Unit: Malaria Biology and Genetics

Director: Ménard Robert

We study Plasmodium, the causative agent of malaria, and particularly the parasite stages that infect the mosquito vector and the liver of the mammalian host. We are addressing: 1) the functional analysis of mosquito genes that are differentially expressed during infection by the ookinete, the parasite stage that traverses the digestive epithelium in the mosquito, 2) the biology of the sporozoite, the stage formed in the mosquito gut and transmitted to the mammalian host, and particularly its capacity to glide on susbtrates and invade host cells, and 3) the crosstalk between the sporozoite and the hepatocyte, and the proteins that are involved in the early stages of parasite differentiation inside hepatocytes.

1. Characterization of Anopheles gambiae genes involved in Anopheles gambiae-Plasmodium falciparum interaction (C. Lavazec, R. Tahar, I. Thiery, C. Bourgouin)

During its early sporogonic development in the mosquito, the parasite crosses two barriers: the peritrophic membrane and the intestinal epithelium. During natural transmission of P.falciparum, which infects humans, a sharp decrease in parasite loads occurs in the intestine lumen so that only a few oocysts become mature. We have previously identified genes from An. gambiae, the main P. falciparum vector in Africa, whose expression is regulated in the mosquito midgut by the presence of P. falciparum. Of these genes, two encoding carboxypeptidases have been analyzed and shown to be important to P. falciparum development in An. gambiae. Also, a subtractive and suppressive hybridization approach has been initiated for identifying mosquito genes whose expression is modified during the interaction between An. gambiae midgut epithelial cells and P. falciparum ookinetes.

2. Functional Genomics in Anopheles gambiae (B. Boisson, JC Jacques, C. Bourgouin)

Towards addressing the role of mosquito products during Plasmodium infection, we are developing a systematic approach of gene silencing by RNA interference based on injection of double stranded RNA in the mosquito hemolymph. We are also establishing transgenesis in An. gambiae, using the piggyBac transposon. The goal is to create mosquito lines stably expressing double-stranded RNA or overexpressing genes of interest, in a tissue-specific fashion or inducible by a blood meal.

3. Sporozoite gliding mobility and in vivo biology (F. Frischknecht, R. Amino, B. Martin)

Like any other invasive stage of the Apicomplexan phylum of protozoans, the Plasmodium sporozoite is capable of gliding on a solid substrate and to invade any adherent cell. These two processes have a common molecular basis and result from the posterior translocation of parasite-susbtrate/cell interactions, which leads to the forward movement of the parasite. We have shown, using GFP-expressing sporozoites and in collaboration with ‘Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative' and the ‘Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique', that sporozoite gliding motility is not only necessary for its cell invasive capacity but is also responsible for its locomotion in vivo, particularly inside the mosquito salivary ducts. This active motility of the Plasmodium sporozoite, which is independent of the saliva flow, is the first direct proof of active motility of an apicomplexan parasite in vivo. Currently, we are analyzing the sporozoite infectious process in the mammalian host, in the skin and the liver.

4. Host cell invasion by sporozoites (P. Baldacci, S. Thiberge)

Plasmodium TRAP is a transmembrane protein whose cytoplasmic domain binds the motor system located underneath the parasite plasma membrane. We have previously shown that sporozoite entry into cultured cells or into target organs in vivo (mosquito salivary glands and mammalian liver) depends on two TRAP extracellular domains, a thrombospondin-type I motif and an integrin A-like domain. These two adhesive modules appear to constitute the parasite ligands of the parasite-cell junction on which the parasite motor system exerts force to propel the parasite inside the host cell. Our recent results suggest that two types of ubiquitous host cell receptors may play an important role in sporozoite internalization.

5. Developing gene modification tools in P. berghei (T. Gil Carvalho, S. Thiberge. H. Sakamoto)

Reverse genetics is straightforward in Plasmodium, because of the high rate of DNA integration via homologous recombination and the haploid nature of its genome. P. berghei offers the double advantage of allowing in vivo analysis of liver infection as well as more reproducible and rapid gene targeting procedures than with P. falciparum. We have developed conditional mutagenesis in P. berghei, using the Flp/FRT system of yeast. This system will allow the analysis of the function of any gene in this parasite, at any time of its life cycle.

6. Genomic analysis of the parasite-hepatocyte interaction (H. Sakamoto, P. Baldacci)

Once the sporozoite is within a vacuole inside the hepatocyte, the parasite dedifferentiates and generates tens of thousands of merozoites, the parasite stage that infects erythrocytes and causes all symptoms of the disease. Most studies on parasite liver stages have attempted to characterize new vaccine candidates, as well as the immunological basis of the solid protection induced by injection of irradiated sporozoites (whose development inside hepatocytes is blocked). On the other hand, our understanding of parasite maturation in the liver is limited to a few descriptive studies, and only a handful of parasite molecules expressed inside hepatocytes have been identified.

In collaboration with the Genopole Platform, we have constructed macroarrays on membranes containing 13,000 GSTs, which are currently being hybridized with RNA from parasites collected at various developmental time points, ie sporozoites, liver stages, and red blood cell stages. In addition, we are attempting to develop a systematic/random mutagenesis technique for identifying genes that are essential to our stages of interest. This system, based on Plasmodium DNA mutagenesis by Tn5 in E. coli followed by reintroduction of the mutagenized DNA in the parasite by homologous recombination, should permit to select genes of interest on the basis of their function.

Keywords: Plasmodium, Anopheles, malaria, pre-erythrocytic stages, molecular genetics, in vivo imaging, genomics


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme

Responsable: Ménard Robert

Nous étudions Plasmodium, le parasite agent du paludisme, et en particulier les stades parasitaires qui infectent le moustique vecteur et le foie de l'hôte mammifère. L'étude porte sur trois axes  principaux: 1) l'étude fonctionnelle des gènes du moustique qui sont différentiellement exprimés pendant l'infection par l'ookinète, le stade parasitaire qui traverse l'épithelium digestif du moustique, 2) la biologie du sporozoïte, le stade parasitaire formé dans l'intestin du moustique et transmis au mammifère, particulièrement ses capacités de mobilité et d'invasion cellulaire, et 3) l'interaction entre le sporozoïte et l'hépatocyte du mammifère, et les produits impliqués dans la signalisation précoce qui s'établit entre ces deux cellules.

1. Caractérisation de gènes d'Anopheles gambiae impliqués dans l'interaction avec Plasmodium falciparum (C. Lavazec, R. Tahar, I. Thiery, C. Bourgouin)

Au cours de son développement sporogonique précoce chez le moustique, le parasite franchit deux barrières : la matrice péritrophique et l'épithélium intestinal. Dans les conditions naturelles de transmission de P.falciparum, parasite de l'homme, une forte réduction parasitaire intervient dans la lumière intestinale de sorte que seule une dizaine d'oocystes arrivent à maturité. Nous avons précédement identifié des gènes d'An. gambiae, le principal vecteur de P. falciparum en Afrique, dont l'expression dans l'intestin du moustique est régulée par  P. falciparum. Parmi ces gènes, deux codant des carboxypeptidases ont été analysés et s'avèrent impliqués dans le développement de P. falciparum chez le moustique. Par ailleurs, une approche par hybridation soustractive et suppressive a été initiée pour identifier des gènes du moustique dont l'expression est modifiée lors des interactions entre les cellules digestives de A. gambiae et les ookinètes de P. falciparum.

2. Génomique fonctionnelle chez An. gambiae (Bertrand Boisson, Jean-Claude Jacques, C. Bourgouin)

Afin de pouvoir tester la fonction de produits du moustique dans les interactions avec Plasmodium, nous développons une approche systématique d'inactivation génique par interférence ARN (RNAi) basée sur l'inoculation d'ARN double brins dans l'hémolymphe de l'insecte. Nous mettons également en place la transgénèse, en utilisant le transposon piggyBac. Le but est de créer des lignées RNAi stables ou de surexprimer des gènes d'intérêt, de manière tissu-spécifique et/ ou inductible, notamment par un repas sanguin.

3. Mobilité en glissant et biologie in vivo des sporozoïtes (F. Frischknecht, R.Amino, B. Martin)

Comme tout stade invasif du phylum des Apicomplexes, le sporozoïte de Plasmodium est capable de ‘glisser' sur un substrat solide et d'envahir toute cellule adhérente. Ces deux processus ont des bases moléculaires communes et résultent de la translocation postérieure d'interactions parasite-substrat/cellule, qui entraîne le mouvement en avant du parasite. Nous avons montré, en utilisant des sporozoïtes exprimant la GFP et en collaboration avec l'Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative et le Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique, que la mobilité en glissant du sporozoïte n'est pas seulement nécessaire à son pouvoir invasif mais est aussi responsable de sa locomotion in vivo, en particulier dans les canaux salivaires du moustique. Cette mobilité active du sporozoïte plasmodial, indépendante du flux salivaire, est la première preuve directe de mobilité active d'un parasite apicomplexe in vivo. Actuellement, nous analysons le processus infectieux du sporozoïte chez l'hôte mammifère, dans la peau et dans le foie.

4. Invasion cellulaire par les sporozoites (P. Baldacci, S. Thiberge)

La protéine TRAP de Plasmodium est une protéine transmembranaire dont la partie cytoplasmique lie le système moteur sous-membranaire du parasite. Nous avons montré que l'entrée des sporozoïtes dans les cellules en culture ou dans ses organes cibles in vivo (glandes salivaires du moustique et foie du mammifère) dépend de deux domaines extracellulaires de TRAP, un domaine de type I de la thrombospondine et un domaine A d'intégrine. Ces deux domaines d'adhésion apparaissent comme les ligands parasitaires, possiblement exclusifs, de la jonction parasite-cellule sur laquelle le système moteur du parasite exerce sa force pour propulser le parasite à l'intérieur de la cellule hôte. Nos résultats récents suggèrent que deux types de récepteurs cellulaires ubiquitaires pourraient jouer un rôle important dans l'internalisation des sporozoïtes.

5. Développement d'outils de modification génétique chez P. berghei (T. Gil Carvalho, S. Thiberge. H. Sakamoto)

Le genre Plasmodium est un terrain propice à la génétique inverse, en raison du taux élevé d'intégration d'ADN par recombinaison homologue et du caractère haploïde de son génome. P. berghei offre le double avantage de permettre une analyse in vivo de l'infection hépatique du mammifère et de constituer un système de génétique moléculaire beaucoup plus rapide et reproductible que P. falciparum. Nous avons mis au point chez P. berghei un système de mutagenèse conditionnelle, basé sur l'utilisation du système Flp/FRT de la levure. Ce système devrait permettre d'analyser la fonction de tout produit parasitaire essentiel, à tout moment du cycle de vie du parasite.

6. Génomique fonctionnelle de l'interaction parasite-hépatocyte (H. Sakamoto, P. Baldacci)

Une fois le sporozoïte dans une vacuole à l'intérieur de l'hépatocyte, il se dédifferencie et génère des dizaines de milliers de mérozoïtes, le stade parasitaire qui infecte les érythrocytes et cause tous les symptomes de la maladie. La plupart des études portant sur les stades hépatiques du parasite ont tenté de caractériser de nouveaux candidats vaccinaux, ainsi que les bases immunologiques de la protection solide induite par l'injection de sporozoïtes irradiés (dont le développement intrahépatique est bloqué). En revanche, notre connaissance du processus de maturation du parasite dans le foie est limitée à quelques études descriptives, et on ne connaît que quelques molécules parasitaires spécifiques des stades intra-hépatocytaires.

En collaboration avec la Génopole nous avons construit des macroarrays contenant 13,000 GSTs, qui sont en cours d'hybridation avec l'ARN de parasites récoltés à divers moments de leur développement (sporozoites, stades hépatocytaires, stades érythrocytaires). De plus, nous tentons de développer une technique de mutagenèse systématique/aléatoire des gènes exprimés aux stades d'intérêt (sporozoites et stades hépatiques). Ce système, associant une mutagenèse d'ADN de Plasmodium par Tn5 chez E.coli et la réintroduction par recombinaison homologue chez le parasite des fragments mutagénisés, devrait permettre de sélectionner les gènes d'intérêt sur la base de leur caractère essentiel ou non.

Mots-clés: Plasmodium, Anopheles, paludisme, stades pré-érythrocytaires, génétique moléculaire, imagerie in vivo, génomique


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr