Unit: Molecular Mycology

Director: DROMER Françoise

A better understanding of the interactions between the hosts and pathogenic fungi should improve the prognosis of systemic fungal infections. We thus focus our projects on Cryptococcus neoformans and Candida albicans pathogenicity by studying the host (clinical and epidemiological studies, animal models of infection) and the fungus (virulence factors, variability) sides.

Cryptococcus neoformans

Cryptococcosis is a life-threatening infection that occurs in up to 30% of patients with AIDS in tropical area in Africa and South East Asia. The most common clinical feature is a meningoencephalitis associated with a severe prognosis which explains the need for new prophylactic and therapeutic approaches. One of the characteristics of C. neoformans is the presence of a capsule made of polysaccharides, mainly glucuronoxylomannan (GXM). We are studying the pathophysiology of the infection and the virulence factors, among which the capsule has been shown to be the most important.

C. neoformans capsule (G. Janbon, F. Moyrand)

Among the evidence demonstrating a major role for the capsule in the virulence of the yeast, are the avirulence of acapsular strains and the various deleterious effects on the immune response assigned to GXM. Immunofluorescence studies with monoclonal antibodies specific for various epitopes of the GXM allowed us to demonstrate that the capsule structure is highly variable from cell to cell within a given yeast cell population. Our working hypothesis is that the variability of the capsule structure plays a role in the virulence of the yeast. The mechanisms and molecular determinants involved in the antigenic variability have been studied and uncovered for numerous procaryote and eucaryote microorganisms, but no study has been performed for pathogenic fungi. We have cloned different genes coding for proteins involved in the biosynthetic pathway of the cryptococcal capsule and are studying the mechanisms responsible for the capsule structure variability. A program of systematic disruption of the genes potentially involved in the capsule synthesis has been implemented and should provide within 2 years up to 150 mutants strains for study. These mutants will be used to study the epitopes involved in the crossing of the blood brain barrier.

Sudy of a protein from C. neoformans involved in the humoral response during cryptococcosis (F. Dromer, J. Lemay)

We have demonstrated that the humoral response to proteic antigens of C. neoformans correlates with the outcome of the infection in a model of disseminated cryptococcosis in outbred mice. We have identified one of the protein associated with a humoral response in mice surviving a lethal challenge and cloned the corresponding gene PEP1. In collaboration with JL Guesdon and S. Rouyre we designed two immunoenzymatic assays (ELISA and western-blot) that allowed us to analyze in patients with cryptococcosis the baseline production anti-GXM and anti-recombinant Pep1p antibodies. We found that anti-rPep1 antibodies were only detected in patients who survived the infection. Monoclonal antibodies specific for various epitopes of Pep1p were produced. One of them significantly prolonged the survival of infected mice in the model of disseminated cryptococcosis. Other studies are warranted to further elucidate the protective effect of Pep1 antibodies.

Study of C. neoformans crossing of the blood brain barrier (BBB) (C. Charlier, F. Dromer)

Little is known on the mechanisms allowing C. neoformans to cross the BBB. The model of disseminated cryptococcosis in outbred mice and classical fungal burden evaluation and histophatology are used to analyze the kinetics of BBB crossing and dissemination after fungemia. The study is done in collaboration with F. Chrétien (INSERM EMI 0011, Hôpital H. Mondor, Créteil). Preliminary results showed that effective crossing takes place within 24 hours after inoculation. Other techniques are currently designed to better analyze the events.

Human cryptococcosis (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, O. Ronin)

We recently analyzed in collaboration with A. Fontanet (Epidemiology of Emerging Diseases) and S. Mathoulin-Pélissier (Institut Bergonié, Bordeaux) the trends in the epidemiology of cryptococcosis following the introduction of highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART) in 1996 in France. Using the database of 1644 cases of cryptococcosis recorded among HIV-positive patients at the National Reference Center for Mycoses in France, we found that the incidence of cryptococcosis among HIV-positive patients decreased by 46% after 1997. Furthermore, independent risk factor for the development of cryptococcosis were an African origin, an age older than 45 years, an heterosexual HIV contamination, no previous AIDS-defining illness, no previous diagnosis of HIV infection. These results suggested that failure to consult and considering oneself not at risk were determinant in the current epidemiology of HIV-related cryptococcosis in France

An observational study on the management of secondary prophylaxis for cryptococcosis in 280 HIV-infected patients under highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART) has been implemented in 2001 (O. Lortholary, collaboration INSERM U593, Bordeaux). The initial mortality observed during HIV-associated cryptococcosis is still 17%, but the overall mortality has decreased since 1997 and the introduction of HAART. In patients with prolonged immune reconstitution and adequate antifungal therapy for several months, the interruption of maintenance antifungal therapy can be proposed.

Candida albicans

C. albicans is a commensal of the digestive tract responsible for a wide range of infections in immunocompetent and immunodeficient patients. Patients with prolonged neutropenia following chemotherapy or bone marrow transplantation, organ transplant recipients are at risk for candidemia. C. albicans is also responsible of nosocomial infections in surgery units, intensive care units.

Biofilm formation in C. albicans and Candida glabrata (G. Janbon, F. Dromer, I. Iraqui)

Biofilms are tridimentional structures composed of microorganisms that developed of various surfaces. Candida biofilms could colonize intravascular cathethers or prosthetic devices and be responsible for recurrence despite antifungal therapy. Our objective in collaboration with the groups of C. d'Enfert (UP Biologie et Pathogénicité fongiques) and JM Ghigo (G5, Génétique des biolfilms) is to determine molecular events that lead to the development of biofilms (PTR50). We have isolated several mutants of C. glabrata either unable to form biofilms or forming more biofilms than the wild type strain. Study of the mutants allowed us to identify an adhesin necessary for the biolfilm formation in C. glabrata and to understand the regulation of the corresponding gene's transcription. We have also deleted two genes of C. albicans coding for cell wall β-glucosidases of C. albicans which expression have been shown by transcriptome analysis to be induced during biofilm formation. Their study confirmed their essential role in the formation of biolfilm formation by C. albicans.

National Reference Center Mycology and Antifungal Agents (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary)

The National Reference Center has several missions that include (1) expertise in the identification of pathogenic fungi (D. Hoinard, J.C. Ganthier, D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin) and their molecular typing (S. Bretagne, D. Garcia-Hermoso), as well as antifungal susceptibility testing (D. Hoinard, D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin) and advice for the management of patients with severe mycoses; (2) epidemiological survey of all rare, severe or exotic mycoses as well as the emergence of resistance to antifungal drugs.

An active surveillance system (Observatoire des Levures) has been implemented in Paris and suburbs. Its objective is to monitor the infections and characterize overtime the yeasts responsible for fungemia (typing and susceptibility testing profiles).

http://www.pasteur.fr/sante/clre/cadrecnr/mycoses/mycoses-pratique.html

Study on in vitro and in vivo efficacy of antifungal combinations (E. Dannaoui, P. Schwarz, F. Dromer, O. Lortholary)

We used several approaches to test the in vitro activity of double and triple combination of antifungal drugs against Aspergillus fumigatus and C. neoformans. The antifungal tested were amphotéricine B, 5 fluorocytosine, caspofungine, and azoles (itraconazole, fluconazole or voriconazole). The checkerboard technique, a microdilution method adapted from the standard established for the study of one drug by the National Committee for Clinical Laboratory Standards was used to study double, and also for the first time to our knowledge to study triple combinations on Aspergillus. Other techniques were used to evaluate double combinations (agar diffusion techniques, and killing curves (this latter technique only on C. neoformans). These studies allowed us to demonstrate the potential interest of combinations that have not been evaluated yet. Studies in experimental models of disseminated aspergillosis and cryptococcosis will allow us to determine the relevance of these findings.

Keywords: Cryptococcus neoformans, capsule, Candida albicans, polysaccharide, mycology, pathophysiology, antifungals, biofilms, blood brain barrier


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Mycologie Moléculaire

Responsable: DROMER Françoise

Une meilleure connaissance de l'interaction entre l'hôte et les champignons pathogènes pourrait améliorer le pronostic des mycoses systémiques. Nous centrons nos recherches sur la pathogénicité de Cryptococcus neoformans et de Candida albicans par une approche simultanée de l'hôte (études cliniques et épidémiologiques, modèles animaux) et du pathogène (facteurs de virulence, variabilité).

Cryptococcus neoformans

L'étude de la physiopathologie des cryptococcoses et des mécanismes de virulence de Cryptococcus neoformans représente à terme les meilleurs moyens d'améliorer la prise en charge des patients atteints de cryptococcose, en nombre important puisque cette infection opportuniste touche au moins 25% des patients infectés par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine en zone tropicale. C. neoformans est une levure basidiomycète capsulée qui provoque des méningo-encéphalites de pronostic sévère malgré les traitements antifongiques, ce qui justifie la recherche de mesures thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques nouvelles.

Capsule de C. neoformans (G. Janbon, F. Moyrand, O. Prigneau)

Chaque cellule de C. neoformans est entourée d'une capsule polysaccharidique qui représente le facteur de virulence principal. Ainsi, les souches acapsulées sont avirulentes et la capsule a un effet délétère sur la réponse immunitaire. L'utilisation d'anticorps monoclonaux spécifiques nous a permis d'observer une grande variabilité de structure d'une cellule à l'autre au sein d'une même population cellulaire. Notre hypothèse de travail est que la variabilité de la structure de la capsule est, au moins pour une part, responsable de la virulence de C. neoformans. Alors que les mécanismes et les déterminants génétiques de la variabilité antigénique sont connus pour de nombreux micro-organismes procaryotes et eucaryotes, aucune étude n'a été menée en ce sens chez les champignons pathogènes. Nous avons cloné des gènes codant pour divers éléments de la voie de biosynthèse du polysaccharide capsulaire et étudions les mécanismes qui sont responsables de la variabilité de sa structure. Un programme de disruption systématique des gènes potentiellement impliqués dans la synthèse des polysaccharides capsulaires est en cours et devrait aboutir, en deux ans, à la construction de 150 souches mutantes. Ces souches seront notamment utilisées pour identifier les épitopes capsulaires nécessaires au franchissement de la barrière hémato-encéphalique.

Etude d'une protéine de C. neoformans impliquée dans la réponse humorale au cours de la cryptococose (F. Dromer, J. Lemay)

En analysant la réponse humorale chez les souris inoculées par C. neoformans, nous avons mis en évidence l'existence d'anticorps préférentiellement produits par les animaux qui survivaient à l'infection. En collaboration avec JL Guesdon et Sylvie Rouyre (Ingéniérie des Anticorps, nous avons mis au point deux tests immuno-enzymatiques (ELISA et immuno-empreinte) et avons observé qu'une production d'anticorps anti-Pep1p n'était observée, au moment du diagnostic, que chez certains des patients pour lesquels l'évolution de la cryptococcose était favorable. Par ailleurs, plusieurs anticorps monoclonaux spécifiques de divers épitopes de cette protéine ont été générés dont l'un prolongeait la survie des animaux dans le modèle expérimental de cryptococcose disséminée. Des études complémentaires sont en cours pour mieux caractériser le caractère protecteur de ces anticorps.

Etude du franchissement de la barrière hémato-encéphalique (BHE) par C. neoformans (C. Charlier, F. Dromer)

Les mécanismes de franchissement de la BHE par C. neoformans sont encore inconnus. La cinétique de franchissement de la BHE et de la dissémination du pathogène est étudiée dans le modèle de cryptococcose disséminée de la souris non congénique grâce à des techniques classiques d'évaluation de la charge fongique, d'histologie et d'immunohistochimie en collaboration avec Fabrice Chrétien (INSERM EMI 0011, Hôpital H. Mondor, Créteil). Les résultats préliminaires démontrent que le franchissement de la BHE se fait précocément dans les 24 heures suivant l'inoculation intraveineuse. D'autres techniques sont actuellement mises en œuvre pour mieux comprendre ces mécanismes.

Cryptococcoses humaines (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, O. Ronin).

Nous avons analysé, en collaboration avec A. Fontanet (Epidémiologie des Maladies Emergentes) et Simone Mathoulin-Pélissier (Institut Bergonié, Bordeaux) les modifications épidémiologiques sur la cryptococcose consécutives à l'introduction des traitements antirétroviraux hautement actifs en 1996. En analysant les 1644 cas de cryptococcose répertoriés au Centre National de Référence depuis 1985 chez des sujets séropositifs pour le VIH, nous avons pu démontrer que l'incidence de la cryptococcose avait diminué de 46% depuis 1997, et qu'être originaire du continent africain, avoir plus de 45 ans, avoir été contaminé par le VIH par voie hétérosexuelle, n'avoir eu aucune autre maladie définissant le stade SIDA et ne pas se savoir séropositifs étaient actuellement des facteurs de risques indépendants de cryptococcose. L'absence de prise en charge thérapeutique ou le fait de ne pas se considérer à risque d'infection par le VIH sont des facteurs déterminants dans l'épidémiologie actuelle de la cryptococcose en France.

Une étude observationnelle des conditions d'arrêt de la prophylaxie secondaire de la cryptococcose chez 280 sujets infectés par le VIH et traités par une thérapeutique antirétrovirale hautement active a été mise en place en juin 2001 (responsable O. Lortholary, collaboration INSERM U593 Bordeaux). Nous avons pu montrer que la mortalité initiale de la cryptococcose au cours de l'infection par le VIH restait de 17%, mais que la mortalité globale était significativement diminuée depuis l'introduction des ARV hautement actifs. Chez les patients ayant une restauration immunitaire stable après plusieurs mois de traitement antifongique adapté, l'arrêt de la prophylaxie secondaire antifongique peut désormais être proposé.

Candida albicans

Candida albicans, une levure ascomycète saprophyte du tube digestif, est le deuxième microorganisme étudié dans l'Unité de Mycologie Moléculaire. Cette levure est responsable d'infections sévères chez des patients immunodéprimés par des chimiothérapies aplasiantes, des transplantations d'organes ou de moelle osseuse, mais aussi d'infections nosocomiales dans des services de réanimation.

Etude de la formation de biofilms chez C. albicans et C. glabrata (G. Janbon, F. Dromer, I. Iraqui)

Les biofilms sont des structures tri-dimensionnelles de microorganismes qui se développent sur différents supports. En ce qui concerne les Candida, ces structures peuvent se développer sur les cathéters ou encore sur des prothèses et sont certainement des sources de réinfection après un traitement antifongique. L'objectif de ce projet est donc de déterminer les mécanismes moléculaires de la formation de biofilms à Candida. Ce projet fait l'objet d'un PTR avec les groupes de C. D'enfert (UP Biologie et Pathogénicité fongiques) et de JM Ghigo (G5, Génétique des Biofilms) (PTR50). Nous avons isolé des mutants de C. glabrata ne formant plus de biolfilms et d'autre en formant davantage que la souche sauvage. L'etude de ces mutants nous a permis d'identifier une adhésine essentielle pour la formation de biofilm par C. glabrata et de comprendre les mécanismes de régulation de la transcription du gène qui la code. Par ailleurs, nous avons délété deux gènes codant pour les β-glucosidases de paroi de C. albicans dont l'expression est induite lors de la formation des biofilms et identifiés grâce à l'étude du transcriptome. L'étude de ces mutants nous a permis de confirmer le rôle essentiel de ces protéines dans la formation de biofilm par C. albicans.

Centre National de Référence Mycologie et Antifongiques (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary).

Les nouvelles missions du CNRMA sont très variées. Elles impliquent d'une part, une expertise dans le domaine de l'identification des levures et des champignons filamenteux pathogènes (D. Hoinard, J.-C. Gantier, D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin), leur typage moléculaire (S. Bretagne, D. Garcia-Hermoso), et les tests de sensibilité aux antifongiques (D. Hoinard, D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin), ainsi que dans la prise en charge des patients suspects ou atteints de mycoses sévères par le biais de conseils, et d'autre part, la surveillance épidémiologique des mycoses sévères, rares ou exotiques, et de la résistance aux antifongiques. Une surveillance active (l'Observatoire des Levures) a été mise en place pour surveiller ces infections en région parisienne et caractériser, au cours du temps, les espèces de levures responsables de fongémies (identification, typage, profil de sensibilité).

Etude de l'efficacité des associations d'antifongiques in vitro et in vivo (E. Dannaoui, P. Schwarz, F. Dromer, O. Lortholary)

Plusieurs approches ont été utilisées pour tester in vitro l'activité d'associations doubles ou triples d'antifongiques sur Aspergillus fumigatus et C. neoformans. Les antifongiques testés étaient l'amphotéricine B, la 5-fluorocytosine, la caspofungine, et des azolés (fluconazole, itraconazole ou voriconzole). La technique de l'échiquier, micro-méthode en milieu liquide dérivée de la technique du comité de standardisation américain (NCCLS) pour la détermination de la concentration minimale inhibitrice d'un seul antifongique, a permis l'évaluation d'associations doubles d'antifongiques et a été adaptée, pour la première fois à notre connaissance, pour l'étude d'associations triples. Des techniques de diffusion en milieu gélosé ont également été utilisées pour tester la sensibilité d'A. fumigatus à des associations doubles, ainsi que des courbes de fongicidie pour explorer de façon dynamique l'activité antifongique des associations sur C. neoformans. Ces études ont permis de démontrer l'intérêt potentiel d'associations d'antifongiques encore inexploitées et se poursuivent actuellement par l'étude de l'efficacité de ces associations in vivo dans les modèles animaux d'aspergillose et de cryptococcose disséminées.

Mots-clés: Cryptococcus neoformans, capsule, polysaccharide, mycologie, physiopathologie, antifongiques, Candida albicans, Candida glabrata, Aspergillus sp., biofilms, barrière hémato-encéphalique


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr