Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Cyanobacteria - CNRS URA 2172


  Director : TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole (ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Cyanobacteria appeared on our planet about 3 billion years ago and contribute even today, by their ability to perform oxygenic photosynthesis, to the balance between CO2 and O2 in the atmosphere. Adapted to a wide range of environmental conditions, including extreme ones, they colonize most aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. Some of them produce hepatotoxins or neurotoxins harmful to animals and Man. The main objective of our research programme is to increase, by applying a polyphasic approach, our knowledge of the biodiversity, the physiology and the genome of cyanobacteria, to elucidate their modes of acclimation to the environment, the bases of their toxicity, as well as to exploit their biotechnological potential.



  report

cale

1. The PCC or "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria" (R. Rippka, I. Iteman, M. Welker, M. Herdman, K. Comte, A. Trottet, S. Cadel, T. Coursin, T. Laurent)

The PCC is internationally recognized both for the quality of the strains (axenic cultures) and for the diversity of their morphological and physiological properties.

The PCC has several missions that include both service and research activities:

- Preservation and development of biological resources (750 strains representing 57 genera); strain identification by a polyphasic approach; 475 strains are presented in a catalogue (http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/); three strains of Nostoc ellipsosporum, potentially producing cyanovirin-N, an antiviral protein, and one strain of Calothrix were purified and included in the PCC. In the frame of the European project COBRA "The Conservation of a vital European scientific and biotechnological resource: microalgae and cyanobacteria" (http://www.cobra.ac.uk/introduction/html/about_COBRA.cfm), cryopreservation methods were tested. A PCR-method using primers based on the repetitive repeat sequence HIP1 was validated for rapid genotyping of strains from different culture collections.

- Consultation and sale of strains (about 200 in 2003) to research and industrial laboratories all over the world, including teaching institutions in France.

- Development of molecular tools for identification of cyanobacteria in culture and their detection and monitoring in the environment. A DNA/DNA hybridization technique in micro-titre plates, easier and faster to perform than the traditional method in liquid phase, has been optimized. Members of the genus Trichodesmium are marine, non-heterocystous cyanobacteria that as diazotrophs play an important role in the biogeochemical cycles of the South-east Pacific Ocean. The morphology of trichomes originating from three regions of New Caledonia (Nouméa, Bourail and Thio) has been analysed by light microscopy. This permitted to distinguish two species of Trihodesmium, T. erythraeum and T. thiebautii, as well as two species of the genus Katagnymene, K. spiralis and K. pelagica. Several tools of genotyping were applied to confirm the identification based on microscopic examination and to evaluate the genetic biodiversity of these marine cyanobacteria (Coll. LeBorgne, IRD, Nouméa, New-Caledonia).

- Search for and characterisation of bioactive molecules of pharmaceutical interest. In collaboration with V. Bultel, (Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris), a cytotoxic molecule, the cylindrocyclophan, produced by strain PCC 7417 has been characterized. In the frame of the European project PEPCY " Toxic and Bioactive Peptides in Cyanobacteria "  (http://www.umweltbundesamt.de/pepcy/), two new clusters of genes encoding polyketide synthases in Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 were identified. Analyses are in progress to correlate the presence of these genes with the corresponding products in other planktonic strains of the PCC.

Several databases in constant evolution are maintained in the Unit:

- "CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access): properties of the strains in the PCC; "ITS size database": number and size of ITS amplicons (300 entries); "Photographic database" (610 entries); "Storage database": list of strains preserved in liquid nitrogen; the last three modules interact with Cyanobank.

- Databases independent of CYANOBANK: "ITS sequence database" with 296 aligned sequences; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" (software ARB) with more than 900 aligned sequences; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" with more than 13000 sequences, permitting the design of oligonucleotide primers and probes; database (software GelCompare) of profiles generated by ITS-RFLP and amplification with HIP1 extended primers.

Anticipating the future integration of the PCC in the Centre for Biological Resources at the Pasteur Institute, steps towards quality control and transfer of the strain information from the PCC databases to the ARPAS software are in progress.

Expertises of cyanobacterial identification and determination of hepatotoxins in samples from surface waters are performed in collaboration with J.M. Delattre (Department of Waters and Environment, IP-Lille). In 2003, fifty-five expertises have been performed for DDASS in diverse regions of France.

2. Molecular mechanisms of the acclimation of cyanobacteria to the environment (N. Tandeau de Marsac, A. Mlouka, K. Comte, A.M. Castets)

Light and nutrients act in a number of regulatory circuits in cyanobacterial metabolism, and play a key role in the formation of water blooms in planktonic species.

PII, a key protein for the coordination of the carbon and nitrogen metabolism in cyanobacteria

PII (GlnB) is a signal transducer protein found in eubacteria and archaebacteria, as well as in plants and algae. The tridimensional structure of PII from Synechococcus PCC 7942 and Synechocystis PCC 6803 were determined by X-ray crystallography. Although the PII proteins from cyanobacteria and from E. coli react with different receptors, the core of the molecule is highly conserved. In contrast, the T- and C- loops differ in agreement with the hypothesis that these regions are important for specific receptor recognition. The residue Gln57, only present in cyanobacterial PII sequences, seems also to be involved in such recognition events.(Coll. S.G. Vasudevan, James Cook University and D.L. Ollis, Australian National University, Australia).

Twelve genes are required for gas vesicle formation in Microcystis aeruginosa

Cyanobacteria of the genus Microcystis are planktonic and most of them are hepatotoxic. Due to an abundant synthesis of intracellular buoyant structures, the gas vesicles ( GV), they form under our latitude very dense blooms at the surface of water bodies during summer times. For the first time, a cluster of 12 genes encoding components involved in gas vesicle synthesis of Microcystis has been characterized. Ten of these genes are organized in two operons whose transcription is segmented, and two genes are independently transcribed. Analyses of four GV- mutants revealed DNA rearrangements due to insertion elements of the IS1, IS4 and IS5 families. Three of them were located in gvpN, gvpV or gvpW, the fourth one led to the deletion of the gvpAI-AIII region. The gvpA gene encoding the major structural protein remains transcribed but the corresponding protein is not synthesized in the three mutants, GvpN-, GvpV- and GvpW-. gvpV and gvpW are two new genes involved in the synthesis of GV in bacteria and cyanobacteria.

An ancestral Rubisco in Microcystis aeruginosa

Like all photosynthetic organisms that fix atmospheric CO2, M. aeruginosa synthesizes a ribulose diphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (Rubisco) of type I, whose structure is L8S8. The new gene identified in M. aeruginosa PCC 7806 encodes a Rubisco of type IV whose in vitro structure is a dimer. In spite of the variations in the primary sequences, the secondary and tertiary structures of the Rubisco of type IV are similar to the Rubisco of types I, II and III described so far. The Rubisco of type IV is widely distributed among Microcystis strains, but absent in the ten cyanobacterial genomes sequenced to date (Coll. E. Dittmann, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany).

3. Biosynthesis and detection of neurotoxins (A. Méjean, A. Coquin)

Cyanobacteria synthesize different types of neurotoxins that are lethal for animals and dangerous for Man. Several structural homologs of anatoxin-a and homoanatoxin-a have been characterized, following analyses of cyanobacterial cell extracts. Anatoxin-a and homoanatoxin-a labelled with 13C were biosynthesized for use as standards in metabolic studies or for quantification of these neurotoxins in environmental samples. A study of the relationship between neurotoxicity and the presence of genes encoding polyketide synthases in PCC strains is in progress.

4. Cyanobacterial genomes (N. Tandeau de Marsac, P. Quillardet, A.M. Castets)

- Sequencing of the genome of the hepatotoxic cyanobacterium Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 is pursued at the Génopole, Institute Pasteur (Coll. S. Cole and C. Bouchier, Plate-forme Technique 1-Genomics, P. Glaser and F. Kunst, Laboratoire de Génomique des Micro-organismes Pathogènes). A declaration of invention has been deposited in Germany, following the discovery of a gene encoding microvirin, an antiviral protein (Coll. E. Dittmann, Humboldt Universität, Germany).

- The sequence the genome of Prochlorococcus marinus SS120 is now available on the web sites: http://www.bart.sb-roscoff.fr/blast/blastSS120.html or http://www.kazusa.or.jp/cyano/ (Coll. F. Partensky, Station Biologique, Roscoff, and the Génoscope, Evry, France). This marine cyanobacterium, very abundant in tropical and subtropical oceans, is the smallest photosynthetic microorganism (0.6 μm). Compared to other cyanobacteria, the genome of SS120 (1.75 Mbp, about 1900 genes) is remarkable by its compactness and low number of genes involved in regulatory systems or the perception of environmental signals. This genome permits to identify the minimal set of genes required to perform photosynthesis.

Photos : Marine cyanobacteria of the genera Trichodesmium (left) and Prochlorococcus (right)

Keywords: Collection of cyanobacteria (PCC), Databases, Biodiversity, Toxins, Metabolism, Genome



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  LEFEBVRE, Jacqueline (jlefebvr@pasteur.fr) HERDMAN Michael, CNRS (Researcher, mherdman@pasteur.fr)

HERDMAN/RIPPKA Rosmarie, IP (Researcher, rrippka@pasteur.fr)

ITEMAN Isabelle, IP (Researcher, iiteman@pasteur.fr)

MEJEAN Annick, Université Paris 7 (Maître de Conférences, amejean@pasteur.fr)

QUILLARDET Philippe, IP (Researcher, philqui@pasteur.fr)

CADEL Sabrina, Student

COMTE Katia, Postdoc

MARTENS Lina, Student

MLOUKA Alyssa, PhD student

MONARD Cécile, DEA student

QUEST Benjamin, Postdoc

TROTTET Aurore, DEA student

WELKER Hans-Martin, Postdoc

CASTETS Anne-Marie, CNRS (Assitant-Engineer, acastets@pasteur.fr)

COURSIN Thérèse, IP (Techician, tcoursin@pasteur.fr)

LAURENT Thierry, IP (Techician, tlaurent@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Cyanobactéries - CNRS URA 2172


  Responsable : TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole (ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

A l'origine de l'apparition de l'oxygène sur notre planète il y a plus de 3 milliards d'années, les cyanobactéries, par leur activité photosynthétique, participent encore de nos jours au maintien de l'équilibre des proportions entre le CO2 et l'oxygène dans l'atmosphère. Adaptées à des environnements même extrêmes, elles colonisent la plupart des écosystèmes aquatiques et terrestres. Nombre d'entre elles forment des efflorescences responsables de nuisances dans l'environnement et synthétisent des métabolites secondaires (hépatotoxines et neurotoxines) toxiques pour l'Homme et l'animal. L'objectif de nos travaux de recherche est de développer, par une approche pluridisciplinaire, notre connaissance de la biodiversité, de la physiologie et du génome des cyanobactéries, afin d'élucider leurs modes d'adaptation à l'environnement et les bases de leur toxicité, et d'exploiter leurs potentialités biotechnologiques.



  rapport

cale

1. La PCC ou "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria" (R. Rippka, I. Iteman, M. Welker, M. Herdman, K. Comte, A. Trottet, S. Cadel, T. Coursin, T. Laurent)

La PCC est internationalement reconnue tant pour la qualité (cultures pures) que pour la diversité des propriétés morphologiques et physiologiques de ses souches.

Les missions de la PCC comprennent à la fois des activités de service et de recherche :

- Préservation et accroissement des ressources biologiques (750 souches représentant 57 genres), avec identification des souches par une approche polyphasique ; 475 souches sont disponibles sur catalogue (http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/) ; trois souches de Nostoc ellipsosporum, susceptibles de synthétiser une protéine antivirale, la cyanoviridine-N, et une souche de Calothrix ont été purifiées et introduites dans la collection PCC. Dans le cadre du projet européen COBRA "The Conservation of a vital european scientific and biotechnological resource: microalgae and cyanobacteria" (http://www.cobra.ac.uk/introduction/html/about_COBRA.cfm), des méthodes de cryopréservation sont actuellement testées. L'utilisation d'amorces basées sur les séquences répétées de type HIP1 pour un génotypage rapide des souches provenant de différentes collections a été validée.

- Distribution et vente de souches (environ 200 en 2003) à des laboratoires de recherche et des industriels dans le monde entier, ainsi que pour l'enseignement en France, associée à une importante activité de conseil.

- Création d'outils moléculaires pour l'identification des cyanobactéries en culture ainsi que pour leurs détection et suivi dans l'environnement. Une technique d'hybridation ADN/ADN en microplaques plus simple et plus rapide que la méthode traditionnelle en phase liquide a été mise au point. Les espèces du genre Trichodesmium sont des cyanobactéries marines diazotrophes non-hétérocystées qui jouent un rôle important dans les cycles biogéochimiques dans l'Océan Pacifique sud-ouest. La morphologie des trichomes provenant de trois régions de la Nouvelle-Calédonie (Nouméa, Bourail et Thio) a été analysée par microscopie optique, ce qui a permis de mettre en évidence deux espèces de Trichodesmium, T. erythraeum et T. thiebautii, ainsi que deux espèces du genre Katagnymene, K. spiralis et K. pelagica. Plusieurs outils de génotypage applicables à des échantillons naturels ont été utilisés afin de confirmer l'identification par microscopie et d'apprécier la diversité génétique de ces cyanobactéries marines (Coll. R. Leborgne, IRD, Nouméa, Nouvelle-Calédonie).

- Valorisation par la recherche et la caractérisation de composés bioactifs d'intérêt pharmaceutique. En collaboration avec V. Bultel (Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris), une molécule cytotoxique, le cylindrocyclophane, a été caractérisée à partir de la souche PCC 7417. Dans le cadre du projet européen PEPCY " Toxic and Bioactive Peptides in Cyanobacteria "  (http://www.umweltbundesamt.de/pepcy/), deux nouveaux groupes de gènes codant des polykétide synthases ont été caractérisés chez Microcystis PCC 7806. Des analyses sont en cours, afin de corréler la présence de ces gènes et de leurs produits dans d'autres souches planctoniques de la PCC.

Plusieurs bases de données sont maintenues dans l'Unité :

- "CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access) : propriétés des souches de la PCC ; "ITS size database" : nombre et taille des amplicons des ITS (300 entrées) ; "Photographic database" : 610 entrées ; "Storage database" : inventaire des souches conservées dans l'azote liquide ; les trois derniers modules interagissent avec CYANOBANK.

- Bases de données indépendantes de CYANOBANK : "ITS sequence database" avec 296 séquences d'ITS de cyanobactéries alignées ; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", maintenue sous le logiciel ARB avec plus de 900 séquences alignées ; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", qui permet de choisir des amorces oligonucléotidiques ou des sondes et comprend plus de 13000 séquences ; bases de données (sous GelCompare) des profils RFLP des ITS et des profils obtenus par amplification avec des amorces basées sur les séquences HIP1.

Dans l'optique d'une intégration de la PCC dans le Centre de Ressources Biologiques de l'Institut Pasteur, la mise en place du contrôle qualité est en cours avec transfert progressif des données concernant les souches de la PCC dans le logiciel ARPAS.

Une activité d'expertise est en place pour l'identification des cyanobactéries et le dosage des hépatotoxines dans les eaux de surface (Coll. J.M. Delattre, Institut Pasteur de Lille). En 2003, cinquante-cinq expertises ont été faites pour des DDASS de diverses régions de France.

2. Mécanismes moléculaires de l'adaptation des cyanobactéries à l'environnement (N. Tandeau de Marsac, A. Mlouka, K. Comte, A.M. Castets)

La lumière et les nutriments interviennent dans de nombreux circuits de régulation du métabolisme chez les cyanobactéries et jouent un rôle essentiel dans la formation des efflorescences chez les espèces planctoniques.

PII, une protéine-clé pour la coordination entre le métabolisme du carbone et de l'azote chez les cyanobacteries

La protéine PII (GlnB) est un transmetteur de signal ubiquiste que l'on rencontre aussi bien chez les eubactéries et les archaebactéries que chez les algues et les plantes. Les structures tridimensionnelles des PII de Synechocystis PCC 6803 et de Synechococcus PCC 7942 ont été déterminées par cristallographie aux rayons X. Bien que les protéines PII des cyanobactéries et celle d'E. coli réagissent avec des récepteurs différents, le centre de la molécule est très conservé. En revanche, les " T-loop " et " C-loop " diffèrent, ce qui conforte l'hypothèse selon laquelle ces régions sont importantes pour la spécificité de reconnaissance des récepteurs. Il en est de même pour le résidu Gln57 qui est spécifique des séquences de cyanobactéries (Coll. S.G. Vasudevan, James Cook University et D.L. Ollis, Australian National University, Australie).

Douze gènes sont requis pour la synthèse des vésicules à gaz chez Microcystis aeruginosa

Les cyanobactéries du genre Microcystis sont planctoniques et un grand nombre d'entre elles sont hépatotoxiques. Elles forment des efflorescences à la surface des plans d'eau en périodes estivales sous notre latitude, grâce à une abondante synthèse de "flotteurs" intracellulaires, les vésicules à gaz (GV). Un groupe de 12 gènes codant des protéines impliquées dans la synthèse des GV a été caractérisé pour la première fois chez M. aeruginosa. Dix d'entre eux sont organisés en deux opérons, gvpAIAIIAIIICNJX et gvpKFG, et deux autres, gvpV et gvpW sont transcrits indépendamment. L'analyse de quatre mutants GV- a mis en évidence des réarrangements génomiques dus à des élements d'insertion des familles IS1, IS4 et IS5. Trois d'entre eux interrompent gvpN, gvpV ou gvpW et le quatrième conduit à une délétion de la région gvpAI-AIII. Le gène gvpA qui code la protéine de structure majeure est transcrit dans les mutants GvpN-, GvpV- et GvpW- mais la protéine correspondante n'est plus synthétisée. gvpV et gvpW sont deux nouveaux gènes impliqués dans la synthèse des GV chez les bactéries et les cyanobactéries.

Une Rubisco ancestrale mise en évidence chez Microcystis aeruginosa

Comme tous les organismes qui fixent le CO2 atmosphérique au cours de la photosynthèse, M. aeruginosa synthétise une ribulose diphosphate carboxylase/oxygénase (Rubisco) de type I, de structure L8S8. Le nouveau gène identifié chez M. aeruginosa PCC 7806 code une Rubisco de type IV dont la structure est un dimère in vitro. En dépit des grandes variations de séquences en acides aminés, les structures secondaires et tertiaires de la Rubisco de type IV est semblable à celle des Rubisco des types I, II et III. La Rubisco de type IV est largement distribuée parmi les souches du genre Microcystis, mais absente des dix génomes de cyanobactéries séquencés jusqu'à présent (Coll. E. Dittmann, Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Allemagne).

3. Biosynthèse et détection des neurotoxines (A. Méjean, A. Coquin)

Les cyanobactéries synthétisent différents types d'alcaloïdes neurotoxiques qui sont mortels pour les animaux et dangereux pour l'Homme. Plusieurs homologues structuraux de l'anatoxine-a et de l'homoanatoxine-a ont été caractérisés à partir d'extraits cyanobactériens. De l'anatoxine-a et de l'homoanatoxine-a marquées au carbone 13 ont été biosynthétisées, afin d'être utilisées comme standards dans des études métaboliques ou pour la quantification de ces neurotoxines dans des échantillons naturels. Une étude de la relation entre la neurotoxicité et la présence de gènes codant des polykétide synthases impliquées dans la biosynthèse des anatoxines-a dans des souches de la collection PCC est en cours.

4. Génomes cyanobactériens (N. Tandeau de Marsac, P. Quillardet, A.M. Castets)

- Le séquençage du génome de la cyanobactérie hépatotoxique Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 est en cours à la génopole de l'Institut Pasteur (Coll. S. Cole et C. Bouchier, Plate-forme Technique 1-Génomique, et P. Glaser et F. Kunst du Laboratoire de Génomique des Micro-organismes Pathogènes). Le gène codant une protéine antivirale, la microvirine, a fait l'objet d'une déclaration d'invention en Allemagne (Coll. E. Dittmann, Humboldt Universität, Allemagne).

- La séquence du génome de Prochlorococcus marinus SS120 est maintenant disponible sur les sites web suivants : http://www.bart.sb-roscoff.fr/blast/blastSS120.html ou http://www.kazusa.or.jp/cyano/ (Coll. F. Partensky, Station Biologique de Roscoff, et le Génoscope d'Evry). Cette cyanobactérie marine, très abondante dans les océans tropicaux et subtropicaux, est le plus petit microorganisme photosynthétique (0,6 μm). Comparé aux autres génomes cyanobactériens, celui de SS120 (1,75 Mb ; environ 1900 gènes) est particulièrement compact, avec très peu de gènes impliqués dans des systèmes de régulation ou de perception des signaux environnementaux. Ce génome permet d'identifier le minimum de gènes requis pour la photosynthèse.

Légendes des photos : Cyanobactéries marines des genres Trichodesmium (gauche) et Prochlorococcus (droite).

Mots-clés: Collection de cyanobactéries (PCC), Bases de données, Biodiversité, Toxines, Métabolisme, Génome



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  LEFEBVRE, Jacqueline (jlefebvr@pasteur.fr) HERDMAN Michael, CNRS (Chargé de Recherche, mherdman@pasteur.fr)

HERDMAN/RIPPKA Rosmarie, IP (Chargé de Recherche, rrippka@pasteur.fr)

ITEMAN Isabelle, IP (Chargé de Recherche, iiteman@pasteur.fr)

MEJEAN Annick, Université Paris 7 (Maître de Conférences, amejean@pasteur.fr)

QUILLARDET Philippe, IP (Chargé de Recherche, philqui@pasteur.fr)

CADEL Sabrina, Etudiante stagiaire

COMTE Katia, Chercheur Post-doctorale

MARTENS Lina, Etudiante stagiaire

MLOUKA Alyssa, Etudiante en Thèse

MONARD Cécile, Etudiante en DEA

QUEST Benjamin, Chercheur Post-doctoral

TROTTET Aurore, Etudiante en DEA

WELKER Hans-Martin, Chercheur Post-doctoral

CASTETS Anne-Marie, CNRS (Assitante-Ingénieur, acastets@pasteur.fr)

COURSIN Thérèse, IP (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire, tcoursin@pasteur.fr)

LAURENT Thierry, IP (Technicien de Laboratoire, tlaurent@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr