Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Macromolecular crystallisation and X-ray diffraction facility


  Director : ALZARI, Pedro M. (alzari@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The goal of the platform is to include all the equipment and technology required for crystallogenesis, computing and X ray diffraction that are required by the different research teams working on macromolecular crystallography at the Institut Pasteur, as well as to develop high-throughput methodologies for gene cloning, protein production and crystallization, by automating the different steps of the process.



  report

cale

Structural Genomics of Mycobacteria (P.M. Alzari, S.T. Cole, J.M. Betton, et al)

The availability of massive amounts of data from genomic projects is imposing a novel dynamics to structural biology, in particular promoting the introduction of high-throughput methodologies into the discipline. This is possible thanks to the remarkable technological advances in a number of disciplines such as gene cloning, protein expression and purification, structure determination methods, crystallogenesis, synchrotron radiation sources, computing science and cryocrystallography. We wish to use these technologies to contribute towards the development of a better chimiotherapy for tuberculosis. In particular, we propose a structural genomics approach as a tool for the discovery of novel drug targets in mycobacteria.

Supported by grants from the National Genopole Network, two European projects (X-TB and SPINE) and the Institut Pasteur, we have undertaken a structural genomics project on mycobacterial proteins, in collaboration with other laboratories within the Institute. The initial list of targets includes a number of proteins that are known to be important for mycobacterial survival and/or virulence, as well as many others of unknown biological function but whose relevance as potential therapeutic targets is highlighted by the comparative analysis of mycobacterial genomes (M. tuberculosis, M. leprae). The project is well underway: more than 300 mycobacterial genes have now been subcloned into bacterial expression vectors, several purified proteins have been subjected to crystallization trials and the first crystal structures have been determined during the last year. The up-to-date status of the project is described in the dedicated Web site "Structural Genomics of Mycobacteria" (http://www.pasteur.fr/SGM).

Keywords: structural genomics, gene cloning, protein purification, crystallogenesis, X-ray diffraction



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
    Alzari, Pedro, IP (Chef de Laboratoire, alzari@pasteur.fr) Fiez-Vandal, Cédric, Engineer (cfiez@pasteur.fr)

Guillemot, Fabrice, Post-doc (fguillem@pasteur.fr)

Haouz, Ahmed, Post-doc (ahaouz@pasteur.fr)

Proux, Florence, Engineer (fproux@pasteur.fr)
Masia, Nathalie, ITA CNRS (masia@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Cristallogenèse et Diffraction des rayons X


  Responsable : ALZARI, Pedro M. (alzari@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'objectif de la plate-forme est de regrouper l'ensemble des équipements pour la cristallogenèse, l'informatique et la diffraction des rayons X utilisés par les différentes équipes travaillant en radiocristallographie des macromolécules à l'Institut Pasteur, ainsi que de développer des méthodologies à haut débit pour le clonage, la production et la cristallisation de protéines, grâce à l'automatisation et à la miniaturisation des différentes étapes du processus.



  rapport

cale

Génomique Structurale des Mycobactéries (P.M. Alzari, S.T. Cole, J.M. Betton et al)

L'arrivée des données issues du séquençage massif des génomes a imposé une nouvelle dynamique à la biologie structurale, entraînant un changement d'échelle dans le domaine et une nécessité d'accélérer les processus d'études au niveau mondial. Cela est maintenant possible grâce aux développements technologiques remarquables réalisés pour le clonage, l'expression, la purification et la caractérisation des macromolécules biologiques, ainsi que par les progrès réalisés dans les méthodes de détermination de structures, la cristallogenèse, la cryocristallographie et le développement de nouvelles sources de radiation synchrotron, pour ne citer que ces exemples. Nous souhaitons utiliser ces technologies pour contribuer au développement d'une meilleure chimiothérapie de la tuberculose. En particulier, nous nous proposons d'utiliser la génomique structurale comme un outil innovateur pour la découverte de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques.

Grâce au soutien du Réseau National des Génopoles, des projets européens X-TB et SPINE, et de l'Institut Pasteur, nous avons entrepris un projet de génomique structurale de mycobactéries. Le choix initial de cibles s'appuie sur l'analyse comparative des génomes de M. tuberculosis et M. leprae. Ces cibles incluent, d'une part, des protéines impliquées dans la croissance bactérienne et/ou la virulence des mycobactéries, mais elles incluent aussi un nombre important de protéines de fonction inconnue dont l'analyse génomique suggère leur possible importance comme cibles thérapeutiques. A présent, plus de 300 gènes mycobactériens ont été clonés dans des vecteurs d'expression bactériens, plusieurs protéines purifiées ont été soumises à des essais de cristallisation et les premières structures tridimensionnelles ont été déterminées au cours de la dernière année. L'état actuel du projet est décrit dans la page Web " Structural Genomics of Mycobacteria " (http://www.pasteur.fr/SGM)

Mots-clés: génomique structurale, clonage, purification de protéines recombinantes, cristallogenèse, diffraction des rayons X



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
    Alzari, Pedro, IP (Chef de Laboratoire, alzari@pasteur.fr) Fiez-Vandal, Cédric, Ingénieur (cfiez@pasteur.fr)

Guillemot, Fabrice, Post-doc (fguillem@pasteur.fr)

Haouz, Ahmed, Post-doc (ahaouz@pasteur.fr)

Proux, Florence, Ingénieur technologue (fproux@pasteur.fr)
Masia, Nathalie, ITA CNRS (masia@pasteur.fr)

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr