Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Genetics of Bacterial Genomes


  Director : Danchin Antoine (adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Genetics of Bacterial Genomes Unit makes use of the determination of the complete sequence of bacterial genomes to explore how the distribution of the genes along the chromosomes is (or is not) coupled to the distribution and/or function of genes in the cell. This study is focussed on sulfur metabolism. Because of the Severy Acute Respiratory Syndrome outbreak the Unit participated in a theoretical work meant to explore the SARS-CoV coronavirus, and its spread during the outbreak (the " double epidemic " hypothesis).



  report

cale

The genomics revolution that has recently transformed biology is steadily producing new spectacular discoveries. While the world of mass media tends to concentrate almost exclusively on the " Human Genome ", it is clearer and clearer that one will not be able to understand much in this genome in the absence of knowledge created by the study of powerful models, in particular microbes. This explains why all the major Genome Centres in the world are now developping the study of microbial genomes. It is also obviously with such organisms that the two major discoveries about genomes have been made in the past fifteen years (with a major contribution from the Unit of Regulation of Gene Expression, the ancestor of the present one). On the one hand a fair number of genes are not fixed, belonging to a given organism, but they tend to propagate from organism to organism (" horizontal " gene transfer). On the otehr hand, a very high proportion of the genes present in a genome, whatever the organism, do not have a known function. This is the more surprising because we now know one thousand genome sequences. In this context, the work in the Unit, in collaboration with the activity developed by its director at the HKU-Pasteur Research Centre (which he created in Hong Kong in 2000), consists in exploring these unknown functions. To this aim, experimental work at the bench is combined with work in silico (using computer programmes), in order to perform conceptual experiments that serve as references and predictions for experiments performed at the bench. The central conjecture explored in the Unit is to know whether, and if yes why, genes are distributed randomly in the chromosomes. It is obvious that the accidents that occur continuously during reproduction lead the genes either to be modified or disappear, or to change place. One would therefore expect that, after some time, a more or less random distribution of the genes should be observed. However the very idea that founded conceptual genomics, derived from the idea of the " genetic programme ", is that a cell behaves more or less as does a computer, where the machine is truly separated from the data and programmes it works with. However, one knows that a computer is not able to duplicate itself. What more is therefore needed? John von Neumann at the beginning of years 1960 made the hypothesis that, if this were to happen, then one should find somewhere an image of the machine. This drives the quest of the Unit: its scientists try to know whether the cell and its programme are organized structures. In concrete terms, is the order of the genes random in the genome? And, in paralle, where are located, in the cell, the gene products, does one find them everywhere?,

An important part of the work in the Unit will therefore consist, on the one hand, in organizing the data making biological knowledge (Ivan Moszer, and construction of the GenoList databases, until the time when he left to set up a new axis at the Genopole of the Institute), and, on the other hand, to analyse the genome structure (Eduardo Rocha and scientists from the HKU-Pasteur Research Centre, see http://bioinfo.hku.hk/genolist.html). The most surprising discovery during year 2003 has been that the genes that are essential to the life of bacteria are distributed along the replication leading strand of the DNA double helix, and that this is not directly correlated to a high level of expression. This is accounted for by the absence of conflict between transcription and replication for these genes, because the collisions that occur when the genes are located on the lagging replication strand must often create truncated messenger RNAs, and hence truncated proteins. Furthermore, this discovery indicates that the products of these essential genes systematically belong to complexes formed by the association of several proteins, for one would hardly explain the toxicity of a truncated product unless it destroys the complex it is forming (let us think of a building with truncated beams!). In parallel, the Unit participated in the deciphering of the complete genome sequence of three bacteria: Leptospira interrogans (in collaboration with the Genome Sequencing Centre of Shanghai), bacterium that is particularly dangerous and infects peasants working in rice paddies; Staphylococcus epidermidis (collaboration with the same Centre and Fudan University in Shanghai), bacterium present in the environnement and important for nosocomial infections; and Photorhabdus luminescens (sequenced in the Laboratory of Pathogenic Microorganisms Genomics in the Institute), highly virulent against insects, including against mosquito larvae (Jean-François Charles, Sylviane Derzelle and their coworkers).

At this stage, it is essential to understand where the gene products are located inside the cell. The study of uridylate kinase by a group that recently joined the Unit (Anne Marie Gilles et Octavian Barzu) will give interesting information in this domain. Another approach, developed in the Unit for several years, is to understand the organisation in the cell of the production of molecules containing sulfur. This is because of the extreme versatility of this atom in terms of oxido-reduction states. The study of sulfur metabolism has therefore been emphasized (Isabelle Martin-Verstraete in Paris and Agnieszka Sekowska in Hong Kong) in particular because the knowledge of this atom was often extremely limited because of the difficulty of the genetic and biochemical studies of sulfur-containing molecules. We have unravelled several new pathways in Bacillus subtilis (one of the two most studied bacteria) and further characterized the methionine salvage pathway that was unfolded in part during the past years..

Finally, year 2003 witnessed the dangerous development of the outbreak of atypical pneumonia (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome) and we judged important to participate in the fight against the disease, on the one hand with theoretical studies on the genomes of coronaviruses (at the HKU-Pasteur Research Centre), and on the other hand by an epidemiological model that was meant to get an idea about the origin of the disease and of its development (in collaboration with INRIA and the Deprtement of mathematics at the University of Hong Kong). The model proposed, that of a " double epidemic ", caused by a first innocuous virus, that can mutate in certain patients and lead to the phenomenon of SARS fits well with observations in the field (in particular the large difference between diverse regions in China). This model suggests that the initial virus could stay as an endemic mild pathogen, and might occasionally lead to a resurgence of the disease. It is also interesting in that it suggests that the primary infection caused by the ancestral virus can protect against the disease and proposes that a vaccine could be developped (at least a vaccine with a significant protective effect, if not a long-lasting one).

Keywords: entomopathogens, specialized microbial databases, sulfur, methionine salvage pathway, SARS



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Beaudeux Annie, abeaudeu@pasteur.fr Danchin Antoine, CNRS URA 2171, (Head of Unit, DR1, adanchin@pasteur.fr)

Martin-Versraete Isabelle, (C.M University Paris 7 iverstra@pasteur.fr)

Charles Jean-François, IP (Head of Laboratory, jcharles@pasteur.fr)

Pimentel Cachapuz Rocha Eduardo, CNRS URA 2171 (CR2, erocha@pasteur.fr)

Gilles Anne-Marie, IP (Head of Laboratory , amgilles@pasteur.fr)
Fang Gang, 2nd year for thesis, bioinformatic, Evry University

Burguière Pierre, 2nd year for thesis, Paris 7 University

Pascal Géraldine, 1rst year for thesis, bioinformatic, Evry University

Evrin Cécile, 1rst year for thesis, Paris 7 University

Laurent Cécile,1rst year for DESS, half time Rouen University

Left the Unit :

Mulller Daniel, from 17 to 28 February 2003

Bedard Karine, From 08 January to 08 May 2003

Professor Levinthal Mark, from 23 May to 23 June 2003

Chakroun Nesrine, from 16 September 2002 to 01 July 2003

Auger Sandrine, from 01 July 1998 to 15 July 2003 (Thesis on 19 February 2003)

Gomez Maria-Pilar, from Dec. 2002 to 31 July 2003

Frily Céline, from 10 February 2003 to 31 August 2003

Marisa Laetitia, DESS Bioinformatic, half time Rouen University, from 05 November 2001 to 31 October 2003

Sekowska Agnieszka, Egide, from 01 April to 30 September 2003

Derzelle Sylviane , from 01 July 2000 to 30 September 2003

Professor Gunnar von Heijne, from 03 to 28 November 2003
Marie-Françoise, CNRS (Ingénieur, mfhullo@pasteur.fr)

Krin Evelyne, CNRS URA 2171 (Ingénieur, ekrin@pasteur.fr)

Turlin Evelyne, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, eturlin@pasteur.fr)

Brito-Fravallo Emma, IP (Technicienne de Laboratoire, ebrito@pasteur.fr)

Maranghi Laurence, IP (Aide de Laboratoire, lmarang@pasteur.fr)

Fert Juliette, CDD Univ. Paris 7 ((Technicienne de Laboratoire, jfert@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Génétique des Génomes Bactériens


  Responsable : Danchin Antoine (adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens étudie grâce à la détermination de la séquence complète de génomes bactériens, comment se fait le lien entre la répartition des gènes dans les chromosomes, et celle de leurs produits dans la cellule. Dans cette étude, l'analyse du métabolisme du soufre est privilégiée. Par ailleurs un travail théorique a exploré l'épidémie causée par le coronavirus SARS-CoV, agent du Syndrome Respiratoire Aigü Sévère (modèle de la " double épidémie ").



  rapport

cale

La révolution de la génomique qui a transformé récemment la biologie continue à produire des découvertes spectaculaires. Alors que le monde médiatique tend à parler presque exclusivement du " génome humain ", il est de plus en plus évident qu'on ne pourra y comprendre quelque chose qu'au travers de de la connaissance de puissants modèles, microbiens en particulier. C'est ainsi que tous les grands centres de génomique dans le monde se sont mis à développer l'étude des génomes microbiens, et c'est d'ailleurs là que les deux plus grandes découvertes du domaine ont été faites au cours des années passées (avec une contribution majeure de l'Unité). D'une part les gènes ne sont pas fixes, mais certains (un grand nombre, en fait) tendent à se propager d'un organisme à l'autre (transfert génétique " horizontal "). D'autre part une fraction très élevée des gènes, quel que soit l'organisme, sont sans fonction connue. Et cela est d'autant plus surprenant que nous arrivons désormais à un millier de génomes dont la séquence est connue. Dans ce contexte, le travail de l'Unité, en collaboration avec l'activité menée par son directeur au HKU-Pasteur Research Centre qu'il a créé à Hong Kong, a consisté à explorer ces fonctions inconnues. Ce travail combine les travaux expérimentaux à la paillasse qui sont systématiquement associés à des travaux in silico (utilisant des programmes informatiques), pour réaliser des expériences plus conceptuelles qui servent de référence et de prédiction pour réaliser celles qui se déroulent dans les laboratoires expérimentaux. La conjecture centrale qu'explore l'Unité est de savoir si, et dans l'affirmative pourquoi, les gènes ne sont pas répartis au hasard dans les chromosomes. Il va de soi que les nombreux accidents qui arrivent nécessairement au cours de la reproduction conduisent les gènes à se modifier, à disparaître ou à changer de place. On attendrait donc, au bout d'un temps assez long, une répartition plus ou moins aléatoire de ces gènes. Mais l'idée même qui a fondé la génomique conceptuelle, dérivée de la métaphore de programme génétique, est qu'une cellule se comporte un peu à la manière d'un ordinateur, où la machine est bel et bien séparée physiquement des programmes et des données qu'elle exploite. Or on sait bien qu'un ordinateur n'est pas capable de se dupliquer. Que faut-il donc de plus ? John von Neumann au début des années 1960 a émis l'hypothèse que si cela devait être possible, alors il faudrait quelque part une image de la machine. Ce que l'Unité cherche donc à savoir, c'est si la cellule et son programme génétique sont un ensemble organisé. De façon plus concrète, l'ordre des gènes dans le génome est-il quelconque ? Et, en parallèle, où se trouvent, dans la cellule, les produits des gènes : les trouve-t-on n'importe où ?

Une partie importante du travail de l'Unité va donc consister d'une part à organiser les données de la connaissance biologique (Ivan Moszer, et construction des bases de données GenoList, jusqu'à son départ pour créer un axe de la Génopole de l'Institut), et d'autre part à analyser la structure des génomes (Eduardo Rocha et certains chercheurs du HKU-Pasteur Research Centre, voir http://bioinfo.hku.hk/genolist.html). La découverte la plus surprenante de l'année 2003 a été que les gènes essentiels à la vie des bactéries sont situés sur le brin de l'ADN qui est répliqué directement sans discontinuité. Cela ne s'explique pas par le niveau d'expression de ces gènes (il n'y a pas corrélation avec un haut niveau d'expression), mais s'explique par l'absence de conflit entre transcription et réplication pour ces gènes, car les collisions qui se produisent lorsque les gènes sont situés sur le brin complémentaire doivent souvent conduire à des ARN messagers tronqués, et donc à des protéines tronquées. Cette découverte dit aussi que le produit de ces gènes essentiels fait systématiquement partie de complexes formés de plusieurs protéines, car on ne peut expliquer aisément la toxicité d'un produit tronqué que par la destruction du complexe qu'il forme (imaginons ce qu'il adviendrait d'un immeuble dont certaines poutres seraient raccourcies !). En parallèle, l'Unité a participé à la détermination de la séquence du génome complet de trois bactéries : Leptospira interrogans (en collaboration avec le Centre de Séquençage de Shanghai), bactérie particulièrement dangereuse infectant les paysans qui travaillent dans les rizières ; Staphylococcus epidermidis (collaboration avec le même Centre et l'Université Fudan), bactérie de l'environnement importante pour les infections acquises en mileu hospitalier ; et Photorhabdus luminescens (séquencé par le Laboratoire de Génomique des Microorganismes Pathogènes de l'Institut), pathogène d'insecte extraordinairement virulent, y compris envers les larves de moustiques (Jean-François Charles, Sylviane Derzelle et leurs collaborateurs).

A ce stade il est essentiel de comprendre où les produits des gènes se répartissent dans la cellule. L'étude de l'uridylate kinase par un groupe qui vient de se joindre à l'Unité (Anne Marie Gilles et Octavian Barzu) donnera d'intéressantes informations à ce propos. Une autre approche depuis quelques années a été de comprendre l'organisation dans la cellule de la production des molécules contenant du soufre, en raison de la réactivité considérable de cet élément. L'étude du métabolisme de l'atome de soufre (présent dans toutes les protéines) a donc été privilégiée (Isabelle Martin-Verstraete à Paris et Agnieszka Sekowska à Hong Kong) en particulier parce que les connaissances étaient encore très limitées à son propos, en raison de la grande difficulté des études biochimiques et génétiques qui lui sont associées. Nous avons mis au jour de nouvelles voies métaboliques chez Bacillus subtilis (l'un des deux grands modèles des bactéries) et mieux caractérisé la voie de la récupération de la méthionine, que nous avions mise au jour l'année précédente.

Enfin, l'année 2003 a vu se développer l'épidémie de pneumonie atypique (Syndrome Respiratoire Aigü Sévère) et il nous a paru important de participer a la lutte contre cette maladie, d'une part par des études théoriques sur les génomes des coronavirus (au HKU-Pasteur Research Centre) et d'autre part au travers d'une étude épidémiologique permettant de se faire une idée de l'origine de la maladie et de son développement (en collaboration avec l'INRIA et le Département de mathématiques de l'Université de Hong Kong). Le modèle proposé, celui d'une double épidémie, causée par un virus initial inoffensif, qui mute chez certains patients pour conduire au phénomène de SRAS cadre bien avec les observations sur le terrain. Ce modèle suggère que le virus initial pourrait rester endémique et conduire à une résurgence occasionnelle de la maladie. Il a aussi l'intérêt de suggérer que l'infection causée par le premier protège probablement contre le SRAS, ce qui indique qu'un vaccin serait possible (du moins un vaccin ayant un effet significatif, mais peut-être sur une durée limitée).

Mots-clés: entomopathogènes, bases de données spécialisées, soufre, recyclage de la méthionine, SRAS



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Beaudeux Annie, abeaudeu@pasteur.fr Danchin Antoine, CNRS URA 2171, (Chef d’Unité, DR1, adanchin@pasteur.fr)

Martin-Versraete Isabelle, Paris 7, ( Maître de Conférence, iverstra@pasteur.fr)

Charles Jean-François, IP (Chef de laboratoire, jcharles@pasteur.fr)

Pimentel Cachapuz Rocha Eduardo, CNRS URA 2171 (CR2, erocha@pasteur.fr)

Gilles Anne-Marie, IP (Chef de laboratoire, amgilles@pasteur.fr)

Fang Gang, thésard 2ème année, bioinformatique, Univ. Evry

Burguière Pierre, thésard 2ème année, Ecole doctorale B2M, Univ Paris 7

Pascal Géraldine, thésarde 1ère année, bioinformatique, Univ. Evry

Evrin Cécile, thésarde 1ère année, Ecole doctorale B2M, Univ Paris 7

Laurent Cécile, DESS 1ère année, alternance IP Univ. Rouen

Sont partis :

Mulller Daniel, du 17/02 au 28/02/2003

Bedard Karine, du 08/01 au 08/05/2003

Professeur Levinthal Mark, du 23/05 au 23/06/2003

Chakroun Nesrine, du 16/09/2002 au 01/07/2003

Auger Sandrine, du 01/07/1998 au 15/07/2003 (soutenance 19/02/2003)

Gomez Maria-Pilar, de déc. 2002 au 31/07/2003

Frily Céline, du 10/02/2003 au 31/08/2003

Marisa Laetitia, DESS Bioinformatique alternance Univ. Rouen, du 05/11/2001 au 31/10/2003

Sekowska Agnieszka, Bourse Egide, du 01/04 au 30/09/2003

Derzelle Sylviane , du 01/07/2000 au 30/09/2003

Professeur Gunnar von Heijne, du 03/11 au 28/11/2003
Hullo Marie-Françoise, CNRS (Ingénieur, mfhullo@pasteur.fr)

Krin Evelyne, CNRS URA 2171 (Ingénieur, ekrin@pasteur.fr)

Turlin Evelyne, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, eturlin@pasteur.fr)

Brito-Fravallo Emma, IP (Technicienne de Laboratoire, ebrito@pasteur.fr)

Maranghi Laurence, IP (Aide de Laboratoire, lmarang@pasteur.fr)

Fert Juliette, CDD Univ. Paris 7 ((Technicienne de Laboratoire, jfert@pasteur.fr)

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr