carcinogenesis. During carcinogenic progression, the viral genome integrates into the cellular genome with specific disruption of the viral E2 gene. Reintroduction of the viral E2 protein into cervical carcinoma cells induces a strong anti-proliferative effect that is due to at last three independent mechanisms. Besides its repressive effect on E6 and E7 transcription, E2 can interact with many cellular proteins such as caspase 8 to induce apoptosis through the extrinsic pathway, and with the APC ubiquitin ligase, specific to the metaphase/anaphase transition, thereby inducing cell cycle arrest in G2/M. These different functions of E2 all slow down cellular proliferation, indicating that E2 is a strong antagonist of the viral oncogenes in carcinogenic progression. E2 inactivation is a key factor of HPV18-associated carcinogenic progression, offering a potential application as a therapeutic agent.

Legends

Renal-specific inactivation of HNF1β in the tubular epithelium leads to polycystic kidney disease. X-gal staining of histological sections of kidneys from control (A) or HNF1β deficient mice (B). β-galactosidase activity (ROSA26) depicts the expression pattern of the CRE recombinase driven by the KSP promoter (Shao et al., 2002). CRE expression inactivated the HNF1β gene in mice carrying a floxed homozygous allele (B). In controls, the ROSA26R driven β-galactosidase activity was seen in a large portion of medullary tubular cells. In mutants, several cysts lack the typical monolayered epithelial structure (arrows). All cyst-lining epithelial cells are positive for β-galactosidase, demonstrating that they underwent Cre recombination. Scale bars: 200 μm.

Keywords: oncogenes, transcription, chromatin, development, cell cycle, diabetes


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Expression génétique et maladies - URA1644 du CNRS

Responsable: YANIV Moshe

Notre unité étudie les rôles respectifs des facteurs de transcription et des machineries de remodelage de la chromatine lors de l'activation ou de la répression des gènes dans les cellules de mammifères. Nous examinons le rôle de plusieurs familles de facteurs de transcription dans le contrôle de la différenciation cellulaire et de l'organogenèse, ainsi que dans le contrôle de la prolifération cellulaire ou de l'apoptose. Nous procédons à l'inactivation complète ou conditionnelle de gènes, chez la souris, et utilisons des puces à ADN ainsi qu'une recherche in silico sur les génomes. Nos travaux ont des implications pour la compréhension de la transformation cellulaire viro-inductible ou non et pour la compréhension de certaines maladies comme le diabète de Type II, la polykystose rénale ou la malformation de la plaque ductale hépatique.

HNF1alpha et HNF1beta : développement et maladies Responsable : Marco Pontoglio

Autres membres du groupe : Olivier Bluteau, Antonia Doyen, Evelyne Fischer, Lionel Gresh, Serge Garbay et Andreas Reimann

L'organogenèse est un phénomène complexe dont les mécanismes moléculaires ne sont que partiellement connus. Hepatocyte Nuclear Factor 1α et β (HNF1α et HNF1β) sont deux homéoprotéines qui sont apparues au cours de l'évolution, avec les premiers vertébrés. Elles sont exprimées dans les épithéliums polarisés de différents organes comme le foie, le rein, le pancréas et l'intestin, où elles contrôlent l'expression de gènes cibles spécifiques. Pour comprendre le rôle joué par ces deux facteurs de transcription, pendant le développement, nous avons généré des modèles murins porteurs de mutations nulles dans ces deux gènes. Des souris déficientes en HNF1βmeurent à 7.5 jours de développement embryonnaire d'un défaut de la différenciation de l'endoderme viscéral extra embryonnaire. D'autre part, l'inactivation conditionnelle de ce gène a montré qu'HNF1βjoue un rôle très important pour le développement correct de certains organes. L'absence de HNF1βdans le foie entraîne un défaut de formation des canaux biliaires et des artérioles hépatiques. Dans le rein, l'inactivation spécifique de tissu HNF1β provoque une polykystose due au manque d'expression de PKD2 et PKHD1, deux gènes impliqués respectivement dans des polykystoses rénales dominantes et récessives chez l'homme. Des mutations dans le gène HNF1α, chez l'homme, sont associées à des kystes rénaux et à un diabète de Type II. L'inactivation d'HNF1α entraîne des dysfonctionnements post-natals du foie, du rein et du pancréas. Les souris déficientes en HNF1αsouffrent de phénylkétonurie, d'un syndrome rénal de Fanconi et d'un diabète de Type II. À l'aide de micro puces ADN (Affymetrix) nous avons identifié quelques centaines de gènes dont l'expression hépatique dépend de l'un de ces deux facteurs de transcription. Nous étudions actuellement la corrélation entre l'effet transcriptionnel sur ces gènes cibles et l'enrichissement en sites HNF1, détecté à l'aide d'une approche in silico, dans les régions génomiques avoisinantes. Notre but est de développer des approches visant à prédire les programmes génétiques contrôlés par des facteurs de transcription.

Les proto-oncogènes Jun et Fos : Une famille de facteurs de transcription. Responsables : Fatima Mechta-Grigoriou et Jonathan Weitzman

Autres membres du groupe : Maya Ameyar-Zazoua, Damien Gérald, Chaouki Miled, Marta Wisniewska.

Le facteur de transcription AP-1 constitue un médiateur clé de multiples signaux extracellulaires et intervient dans l'initiation d'une réponse génétique appropriée de la cellule. AP-1 regroupe l'ensemble des dimères formés par interaction entre les produits des proto-oncogènes jun (c-jun, junB, junD) et fos (c-fos, fosB, fra-1, fra-2). Notre laboratoire s'intéresse ainsi aux fonctions des produits des gènes jun et fos en utilisant des approches génétiques et biochimiques. Nous analysons la contribution relative des différents dimères AP-1 (Jun/Fos) dans le contrôle la progression du cycle cellulaire et de la transformation oncogénique. Nous avons développé des approches génomiques visant à disséquer la relation fonctionnelle complexe entre AP-1 et p53, à définir la coopération de leurs programmes transcriptionnels et leurs rôles dans le devenir des cellules tumorales. Nous avons démontré une coopération fonctionnelle entre l'oncogène RAS et des dimères spécifiques (c-Jun/Fra-1) dans la régulation du gène suppresseur de tumeurs p14/p19ARF, un régulateur de p53. L'identification des nouvelles cibles transcriptionnelles de p53 a démontré que p53 est aussi situé en amont de la voie de transduction JNK ; une kinase de la famille des MAP kinases qui phosphoryle et active c-Jun. Ces résultats d'approches génomiques nous ont permis d'étudier la convergence des voies AP-1 et p53 dans la régulation de la tumorigenèse et de l'apoptose. JunD joue aussi un rôle protecteur contre l'apoptose ou la sénescence cellulaire dépendante de p53, en réponse aux signaux de stress génotoxiques. L'étude de souris ayant une simple ou une double mutation c-jun et junD a mis en lumière le rôle pléiotropique de ces gènes au cours du développement. c-Jun et JunD interviennent dans la morphogenèse cardiaque et l'angiogenèse embryonnaire. L'étude génomique systématique basée sur les micro-arrays nous a permis d'identifier de nouveaux gènes cibles de AP-1 impliqués dans la réponse à divers stress cellulaires dont les stress hypoxique et oxydatif. Des résultats récents indiquent, en effet, que JunD réprime l'expression de gènes impliqués dans la production de H2O2 et stimule celle de gènes engagés dans les systèmes antioxydants de défense cellulaire. JunD protège ainsi les cellules d'un stress oxydatif et réduit l'angiogenèse tumorale in vivo.

Chromatine et transcription Responsable: Christian Muchardt

Autres membres du groupe : Eric Batsché, Brigitte Bourachot, Marc Lavigne, Julien Lefèvre, Bogdan Mateescu.

Les mécanismes d'ouverture et de fermeture de la chromatine jouent un rôle central dans le contrôle de l'expression des gènes et participent ainsi à toutes les étapes de la vie d'une cellule eucaryote. L'une des machineries cellulaires contrôlant le niveau de compaction de la chromatine est le complexe SWI/SNF.Ce complexe utilise l'énergie de l'hydrolyse de l'ATP pour augmenter l'accessibilité de l'ADN associé aux histones. Il est indispensable au développement normal de l'embryon et une dérégulation de l'expression de certaines des sous-unités SWI/SNF affecte le cycle cellulaire et peut conduire à la formation de tumeurs. Récemment, nous avons identifié un mécanisme de régulation négative du complexe SWI/SNF impliquant une acétylation de la région carboxy-terminale de la sous-unité catalytique Brm. Cette modification post-traductionnelle de la protéine réduit ses capacités d'interaction avec le produit du gène suppresseur de tumeur Rétinoblastome. Par ailleurs, nous avons mis en évidence un antagonisme fonctionnel entre le complexe SWI/SNF et la protéine d'hétérochromatine HP1, un puissant répresseur de la transcription. Cette étude montre que l'un des mécanismes par lesquels HP1 affecte la transcription passe par l'inhibition du remodelage de la chromatine. Au cours de cette étude, nous avons observé que la fixation de la protéine HP1 sur la chromatine exigeait la présence d'une composante ARN également utilisée par le complexe SWI/SNF. Actuellement, l'un de nos objectifs est d'identifier et de comprendre le rôle joué par cette composante ARN dans les mécanismes de compaction de la chromatine. Nous cherchons également à définir plus avant les mécanismes de répression par HP1 ainsi que le complexe Polycomb. Enfin, nous étudions le rôle joué par le complexe SWI/SNF dans le mécanisme d'intégration du virus HIV dans le génome de la cellule hôte.

Contrôles de la carcinogenèse du papillomavirus humain HPV18. Responsable : Françoise Thierry

Autres membres du groupe : Sophie Bellanger, Stéphanie Blachon, Caroline Demeret, Sébastien Teissier

Notre recherche vise à élucider les mécanismes de la conversion maligne de cellules du col utérin, infectées par le papillomavirus humain HPV18. Le cancer du col de l'utérus est la deuxième cause de mortalité par cancer chez la femme dans le monde après celui du sein. Ce virus infecte exclusivement la muqueuse génitale en se répliquant dans les couches supérieures de l'épithélium. Il code pour deux oncogènes viraux E6 et E7 qui altèrent la prolifération normale de la cellule en interférant avec les anti-oncogènes cellulaires p53 et pRB. La synthèse en continue de ces deux oncogènes viraux est nécessaire au maintien de l'état transformé des cellules. La transcription des oncogènes viraux E6 et E7 est fortement activée par une structure en "enhanceosome" que nous avons caractérisée et dont nous avons révélé la structure, ces études faisant appel à des expériences d'immunoprécipitation de la chromatine. Au contraire, la transcription des oncogènes viraux est réprimée par le produit du gène viral E2. Nous avons mis à profit cette observation pour comparer le transcriptome de cellules HeLa exprimant, ou non, la protéine E2 par analyse de" microarrays". Nous avons ainsi défini un profil global de gènes cellulaires cibles de p53 et de E2F, modulés dans le cancer du col, établissant une signature génique de la carcinogenèse utérine. Par ailleurs, la conversion maligne des lésions infectées par HPV18 est accompagnée de l'intégration de l'ADN viral dans le génome cellulaire avec inactivation systématique du gène codant pour la protéine E2. La réintroduction de cette protéine dans les cellules de carcinome cervical induit un fort effet antiprolifératif, dû à au moins trois mécanismes distincts. Outre la répression transcriptionnelle des oncogènes viraux, E2 interagit avec de nombreuses protéines cellulaires, dont la caspase 8, induisant une apoptose par la voie extrinsèque et l'ubiquitine ligase APC (spécifique de la transition métaphase-anaphase) induisant un arrêt du cycle cellulaire en G2/M. Ces différentes fonctions de E2 tendent toutes à ralentir la prolifération cellulaire et indiquent que E2 est un fort antagoniste des oncogènes viraux au cours de la progression tumorale. Son inactivation apparaît un facteur clé de la carcinogenèse liée à HPV18 et son utilisation comme agent thérapeutique dans le cancer du col utérin peut-être envisagée.

Légende:

L'inactivation conditionnelle de HNF1β dans l'épithélium tubulaire rénal est à l'origine d'une pathologie polykystique. Coloration X-gal de coupes histologiques de rein de souris contrôles (A) et déficientes en HNF1β (B). L'activité β-galactosidase contrôlée par ROSA26R reflète le profil d'expression de la Cre recombinase sous le contrôle du promoteur de la KSP cadherin (Shao et al., 2002). Cette enzyme invalide HNF1β chez les souris homozygotes pour un allèle floxé (B). Chez les souris contrôles, de nombreuses cellules tubulaires de la médullaire montrent une activité β-galactosidase contrôlée par ROSA26R. Chez les souris mutantes, de nombreux kystes ont perdu l'organisation monostratifiée de leur épithélium (flèches). Toutes les cellules épithéliales bordant les kystes sont β-gal-positives, démontrant qu'elles ont subi une recombinaison. Barre d'échelle : 200µm.

Mots-clés: oncogènes, transcription, chromatine, développement, cycle cellulaire, diabète


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr