Unit: Insect Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Director: BREY Paul

Our research unit is working on three tightly linked subjects : 1) Anopheles genomics and post-genomics : 2) host-parasite interactions between malaria parasites and mosquito vectors especially during the early phases of the sporogonic cycle, 3) Dipteran innate immune response with special focus on the regulation of the melanization cascade and signal transduction pathways involved in immune response. Our aim is to better understand the natural history and interactions of the malaria parasite within its invertebrate host with the hope of finding ways to interrupt or regulate this interaction.

Genomics of A. gambiae (Charles Roth, Karin Eiglmeier, Shawn Gomez, Inge Holm, Pierre Dehoux and Paul Brey)

The Institut Pasteur is a member of the international consortium that successfully sequenced the genome of this important malaria parasite vector. The sequence of the genome and the preliminary analysis of the genes was completed in 2002 (Science. 2002 Oct 4;298(5591):129-49.). The 278 million base pair sequence covering about 90% of the genome was predicted to contain nearly 15 thousand genes. Our unit is working to increase the accuracy of the gene and protein predictions using full length cDNA sequences. These studies will allow us to predict which mosquito proteins might interact with each other or with the malaria parasite in the mosquito salivary gland and thus pinpoint potential targets for blocking parasite transmission. We are also studying membrane transporters in the mosquito that resemble those used by human cancer cells to evade the killing effects of anit-tumor drugs. These studies could lead to drugs that make human tumor treatment as well as insect control more effective.

Proteomics approach of A. gambiae saliva and salivary glands (Valérie Choumet, Virginie Jan, Annie Robbe-Vincent, Annick Carmi-Leroy and Paul Brey)

Our team carries out a structural and functional proteomics approach of Anopheles gambiae saliva and salivary glands. On one hand, there is now compelling evidence that the pharmacological activity of arthropod saliva has a profound effect on pathogen transmission. The study of its composition could then provide new vaccine targets in the prevention and the treatment of malaria. On the other hand, the saliva of blood-sucking insects is known to contain a large variety of peptides and proteins whose great specificity of action makes them powerful pharmacological tools to dissect certain physiological mechanisms and to propose new drugs or diagnostic tests. The structural proteomics analysis, carried out in collaboration with the platforms "Protéomique" and "Analyse et Microséquençage des Protéines" of the Pasteur Institute. With regard to the functional proteomics approach, our team will more particularly focus her efforts on the characterization of molecules involved in blood feeding.

Alterations of A. gambiae salivary gland transcriptome during infection by Plasmodium (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot and Paul Brey).

For the successful completion of the life cycle in mosquitoes, the parasites must migrate through the salivary gland epithelial barrier. Our work hypothesis is that the presence of the parasite inside or in close contact with the salivary gland cells will induce cellular defense mechanism, and a change in gene expression. This change might in turn have some role in the survival of the parasite, and therefore, in the transmission of the parasite. We have recently validated the SAGE (Serial analysis of gene expression) method as a powerful tool for transcriptome approach in Anopheles and are currently using this tool to characterize the changes in gene expression during salivary gland infection by Plasmodium. This work is part of the Anopheles "Strategic Horizontal Program" at the Pasteur Institute.

Gene discovery in Plasmodium- host cell interactions during the sporogonic cycle (Anna Raibaud, Richard Paul and Paul Brey)

Currently, our studies are part of a transversal research program in collaboration with two other laboratories within the Pasteur Institute (Unité Postulante de Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme et Unité Génétique de la Différentiation). The object of our group is to identify and characterise novel genes that are expressed by the ookinete stage of the parasite, being responsible for the invasion of the mosquito. Our model is the rodent malaria parasite P. berghei. In order to isolate ookinete specific sequences we applied a recently developed gene discovery approach; suppression subtractive hybridisation (SSH). We constructed a subtractive ookinete cDNA library, and a differential screening of this library allowed us to isolate clones from this specific parasite stage.

Evolutionary ecology of Plasmodium and virulence-transmission interactions according to infection complexity (Richard Paul and Paul Brey)

The population structure of parasitic organisms determines the degree of parasite inbreeding, which has important epidemiological consequences and is a strong determinant in the evolution of virulence. Virulence is, however, a complex phenotype; parasite sex ratio is predicted to be highly informative for how virulence might evolve in natural populations as both are predicted to respond in the same way to population structure and can thus be modelled similarly. Anaemia is the major form of virulence in malaria and the host haematological state is correlated with parasite sex allocation: reticulocyte density positively correlates with gametocyte density and in animal models of malaria, erythropoietin was implicated in gametocyte sex determination (Paul et al. 2000). Thus anaemia is a physical manifestation of virulence and an indirect trigger of sex allocation. Establishing how infection genetic diversity relates to anaemia has not only considerable importance for disease management but also for influencing parasite transmission phenotypes.

Local Expression of Antimicrobial peptide genes in Drosophila epithelia. (P. Brey)

In Drosophila melanogaster, although the NF-κB transcription factors play a pivotal role in the inducible expression of innate immune genes, such as antimicrobial peptide genes, the exact regulatory mechanism of the tissue-specific constitutive expression of these genes in barrier epithelia has remained largely unknown. In our collaborative study with W-J Lee (Ewha University), we have demonstrated that the Drosophila homeobox gene product Caudal functions as the innate immune transcription modulator that is responsible for the constitutive local expression of antimicrobial peptides cecropin and drosomycin in a tissue-specific manner. These results suggest that certain epithelial tissues have evolved a unique constitutive innate immune strategy by recruiting a developmental "master control" gene.

Characterization of the serpin-27A homologue in A. gambiae (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot and P. Brey)

Melanotic encapsulation of Plasmodium in some refractory strains of Anopheles results in a block to parasite transmission. For this reason, we are interested in the regulation of the melanization cascade in A. gambiae, especially in the regulation of phenoloxidase activity, where phenoloxidase is the key enzyme in the melanization response. In Drosophila, the proteolytic cascade leading to phenoloxidase activation might be controled by a serine protease inhibitor, the Serpin-27A, also involved in the regulation of immune responses and in development. We have identified in Anopheles sequence databases three homologues of the Drosophila Serpin 27A and are currently studying the differential properties of these serpins.

Keywords: Mosquito, insect, vector, Drosophila, immune response, parasites, genomics, Anopheles gambiae, Plasmodium


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Unité: Biochimie et de Biologie Moléculaire des Insectes

Responsable: BREY Paul

Notre Unité se concentre sur trois thèmes de recherche ayant des liens entre eux : 1) le génome d'Anopheles gambiae, 2) les interactions parasite du paludisme/moustique, en particulier au tout début du développement sporogonique et 3) l'immunité des diptères surtout au niveau de la cascade enzymatique qui déclenche l'encapsulation et la production de la mélanine et les voies de signalisation impliquées dans la réponse immunitaire. Notre but est de mieux comprendre comment les parasites du paludisme interagissent avec leurs insectes hôtes afin de trouver d'éventuelles solutions pour interrompre ou réguler cette interaction.

Génomique d'Anopheles gambiae (Charles Roth, Karin Eiglmeier, Shawn Gomez, Inge Holm, Pierre Dehoux et Paul Brey)

L'Institut Pasteur est membre du consortium international qui a réalisé le séquençage du génome de Anopheles gambiae, principal vecteur du paludisme. La séquence du génome et son analyse préliminaire ont été terminées en 2002 (Science, 2002, 4 octobre, 298 (5591) : 129-49). Cette séquence, longue de 278 millions de paires de bases recouvre environ 90% du génome et coderait plus ou moins 15 000 gènes. Notre unité travaille sur l'amélioration de l'exactitude des gènes et des protéines codées. Ces études permettront aussi d'établir une prédiction des capacités d'interaction entre les diverses protéines du moustique ou du moustique et la parasite dans la glande salivaire et permettront d'envisager celles pouvant être des cibles pour l'inhibition de la transmission du parasite. Nous analysons aussi des transporteurs semblables à ceux responsables de la résistance à certaines drogues comme les agents anticancéreux humains. L'analyse de ce type de protéines permettrait la compréhension des interactions protéine-toxine et pourrait amener à améliorer l'efficacité des insecticides et des drogues anti-tumorales.

Analyse protéomique de la salive et des glandes salivaires d'A. gambiae (Valérie Choumet, Virginie Jan, Annie Robbe-Vincent, Annick Carmi-Leroyi, et Paul Brey)

Notre équipe procède à l'analyse protéomique, structurale et fonctionnelle, de la salive et des glandes salivaires d'Anopheles gambiae. Il est en effet maintenant admis que la salive des arthropodes influence la transmission des agents pathogènes qu'elle contient (virus, bactéries, parasites). L'étude de sa composition pourrait alors fournir de nouvelles cibles vaccinales dans la prévention et le traitement du paludisme. Par ailleurs, la salive des insectes hématophages contient une grande variété de peptides et de protéines dont la grande spécificité d'action les rend très attractifs en tant qu'outils pharmacologiques pour disséquer certains mécanismes physiologiques et proposer de nouveaux médicaments ou tests de diagnostic. L'analyse protéomique structurale est réalisée en collaboration avec la plate-forme " Protéomique " et la plate-forme d'Analyse et de Microséquençage des Protéines de l'Institut Pasteur. Dans le cadre du protéome fonctionnel, notre équipe focalise plus particulièrement ses efforts sur la caractérisation des molécules impliquées dans l'hématophagie.

Variations du transcriptome des glandes salivaires d' A. gambiae au cours de leur infection par Plasmodium (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot et Paul Brey)

Avant sa réinjection chez un hôte humain lors de la piqûre, le Plasmodium agent du paludisme, doit traverser l'épithélium salivaire du moustique. Cet épithélium constitue ainsi une barrière biologique susceptible de réagir à la présence du parasite. Afin d'explorer l'étendue de ces réactions cellulaires et leurs conséquences à la fois sur la composition de la salive et sur la survie du parasite, nous avons commencé la caractérisation du transcriptome des glandes salivaires d'A. gambiae et de ses modifications en réponse à la présence de Plasmodium. Nous avons montré que la technique SAGE (Serial Analysis of Gene Expression) est bien adaptée à l'analyse qualitative et quantitative du transcriptome dans des conditions où le matériel biologique est peu abondant. Plusieurs banques SAGE, correspondant à différentes périodes au cours de l'infection des glandes par Plasmodium sont en cours de réalisation et seront comparées. Ces études font partie du Grand Programme Horizontal Anophèle développé à l'Institut Pasteur.

Identification génique chez Plasmodium - interactions avec la cellule hôte au cours du cycle sporogonique (Anna Raibaud, Richard Paul et Paul Brey)

Actuellement, nos études font partie d'un programme transversal de recherche en collaboration avec deux autres laboratoires de l'Institut Pasteur (Unité Postulante de Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme et Unité Génétique de la Différentiation). Le programme de notre groupe concerne l'identification et la caractérisation de gènes qui sont exprimés par l'ookinète, un stade du parasite qui envahit le moustique. Le modèle animal est celui de rongeur, infecté par P. berghei. Pour isoler des gènes différentiellement exprimés nous avons utilisé une technique récente, l'Hybridation Soustractive Suppressive (SSH). Nous avons préparé une banque soustractive d'ADNc d'ookinète, et le criblage de la banque nous a permis l'identification de clones spécifiques à ce stade parasitaire.

Ecologie évolutionniste de Plasmodium et interactions entre la virulence d'infection et la transmission aux moustiques selon la complexité d'infection (Richard Paul et Paul Brey)

La structure de population des parasites détermine leur degré d'autofécondation qui a des conséquences épidémiologiques importantes et est une cause déterminante dans l'évolution de la virulence. Cependant, la virulence est un phénotype complexe. La virulence et le sexe ratio devraient répondre de la même manière à la structure de population et peuvent être modélisés pareillement. Ainsi, le sexe ratio du parasite donnerait beaucoup d'information sur la façon dont la virulence peut évoluer dans les populations normales. L'anémie est la forme principale de virulence dans le paludisme et l'état hématologique de l'hôte est corrélé à l'attribution du sexe du parasite : la densité des réticulocytes se rapproche de la densité des gamétocytes et dans les modèles animaux, l'érythropoiëtine a été impliquée dans le déterminisme sexué (Paul et al., 2000). Ainsi, l'anémie est la manifestation physique de la virulence et d'un déclenchement indirect de la différenciation sexuelle. D'établir le lien entre la diversité génétique d'infection et l'anémie a non seulement une importance considérable pour la gestion de la maladie, mais il peut également influencer les phénotypes du parasite relatifs à la transmission.

Expression des genes de peptides antimicrobiennes dans les epithelia chez Drosophila (P. Brey)

Chez Drosophila melanogaster bien que les facteurs de transcription rel (NF-κB) jouent un rôle important dans l'induction de l'expression des gènes de l'immunité innée, tels que les peptides antimicrobiens, le mécanisme de régulation impliqué dans l'expression constitutive dans les épithéliums restait inconnu jusqu'à ce jour. En collaboration avec W-J Lee (Univ. Ewha Womans, Corée) nous avons démontré que le produit du gène Caudal (gène homéotique) fonctionne en tant que modulateur de la transcription dans les expressions constitutives locales de la cécropine et de la drosomycine de façon « tissu spécifique ». Ces résultats suggèrent que certains tissus épithéliales en contact avec le milieu microbien externe auraient coopté un gène du développement pour réguler l'expression des gènes de l'immunité innée.

Caractérisation d'un homologue de Serpine-27A chez A. gambiae (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot et Paul Brey)

L'encapsulation mélanotique de Plasmodium chez certaines souches d' A. gambiae conduit à un blocage de la transmission du parasite. Pour cette raison, nous nous intéressons à la régulation de la cascade de mélanisation chez A. gambiae, en particulier à la régulation de l'activité de la phénoloxydase, l'enzyme clé de la cascade de mélanisation. Chez la drosophile, il a été suggéré qu'un inhibiteur de sérine protéase, la serpine 27-A, jouerait un rôle important dans la régulation de la cascade de mélanisation ainsi dans la régulation de l'activation de la protéine spatzle, une protéine importante pour la réponse immune innée et le développement. Chez A. gambiae, le séquençage du génome a permis de prédire l'existence de trois protéines homologues à la serpine 27-A. Nous nous intéressons aux propriétés différentielles de ces trois serpines, et notamment à leur rôle éventuel au cours de la réaction de mélanisation.

Mots-clés: Moustique, insecte, vecteur, réponse immunitaire, parasites, génome, Anopheles gambiae, Plasmodium


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr