Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Pharmacology of Neuro-Endocrine Regulations


  Director : Rougeot Catherine (crougeot@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Research of the laboratory is focused on the molecular characterization and in vivo functional exploration of the endogenous inhibitors of membrane-anchored metallo-ectopeptidases, which are involved in the regulation of crucial physiological functions in mammals, especially in that of pain perception.



  report

cale

Molecular and functional characterization of the metallo-ectopeptidase physiological antagonists, in rodent and human species.

In a physiomic approach, we have established the molecular and functional bases providing the existence of an endogenous regulator of metalloecto-peptidase activity in mammals. Hence, we characterized the peptide-mediator sialorphin, which is the first physiological inhibitor of membrane NEP (Neutral EndoPeptidase) or Enkephalinase activity identified to date in rodent; this endocrine signal messenger of the adaptative response to stress is a powerful inhibitor of painful perception in rat and its analgesic effect is more potent than that of synthetic inhibitors which have been developed elsewhere by modeling methods.

For instance, analyses of molecular pharmacology and behavioral pharmacology have revealed that sialorphin:

- In vitro, shares the kinetic behavioral characteristic of a competitive inhibitor of the rat cell surface-bound NEP as this one derived from nervous tissues (spinal cord) or from peripheral systemic target tissues for sialorphin, in vivo (kidney, bone, tooth) .

- In vivo, displays potent analgesic activity in two behavioral rat models of injury-induced acute and tonic pain. The analgesia induced by sialorphin required the activation of mu- and delta- opioid receptors, consistent with the involvement of endogenous opioid receptors in enkephalinergic transmission. Indeed, these receptors are involved in the transmission of endogenous opiate signals, such as the enkephalins which are inactivated by both metallo-ectopeptidases, NEP and Aminopeptidase APN, and also of the exogenous opiate mu-agonist, morphine. Otherwise, in a behavioral despair model, sialorphin exerts anti-depressive activity in male rat whilst in a behavioral anxiety model it doesn't display anxiolytic effect (collaboration with M. Messaoudi, ETAP-applied ethology research centre, Nancy).

We conclude that the sialorphin protects endogenous enkephalins released following nociceptive stimuli by inhibiting inactivating enkephalinases, in vivo, and thus potentializing their anti-nociceptive and anti-depressive actions.

In mammals, the cell surface metallo-ectopeptidases as well as their physiological substrate-effector and inhibitor which are neuroendocrine peptide mediators, are responsible for the coordinated control of major biological functions such as cardiovascular, inflammatory and nociceptive functions as well as calcium, sodium and phosphate homeostatic exchanges. From a physiological as well as physiopathological and therapeutic point of view, the biological importance of the functions regulated by these peptide mediators makes it crucial to investigate and knowledge their inactivation mechanism and potential protection in vivo by endogenous inhibitors.

Sialorphin is the first natural systemically active regulator of NEP activity identified to date. Furthermore, our study provides evidence that it is a new physiological modulator of painful responses to threatening environments in rats, and may be the progenitor of a new class of therapeutic compound for pain management.

Legend: Representative macro- and micro-autoradiographic images of the biodistribution of systemic target organs tissues and cells for radio-labeled sialorphin (3H), in vivo, in male rat: Analyses by using quantitative autoradiographic Beta- and Micro-Imagers (visualization of target organs and tissues, respectively in red color, collaboration with Ana Cardona, URE en Histotechnologie et Pathology); and by micro-autoradiography (visualization of target cells represented by black silver grains).

Keywords: Pharmacology, Pain, Stress, Peptide hormone mediator, Opiate, Enkephalinase



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
    Rougeot, Catherine, Institut Pasteur, (crougeot@pasteur.fr) Marcel, Audrey, Etudiante DESS “Génie Cellulaire” (Nancy) Wisner, Anne, Ingénieur de recherché Institut Pasteur, awisner@pasteur.fr

Dufour, Evelyne, Technicien Supérieur Institut Pasteur, edufour@pasteur.fr

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Pharmacologie des régulations neuro-endocrines


  Responsable : Rougeot Catherine (crougeot@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le laboratoire concentre ses recherches sur la caractérisation moléculaire et fonctionnelle in vivo, des inhibiteurs physiologiques de l'activité des métallo-ectopeptidases qui sont impliquées dans la régulation d'importantes functions biologiques chez les mammifères, notamment celle de la perception de la douleur.



  rapport

cale

Caractérisation moléculaire et fonctionnelle des antagonistes physiologiques des métallo-ectopeptidases, chez le rat et chez l'homme.

Dans une approche de "physiomic", nous avons établi les bases moléculaires et fonctionnelles témoignant de l'existence, chez les mammifères, d'un régulateur endogène de l'activité des métalloecto-peptidases. Ainsi, nous avons caractérisé la sialorphine, qui est le premier inhibiteur naturel de l'activité NEP (Neutral EndoPeptidase) ou Enképhalinase identifié à ce jour chez le rongeur ; ce messager hormonal de signalisation intercellulaire de la réponse adaptative au stress est un inhibiteur physiologique de la sensation douloureuse chez le rat, et son pouvoir antalgique est bien plus puissant que celui des inhibiteurs de synthèse développés par ailleurs à l'aide des méthodes de modélisation.

Les analyses de pharmacologie moléculaire et de pharmacologie comportementale, ont ainsi révélé que la sialorphine :

- In vitro, porte la signature comportementale cinétique caractéristique d'un inhibiteur compétitif de la NEP membranaire, que celle-ci soit issue des tissus nerveux (moelle épinière) ou issue des tissus cibles systémiques de la sialorphine, in vivo (rein, os, dent)

- In vivo, exerce une activité anti-nociceptive puissante, dans deux modèles d'analyse de la réponse comportementale algésique aiguë chez le rat mâle ; et une part importante des effets antalgiques induits par la sialorphine requiert l'activation des récepteurs opioïdes, notamment ceux de sous-types Mu- et Delta- opioïdes. Ces récepteurs sont impliqués dans la transmission des enképhalines qui sont les signaux opiacés endogènes inactivés par les métalloecto-peptidases, NEP et Aminopeptidase APN, et également de la morphine un agoniste Mu- opiacé alcaloïde exogène, D'autre part, dans un modèle d'analyse du désespoir comportemental, chez le rat mâle, la sialorphine exerce un effet anti-dépresseur ; alors que, dans un modèle d'analyse de la réponse comportementale anxiogène elle ne montre aucune activité anxiolytique (collaboration avec M. Messaoudi, centre de recherche ETAP-éthologie appliquée, Nancy).

L'ensemble des résultats nous a permis de proposer que, chez le rat, la sialorphine, en protègeant de l'inactivation par les enképhalinases, les enképhalines endogènes libérées en réponse aux stimuli, potentialise leur fonction physiologique analgésique et anti-dépressive.

Chez les mammifères, les métallo-ectopeptidases, ainsi que leur substrat-effecteur et inhibiteur physiologiques qui sont des médiateurs peptidiques neuroendocriniens, sont responsables du contrôle coordonné des grandes fonctions physiologiques, telles les fonctions cardiovasculaire, inflammatoire et nociceptive, ainsi que celle des échanges homéostatiques phosphocalcique et phosphosodique. Face à l'importance physiologique des fonctions biologiques régulées par ces médiateurs peptidiques, l'étude de leur dégradation, et de leur éventuelle protection in vivo par des inhibiteurs endogènes, revêt une importance cruciale, tant sur le plan physiologique que sur le plan physiopathologique et thérapeutique. La sialorphine, le premier inhibiteur naturel de l'activité NEP-enképhalinase caractérisé à ce jour chez le mammifère, se révèle être le prototype de molécules mimétiques d'intérêt thérapeutique chez l'homme, en particulier dans le traitement de la douleur.

Légendes de la photo : Images de macro- et micro-autoradiographies représentatives de la biodistribution des organes, tissus et cellules cibles systémiques de la sialorphine radiomarquée (3H), in vivo, chez le rat mâle : Analyses à l'aide des systèmes d'autoradiographie quantitative, Bêta-Imager et Micro-Imager (visualisation des organes et tissues cibles, respectivement, de couleur rouge ; collaboration avec A. Cardona, URE en Histotechnologie et Pathologie); et analyse micro-autoradiographique (visualisation des cellules cibles représentées par les grains d'argent en noir).

Mots-clés: Pharmacologie, Douleur, Stress, Médiateur peptidique hormonal, Opiacé, Enképhalinase



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
    Rougeot, Catherine, Institut Pasteur, (chef de laboratoire, crougeot@pasteur.fr) Marcel, Audrey, Etudiante DESS “Génie Cellulaire” (Nancy) Wisner, Anne, Ingénieur de recherche Institut Pasteur, awisner@pasteur.fr

Dufour,Evelyne, Technicien Supérieur Institut Pasteur, edufour@pasteur.fr

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr