Unit: Cholera and Vibrios

Director: FOURNIER Jean-Michel

The scientific activity of the Unité du Choléra et des Vibrions focuses on two areas: cholera and non cholera vibrios. Cholera epidemics are still being reported throughout the world. Our contribution to the fight against this devastating disease includes: (1) research into new chemically defined conjugate vaccines; (2) the development of a rapid diagnostic test for cholera; (3) studies on the molecular epidemiology of cholera. We are also concerned by the study of other (non cholera) vibrios. Our expertise in cholera and other vibrio infections has led to our laboratory being designated as the National Reference Center for Vibrios and Cholera by the French Ministry of Health.

1. Research program on new chemically defined conjugate vaccines against cholera (Alain BOUTONNIER, Cyrille GRANDJEAN, Bruno DASSY, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Cholera is an epidemic diarrheal disease caused by two serogroups of a bacterium, Vibrio cholerae. We are now in the seventh pandemic, which began in India in 1961, invaded Africa in 1970 and spread to Latin America in 1991. This seventh pandemic is caused by V. cholerae serogroup O1, biotype El Tor, serotypes Ogawa or Inaba. A new V. cholerae serogroup, O139, appeared in India in 1992. There are definitive indications that the incidence of V. cholerae O139 is on the rise in India and Bangladesh. Thus, this new cholera strain may become a global threat. Hence there is an urgent need for cholera vaccines that confer reliable and long-term protection against V. cholerae O1 and V. cholerae O139 in all age groups, including children aged <5 years.

The starting point of our research was to determine which antibodies protect against cholera. We have shown that immunoglobulin G (IgG) monoclonal antibodies directed against the polysaccharide moiety of the lipopolysaccharide (LPS) of V. cholerae O1, expressing the serogroup or serotype determinants, are immunoprotective in an experimental model of cholera in neonatal mice. These results encouraged us to start developing conjugate vaccines composed of the polysaccharides of V. cholerae O1 and V. cholerae O139 covalently linked to a carrier protein to induce a long-lasting, thymus-dependent immune response. We have prepared a conjugate composed of the polysaccharide of V. cholerae O139. In mice, this vaccine induces a protective thymus-dependent response.

This year, we continued the preparation of a clinical evaluation of this V. cholerae O139 conjugate. To this aim, we provided technical assistance to a pharmaceutical company concerning production of a Good Manufactory Practice (GMP) batch of O139 conjugate vaccine. We have also started an investigation of the structure of the V. cholerae O1 LPS. We have prepared new conjugates with the polysaccharide of the Inaba serotype of V. cholerae O1. The immunogenicity of these conjugates is currently being evaluated in mice.

The vibriocidal antibody titer reliably predicts resistance to cholera and is currently the only valid serologic assay that is correlated with protection. We developed a simple and convenient microtiter plate assay for the detection of vibriocidal antibodies that is equally as efficient for V. cholerae O1 and for V. cholerae O139. A cholera outbreak occurred in Madagascar in 1999, for the first time in its history. This assay has been used in the context of an epidemiological study on the cholera immunity of the population carried out in collaboration with the Institut Pasteur of Madagascar. This vibriocidal assay will also be used to screen serum samples obtained during the clinical trial planned with our O139 conjugate.

2. Development of Rapid Diagnostic Tests for cholera (Alain BOUTONNIER, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Our effort to develop a conjugate vaccine that targets V. cholerae O1 and O139, led to the development of monoclonal antibodies specific to O1 or O139 LPS. We used the specificity of these monoclonal antibodies to develop, in collaboration with the Laboratoire d'Ingénierie des Anticorps at the Institut Pasteur, Paris, and the Institut Pasteur of Madagascar, rapid diagnostic tests for V. cholerae O1 or O139. These tests are based on a one-step, vertical-flow immunochromatographic principle. The sensitivity and specificity of these rapid diagnostic tests have been tested in the laboratory setting and in two areas in which cholera is epidemic, namely in Madagascar and in Bangladesh, in collaboration with the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Diseases Research, Bangladesh (ICDDR,B). The specificity ranged between 84 and 100% and the sensitivity from 94.2 to 100%. These tests were also evaluated in Bangladesh for the rapid detection of V. cholerae O1 or O139 in rectal swabs collected from hospitalized diarrheal patients after enrichment for 4 hours in alkaline peptone water. The sensitivity and specificity were above 92% and 91% respectively. These are the first rapid tests that can successfully detect V. cholerae O1 and O139 in rectal swabs, and should immensely improve the surveillance of cholera, especially in remote locations.

3. Molecular studies of cholera vibrios (Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Cholera is a very unusual disease because the strains responsible for epidemics are highly homogeneous. Only two of the 200 or so O serogroups described in the V. cholerae species are responsible for current cholera epidemics: serogroup O1, responsible for the seventh cholera pandemic, and serogroup O139, which emerged in 1992. Nevertheless, the inexorable progress of the disease throughout the world since the first cholera pandemic, which started in India in 1817, has been accompanied by the diversification of cholera vibrio populations.

The development of molecular typing methods has enabled us to study the evolution of cholera vibrio populations isolated in Africa. We used ribotyping and pulsed-field gel electrophoresis (PFGE) to study 350 V. cholerae O1 strains isolated in African countries between 1970 and 2000. We differentiated 14 ribotype patterns and even more different but very similar PFGE patterns. Molecular typing data revealed a high degree of genetic similarity among V. cholerae strains from diverse geographic origins and sometimes isolated decades apart, and show that the 7th pandemic strains are clonal. Strains collected at the beginning of the seventh pandemic in Africa belonged to a ribotype that is still present nowadays. This ribotype is associated with endemic or epidemic strains, and is the most common of the 14 ribotypes detected in this continent over the past 30 years.

4. Molecular studies of non cholera vibrios (Annick ROBERT-PILLOT, Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Vibrios are gram-negative bacteria that are components of the normal bacterial flora of aquatic environments. Vibrios are divided into "cholera vibrios", including isolates belonging to serogroups O1 and O139 of Vibrio cholerae, and "non cholera vibrios", including (i) isolates belonging to serogroups other than O1 and O139 of V. cholerae – known as V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 – and (ii) isolates belonging to other Vibrio species including two species that are frequently isolated from human clinical samples: V. parahaemolyticus and V. vulnificus, and four other species that are isolated more rarely: V. alginolyticus, V. fluvialis, V. hollisae and V. mimicus.

Modifications of environmental and physiological factors in certain coastal regions provide vibrios with ideal conditions for proliferation. Development of international trade and increases in the consumption of raw or lightly cooked seafood together with a larger number of susceptible persons is causing concern that the incidence of infections in Europe may increase. Thus, human vibrio infections are likely to spread and microbiological surveillance would help to control public health risks.

Classical biochemical methods for bacterial identification are not suitable for the study of vibrio strains isolated from the environment, and public health concerns stress the importance of developing molecular methods for the detection, identification and characterization of pathogenicity factors in vibrio strains isolated from humans, sea water or seafood. Thus, we pursued our program aimed at developing and using molecular methods (PCR-based) for three Vibrio species of medical interest: V. parahaemolyticus, V. cholerae and V. vulnificus.

An investigation of the occurrence of potentially pathogenic species of Vibrio in French marine and estuarine environments was carried out by the Ifremer, Brest, France, in collaboration with our laboratory and with the Centre of Marine Biotechnology, University of Maryland, Biotechnology Institute, Baltimore, MD, USA. V. alginolyticus (99/189) was the predominant species isolated, followed by V. parahaemolyticus (41/189), V. vulnificus (20/189), and V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 (3/189). Two of the 41 V. parahaemolyticus isolates were positive for the trh hemolysin gene. These results demonstrate the presence of pathogenic Vibrio species in French coastal waters, and suggest that a long-term monitoring program should be initiated to detect pathogenic V. parahaemolyticus isolates present in French seafood and coastal waters.

5. Activity of the National Reference Center for Vibrios and Cholera (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

The NRCVC is responsible for the identification of the cholera vibrio strains that cause clinical cases of cholera in France where cholera is a notifiable disease as in many other countries. Only a small number of cholera cases (0 to 5) occur each year in France and most of them are imported. No cholera cases have been identified in 2003. Moreover, as cholera epidemics do not recognize national borders, we collaborate with biologists from other countries reporting cholera outbreaks and with nongovernmental humanitarian organizations. These collaborations make it possible for us to study new cholera vibrio strains that might be imported into France.

The NRCVC is also responsible for the identification of non cholera vibrio strains from clinical laboratories. Human non cholera vibrio infections can result in gastroenteritis, skin and soft tissue infections, septicemia, and a number of extraintestinal infections, such as ear infections. Patients with underlying immunosuppressive diseases are at high risk of the rapid spread of infections with these microorganisms. Most of these infections are associated with contact with sea water or the consumption of seafood, and their occurrence is correlated with the warmer months of the year.

In 2003, 11 cases of human infections due to non cholera vibrios were identified in France by the NRCVC. Six cases of septicemia, gastroenteritis or suppuration were caused by V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139, 2 cases of gastroenteritis and 1 case of soft tissue infection were caused by V. parahaemolyticus, and 2 cases of septicemia and soft tissue infection were caused by V. vulnificus.

The NRCVC is also responsible for the identification of non cholera vibrio strains isolated from seafood imported in France. In 2003, among 255 strains studied, V. cholerae, V. parahaemolyticus and V. alginolyticus were the most frequently identified species. All clinical or seafood isolates of V. vulnificus had the hly gene, indicating that all strains of this species are potentially pathogenic. Two of three V. parahaemolyticus strains isolated from human clinical cases had the tdh hemolysin gene. In contrast, a very low percentage (<1%) of strains of V. parahaemolyticus isolated from imported seafood had a hemolysin gene. None of the V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 strains isolated from human or seafood samples possessed the cholera toxin genes.

The NRCVC has participated in post-graduate training programs by giving several lectures on cholera and other vibrios infections. It has also been involved in the training of microbiologists and clinicians. In this context, we have run courses on classical and molecular methods for the study of cholera and non cholera vibrios for microbiologists, technicians and students from several countries (France, Bangladesh, Democratic Republic of Congo, Madagascar, Mexico, Morocco). The NRCVC has also participated in national and international expert committees concerning cholera vaccination and risk assessment of Vibrio spp. in seafood.

Keywords: cholera, vibrios, vaccination, conjuguate, diagnosis, molecular epidemiology, seafood, public health


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Choléra et des Vibrions

Responsable: FOURNIER Jean-Michel

L'activité scientifique de l'Unité du Choléra et des Vibrions concerne deux domaines : les vibrions cholériques et les vibrions non cholériques. De très nombreux pays sont encore touchés pas des épidémies de choléra. Nous contribuons à la lutte contre ce fléau par : (1) la mise au point d'un nouveau vaccin conjugué chimiquement défini; (2) le développement d'un test de diagnostic rapide du choléra ; (3) l'épidémiologie moléculaire du choléra. Notre laboratoire est désigné, par le Ministère de la Santé, "Centre National de Référence des Vibrions et du Choléra" en raison de son expertise dans le domaine des vibrions cholériques et non cholériques.

1. Programme de recherche sur un nouveau vaccin conjugué chimiquement défini contre le choléra (Alain BOUTONNIER, Bruno DASSY, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Le choléra est une maladie diarrhéique épidémique provoquée par des bactéries appartenant à 2 sérogroupes de l'espèce Vibrio cholerae. Nous sommes actuellement dans la 7ème pandémie qui a débuté en Inde en 1961, envahi l'Afrique en 1970 et atteint l'Amérique Latine en 1991. Cette 7ème pandémie est due à V. cholerae sérogroupe O1, biotype El Tor, sérotypes Ogawa ou Inaba. Un nouveau sérogroupe de V. cholerae, O139, apparu en Inde en 1992, est actuellement en expansion en Inde et au Bangladesh et représente une menace mondiale. C'est pourquoi il est urgent de pouvoir disposer d'un vaccin anticholérique protégeant aussi bien contre V. cholerae O1 que contre V. cholerae O139, efficace à long terme chez tous les groupes d'âge, en particulier chez les enfants de moins de 5 ans.

Le point de départ de notre recherche a été de déterminer quels anticorps protègent l'homme contre le choléra. Nous avons démontré que des immunoglobulines G (IgG) monoclonales, dirigées contre la partie polysaccharidique du lipopolysaccharide (LPS) de V. cholerae O1, porteuse de la spécificité des sérogroupes et sérotypes, sont protectrices dans un modèle d'infection expérimentale du souriceau nouveau-né. Nous avons alors commencé la préparation de vaccins anticholériques conjugués, constitués de polysaccharides de V. cholerae O1 ou de V. cholerae O139 couplés par une liaison covalente à une protéine porteuse de façon à induire une réponse thymodépendante de longue durée. Nous avons obtenu un vaccin, constitué du polysaccharide du LPS de V. cholerae O139 conjugué à l'anatoxine tétanique, qui induit chez la souris une réponse protectrice thymodépendante.

Cette année, nous avons poursuivi la préparation de l'évaluation clinique de ce vaccin conjugué dirigé contre V. cholerae O139. Pour cela, nous avons procuré une assistance technique à une société pharmaceutique produisant un lot " clinique " de conjugué O139. Nous avons aussi commencé une étude de la structure chimique du LPS de V. cholerae O1. Nous avons enfin préparé de nouveaux conjugués constitués du polysaccharide du sérotype Inaba de V. cholerae O1. L'immunogénicité de ces conjugués est en cours d'étude chez la souris.

Le titre d'anticorps vibriocides sériques permet de prédire la résistance au choléra et représente aujourd'hui le seul paramètre sérique corrélé à la protection contre cette maladie. Nous avons développé une méthode de titrage de ces anticorps en microplaque, simple et pratique, efficace pour le titrage des anticorps anti-V. cholerae O1 et anti-V. cholerae O139. Une épidémie de choléra étant apparue à Madagascar en 1999, pour la première fois dans l'histoire de l'île, nous avons utilisé cette méthode pour étudier, en collaboration avec l'Institut Pasteur de Madagascar, l'immunité anticholérique de populations malgaches. Cette méthode sera aussi mise en oeuvre dans le cadre de l'essai clinique programmé avec le conjugué O139, pour le titrage des anticorps vibriocides chez les volontaires.

2. Développement de tests de diagnostic rapide du choléra (Alain BOUTONNIER, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Dans le cadre de notre programme de recherche sur la vaccination contre le choléra, nous avions préparé des anticorps monoclonaux spécifiques des LPS de V. cholerae O1 et O139. Nous avons utilisé ces anticorps pour développer, en collaboration avec le Laboratoire d'Ingénierie des Anticorps de l'Institut Pasteur à Paris et avec l'Institut Pasteur de Madagascar, des tests de diagnostic rapide du choléra, fondés sur le principe de l'immunochromatographie. Leur sensibilité et leur spécificité ont été étudiées au laboratoire et sur le terrain dans deux pays du monde, Madagascar et Bangladesh, où le choléra est épidémique. Cette étude a été réalisée en collaboration avec le Centre International de Recherche sur les Maladies Diarrhéiques, à Dacca au Bangladesh (ICDDR,B). La spécificité varie de 84 à 100% et la sensibilité de 94,2 à 100%. Ces tests ont aussi été évalués au Bangladesh, pour rechercher V. cholerae O1 et V. cholerae O139 dans des cultures de 4 heures en eau peptonée alcaline, réalisées à partir d'écouvillons rectaux prélevés chez des patients hospitalisés. La sensibilité et la spécificité sont respectivement de 92% et 91%. Ces tests sont les premiers tests capables de détecter V. cholerae O1 et V. cholerae O139 à partir d'écouvillons rectaux, et devraient contribuer de façon importante à l'amélioration de la surveillance du choléra, particulièrement dans les régions reculées.

3. Études moléculaires des vibrions cholériques (Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Seuls 2 sérogroupes, parmi plus de 200 décrits au sein de l'espèce V. cholerae, sont responsables des pandémies cholériques actuelles : le sérogroupe O1, responsable de la 7ème pandémie, et le sérogroupe O139, qui a émergé en 1992. Néanmoins, la progression inexorable de cette maladie à travers le monde depuis la première pandémie, qui a débuté en Inde en 1817, a été accompagnée d'une diversification des populations de vibrions cholériques. Le développement des méthodes de typage moléculaire nous a permis d'étudier cette évolution sur le continent africain. L'étude, par ribotypage et par électrophorèse en champ pulsé, de 350 souches de V. cholerae O1 isolées dans des pays africains entre 1970 et 2000, nous a permis de différencier 14 ribotypes et un nombre plus important de pulsotypes. L'analyse de ces profils montre un degré élevé d'homologie génétique parmi des souches d'origines géographiques diverses et parfois prélevées à plusieurs dizaines d'années d'intervalle, ainsi que la persistance de souches isolées dès le début de la 7ème pandémie en Afrique.

4. Études moléculaires des vibrions non cholériques (Annick ROBERT-PILLOT, Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Les vibrions sont des bactéries à Gram négatif qui colonisent l'environnement marin. On distingue les "vibrions cholériques", incluant les isolats appartenant aux sérogroupes O1 et O139 de l'espèce V. cholerae, et les "vibrions non cholériques", incluant les isolats de cette espéce appartenant aux sérogroupes autres que O1 et O139 - appelés V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 - et les isolats appartenant aux autres espèces du genre Vibrio, comprenant deux espèces plus fréquemment isolées en pathologie humaine : V. parahaemolyticus et V. vulnificus, et quatre autres espèces plus rarement isolées : V. alginolyticus, V. fluvialis, V. hollisae et V. mimicus.

Les modifications écologiques de l'environnement marin fournissent aux vibrions des conditions idéales pour leur prolifération. Le développement du commerce international et de la consommation des produits de la mer à l'état cru, ainsi que l'accroissement du nombre de personnes immunodéprimées, font craindre une augmentation du nombre d'infections dues aux vibrions non cholériques dans les pays européens. Aussi, une surveillance microbiologique de ces germes devraient contribuer à en limiter les risques pour la santé publique.

Nous avons collaboré à la recherche d'espèces de vibrions potentiellement pathogènes dans l'environnement marin des côtes et estuaires français, avec l'Ifremer (Brest) et le Centre de Biotechnologie Marine de Baltimore aux Etats-Unis. V. alginolyticus est l'espèce prédominante (99 souches sur un total de 189), suivie par V. parahaemolyticus (41/189), V. vulnificus (20/189), et V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 (3/189). Les souches ont été détectées, identifiées et caractérisées par des méthodes biochimiques classiques ainsi que par des méthodes moléculaires (PCR). Deux des 41 souches de V. parahaemolyticus étudiées possédaient le gène de l'hémolysine TRH. Ces résultats démontrent la présence de vibrions pathogènes dans les eaux côtières françaises et suggèrent qu'un programme de surveillance visant à rechercher les isolats pathogènes de V. parahaemolyticus dans les eaux côtières et dans les produits de la mer français devrait être mis en place.

5. Activités du Centre National de Référence des Vibrions et du Choléra (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Le CNRVC est responsable de l'identification des souches de vibrions cholériques à l'origine de cas de choléra survenant en France, où, comme dans de nombreux pays, cette maladie est à déclaration obligatoire. Un faible nombre de cas de choléra (0 à 5) surviennent chaque année en France et sont, pour la plupart, importés. Aucun cas n'a été identifié en 2003. Nous collaborons aussi avec des biologistes de pays concernés par des épidémies de choléra et avec des organisations non gouvernementales, ce qui nous permet d'étudier de nouvelles souches de vibrions cholériques susceptibles d'être importées en France.

Le CNRVC est aussi responsable de l'identification de souches de vibrions non cholériques d'origine humaine. Ces vibrions non cholériques sont à l'origine de gastro-entérites, d'infections de la peau et des tissus mous, de septicémies, et de diverses infections extra-intestinales comme des otites. Les patients ayant une pathologie sous-jacente immunosuppressive sont exposés à une dissémination rapide de l'infection causée par ces germes. Dans la majorité des cas, ces infections sont associées à un contact direct avec l'eau de mer ou à la consommation de produits de la mer, et surviennent pendant les mois les plus chauds de l'année.

En 2003, 11 cas humains d'infections à vibrions non cholériques ont été identifiés par le CNRVC. Six cas de septicémies, gastro-entérites ou infections des tissus mous ont été causés par V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139, 2 cas de gastro-entérites et 1 cas d'infection des tissus mous par V. parahaemolyticus, et 2 cas de septicémie et d'infections des tissus mous étaient dus à V. vulnificus.

Le CNRVC est aussi responsable de l'identification de souches de vibrions non cholériques isolées de produits de la mer importés en France. En 2003, parmi les 255 souches étudiées, les espèces V. cholerae, V. parahaemolyticus et V. alginolyticus ont été le plus souvent rencontrées. Tous les isolats, cliniques ou alimentaires, de V. vulnificus possédaient le gène hly, indiquant que toutes les souches de cette espèce sont potentiellement pathogènes. Deux isolats humains sur 3 de V. parahaemolyticus possédaient le gène de l'hémolysine TDH, alors qu'un très faible pourcentage (<1%) de souches de V. parahaemolyticus isolées de produits de la mer importés possédaient un gène d'hémolysine. Aucune des souches de V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 isolées de l'homme ou du milieu marin ne possédait les gènes de la toxine cholérique.

Le CNRVC a participé a des enseignements post-universitaires. Il a aussi été impliqué dans la formation de microbiologistes et de cliniciens. Des formations sur les méthodes classiques et moléculaires d'étude des vibrions cholériques et non cholériques ont été dispensées à des microbiologistes, techniciens et étudiants de plusieurs pays (France, Bangladesh, Madagascar, Maroc, Mexique et République Démocratique du Congo). Le CNRVC a également participé a des comités d'experts nationaux et internationaux sur la vaccination contre le choléra et l'évaluation de risque des vibrions dans les produits de la mer.

Mots-clés: choléra, vibrions, vaccination, conjugué, diagnostic, épidémiologie moléculaire, produits de la mer, santé publique


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr