Unit: Bacteria-Cell Interactions

Director: Cossart Pascale

Our Unit investigates the molecular and cellular basis of the pathogenicity of Listeria monocytogenes, a foodborne pathogen which has become a model study for intracellular parasitism. L. monocytogenes is responsible for gastroenteritis, septicemia, meningitides and abortions in humans, with 30% of mortality. Susceptible individuals include pregnant women and fetuses, newborns, elderly and immunocompromised persons. L. monocytogenes is an intracellular bacterium, which can cross the intestinal barrier, then blood-brain or feto-placental barriers, invade and multiply within several cell types. Bacteria move in the cytosol and spread from cell to cell using an original propelling process: cell actin polymerization at one pole of the bacteria. In 2003, our activity concerned the study of the bacterial and cellular components controlling bacterial entry into cells, the identification of new virulence genes, their regulation and their anchoring mechanism at the bacterial surface. We also performed studies on the molecular epidemiology and the biodiversity of L. monocytogenes strains . In parallel, we investigate the actin-dependent motility of another intracellular bacterium, Rickettsia conorii, as well as its mechanism of entry into epithelial cells.

I. Entry of L. monocytogenes into epithelial cells:

Role of the internalins, InlA and InlB, two bacterial proteins involved in cell entry

InlA and its receptor, E-cadherin (M. Lecuit, S. Sousa).

We demonstrated that entry into cells requires the interaction of the cytoplasmic domain of E-cadherin with the actin cytoskeleton via catenins as well as the participation of the unconventional myosin VIIa and of vezatin, a transmembrane adaptor molecule. Myosin VIIa is maintained at adherens junctions through alpha-catenin and vezatin. As for catenins, myosin VIIa and vezatin are recruited at the L. monocytogenes entry site. Investigations are now oriented towards other molecules regulating actin polymerization, such as GTPases and different actin activators or nucleators, and towards the study of the motor forces generated by myosins .

InlB and its receptors gC1q-R and Met (H. Bierne, N. Khelef)

InlB is non-covalently associated to the bacterial surface and possesses several receptors: gC1q-R, the receptor for the globular form of the complement component C1q, Met, the HGF receptor, and the glycosaminoglycans. Met belongs to the family of growth factor receptors with tyrosine kinase activity, allowing transduction of cell signals required for InlB-dependent entry. gC1q-R has no transmembrane domain and no cytoplasmic domain. Its role in cell invasion, especially as a co-receptor of Met is currently studied.

Signaling and cytoskeletal rearrangements during InlB-dependent entry (H. Bierne, N. Khelef)

InlB-dependent entry involves cytoskeletal rearrangements mediated by the Arp2/3 complex, the cofilin-LIM-kinase couple and Rac, a Rho-GTPase, which regulate actin polymerization. Using dominant negative mutants, we showed that WAVE and ENA/VASP are involved in the actin cup formation at the entry site. Analysis of further events regulating actin polymerization is in progress.

InlB activates PI 3-kinase, which itself stimulates PLC-gamma, inducing the production of IP3 and the release of calcium. InlB also stimulates NF-KB via Ras and Akt. The consequences of the activation of these signaling pathways, especially for the mechanisms of cell survival, are studied .

Other mechanisms involved in cell entry (S. Dramsi, S. Dupuis, J. Pizarro-Cerda, S. Seveau)

We have established that listeriolysin, which is important for bacterial escape from the phagocytic vacuole, generates an extracellular calcium influx, which regulates epithelial cell invasion. We have also demonstrated that membrane cholesterol plays an important role in L. monocytogenes cell invasion, suggesting an involvement of membrane lipid microdomains in cell entry. In parallel, we showed that PI 4-K is recruited at the entry site of beads coated with InlA or InlB. Finally, we have discovered that septin 9, a GTPase, which forms filaments colocalizing with filamentous actin and microtubules, is recruited at the entry site of L. monocytogenes and of beads coated with InlA or InlB. The exact contribution of PI 4-K and septin 9 is currently evaluated using dominant negative mutants and the technique of gene inactivation by RNA interference.

II. Identification of new virulence mechanisms for L. monocytogenes

Identification of new virulence genes by random mutagenesis (D. Cabanes, J. Johansson, P. Mandin)

By signature tagged mutagenesis, we identified new L. monocytogenes genes, important for the infectious process in the murine model. They encode the FbpA protein and a two component system, VirR/VirS. FbpA is surface protein with no signal sequence, suggesting a new mechanism to address proteins at the bacterial surface. FbpA binds fibronectin and allows bacterial adhesion to the cells. Expression of FbpA is important for that of two other virulence factors, the listeriolysin and InlB, suggesting that FbpA may also act as a chaperone. Transcriptome analysis of the VirR/VirS system showed that it regulates several genes, some of which are involved in virulence. These genes, their regulation mechanism, and the signals controlling expression of the VirR/VirS regulon are currently studied.

Post-genomic approach to study L. monocytogenes virulence (C. Archambaud, H. Bierne, D. Cabanes, O. Dussurget, C. Sabet)

Exploitation of the complete genome sequences of L. monocytogenes and of the non-pathogenic strain Listeria innocua, allowed us to identify new virulence genes par targeted mutagenesis. We have inactivated genes present in L. monocytogenes and absent in L. innocua, coding for factors involved in infection:

- a bile salt hydrolase (Bsh), whose expression is regulated by PrfA, and which favors bacterial resistance to bile and persistence in the intestinal lumen. The gene encoding BSH is absent from L. innocua, appearing as a new tool to identify Listeria.

- several surface proteins involved in bacterial entry into cells and in virulence in different animal models, among which a new autolysin (Auto).

- a serine/threonine phosphatase, whose role in virulence, activity on other factors and bacterial and cellular targets are under investigation.

- two sortases, which anchor surface proteins through a LPXTG motif for sortase A and a newly identified motif (NXXTX) for sortase B. Deletion of the gene encoding sortase A abolishes the anchoring of several LPXTG surface proteins and attenuates the virulence during the early steps of infection. Deletion of the gene encoding sortase B has no effect on virulence. The precise contribution of sortase B and of its potential targets is currently evaluated.

Studies on the biodiversity of Listeria have been developed using comparative genomics between two L. monocytogenes strains of different serovars (4b and 1/2a) and the genomic analysis of 113 other strains (Collaboration with M. Doumith and P. Martin, Centre de Référence des Listeria, and C. Buchrieser, Laboratoire des Microorganismes Pathogènes, Institut Pasteur). Thirty markers specific for L. monocytogenes and for different serovars have been identified, opening the way to the development of new identification tools and to the study of Listeria evolution.

III. Regulation of Listeria monocytogenes virulence gene expression

Discovery of a thermosensor RNAand non coding small RNAs (J. Johansson, P. Mandin)

PrfA is a pleiotropic activator of the transcription of most of the virulence genes. Its expression is high at 37°C and inhibited at 20°C. Under certain environmental conditions, PrfA is present on its inactive form. We showed that at 20°C, but not at 37°C, the 5' end of the mRNA encoding PrfA forms a stem and loop that sequesters the Shine and Dalgarno sequence, inhibiting the transcription of prfA transcripts. In parallel, we have initiated the study of small non coding des ARN non codants et de leur rôle dans la régulation.

Transcriptome analysis of the PrfA regulon (E. Milohanic in collaboration with C. Buchrieser and P. Glaser, Laboratoire de Génomique des Microorgnismes Pathogènes and the Génopole)

Transcriptome analysis of the genes regulated by PrfA in different growth conditions allowed us to identify 3 groups of genes comprising 10 genes already known and 2 new genes directly activated by PrfA (Group I), 8 genes negatively regulated (Group II) and 53 genes indirectly controlled by PrfA (Group III). Addiction of charcoal to growth medium stimulates expression of the group I genes and abolishes that of most of the genes from group III, while addition of de cellobiose has the inverse effect. Genes from group II are always repressed. The absence of a PrfA box and the presence of sequences similar to sigma B-dependent promoters upstream of certain genes regulated by PrfA suggest that they be controlled by a sigma B factor, which controls stress responses.

IV. In vivo studies of L. monocytogenes infection and host responses

Role of InlA in the crossing tissue barriers (E. Huillet, M. Lecuit)

InlA interacts with the E-cadherin from human or guinea pigs, but not from mice or rats. The use of transgenic mice expressing the human E-cadherin at the intestinal level revealed the critical role of InlA in the crossing of the intestinal barrier by L. monocytogenes. We are generating transgenic mice expressing the human E-cadherin in place of the murine E-cadherin in all tissues of the organism to evaluate the potential contribution of InlA in the crossing of the blood-brain and feto-placental barriers (Collaboration with C. Babinet, Unité de Biologie du Développement, Institut Pasteur).

Host responses to L. monocytogenes infection (O. Dussurget, M. Lecuit)

We have started a global analysis of the host response to infection by a transcriptomic approach (Collaborations with J.I. Gordon, Washington University, St Louis, MO, and P. Ricciardi-Castagnoli, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy). We studied the intestinal response of germ-free mice expressing the human E-cadherin at the intestinal level and of epithelial and dendritic cell lines. The comparison of the gene expression patterns induced by wild type and mutants strains of L. monocytogenes is currently analyzed .

Real time analysis of murine listeriosis (O. Dussurget)

We are initiating the real time analysis of L. monocytogenes infection using a non invasive technique of imaging based on bioluminescence (Collaboration with J. Hardy and C. Contag from Stanford University, CA). This approach should allow us to perform a spatio-temporal analysis of the progression of murine listeriosis.

V. Epidemiological studies

(M. Lecuit in collaboration with C. Jacquet, Centre de Référence des Listeria)

Certain strains of L. monocytogenes express a truncated form of InlA, affecting their invasive capacity. An epidemiological study designed to evaluate the frequency and the distribution of this type of strains showed that 96% of the clinical strains but only 65% of the strains from food origin express a functional InlA. Strikingly, all strains responsible for feto-placental infections express a functional InlA. These results demonstrate the involvement of InlA in the development of human listeriosis and strongly suggest that it play a critical role in the crossing of the feto-placental barrier.

VI. Rickettsia conorii:

Another model to study actin-dependent motility and entry into epithelial cells (E. Gouin, J. Martinez, V. Villiers)

As L. monocytogenes, Rickettsia conorii, an intracellular bacterium, has an intracytoplasmic motility dependent on actin polymerization. Contrary to L. monocytogenes, actin filaments polymerized by R. conorii are long, unbranched, and attached to the bacteria. The sequence of the genome of R. conorii and of Rickettsia prowazekii, which does not polymerize actin allowed the identification of a rickA gene present in R. conorii but absent from R. prowazekii. We have purified the protein RickA encoded by the rickA gene and showed that it induces actin polymerization and branching of actin filaments in vitro. RickA is expressed at the surface of intracellular bacteria, revealing that the protein, which does not posses the usual signal peptide or an anchoring signal, is secreted. We also established that the actin comets generated by R. conorii do not contain the Arp2/3 complex, while it is recruited around the bacteria, suggesting a new polymerization mechanism. In parallel, we analyzed other undocumented steps of R. conorii infection, such as the nature of the R. conorii receptors or the signaling resulting from R. conorii interaction with epithelial cells. Finally, we identified a phospholipase D, which could be a new virulence factor since specific antibodies reduce their cytotoxicity towards Vero cells (Collaboration with D. Raoult, Unité des Rickettsies, Marseille, France).

Photos :

Photo 1. Scheme of the factors and events involved in InlA-dependent entry.

Photo 2. Scheme of the factors and events involved in InlB-dependent entry.

Photo 3. Labeling of the unconventional myosin VIIa (red), at the adherens junctions of epithelial cells, which is also recruited with actin (green) at the Listeria monocytogenes entry site.

Keywords: bacteria, virulence, cell biology, transcriptomics, mutagenesis


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Intéractions Bactéries- Cellules

Responsable: Cossart Pascale

Notre Unité étudie les bases moléculaires et cellulaires du pouvoir pathogène de Listeria monocytogenes, qui est un système modèle pour l'étude du parasitisme intracellulaire. L. monocytogenes est responsable d'infections alimentaires graves, qui se manifestent par des gastro-entérites, des septicémies, des méningites et des avortements, avec un taux de mortalité de 30 %. Les sujets à risque sont les femmes enceintes et les foetus, les nouveau-nés, les personnes âgées, ainsi que les sujets immunodéprimés. L. monocytogenes est une bactérie intracellulaire qui peut traverser la barrière intestinale, puis les barrières hémato-encéphalique ou fœto-placentaire, envahir de nombreux types cellulaires et s'y multiplier. Les bactéries se déplacent dans le cytosol et passent de cellule en cellule en utilisant un mode de propulsion original: la polymérisation de l'actine cellulaire à l'un des pôles bactériens. En 2003, notre activité a porté sur l'étude des composants bactériens et cellulaires contrôlant l'entrée des bactéries dans les cellules, l'identification de nouveaux gènes de virulence, la régulation de l'expression de ces gènes et sur les mécanismes d'ancrage des protéines de surface. Des travaux d'épidémiologie moléculaire et d'étude de la biodiversité de L. monocytogenes ont aussi été entrepris. Parallèlement, nous avons poursuivi l'étude de la motilité actine-dépendante d'une autre bactérie intracellulaire, Rickettsia conorii, et l'analyse de son mécanisme d'entrée dans les cellules.

Entrée de L. monocytogenes dans les cellules épithéliales:

Rôle des internalines InlA et InlB, deux protéines bactériennes impliquées dans l'entrée

InlA et son récepteur la E-cadhérine (M. Lecuit, S. Sousa).

Nous avons démontré que l'entrée dans les cellules nécessite l'interaction du domaine cytoplasmique de la E-cadhérine avec cytosquelette d'actine via les caténines et l'intervention de la myosine VIIa non conventionnelle. La myosine VIIa est maintenue aux jonctions adhérentes par l'alpha-caténine et la vézatine, une molécule transmembranaire adaptatrice. Comme les caténines, la myosine VIIa et la vézatine sont recrutées au site d'entrée de L. monocytogenes. Les recherches s'orientent vers des molécules régulant la polymérisation de l'actine, telles les GTPases et différents activateurs/nucléateurs, ainsi que vers l'étude des forces motrices générées par les myosines .

La protéine InlB et ses récepteurs gC1q-R et Met (H. Bierne, N. Khelef)

InlB est associée de façon labile à la surface de la bactérie et interagit avec plusieurs récepteurs: gC1q-R, le récepteur de la forme globulaire du composant du complément C1q, Met le récepteur de l'HGF et les glycosaminoglycanes. Met appartient à la famille des récepteurs aux facteurs de croissance à activité tyrosine kinase permettant de transduire les signaux cellulaires requis pour l'entrée dépendante de InlB. gC1q-R n'a pas de domaine transmembranaire, ni de domaine cytoplasmique. Son rôle dans l'invasion cellulaire, notamment comme co-récepteur de Met est en cours d'étude.

La signalisation et les réarrangements du cytosquelette lors de l'entrée InlB-dépendante (H. Bierne, N. Khelef)

L'entrée InlB-dépendante met en jeu des réarrangements du cytosquelette médiés par le complexe Arp 2/3, le couple cofiline-LIM-kinase et Rac, une Rho-GTPase, qui régulent la polymérisation de l'actine. En utilisant des mutants dominant négatifs, nous avons montré que les molécules WAVE et ENA/VASP sont impliquées dans la formation de la coupe d'actine au site d'entrée et poursuivons l'analyse des évènements permettant la polymérisation de l'actine.

InlB active la PI 3-kinase, qui stimule la PLC-gamma, induisant la production d'IP3 et la libération de calcium. InlB stimule aussi NF-KB via Ras et Akt. Les conséquences de l'activation de ces voies de signalisation, notamment dans les mécanismes de survie cellulaire sont en cours d'analyse .

Autres mécanismes impliqués dans l'entrée (S. Dramsi, S. Dupuis, J. Pizarro-Cerda, S. Seveau)

Nous avons établi que la listériolysine qui est importante pour l'échappement des bactéries hors de la vacuole de phagocytose génère un influx de calcium extracelllulaire qui stimule l'entrée dans les cellules épithéliales. Nous avons aussi démontré que le cholestérol membranaire joue un rôle prépondérant dans l'invasion cellulaire par L. monocytogenes, suggérant l'implication de microdomaines lipidiques membranaires dans les étapes régulant l'entrée. Parallèlement, nous avons montré que la PI 4-K est recrutée au site d'entrée de billes recouvertes de InlA ou InlB. Enfin, nous avons découvert que la septine 9, une GTPase capable de former des filaments colocalisant avec l'actine filamenteuse et les microtubules, est recrutée par L. monocytogenes ou des billes recouvertes de InlA ou InlB. Les contributions précises de la PI 4-K et de la septine 9 sont en cours d'évaluation à l'aide de mutants dominant négatifs et de la technique d'inactivation génique par RNA interférence.

II. Identification de nouveaux mécanismes de virulence de L. monocytogenes

Identification de nouveaux gènes de virulence par mutagenèse aléatoire (D. Cabanes, J. Johansson, P. Mandin)

Nous avons identifié par mutagenèse aléatoire de nouveaux gènes de L. monocytogenes importants pour le processus infectieux dans le modèle murin. Ils codent la protéine FbpA et un système à deux composants, VirR/VirS. FbpA est une protéine de surface sans séquence signal, suggérant un mécanisme nouveau d'adressage de protéines à la surface bactérienne. FbpA lie la fibronectine et permet l'adhésion des bactéries aux cellules. L'expression de FbpA est importante pour celle de deux autres facteurs de virulence, la listeriolysine et InlB, suggérant que FbpA pourrait aussi jouer un rôle de chaperonne. L'analyse transcriptomique du système VirR/VirS a montré qu'il régule un grand nombre de gènes, dont certains impliqués dans la virulence. Ces gènes, leur mécanisme de régulation et les signaux contrôlant l'expression du régulon VirR/VirS sont en cours d'étude.

Approche post-génomique de l'étude de la virulence de L. monocytogenes (C. Archambaud, H. Bierne, D. Cabanes, O. Dussurget, C. Sabet)

L'exploitation des séquences complètes des génomes de L. monocytogenes et de l'espèce non pathogène Listeria innocua, nous a permis d'identifier de nouveaux gènes de virulence par mutagenèse ciblée. Nous avons inactivé des gènes présents chez L. monocytogenes et absents chez L. innocua, codant pour des facteurs impliqués dans l'infection:

- une hydrolase des sels biliaires (Bsh) dont l'expression est régulée par PrfA, qui favorise la résistance des bactéries à la bile et leur persistance dans la lumière intestinale. Le gène codant la Bsh est absent des souches de L. innocua et se révèle un nouvel outil d'identification des Listeria.

- plusieurs protéines de surface impliquées dans l'entrée dans les cellules et dans la virulence dans différents modèles animaux, dont une nouvelle autolysine (Auto).

- une sérine/thréonine phosphatase dont nous étudions le rôle dans la virulence, l'activité sur d'autres facteurs et les cibles bactériennes et cellulaires éventuelles.

- deux sortases qui ancrent des protéines de surface par l'intermédiaire du motif LPXTG pour la sortase A et d'un motif nouvellement identifié (NXXTX) pour la sortase B. La délétion du gène codant pour la sortase A abolit l'ancrage de plusieurs protéines de surface de la famille LPXTG et atténue la virulence au cours des étapes précoces de l'infection. La délétion du gène codant pour la sortase B est sans effet sur la virulence. La contribution précise de la sortase B et la recherche de ses cibles sont en cours d'étude.

Des études de la biodiversité de Listeria ont été réalisées en utilisant la génomique comparative entre deux souches de sérovars différents de L. monocytogenes (4b et 1/2a) et l'analyse génomique de 113 autres souches (Collaboration avec M. Doumith et P. Martin, Centre de Référence des Listeria, et C. Buchrieser, Laboratoire des Microorganismes Pathogènes, Institut Pasteur). Trente marqueurs spécifiques de L. monocytogenes et de différents sérovars ont été identifiés, ouvrant la voie au développement de nouveaux outils d'identification et d'étude de l'évolution des Listeria.

III. Régulation de l'expression des gènes de virulence de Listeria monocytogenes

Mise en évidence d'un ARN thermosenseur et de petits ARN non codants (J. Johansson, P. Mandin)

La protéine PrfA est un activateur pléiotrope de la transcription de la majorité des gènes de virulence. Son expression est élevée à 37°C et inhibée à 20°C. Dans certaines conditions environnementales, la protéine est présente sous forme inactive. Nous avons montré que, à 20°C, mais pas à 37°C, la partie 5' de l'ARNm codant PrfA forme une tige et boucle qui séquestre la séquence Shine et Dalgarno et empêche la traduction des transcrits prfA. Parallèlement, nous avons démarre l'étude des ARN non codants et de leur rôle dans la régulation.

Analyse transcriptomique du régulon PrfA (E. Milohanic en collaboration avec C. Buchrieser et P. Glaser, Laboratoire de Génomique des Microorganismes Pathogènes, et la Génopole)

L'analyse transcriptomique des gènes régulés par PrfA dans différents milieux de culture nous a permis d'identifier 3 groupes de gènes comprenant respectivement 10 gènes déjà connus et deux nouveaux gènes directement activés par PrfA (Groupe I), 8 gènes régulés négativement (Groupe II) et 53 gènes sous le contrôle indirect de PrfA (Groupe III). L'addition de charbon au milieu de culture stimule l'expression des gènes du groupe I et abolit celle de la plupart des gènes du groupe III, alors que l' addition de cellobiose à l'effet inverse. Les gènes du groupe II sont réprimés quelles que soient les conditions. L'absence de boite PrfA et la présence de séquences similaires à des promoteurs dépendant du facteur sigma B en amont de certains gènes régulés par PrfA suggèrent qu'ils seraient contrôlés par un facteur sigma B qui contribue à la réponse au stress.

IV. Etudes in vivo de l'infection par L. monocytogenes et réponses de l'hôte

Rôle de InlA dans la traversée des barrières tissulaires (E. Huillet, M. Lecuit)

InlA interagit avec la E-cadhérine humaine ou de cobaye, mais pas avec celle de souris ou de rat. L'utilisation de souris transgéniques exprimant la E-cadherine humaine au niveau intestinal a révélé le rôle critique de InlA dans la traversée de la barrière intestinale par L. monocytogenes. Nous sommes en train de générer des souris transgéniques exprimant la E-cadhérine humaine en lieu et place de la E-cadhérine murine pour évaluer la contribution éventuelle de InlA dans la traversée des barrières hémato-encéphalique et fœto-placentaire (Collaboration avec C. Babinet, Unité de Biologie du développement, Institut Pasteur).

Réponses de l'hôte à l'infection par L. monocytogenes (O. Dussurget, M. Lecuit)

Nous avons entrepris une analyse globale de la réponse de l'hôte à l'infection par une approche transcriptomique (Collaborations avec J.I. Gordon, Université de Washington, St Louis, MO, et P. Ricciardi-Castagnoli, Université de Milano-Bicocca, Italie). Nous étudions la réponse intestinale de souris axéniques exprimant la E-cadhérine humaine au niveau intestinal et celle des cellules intestinales et dendritiques en culture. La comparaison des profils d'expression génique induits par les souches sauvage et mutantes de L. monocytogenes est en cours d'analyse

Analyse en temps réel de la listériose murine (O. Dussurget)

Nous venons de démarrer l'étude de l'infection par L. monocytogenes en temps réel par une technique non invasive d'imagerie basée sur la bioluminescence (Collaboration avec J. Hardy et C. Contag de l'Université de Stanford, CA). Cette approche devrait nous permettre de réaliser une analyse spatio-temporelle complète de la progression de la listériose murine.

V. Etudes épidémiologiques

(M. Lecuit en collaboration avec C. Jacquet, Centre de Référence des Listeria)

Certaines souches de L. monocytogenes expriment une forme tronquée de InlA, qui affecte leur capacité invasive. Une étude épidémiologique destinée à évaluer la fréquence et la distribution de ce type de souches a montré que 96% des souches cliniques et seulement 65% des souches d'origine alimentaire expriment une protéine InlA fonctionnelle. De façon frappante, la totalité des souches responsables d'infections materno-fœtales expriment une protéine InlA fonctionnelle. Ces résultats démontrent l'implication de InlA dans le développement de la listériose humaine et suggèrent fortement qu'elle ait un rôle critique dans la traversée de la barrière foeto-placentaire.

VI. Rickettsia conorii:

Un autre modèle pour l'étude des mouvements actine-dépendants et de l'entrée dans les cellules épithéliales (E. Gouin, J. Martinez, V. Villiers)

Comme L. monocytogenes, Rickettsia conorii, une bactérie intracellulaire stricte, possède une motilité dépendante de la polymérisation de l'actine. A l'inverse de L. monocytogenes, les filaments d'actine polymérisée par R. conorii sont longs, non branchés, fixés sur la bactérie. Le séquençage du génome de R. conorii a permis l'identification d'un gène rickA présent chez R. conorii et absent chez Rickettsia prowazekii, qui ne polymérise pas l'actine. Nous avons purifié la protéine RickA et montré qu'elle induit la polymérisation et le branchement de filaments d'actine in vitro. RickA est exprimée à la surface des bactéries intracellulaires. Nous avons aussi établi que le complexe Arp2/3 est présent autour des bactéries et uniquement à la base des comètes d'actine générées par R. conorii, suggérant un nouveau de polymérisation de l'actine. Parallèlement, nous analysons d'autres étapes non documentées de l'infection par R. conorii, telles que la nature des récepteurs ou la signalisation qui résulte de l'interaction de R. conorii avec les cellules épithéliales. Finalement, nous avons identifié une phospholipase D qui pourrait être un nouveau facteur de virulence puisque des anticorps spécifiques réduisent la cytotoxicité des Rickettsiae pour les cellules Vero (Collaboration avec D. Raoult, Unité des Rickettsies, Marseille, France).

Légendes des photos :

Photo 1. Schéma des facteurs et évènements impliqués dans l'entrée InlA-dépendante.

Photo 2. Schéma des facteurs et évènements impliqués dans l'entrée InlB-dépendante.

Photo 3. Photo du marquage de la myosine VIIa non conventionnelle (rouge), présente aux jonctions des cellules épithéliales et recrutée avec l'actine (vert) au site d'entrée de Listeria monocytogenes.

Mots-clés: bactéries, virulence, biologie cellulaire, transcriptome, mutagenèse


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr