Unit: Biology of viral emerging infections

Director: DEUBEL Vincent

The scientific team of the Pasteur Institute in Lyon belongs to the Unit "  Biologie des Infections Virales Emergentes (UBIVE) " which includes the National Reference Centers (NRC) for Arboviruses and for Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers (VHF), and the WHO Collaborative Center for Arboviruses and Hemorrhagic Fevers. UBIVE belongs to the Virology Department in Pasteur Institute in Paris and to the IFR128 " Biosciences Lyon-Gerland ". Most of the basic and applied research programs are carried out inside the Biosafety Level 4 (BSL-4) laboratory "Jean Mérieux".

UBIVE is involved in surveillance and research activities on emerging enzootic diseases developed within the International Network of Pasteur and Associated Institutes and is associated to three European networks dealing with the natural and provoked risk of diseases caused by class 3 and class 4 viruses. Basic researches of UBIVE are oriented on pathogenesis of VHF and emerging encephalitis to develop new diagnostics, therapeutics and vaccines.

Basic research activities in UBIVE are in majority focussed on Lassa, Nipa and yellow fever diseases to develop new diagnostic tools, potent therapies and safe vaccines. Expertise and reference activities are oriented on the surveillance of hemorrhagic fever with renal syndrome, Crimean Congo hemorrhagic fever, West Nile encephalitis and SARS.

I. Research activities

I.1. Lassa virus (S. Baize, H. Contamin, C. Faure, M.C. Georges-Courbot, P. Loth, P. Marianneau, D. Pannetier)

Lassa fever is endemic in sevral countries in West Africa. The viral causative agent is an arenavirus which belongs to the Arenaviridae family. The number of estimated cases is about 200,000 and 5,000 deaths. The onset of the disease is accompanied with flu-like symptoms which may be followed by diarrheas, vomitting, facial and cervical edema, and bleeding. Patients generally die with hypovolemic shock and respiratory distress. Lassa virus is listed A amoung the bioterrorim agents and should be manipulated in a BSL-4 laboratory.

Little is known about the immune response induced by Lassa virus, but it may be crucial in the disease outcome. We are interested to study the interactions of the virus with dendritic cells and macrophages derived from blood monocytes that are the primary target cells of infection. Our results show that the infection of these antigen-presenting cells are productive but not activated. The absence of cell maturation may be associated with altered inflammatory and cellular responses observed in severe Lassa virus infection.

Lassa virus is pathogenic for macaque monkeys who show a disease spectrum similar to that observed in humans. Cynomolgus macaques have been infected with Lassa virus to study the kinetics of virus infection and of immune responses. Virus replication in different tissues and cellular and humoral responses have been compared in moribond animals and in survivals. Results confirm the important role of the viral load and cellular response in disease outcome. This study is also important to establish an animal model for testing vaccine candidates that are developed in the Unit (Collaborations: IMTSSA Pharo Marseille, Michèle Chevallier).

I.2. Nipah virus (H. Contamin, M-C. Georges-Courbot, P. Loth)

Nipah virus belongs to the henipavirus genus in the Paramyxoviridae family. It has emerged in Malaysia in 1998 where it has caused an epidemics in pigs and in people in contact with the animals. The case fatality rate was about 40% in people who had presented acute encephalitis. The natural cycle of transmission involves bat reservoirs (Pteropus), and pigs as amplifying hosts. The virus is pleiotropic and induces necrosis of endothelial cells in vascular vessels, and neuronal damages. The virus is classified BSL-4.

Endothelial cells are presumably involved in vascular permeability leading to hypovolemic shock. We are presently studying the cell responses to Lassa virus infection.

In order to study the pathogenesis of Nipah encephalitis, we have identified the golden hamster as an appropriate animal model which shows tissue lesions similar to those observed in human cases. In addition, the animals vaccinated with recombinant vaccines producing Nipah virus envelope proteins have shown full protection against a fatal dose of Nipah virus. In addition, animals which received antibodies prepared against Nipah virus envelope proteins were passively protected against a lethal challenge. Chemotherapeutic approaches are also investigated.

(Collaborations : Christine Brisson, Robin Buckland, Michèle Chevallier, Vanessa Guillaume, Johan Neyts, Fabian Wild, Kum Thong Wong)

I. 3. Yellow fever virus (H. Contamin A. Lefeuvre, P. Loth, P. Marianneau)

Yellow fever remains a public health problem due to the endemic circulation of the virus and to recent post-vaccination adverse events. Yellow fever virus is a flavivirus in the family Flaviviridae. The yellow fever 17D virus vaccine was derived from its hepatotropic Asibi parental strain. Phenotypic and molecular markers of virus attenuation have been tested in HepG2 Human hepatoma cells by comparying the host cell responses to 17D and Asibi virus infections. These markers are being verified in macaque monkeys and will be evaluated and compared in HepG2 cells infected with chimeric viruses based on the 17D virus vector. (Collaborations : Aventis Pasteur, Michèle Chevallier)

I.4. SARS virus (H. Contamin, MC. Georges-Courbot, P. Loth, I. Marendat, P. Marianneau)

The human coronavirus responsible of the epidemic of SARS is highly pathogenic. We are contributing to research programs in Pasteur Institute in Paris by providing large amounts of purified viral antigens for the diagnosis and by testing several small animals for virus susceptibiliy. (Collaborations : W. Praiser, F. Tangy, Unité GMVR)

II. Activities of National Reference Centers and WHO Collaborating Center

II.1. Prédiction and prevention of Puumala virus causing hemorrhagic fever with renal syndrome (I. Marendat, S. Murri, S. Michel, I. Schuffenecker, H. Zeller)

Puumala virus is a hantavirus in the family Bunyaviridae transmited to human by the bank vole (Clethrionomys glareolus). The project includes the study of the reservoir, identification of circulating viruses, improvement of diagnostic tools, modelisation of virus/host interaction, and the study of risk factors in humans. (Collaborations : AFSSA Nancy, Comité Interdépartemental de Lutte contre la Rage, Université Lyon I, Ecole Nationale Vétérinaire de Lyon, and Unité postulante de Génétique des Bunyaviridés).

II.2. West Nile virus activity in France (I. Marendat, S. Michel, S. Murri, I. Schuffenecker, H. Zeller)

During the surveillance of West Nile activity in 2003 in the South East region of France, we have diagnosed several human cases of West Nile encephalitis at the end of the summer. The presence of West Nile circulation in horses was also evidenced.

II.3. Diagnostic activities (M-C. Georges-Courbot, S. Lacote, I. Marendat, P. Marianneau, S. Murri, H. Zeller)

Our activities deals with regular biological diagnosis of VHF and encephalitis in patients leaving in endemo/epidemic countries and in travelers suspected of tropical viral diseases. Molecular and standard tools are developed for rapid serological and virological diagnosis of class 3 (yellow fever, dengue, tick-borne and Japanese encephalitis, Rift Valley fever) and class 4 (Ebola, Marburg, Lassa, Crimean Congo hemorrhagic fever, Nipah) viruses. (Collaborations : C. Akoua-Koffi, L. Koivogui, E. Leroy, A. Sall, S. Günther)

Keywords: Viral hemorrhagic fever, Lassa, Nipah, yellow fever, SARS, West Nile, hepatocytes, dendritic cells, macrophages, animal model, pathophysiology


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Biologie des infections virales émergentes

Responsable: DEUBEL Vincent

L'équipe scientifique de l'Institut Pasteur est rassemblée dans l'Unité de Biologie des Infections Virales Emergentes (UBIVE) à laquelle sont rattachés le Centre National de Référence (CNR) des arbovirus et celui des fièvres hémorragiques virales (FHV) et le Centre Collaborateur OMS (CCOMS) des arbovirus et des FHV. L'UBIVE fait partie à la fois du Département de Virologie de l'Institut Pasteur à Paris, et de l'IFR128 créé en janvier 2003 " Biosciences Lyon-Gerland ". Les activités de surveillance, de diagnostic et de recherche sont réalisées dans les laboratoires P3 et de haute sécurité P4 " Jean Mérieux ".

L'UBIVE participe aux activités de surveillance et de recherche sur les maladies émergentes et Les zoonoses dans le cadre du réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés (RIIPIA) et de trois réseaux européens sur les risques naturels ou provoqués par des agents de classes 3 et 4. Les activités de recherche fondamentale de l'UBIVE sont principalement axées sur la pathogénie des FHV (Lassa, fièvre jaune) et d'encéphalites virales émergentes (Nipah) pour le développement de nouvelles approches diagnostiques, thérapeutiques et prophylactiques.

Les activités de recherche fondamentale de l'UBIVE sont principalement axées sur la pathogénie des virus Lassa, fièvre jaune et Nipah, avec pour objectifs le développement de nouvelles approches diagnostiques, thérapeutiques et prophylactiques. Les activités de référence et d'expertise ont été plus particulièrement axées sur la surveillance de la fièvre hémorragique avec syndrome rénal, la fièvre hémorragique de Congo Crimée, l'encéphalite West Nile, et le SRAS.

I. Activités de recherche

I.1. Etudes sur le virus Lassa (S. Baize, H. Contamin, C. Faure, M.C. Georges-Courbot, P. Loth, P. Marianneau, D. Pannetier)

La fièvre de Lassa est une maladie endémique dans plusieurs pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest. Le virus responsable de la maladie est un arénavirus appartenant à la famille des Arenaviridae . L'OMS estime à plusieurs centaines de milliers le nombre de cas de fièvre de Lassa et à 5000 le nombre de décès annuels. Après un début de type pseudogrippal, apparaissent des signes cliniques graves caractérisés par des diarrhées, vomissements, œdèmes facial et cervical, et parfois des saignements. Les malades meurent en général d'un choc hypovolémique et d'une détresse respiratoire. Il n'existe aucun vaccin contre ce virus. Il fait partie de la liste des agents potentiels du bioterrorisme et sa manipulation requiert un laboratoire de haute sécurité de niveau P4.

La réponse immune induite au cours de la fièvre de Lassa est peu connue, mais elle est probablement impliquée dans la survie ou la mort des patients. Nous nous intéressons aux interactions du virus Lassa avec les cellules dendritiques et les macrophages obtenus à partir de monocytes sanguins. Les résultats de nos études montrent que les cellules présentatrices d'antigènes produisent du virus sans être activées. Le défaut de maturation de ces cellules au cours de l'infection virale pourrait être associé aux réponses inflammatoires et cellulaires défectueuses observées dans les cas sévères de fièvre de Lassa.

Les cellules endothéliales sont probablement également impliquées dans les phénomènes de perméabilité vasculaire conduisant au choc hypovolémique. Des études sont actuellement orientées sur la réponse de ces cellules à l'infection par le virus Lassa.

Le virus Lassa est pathogène pour le singe Cynomolgus chez lequel il reproduit une maladie similaire à celle observée chez l'homme. Des singes Cynomolgus ont été infectés par le virus Lassa pour étudier la cinétique de l'infection et de la réponse immune. La réplication du virus dans les différents tissus et les réponses cellulaire et humorale ont été comparées chez les animaux décédés ou survivants. Les résultats confirment le rôle important de la charge virale et de l'activation de la réponse cellulaire dans le profil de la maladie. Cette recherche sert également à la mise au point d'un modèle animal pour tester des candidats vaccins à l'étude dans l'Unité (Collaborations : IMTSSA Pharo Marseille, Michèle Chevallier).

I.2. Etudes sur le virus Nipah (H. Contamin, M-C. Georges-Courbot, P. Loth)

Le virus Nipah fait partie du genre hénipavirus dans la famille des Paramyxoviridae . Il a été identifié pour la première fois en Malaisie en 1998 où il a causé une épidémie chez les porcs puis chez les éleveurs en contact avec les animaux infectés. 40% des sujets infectés meurent dans un tableau d'encéphalite aiguë. Le cycle de transmission implique les chauves-souris (Pteropus), réservoir du virus, et les porcs, hôtes amplificateurs du virus. Chez l'homme, le virus est pléïotrope mais induit une nécrose des cellules endothéliales des vaisseaux sanguins et un tropisme neuronal. La manipulation du virus requiert un laboratoire de haute sécurité P4.

Afin d'étudier plus en détail la pathogenèse de l'encéphalite à virus Nipah, nous avons identifié le hamster doré, un modèle animal qui reproduit des lésions très similaires à celles observées chez l'homme. Ces animaux vaccinés à l'aide de protéines d'enveloppe produites par des virus de la vaccine recombinants ont montré une complète protection contre une infection mortelle par le virus Nipah.

Pour palier l'absence de traitement contre l'encéphalite à virus Nipah, une immunoprophylaxie des hamsters infectés à l'aide d'anticorps préparés contre les protéines du virus, a été réalisée avec succès. Une approche chimiothérapeutique est également envisagée.

(Collaborations : Christine Brisson, Robin Buckland, Michèle Chevallier, Vanessa Guillaume, Johan Neyts, Fabian Wild, Kum Thong Wong)

I. 3. Etude du tropisme hépatique des virus de la fièvre jaune (H. Contamin A. Lefeuvre, P. Loth, P. Marianneau)

La fièvre jaune reste un problème de santé publique du fait de son caractère endémique et des quelques cas de décès post-vaccination récemment rapportés. Le virus de la fièvre jaune est hépatotrope. Un système d'étude in vitro de la réponse de cellules hépatiques (lignée d'hépatome humain HepG2) à l'infection par la souche vaccinale 17D et par la souche parentale sauvage Asibi, a été développé pour caractériser l'atténuation de la souche vaccinale 17D. Des marqueurs moléculaires de l'atténuation ont été également recherchés à l'aide de puces ADN. Ces systèmes ont permis de mettre en évidence des différences phénotypiques entre les deux souches. Une étude sur des macaques infectés par les deux souches permettra de vérifier in vivo ces différents paramètres et pourra ensuite servir à l'étude de la réponse de cellules hépatiques à l'infection par des virus chimériques, construits à partir du virus 17D, et qui constituent des vaccins potentiels contre d'autres virus. (Collaborations : Aventis Pasteur, Michèle Chevallier)

I.4. Contribution au développement d'outils pour l'étude du SRAS (H. Contamin, MC. Georges-Courbot, P. Loth, I. Marendat, P. Marianneau)

Le coronavirus humain responsable de l'épidémie de SRAS est hautement contagieux et nous avons apporté notre contribution aux activités de recherche pasteurienne en préparant dans le laboratoire P4 de grandes quantités de virus inactivé par la suite pour la préparation d'antigènes, et en identifiant un animal sensible à l'infection virale. (Collaborations : W. Praiser, F. Tangy, Unité GMVR)

II. Activités des CNR/CCOMS

II.1. Prédiction et prévention de la fièvre hémorragique à syndrome rénal (FHSR) à virus Puumala. (I. Marendat, S. Michel, S. Murri, I. Schuffenecker, H. Zeller)

Le virus Puumala est un hantavirus de la famille des Bunyaviridae transmis à l'homme par le campagnol roussâtre (Clethrionomys glareolus ). Le projet comporte l'étude du réservoir (écologie, dynamique de l'incidence de l'infection, distribution spatiale), l'identification de virus circulants, l'amélioration des outils diagnostiques, la modélisation des interactions hôte/virus et l'étude des facteurs de risque chez l'homme. Une flambée inhabituelle de fièvre hémorragique à syndrome rénal a été détectée en début d'année 2003 touchant principalement les régions Picardie et Champagne-Ardennes (Collaborations : AFSSA Nancy, Comité Interdépartemental de Lutte contre la Rage, Université Lyon I, Ecole Nationale Vétérinaire de Lyon, et l'unité postulante de Génétique des Bunyaviridés)

II.2. Surveillance du virus West Nile (I. Marendat, S. Michel, S. Murri, I. Schuffenecker, H. Zeller)

Dans le cadre de la surveillance de l'encéphalite à virus West Nile en France, le CNR a mis en évidence plusieurs cas humains avec atteintes nerveuses en fin d'été 2003 dans le département du Var. Le virus a largement circulé dans les populations équines environnantes.

II.3. Activités de diagnostic (M-C. Georges-Courbot, S. Lacote, I. Marendat, P. Marianneau, S. Murri, H. Zeller)

Les CNR/CCOMS répondent à des exigences de diagnostic de fièvres hémorragiques et d'encéphalites virales sur des échantillons de patients situés dans des zones endémo-épidémiques, ou sur des cas d'importation. L'UBIVE développe des outils standards et moléculaires pour les diagnostics rapides, virologique et sérologique, des virus de classe 3 (fièvre jaune, dengue, encéphalites à tique, japonaise ou West-Nile, fièvre de la vallée du Rift) et de classe 4 (Ebola, Marburg, Lassa, fièvre hémorragique de Congo-Crimée, Nipah). (Collaborations : C. Akoua-Koffi, L. Koivogui, E. Leroy, A. Sall, S. Günther)

Mots-clés: Fièvres hémorragiques virales, encéphalites virales, Lassa, Nipah, fièvre jaune, SRAS, West Nile, hépatocytes, cellules dendritiques, macrophages, modèle animal, physiopathologie


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr