Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Eukaryotic and Viral Translational Control - CNRS URA 1966


  Director : KEAN, Katherine M. (kathiemb@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research concerns the study of molecular mechanisms of protein synthesis by the eukaryotic ribosome, and translational regulation that can occur according to mRNA structure and in response to infection with pathogenic RNA viruses. Current work concentrates on the initiation step of translation, particularly the role of mRNA 5'-noncoding and 3'-end sequences in 40S ribosomal subunit recruitment.



  report

cale

1) A revision of the poliovirus Internal Ribosome Entry Segment (IRES) structure-function relationship

Picornavirus mRNAs are amongst those translated by an alternative mechanism of initiation, from an IRES (for Internal Ribosome Entry Segment). Picornavirus IRESes are approximately 450 nucleotides long, and are structured into several domains, including domain E that is accepted to be important in poliovirus (PV) neurovirulence. This domain contains residues that are mutated in all three Sabin vaccine strains which have played a crucial role in the control of poliomyelitis since the 1950s and which have been a keystone of the imminent world-wide poliovirus eradication goal. Domain E also encompasses a large lateral bulge of ill-defined structure, juxtaposed to the Sabin mutations. To better understand the structure of the RNA of domain E of the PV IRES and the role of this domain in IRES function, we have carried out a programme of targeted mutagenesis, coupled to biochemical and virological analyses. Our studies have previously shown clear evidence for intra-domain tertiary RNA interactions and highlighted that the whole region plays a role in poliovirus neurovirulence. This year we have accumulated enough data to propose the existence of a critical C motif RNA tertiary structure element, and an equilibrium model for the RNA structure. Furthermore, we can propose more attractive vaccine candidate mutations than the originals, in terms of phenotype and stability, supported by a structural rationale. Finally, the analysis of phenotypic revertants has shown that a defective IRES can be functionally compensated by gainer function mutations in the 2A viral protease.

2) Analysis of the effects of oxygen starvation on morphology of liver cells

This year, we have begun to analyse the effects of oxygen deprivation on gene expression in hepatocytes. Effectively, the mammalian liver, the target of several hepatotrophic viruses including hepatitis C virus (HCV) has an extremely low oxygen pressure compared to other organs. Such deprivation of oxygen supply to cells should result in the onset of numerous metabolic responses destined to conserve energy and enhance survival, including major changes in translation (general suppression; selective maintenance of translation of certain specific mRNAs). Our first results show that the rate of cell growth is not affected by incubation at low oxygen concentration, at least over several days. However, dramatic differences in cell morphology are observed. The habitual confluent cell sheet is replaced by a web-like filamentous network, in which cell-to-cell contact is maintained by the development of prominent cytoplasmic extrusions. The cytoplasmic lipid granules that characterise hepatocytes in culture essentially re-localise to the tips of these extrusions, while the normally large and condensed nuceoli are fragmented into much smaller structures. This correlates with a reduction of approximately 50% in the ribosomal RNA content of the cells. These accumulated changes do not seem to reflect serious cell suffering, since cells begin to regain their usual morphology within 2hrs of return to standard cultivation conditions, "recovery" being complete in under 6hrs.

3) Genetic analysis of HCV translational control

We previously developed in vitro translation systems that recapitulate physiological translation properties such as the 5' cap-3' poly(A) synergy observed in vivo that is the basis of the closed-loop RNA model of eukaryotic translation initiation. These translation systems have allowed us to show that efficient translation of HCV RNA also relies on a closed-loop model, even though the structure of this mRNA is atypical. Effectively, HCV translation is IRES-dependent, and the 3'-end of the RNA also carries a highly structured sequence (the X region, a 100-nt cloverleaf structure) rather than a poly(A) tail. We have found the interplay between the X region and the IRES to be incredibly subtle, and indeed the X region is a remarkable modulator of translation, depending on the exact sequence of the HCV IRES. This year we have followed our policy of advancing collaborative projects by hosting foreign researchers to determine whether domain II of the HCV IRES is involved in the 5'-3' RNA cross-talk. To date, the work carried out jointly with P. Mavromara's laboratory (Institut Pasteur Hellénique) does not indicate a key role for the apical part of domain II.

4) Regulation of murine FGF6 translation

We chose to examine translational control of a member of the fibroblast growth factor family - mitogenic peptides implicated in physiological processes including oncogenesis, angiogenesis, morphogenesis, tissue regeneration and survival. The FGF6 gene was selected because of the nature of the mRNA, which encompasses three potential translation initiation sites. We have found evidence indicating that the initiation codon usage profile varies according to the cell type and differentiation state. In addition, we showed that two FGF6 mRNAs exist, which differ in the length of their 5' noncoding regions. Now we have determined the conditions required for translation of these mRNAs. Unlike other cellular mRNAs, those of murine FGF6 are not translatable in vitro in classical acellular systems, even upon supplementation with limiting cytoplasmic factors. Furthermore, the translation of FGF6 mRNAs in vivo requires their nuclear synthesis, again in contrast to many other mRNAs where an appropriate experimental cytoplasmic transcription can suffice. The results acquired suggest that the mRNAs encoding FGF6 must be loaded with nuclear factors for them to be competent translation templates. Finally, using bicistronic mRNAs, we have been able to show that their 5' noncoding regions contain an IRES.

Keywords: RNA virus, translation initiation, IRES, RNA structure-function, mRNA 5’-3’ cross-talk



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  BALLET, Saskya, IP, (secretary, sballet@pasteur.fr) KEAN, Katherine M., CNRS, (Research Director, Head of Laboratory, kathiemb@pasteur.fr) KOMAROVA, Anastassia, Postdoc

MICHEL, Yanne M., PhD student

MALNOU, Cécile E., PhD student

KALLIAMPAKOU, Katerina, visiting PhD student

BROCARD, Michèle, Diploma student

BENMAAMAR, Abel, undergraduate rotation student

CHARRETON, Sébastien, undergraduate rotation student

COSTES, Audrey, undergraduate rotation student

DEVAUX, Vanessa, undergraduate rotation student

PAULOUS, Sylvie, IP (technician)

ROUX-SCHIEGEL, Mélanie, (contract technician)


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Régulation de la traduction eucaryote et virale - CNRS URA 1966


  Responsable : KEAN, Katherine M. (kathiemb@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos intérêts portent sur l'étude des mécanismes moléculaires de la synthèse protéique par le ribosome eucaryote, et la régulation de la traduction qui peut avoir lieu selon la structure de l'ARN et lors de l'infection par des virus pathogènes à ARN. Les recherches actuelles sont orientées vers l'étape d'initiation de la traduction, avec une attention particulière pour le rôle des séquences 5'-noncodantes et 3'-terminales des ARNm dans le recrutement de la sous-unité 40S ribosomique.



  rapport

cale

1) Données contredisant la relation actuellement admise entre la structure du signal d'entrée interne des ribosomes (IRES) du poliovirus et sa fonction

Les ARNm des picornavirus font partie de ceux qui sont traduits par un mécanisme alternatif, par initiation à partir d'un IRES (pour Internal Ribosome Entry Segment). Les IRES des picornavirus sont longs d'environ 450 nt, structurés en différents domaines. Le domaine E est d'une grande importance pour la neurovirulence du poliovirus (PV), contenant des résidus qui sont mutés dans les trois souches vaccinales développées par Albert Sabin qui ont joué un rôle clé dans le contrôle de la poliomyélite paralytique depuis les années 1950 et dans l'objectif d'éradication mondiale imminente de cette maladie. Il présente également une grande boucle latérale, située non loin de ces nucléotides, dont la structure n'est pas clairement définie. Nous avons mené un programme de mutagenèse dirigée ciblée, couplé à des analyses biochimiques et virologiques, destiné à mieux comprendre la structure de l'ARN du domaine E de l'IRES du PV et le rôle de ce domaine dans la fonction de l'IRES. Nos études avaient déjà souligné que toute cette région joue un rôle dans la neurovirulence du PV et témoigné clairement d'interactions tertiaires intra-domaine. Maintenant, en termes de structure de l'ARN, l'ensemble de nos donnés nous conduisent à proposer l'existence d'un motif tertiaire, dit motif C, critique dans le domaine E de l'IRES, et d'un modèle d'équilibre structural de l'ARN. De plus, nous sommes maintenant en mesure de proposer des mutations candidates des vaccins plus attirantes par leurs phénotypes et stabilité que les originales, soutenues par un rational structural. Enfin, l'analyse de revertants phénotypiques montre qu'un IRES défectueux peut être compensé fonctionnellement par une activité accrue de la protéase virale 2A.

2) Analyse des effets de la carence en oxygène sur la morphologie des cellules hépatiques.

Cette année, nous avons entrepris d'analyser les effets d'une carence en oxygène sur l'expression génétique dans des hépatocytes. En effet, chez les mammifères, le foie, cible naturelle du virus de l'hépatite C (VHC), est à très basse tension d'oxygène. Ceci aurait des conséquences importantes pour la traduction (baisse de taux générale ; maintient d'une traduction sélective de certains ARNm particuliers). Nos premiers résultats montrent que la vitesse de croissance cellulaire n'est pas affectée par une incubation à faible concentration en oxygène pendant au moins 4 jours. Cependant, des changements importants de morphologie cellulaire sont observés. Le tapis cellulaire confluent habituel est remplacé par un réseau filamenteux où le contact entre cellules est maintenu par le développement d'extrusions cytoplasmiques prononcées. Les granules cytoplasmiques lipidiques caractéristiques des hépatocytes sont relocalisés essentiellement aux extrémités de ces extrusions. Les nucléoles grands et condensés sont fragmentés dans des structures nettement plus petites, en corrélation avec une baisse de la quantité d'ARN ribosomique d'environ 50 %. L'ensemble de ces changements ne reflète pas une souffrance cellulaire prononcée, car ils commencent à s'estomper dans les 2 heures qui suivent un retour aux conditions de culture habituelle, et une morphologie normale est rétablie en moins de 6 heures.

3) Analyse génétique de la régulation traductionnelle chez le VHC

Nous avions déjà développé des systèmes de traduction qui récapitulent in vitro les effets de co-opération 5' coiffe-3' queue poly(A) constatés in vivo qui sont à la base d'un modèle " pseudocirculaire " des ARNm. Ces systèmes de traduction nous ont permis de montrer que la traduction efficace sur un ARN " pseudocirculaire " est conservée pour l'ARNm du VHC, bien que la structure de celui-ci est atypique. En effet, la traduction du VHC dépende d'un IRES et, de plus, l'ARN porte une séquence hautement structurée d'environ 100 nt (la région X) à son extrémité 3' plutôt qu'une queue poly(A). En fait, la région X s'est avérée être un modulateur remarquable de la traduction selon la séquence précise de l'IRES du VHC. Cette année nous avons poursuivi notre politique d'accueil de chercheurs étrangers pour promouvoir la recherche collaborative, dans l'optique de déterminer si le domaine II de l'IRES du VHC est impliqué dans la co-opération 5'-3' de l'ARNm du VHC. Pour l'instant, nos travaux menés en commun avec l'équipe de P. Mavromara (Institut Pasteur Hellénique) ne témoignent pas d'un rôle clé de la partie apicale du domaine II.

4) Régulation de la traduction de la protéine FGF6 de la souris

Nous avons choisi d'examiner la régulation de la traduction d'un membre de la famille des facteurs de croissance fibroblastiques - cytokines impliquées dans des processus physiologiques tels l'oncogenèse, l'angiogenèse, la morphogenèse, la régénération et la survie tissulaire. Notre choix s'est porté sur le gène FGF6 à cause de la nature de l'ARNm. En effet, l'ARNm comprend trois sites potentiels d'initiation de la traduction. Nos précédentes données tendaient à démontrer que le profil d'usage de codon d'initiation varie selon le type cellulaire et son état de différentiation. De plus, nous avions trouvé deux ARNm codant la protéine FGF6 qui diffèrent dans la longueur de leurs régions 5' noncodantes. Cette année, nous avons déterminé les conditions requises pour la traduction de ces ARNm. Contrairement à d'autres ARNm cellulaires, il s'avère que ces ARNm ne peuvent pas êtres traduits in vitro dans des systèmes acellulaires classiques, même quand ceux-ci sont supplémentés par des facteurs cytoplasmiques normalement limitants. Par ailleurs, leur traduction in vivo nécessite que ces ARNm aient été synthétisés dans le noyau, une simple transcription cytoplasmique étant insuffisante. L'ensemble de nos résultats suggère que les ARNm codant FGF6 doivent être chargés de facteurs nucléaires afin d'être aptes pour la traduction. Enfin, grâce à l'utilisation d'ARNm bicistroniques, nous avons pu montrer que leurs régions 5' noncodantes contiennent un IRES.

Mots-clés: virus à ARN, Initiation de la traduction, IRES, ARN structure-fonction, co-opération ARNm 5’-3’



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  BALLET, Saskya (sballet@pasteur.fr) KEAN, Katherine M., CNRS, (DR2, chef d’Unité, kathiemb@pasteur.fr) KOMAROVA, Anastassia, post-doctorant

MICHEL, Yanne M., étudiante en thèse

MALNOU, Cécile E., étudiante en thèse

KALLIAMPAKOU, Katerina, thésard visiteur

BROCARD, Michèle, étudiante en DEA

BENMAAMAR, Abel, Ingénieur étudiant

CHARRETON, Sébastien, étudiant en licence professionnelle

COSTES, Audrey, étudiante en DEUG

DEVAUX, Vanessa, étudiante en licence

PAULOUS, Sylvie, (Technicienne Supérieure IP)

ROUX-SCHIEGEL, Mélanie, (Technicienne Supérieure CDD)


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr