Unit: Neisseria

Director: Jean-Michel ALONSO

Main research topics of the Neisseria unit, National Reference Center for the Meningococci, are in the field of the molecular epidemiology and pathogenesis of infections due to Neisseria meningitidis, including the molecular typing of clinical isolates from invasive infections. Experimental research focuses on the characterization of virulence factors and the study of genetic alterations involved in resistance to α -lactam antibiotics.

1. Molecular pathogenesis of meningococcal infections. Neisseria meningitidis (Nm) is a commensal bacterium of the human nasopharynx. Invasive infection occurs when bacteria, first adhering to the respiratory epithelium, invade the bloodstream and then cross the blood brain barrier, the synovium or pericardium to provoke meningitis, arthritis or pericarditis, respectively. Adhesion of Nm to epithelial and endothelial cells is a crucial step in meningococcal infection that provokes a complex bacterium-cell cross talk. Nm-cell interaction begins with initial (localized) adhesion and then progresses toward intimate adhesion. PilC1, located on pili is the major adhesin and the expression pilC1 is transiently induced following initial adhesion. This induction depends on a transcription start point localized within the contact regulatory element of Neisseria (CREN) in the promoter region of pilC1. Another gene, crgA, coding CrgA, a new bacterial LysR-like transcriptional regulator, is also induced in a CREN dependent manner. The expression of bacterial surface structures involved in adhesion, such as pili and capsule, is modulated by CrgA, which is involved in a co-ordinate regulation of the genes pilC1, pilE, sia and crgA to permit the shift from initial to intimate adhesion.

1.2. A mouse model of meningococcemia. Based on epidemiological studies on the association between influenza outbreaks and meningococcal diseases, we have developed a model of sequential influenza A virus (IAV)-Nm infection in mice. Previous IAV infection induces a transient phase of susceptibility of mice to challenges with Nm leading to fatal meningococcal pneumonia and bacteremia. Sequential histopathological examination shows localized lesions of the bronchial epithelium in which Nm adher to and cross the epithelial barrier. An intense pneumonia occurs with infiltrating neutrophils and the phagocytosis of Nm. A perivascular infiltration of leukocytes and of meningococci is associated with an inflammation of the adjacent endothelium, and the subsequent bacteremia. This experimental model was used for evaluating the role of some major bacterial virulence factors. A capsule-defective mutant was cleared from the lungs, whereas a crgA mutant retained invasiveness. Other experiments show that a penI isogenic derivative (altered penA gene) of the penS wild-type Nm strain was impaired in its in vivo survival, suggesting that the structural alterations of the peptidoglycan, associated with the modifications of the PBP2, described below, could result in impaired virulence of strains with diminished susceptibility to penicillin. Therefore, this model of meningococcal disease in adult mice reproduces the pathogenesis of human meningococcemia with fatal sepsis, and is useful for analyzing known or new genes identified from genomic studies.

1.3. Intracellular detection of N. meningitidis peptidoglycan by Nod1. Muropeptides sharing a GlcNac-MurNac-tripeptide chain of the peptidoglycan of Gram-negative bacteria, including Nm, are detected by the intracellular molecule Nod1 activating the transcription of molecules involved in innate immunity in epithelial cells via NFK B. This unique muropeptide may be a new "pathogen-associated recognition pattern" (PAMP) and a new putative target molecule for anti-bacterial agents.

2. Surveillance of meningococcal infections by the National Reference Center (NRCM). Meningococcal diseases occur as sporadic cases with an annual incidence below 1 per 100,000 inhabitants in France. The NRCM receives an average of 1,000 strains of Nm per year from approximately 700 collaborating laboratories in France, for confirmation and typing. Approximately half of the strains are from invasive infections, mainly meningococcemia or meningitis. Strains of serogroup B are prominent (more of 50% of the strains) with a relatively stable incidence at 270± 28 cases per year. An increasing incidence of meningococcal diseases, mainly associated with an increasing incidence of serogroup C, was observed since 2001. However, periodic fluctuation in the incidence of serogroup C has yet been observed. A peak of incidence of serogroup C was yet observed in 1992 with 191 cases (40.2%), followed by a continuous decrease until 1995 with 56 cases (15%) and then a continuous increase reaching 235 cases (38.2%) in 2002, but a decrease to 31% is observed in 2003.The incidence of serogroup W135, first detected in 1994, reached 9.8% in 2002, but decreased to 5,9% in 2003. Serogroup Y is stably found in 2-3% of the invasive infections, but mainly in immunocompromised patients and in the elderly. Case fatality rates vary between 8 to 10% per year. They are mostly associated with sepsis and purpura fulminans.

3. Molecular diagnosis and epidemiology of N. meningitidis.

Direct identification and characterization of N. meningitidis from clinical samples without culture, can be achieved by amplification of the highly conserved regulatory gene crgA, followed by that of the alleles of siaD, involved in the biosynthesis of the capsule for serogroups B, C, Y and W135 or mynB involved in the biosynthesis of the capsule of serogroup A. This molecular diagnosis of meningococcal disease is now recognized by the ministry of health as a one of the criteria for the reporting of meningococcal disease (circulaire DGS/SD5C/2002/400). Molecular typing of Nm is essential for assessing an epidemiological link between cases. Polymorphic chromosomal loci pilA, pilD, regF, iga and crgA are amplified by PCR and further analyzed by multilocus DNA fingerprinting which fully correlates with the multilocus enzyme electrophoresis and is completed by the multilocus sequence typing and the pulsed-field electrophoresis.

4. The surveillance of the Nm W135 (ET-37) epidemic clone, in the "African meningitis belt". Confirmation of its role in the 2001 and 2002 outbreaks.

We were requested in April 2001 by the West African Health Organization to investigate large meningitis outbreaks in Burkina Faso and Niger, while the vaccination campaign with A&C vaccine seemed ineffective. Ninety-eight samples from meningitis patients visited in 16 districts from Bobo Dioulasso to Niamey were tested by PCR for the presence of Nm, or Streptococcus pneumoniae or Haemophilus influenzae DNA. Sixty five percent were positive for Nm, 7% for S. pneumoniae and 2% for H. influenzae type B. Half of the Nm-positive samples corresponded to serogroup W135 and half to serogroup A. The characterization of 12 strains A:4:P1-9 confirmed the involvement of serogroup W135 of to the clonal complex ET-37 for the first time in epidemic conditions in Africa. The emergence of serogroup W135 (ET-37) as new "epidemic clone", escaping the available A&C vaccination, in Africa was confirmed by a new outbreak in Burkina Faso in 2002 where more than 84% of the isolates were of serogroup W135. This study demonstrated the usefulness of the molecular diagnosis for a rapid and reliable surveillance of meningitis in epidemic conditions and for better selection of vaccine strategies. An active laboratory surveillance of meningitis cases during the inter-epidemic period as well as longitudinal epidemic laboratory investigations have been implemented through a collaborative project initiated by our unit, the "Meningitis in Sahel project", in Burkina Faso at the Centre Muraz of Bobo Dioulasso and in Niger at the CERMES in Niamey.

5. The polymorphism of the gene penA and its relationship to reduced susceptibility to penicillin. The current incidence of N. meningitidis strains with reduced susceptibility to penicillin G (MIC?0.125mg/L) reaches approximately 30%. We have studied the polymorphism of the gene penA, encoding the penicillin-binding protein 2 (PBP2), among clinical isolates, including penicillin-susceptible strains (MIC<0.125mg/L) and strains with diminished susceptibility (1 mg/L>MIC?0.125mg/L). Strains with MIC of penicillin <0.125mg/L (penS) harbored identical or highly related penA alleles, whereas strains with MIC >0.125mg/L (penI) harbored altered sequences of penA but the sequence encoding the catalytic site on PBP2 was highly conserved. Transformation of penS strains into penI was obtained in vitro or by mixed culture of both genotypes, suggesting a direct correlation between alterations of penA and the expression of diminished susceptibility to penicillin. By comparatively testing the affinity of purified recombinant PBP2 from either penS or penI strains, we have found that PBP2 from penI has lower affinity than that of penS, suggesting conformational changes in the penI PBP2 in the vicinity of the the catalytic site on PBP2.

5.1. Analyzing the structure of N. meningitidis peptidoglycan and its modifications in penI strains. Since PBPs are involved in the synthesis of peptidoglycan, we have analyzed the detailed structure of peptidoglycan by mass-spectrometry and chromatography and characterized 28 different muropeptide species. PenI clinical isolates as well as isogenic penA mutants from a penS strain have altered structure of their peptidoglycan represented by an augmentation in muropeptides sharing a particular pentapeptide (GlcNac and MurNac). These structural alterations of peptidoglycan are directly linked to the structural changes of PBP2 in penI strains, suggesting that N. meningitidis isolates with diminished susceptibility to penicillin G have important alterations of their cell wall. Moreover, these alterations may affect the virulence of such strains (see above 1.2).

Keywords: Neisseria meningitidis, Molecular pathogenesis, pathophysiology, molecular epidemiology, Reference Laboratory


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Neisseria

Responsable: Jean-Michel ALONSO

Les principaux thèmes de recherche de l'unité des Neisseria, Centre National de Référence des Méningocoques, sont la pathogénie et l'épidémiologie moléculaires des infections à Neisseria meningitidis, incluant les typages moléculaires des souches d'infections invasives. Les recherches expérimentales sont centrées sur la caractérisation des facteurs de virulence et sur l'étude des altérations génétiques impliquées dans la résistance aux α -lactamines.

1. Pathogénie moléculaire des infections meningococciques. Neisseria meningitidis (Nm) est le plus souvent un commensal du rhinopharynx de l'homme. Une infection invasive survient lorsque les bactéries adhérant à l'épithélium respiratoire envahissent le sang. Elles peuvent ensuite franchir la barrière hémato-méningée pour provoquer une méningite ou atteindre les articulations ou le péricarde. L'adhésion de Nm aux cellules épithéliales et endothéliales est une étape cruciale du processus infectieux qui implique des interactions complexes entre bactéries et cellules-cibles. Cette interaction débute par une adhésion dite initiale (localisée) et se poursuit par l'adhésion intime. La protéine PilC1 est l'adhésine majeure, et l'expression de pilC1 est induite transitoirement par l'adhésion initiale. Cette induction dépend d'un site de transcription localisé dans l'élément de régulation de contact de Neisseria (CREN) dans la région promotrice de pilC1. Un autre gène, crgA, codant la protéine CrgA, un nouveau régulateur transcriptionnel de type LysR est également induit selon un processus CREN-dépendant. L'expression de structures de la surface bactérienne impliquées dans l'adhésion telles que les pili et la capsule, est modulée par CrgA, qui intervient dans la régulation coordonnée des gènes pilC1, pilE, sia et crgA pour permettre la transition de l'adhésion initiale vers l'adhésion intime.

1.2.Modèle expérimental de méningococcémie. Sur la base d'études épidémiologiques démontrant l'association entre des pics d'épidémies de grippe et les méningococcies, nous avons développé un modèle murin d'infections séquentielles par le virus influenza A (IAV) puis Nm. La primo-infection IAV déclenche une phase transitoire de susceptibilité des souris à une épreuve infectieuse par Nm qui provoque une pneumonie et une bactériémie. Des examens histologiques séquentiels révèlent des lésions localisées de l'épithélium bronchique au niveau desquelles les bactéries traversent l'épithélium. Une intense pneumonie se constitue montrant une infiltration de polynucléaires neutrophiles et des méningocoques intra-leucocytaires. Une infiltration périvasculaire de leucocytes et de méningocoques s'accompagne d'une inflammation de l'endothélium adjacent et précède la bactériémie. Ce modèle expérimental a été exploité pour évaluer le rôle de facteurs de virulence majeurs du méningocoque. Un mutant dépourvu de capsule est rapidement éliminé des poumons, alors qu'un mutant crgA est invasif. D'autres expériences montrent qu'un mutant isogénique penI (porteur d'altérations de penA), dérivé de la souche sauvage penS, perd de sa virulence. Ceci suggère que les altérations structurales du peptidoglycane, associées aux modifications de la PBP2, peuvent aboutir à une virulence atténuée des souches de sensibilité diminuée à la pénicilline. Ce modèle d'infection méningococcique chez la souris reproduit les principales étapes de la méningococcémie humaine et peut servir à analyser les fonctions de gènes connus ou récemment identifiés d'après les études génomiques.

1.3. Détection intracellulaire du peptidoglycane de N. meningitidis par Nod1. Des muropeptides porteurs d'une chaîne GlcNac-MurNac-tripeptide du peptidoglycane des bactéries Gram-négatives, incluant Nm, sont détectés par la molécule intracellulaire Nod1 qui active la transcription de molécules impliquées dans l'immunité innée via NFkB dans les cellules épithéliales. Ce muropeptide particulier peut constituer un nouveau "pathogen-associated recognition pattern" (PAMP) et une nouvelle cible thérapeutique;

2. Surveillance des infections meningococciques par le Centre National de Référence (CNRM). Les infections méningococciques surviennent sous la forme de cas sporadiques avec une incidence annuelle inférieure à 1 pour 100000 habitants en France. Le CNRM reçoit en moyenne 1000 souches de Nm par an, pour confirmation et typages. Approximativement la moitié des souches correspond à des infections invasives. Les souches de sérogroupe B sont majoritaires (>50%) avec une incidence relativement stable à 270± 28 cas par an. Une augmentation d'incidence du sérogroupe C, a été observée depuis 2001. Cependant, un pic d'incidence du sérogroupe C était déjà apparu en 1992 avec 191 cas (40.2%), suivi d'une décroissance jusqu'en 1995 avec 56 cas (15%) puis une incidence croissante atteignant 235 cas (38.2%) en 2002, et de nouveau une décroissance à 180 cas (31%) est observée en 2003.L'incidence du sérogroupe W135, détecté pour la première fois en 1994, atteignait 9.8% in 2002, mais elle a décru à 5,9% en 2003. Le sérogroupe Y connaît une incidence à 2-3% des infections invasives, mais surtout chez des patients immunocompromis ou âgés. La létalité est de 8 à 10% et est associée aux formes septiques avec purpura fulminans.

3. Epidémiologie moléculaire des infections à N. meningitidis. L'identification et la caractérisation de N. meningitidis dans les échantillons pathologiques sans culture préalable peuvent être réalisées par amplification du gène crgA, suivie par celle de siaD, codant la biosynthèse de la capsule des sérogroupes B, C, Y et W135 ou mynB codant la capsule du sérogroupe A. Cette technique de diagnostic moléculaire est désormais retenue comme un des critères de déclaration obligatoire d'une infection méningococcique invasive (circulaire DGS/SD5C/2002/400). Le typage moléculaire de Nm est essentiel pour déterminer un lien épidémiologique entre les cas. Des loci chromosomiques polymorphes, pilA, pilD, regF, iga et crgA sont amplifiés par PCR puis analysés par "multilocus DNA fingerprinting", qui corrèle avec les données de la "multilocus enzyme electrophoresis", et est complété par "multilocus sequence typing" et électrophorèse en champs pulsé.

4. La surveillance du clone épidémique W135 (ET-37) dans la "ceinture africaine de la méningite". Nous avons été sollicités dès avril 2001 par l'Organisation Ouest-Africaine de la Santé pour enquêter sur les méningites épidémiques au Burkina Faso et au Niger, après que la vaccination entreprise avec le vaccin A&C semblait inefficace. Quatre-vingt dix-huit prélèvements de patients de 16 districts situés entre Bobo Dioulasso et Niamey ont été analysés par PCR pour rechercher l'ADN de Nm, ou de Streptococcus pneumoniae ou Haemophilus influenzae. Soixante-cinq pour cent étaient positifs pour Nm, 7%for S. pneumoniae et 2% pour H. influenzae de type B. La moitié des isolats positifs pour Nm étaient du sérogroupe W135 et l'autre moitié du sérogroupe A. La caractérisation de 12 souches A:4:P1-9 confirmait l'implication du sérogroupe W135 du complexe clonal ET-37 pour la première fois dans des conditions épidémiques en Afrique. L'émergence du sérogroupe W135 (ET-37) en tant que clone épidémique, échappant à la vaccination A&C, en Afrique fut confirmée par une nouvelle épidémie au Burkina Faso en 2002 où plus de 84% des isolats étaient du sérogroupe W135. Cette étude démontrait l'utilité du diagnostic moléculaire pour la surveillance des méningites en conditions épidémiques, pour un choix des valences vaccinales appropriées. Une surveillance biologique des méningites durant les périodes inter-épidémiques ainsi qu'un suivi longitudinal ont été instaurés grâce à un projet collaboratif initié par notre unité, "le projet méningite au Sahel", au Burkina Faso au Centre Muraz de Bobo Dioulasso et au Niger au CERMES de Niamey.

5. Le polymorphisme du gène penA et ses relations avec la sensibilité diminuée des souches à la pénicilline. L'incidence des souches de Nm de sensibilité diminuée à la pénicilline G atteint approximativement 30%. Nous avons étudié le polymorphisme du gène penA, codant la protéine de liaison 2 (PBP2), parmi une collection d'isolats cliniques, incluant des souches sensibles (CMI<0.125mg/L) et des souches de sensibilité diminuée (1 mg/L>CMI?0.125mg/L). Les souches pour lesquelles la CMI de la pénicilline est <0.125mg/L (penS) portent des allèles de penA identiques ou très proches, alors que les souches pour lesquelles la CMI est >0.125mg/L (penI) portent des séquences of penA remaniées. La transformation de penS en penI est obtenue in vitro ou par co-culture des deux génotypes, suggérant une corrélation directe entre les altérations de penA et l'expression d'une sensibilité diminuée à la pénicilline. En comparant l'affinité des PBP2 de souches penS ou penI, nous avons observé que la PBP2 de penI a une affinité moindre que celle de penS, ce qui suggère des changements de conformation de la PBP2 des souches penI, à proximité du site catalytique de PBP2.

5.1. Analyse de la structure du peptidoglycane de N. meningitidis et de ses modifications dans les souches penI. Du fait du rôle des PBPs dans la synthèse du peptidoglycane, nous avons analysé sa structure en spectrométrie de masse et chromatographie et caractérisé 28 muropeptides différents. Des souches penI, ainsi que des mutants de penA d'une souche penS, portent un peptidoglycane de structure altérée avec une augmentation en muropeptides portant le pentapeptide GlcNac et MurNac. Ces changements structuraux du peptidoglycane sont directement liés aux changements de structure de la PBP2 dans les souches penI, suggérant que les souches de sensibilité diminuée à la pénicilline G subissent d'importantes altérations de paroi. De plus, ces altérations semblent affecter la virulence de ces souches (comme exposé ci-dessus 1.2).

Mots-clés: Neisseria meningitidis, Pathogénie moléculaire, Physiopathologie, Epidémiologie, Laboratoire de Référence


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr