Unit: Macrophages and Development of Immunity - CNRS URA 2578

Director: Philippe Herbomel

We take advantage of the transparency of the zebrafish embryo and frye to study directly in vivo the origin, deployment in the organism, and functional properties of its first leukocytes - the 'early' macrophages - and the interaction of the latter with various microbes of medical interest.

Our model is the zebrafish, a small freshwater fish quite common in domestic aquaria. Over the last fifteen years, the zebrafish has become one of the major model species for the developmental biology of vertebrates (beside mouse, chick, frog), mainly due to two great assets :

i) The adults can be raised easily, and large numbers of embryos can easily be recovered: dawn light triggers mating, and each female lays 100-200 eggs at a time, which will develop as embryos synchronously.

ii) The embryos develop in water and are fully transparent from fertilization until well after hatching, making it possible to follow their development in great detail.

– with a stereomicroscope; many can thus be quickly examined. This made it possible to set up, for the first time among vertebrates, large-scale screens for mutants altered in the development of various organs (to date, over 1000 different mutants have been characterized).

– with a compound microscope equipped with Differential Interference Contrast (DIC or 'Nomarski'), allowing to visualize individually all cells in the embryo and follow their behaviours in a non invasive manner.

We have improved this Nomarski video-microscopic approach of cell behaviours in the developing embryo. This allowed us to discover, among other novelties, an "early" lineage of macrophages, which constitute the embryo's first leucocytes (white blood cells). Analogous early macrophages have been found in all vertebrate model species. In the zebrafish, we have found that they originate from an unexpected small region of the embryo: the cephalic lateral mesoderm, just adjacent to the cardiac territory (whereas all other leucocyte types that arise later originate from hematopoietic stem cells born at the other end of the embryo, from the caudal mesoderm (see report of the Lymphocyte Development Unit). In a collaboration with B. and C. Thisse (IGBMC, Illkirch), we have identified a series of genes whose expression marks the cells of this lineage, allowing to trace they ontogeny since gastrulation.

From the antero-cardiac mesoderm, the mesodermal precursors of the early macrophages emigrate to the neighboring yolk sac (which contains the embryo's food store), where they differentiate into "pre-macrophages" (hematopoietic-like progenitors), then into young macrophages, which show the swift, amoeboid motility typical of leukocytes. From the yolk sac, they quickly invade the embryo's head tissues; first the mesenchyme between developing organs, and from it the (still unvascularized) organs themselves. Our video sequences reveal that once in the tissues, they keep wandering without letting up, including within epthelial tissues (brain, epidermis).

At a precise developmental stage, all early macrophages present in the brain and retinas simultaneously acquire a new phenotype, which we named "early microglia" : they become much more endocytic, and their gene expression pattern shows clear changes.

Just as mammalian macrophages, zebrafish early macrophages express the M-CSF (CSF-1) receptor. We have shown that in mutant embryos that lack a functional M-CSF receptor, the early macrophages nevertheless differentiate and proliferate normally in the yolk sac. But then they do not migrate into the head tissues to any extent, and thus remain in the yolk sac and blood circulation.

We are now studying the molecular and cellular basis of the early macrophages' invasive abilities, as well as their long-term fate, in the young and in the adult.

Finally, we have shown that the early macrophages of the embryo are capable of detecting a bacterial infection focus (gram+ or gram-), go there and clear the bacteria - all this at a developmental stage when they are still the only leukocytes in the organism.

In a collaboration with L. Ramakrishnan (University of Washington, Seattle), we then studied their interactions with a pathogenic mycobacterium injected in the embryo's blood, Mycobacterium marinum, the agent of fish tuberculosis, and a close genetic relative of M. tuberculosis (the agent of human tuberculosis). M. marinum was quickly phagocytosed by the early macrophages, but survived and slowly proliferated inside them, leading to the dissemination of the infection in the embryo through the infected wandering macrophages. Unexpectedly, two days later, infected macrophages started to gather and form dense, granuloma-like aggregates, within which mycobacterial genes previously identified in adult animals as "granuloma-specific" were activated. This came as a surprise for at this developmental stage, the embryos still have no lymphocytes - which were so far considered as required for the triggering of the granulomatous response.

Photo :

Top: live zebrafish embryo; bottom: close-up on an early macrophage wandering in the yolk sac (two pictures taken 3 min. apart; Nomarski video-microscopy).

Keywords: development, macrophages, hematopoiesis, zebrafish, in vivo imaging, infection


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Macrophages et développement de l'immunité - CNRS URA 2578

Responsable: Philippe Herbomel

Nous mettons à profit la transparence de l'embryon et de l'alevin de Danio zébré (zebrafish), vertébré modèle, pour étudier directement in vivo l'origine, le déploiement dans l'organisme et les propriétés fonctionnelles de ses premiers leucocytes, des macrophages, ainsi que leurs interactions avec différents microbes d'intérét médical.

Notre modèle d'étude est le Danio zébré (zebrafish), petit poisson originaire du Gange très courant dans les aquariums domestiques. En une quinzaine d'années, il est devenu un des modèles majeurs en biologie du développement des vertébrés (aux côtés de la souris, du poulet, de la grenouille), principalement grâce à deux grands atouts :

i) Les adultes s'élèvent aisément, et il est très facile de récolter un grand nombre d'embryons: la lumière du matin déclenche l'accouplement, et chaque femelle pond d'un coup 100-200 oeufs, aussitôt fécondés, qui se développent en embryons de façon synchrone.

ii) Les embryons se développent dans l'eau et sont complètement transparents, depuis la fécondation jusqu'à plusieurs jours après l'éclosion, ce qui permet de suivre leur développement dans les moindres détails:

– soit à la loupe binoculaire, on peut ainsi en examiner rapidement un grand nombre. Ce qui a permis de mettre en place, pour la première fois chez un vertébré, des cribles à grande échelle de recherche de mutants altérés dans le développement des divers organes (dans des lots d'embryons mutagénisés). A ce jour, plus de mille mutants différents ont été caractérisés.

– soit au microscope optique à contraste interférentiel différentiel ('DIC', ou 'Nomarski' du nom de son inventeur), qui permet de visualiser individuellement toutes les cellules de l'embryon et de suivre leurs comportements - de façon non invasive.

Nous avons perfectionné cette approche de vidéo-microscopie Nomarski des comportements cellulaires dans l'embryon en développement. Ceci nous a permis de découvrir entre autres un lignage de macrophages "précoces", qui constituent les premiers leucocytes (globules blancs) de l'embryon. Des macrophages précoces analogues ont été trouvés chez tous les vertébrés examinés. Chez le Danio, nous avons montré qu'ils proviennent d'une petite région inattendue de l'embryon, le mésoderme latéral céphalique immédiatement adjacent au territoire cardiaque (alors que tous les autres types de leucocytes qui apparaissent plus tard dans le développement proviennent de cellules souches hémaétopoiétiques nées à l'autre bout de l'embryon, dans le mésoderme caudal - cf. (rapport de l'Unité de Développement des Lymphocytes).

En collaboration avec B. et C. Thisse (IGBMC, Illkirch), nous avons identifié une série de gènes dont l'expression successive marque les cellules de ce lignage macrophagique, permettant de retracer sa genèse depuis le début de la gastrulation.

A partir du mésoderme antéro-cardiaque, les cellules mésodermiques précurseurs des macrophages précoces émigrent vers le sac vitellin tout proche (qui contient les réserves nutritives de l'embryon), où elles se différencient en "pré-macrophages" (progéniteurs d'aspect hématopoiétique), puis en jeunes macrophages, qui présentent la motilité rapide, "amoeboide", typique des leucocytes. Depuis le sac vitellin, ils envahissent rapidement les tissus de l'embryon, surtout la tête; d'abord le mésenchyme entre les organes, puis de là les organes eux-mêmes (encore non vascularisés). Nos séquences vidéo revèlent qu'une fois dans les tissus, ils continuent d'y circuler sans relâche, y compris au sein des épithéliums (comme le cerveau ou l'épiderme).

A un stade bien précis du développement, tous les macrophages précoces qui ont colonisé le cerveau et la rétine, et eux seuls, acquièrent simultanément un nouveau phénotype, que nous avons baptisé "microglie précoce": ils deviennent nettement plus endocytiques, et leur patron d'expression génétique change.

Tout comme les macrophages des mammifères, les macrophages précoces du Danio expriment le récepteur du M-CSF (CSF-1). Nous avons montré que dans des embryons mutants dépourvus de récepteur du M-CSF fonctionnel, les macrophages précoces se différencient néanmoins et prolifèrent normalement dans le sac vitellin; en revanche ils ne se déploient pas dans les tissus de l'embryon, restant dans le sac vitellin puis dans la circulation.

Nous étudions maintenant les bases moléculaires et cellulaires de leur capacité d'invasion des tissus de l'embryon, ainsi que leur devenir à long terme, chez le jeune puis l'adulte.

Enfin nous avons montré que les macrophages précoces de l'embryon sont capables de détecter un foyer d'infection bactérienne (gram+ ou gram-) et d'éradiquer l'infection, ceci à un stade où ils sont encore les seuls leucocytes de l'organisme.

En collaboration avec L. Ramakrishnan (University of Washington, Seattle), nous avons alors étudié leurs interactions avec une mycobactérie pathogène injectée dans l'embryon, Mycobacterium marinum, responsable de la tuberculose des poissons, proche cousine de M. tuberculosis (l'agent de la tuberculose humaine). M. marinum est rapidement phagocytée par les macrophages précoces, mais elle y survit et prolifère lentement dans les macrophages, qui disséminent l'infection dans l'embryon. De façon inattendue, deux jours plus tard les macrophages infectés commencent à former des aggrégats denses, évoquant des granulomes, au sein desquels les gènes de la mycobactérie auparavant identifiés comme "granulome-spécifiques" chez l'animal adulte, sont fortement activés (alors qu'à ce stade du développement, l'embryon ne possède pas encore de lymphocytes, jusqu'ici considérés comme nécessaires pour induire la réponse granulomateuse).

Légende

En haut: embryon vivant de Danio zébré; en bas: gros-plan sur un macrophage en train de circuler dans le sac vitellin (deux clichés de la même cellule à 3 minutes d'intervalle; vidéomicroscopie Nomarski).

Mots-clés: développement, macrophages, hématopoièse, Danio zébré (zebrafish), imagerie in vivo, infections


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr