Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Pathogenesis of Lentiviral Infections


  Director : HURTREL Bruno (bhurtrel@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit has used the SIVmac model, involving the infection of macaques to focus its efforts on two problems fundamental to understanding the physiopathology of HIV infection but impossible to study in humans: 1) lymphocyte dynamics and the mechanisms by which viral replication is controlled during primary infection, the final aim of this work being the reorientation of vaccine studies and 2) the physiopathological mechanisms underlying HIV encephalopathy.



  report

cale

1. Analysis of the mechanisms controlling viral replication during primary infection with SIV; relationship to disease progression

This phase cannot be investigated in clinical studies in humans because it is generally asymptomatic and therefore undiagnosed. The macaque SIVmac251 infection model is almost identical to human HIV infection in physiopathological terms. During primary infection, the lymphoid organs are at the centre of the physiopathological process because they constitute the source of both viral dissemination and the effector cells of the immune system. Extremely precise analysis of viral replication and of the target cells, in lymph nods by means of a combination of immunolabelling and in situ hybridisation, and in the bloodstream, made it possible to correlate the capacity of each individual to eliminate the viral load during primary infection with subsequent disease progression. An exhaustive study of the virological and immunological events occurring in the days following infection identified two predictive factors: the precocity of viral replication and severe immunodepression following the start of viral replication seven to 14 days after infection that decreased or abolished immune responses directed against SIV and unrelated antigens. We have demonstrated that the intense apoptosis occurring during this period, by abolishing the antiviral immune response, affects the ultimate prognosis of the infection. This led us to investigate the cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying this cell death process. In parallel, we studied the dynamics of lymphocyte activation and proliferation during infections with the pathogenic virus SIVmac251 and the attenuated virus SIVmac?nef. Understanding these relationships (viral replication – cellular activation – immune response – apoptosis) occurring during primary infection is fundamental for the development of a vaccine effective against HIV infection. Our work today aims to determine the role of chemokine receptors, which serve as the points of entry for HIV and SIV, as a means of identifying the host factors likely to reflect these differences in progression between individuals at a very early stage.

An understanding of the physiopathology of primary infection with pathogenic and non-pathogenic viruses should make it possible to approach vaccine development from a physiopathological viewpoint.

2) Physiopathology of encephalopathies due to lentiviral infections

The problems posed by the neurological disorders associated with AIDS, a major complication of this disease, are poorly understood. This is because analysis in humans is extremely difficult because we have access only to cerebralspinal fluid and post-mortem pathology samples. Macaques infected with SIVmac251 present encephalopathies identical to those described in humans, making it possible to carry out exhaustive longitudinal studies. Using this model, we have demonstrated the passage of infected cells, essential of monocyte origin, into the brain during primary infection. These infected cells triggered a latent encephalopathy. In situ hybridisation showed that, throughout infection, the virus was present and replicated at a low rate within the central nervous system (CNS) in cells of the monocyte lineage (macrophages and microglial cells). With the aim of testing the various hypotheses currently put forward to explain the neuropathogenicity of HIV, we quantified very rigorously the lesions present in the CNS in this model, and compared the results obtained with those for virus production. We demonstrated the absence of a relationship between plasma viral load and the cerebral lesions induced. One of the fundamental questions concerning the asymptomatic period is viral turnover in the CNS. Our recent work in macaques has demonstrated that the viruses found within the CNS originate essentially from primary infection. In contrast, none of the new pseudospecies characterised in the periphery were found in the CNS during the asymptomatic phase. These results provide new evidence that treatment should be initiated as soon as possible during primary infection.

Keywords: Virology, AIDS, primary-infection, apoptosis, encephalopathy



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Guesdon, Sylviane, cayre@pasteur.fr Hurtrel Bruno, Institut Pasteur, chef de laboratoire, bhurtrel@pasteur.fr

Estaquier Jérôme, INSERM, chargé de recherche, jestaqui@pasteur.fr

Brussel Audrey, postdoctorant

Petit Frédéric, postdoctorant

Ho Stang Fang Raphaël, doctorant

Viollet Laurence, doctorant

Cumont Marie-Christine, ITA, mcumont@pasteur.fr

Monceaux Valérie, ITA, vmonceaux@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Physiopathologie des Infections Lentivirales


  Responsable : HURTREL Bruno (bhurtrel@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

En utilisant le modèle macaque infecté par l'homologue du VIH chez le macaque, le SIVmac, l'Unité a concentré ses efforts sur deux problématiques, fondamentales pour la compréhension de la physiopathologie de l'infection par le HIV et impossibles à étudier chez l'homme: 1) l'étude de la dynamique lymphocytaire et des mécanismes de contrôle de la réplication virale durant la phase de primo-infection, l'objectif final de ce travail étant une réorientation des recherches vaccinales à développer, 2) l'étude des mécanismes physiopathologiques de l'encéphalopathie à HIV.



  rapport

cale

1) Analyse des mécanismes de contrôle de la réplication virale durant la phase de primo-infection par le SIV, relation avec l'évolution de la maladie

Cette phase ne peut faire l'objet de recherches cliniques chez l'homme, parce qu'elle est généralement asymptomatique et donc, non diagnostiquée. Le modèle animal macaque infecté par le SIVmac251présente une physiopathologie quasi identique à l'infection humaine par le HIV. Durant la primo-infection, les organes lymphoïdes sont au centre du processus physiopathologique car ils constituent à la fois une source de dissémination du virus mais aussi des cellules effectrices de l'immunité. Une analyse extrêmement précise de la réplication virale et des cellules cibles au sein des ganglions lymphatiques par immunomarquage et hybridation in situ combinés et au niveau circulant a permis de corréler l'aptitude de chaque individu à éliminer la charge virale durant la primo-infection avec l'évolution ultérieure de la maladie. Une étude exhaustive des événements virologiques et immunologiques survenant dans les jours qui suivent l'infection a montré l'existence de deux facteurs prédictifs : la précocité de la réplication virale et une immunodépression sévère qui suit le décours de la réplication survenant entre le 7ème et le 14ème jour post infection, qui diminue ou supprime les réponses immunitaires dirigées contre le SIV mais aussi contre des antigènes non apparentés. Nous avons mis en évidence que l'apoptose intense qui survenait durant cette période, en supprimant la réponse immunitaire antivirale, conditionnait le pronostic ultérieur de l'infection. Ainsi, nous avons entrepris une étude des mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires qui participent à ces processus de mort cellulaire. Parrallèlement à l'apoptose, nous étudions la dynamique d'activation et de prolifération lymphocytaire au cours des infections pathogènes SIVmac251 ou atténuées SIVmacD nef. La compréhension de ces interrelations, réplication virale – activation cellulaire - réponse immunitaire – apoptose, survenant durant la primo-infection, est fondamentale pour la mise au point d'un vaccin efficace dans l'infection par le HIV. Afin de préciser les facteurs d'hôtes susceptibles très précocement de rendre compte de ces différences d'évolution entre individus, nos travaux visent aujourd'hui à préciser le rôle des récepteurs aux chimiokines, portes d'entrées des VIH/VIS.

Ainsi , la compréhension de la physiopathologie de la primo-infection induite avec des virus pathogènes et non pathogènes nous permet d'aborder les problèmes vaccinaux d'un point de vue physiopathologique.

2) Physiopathologie des encéphalopathies induites par les infections lentivirales

Les problèmes posés par la neuropathologie associée au SIDA, complication majeure de cette maladie, restent dans leur ensemble incompris. Ceci vient du fait que l'analyse chez l'homme est extrêmement malaisée puisque ne sont accessibles que le liquide céphalo-rachidien et les prélèvements anatomopathologiques post mortem des phases terminales. Le modèle macaque infecté par le SIVmac251 présente des encéphalopathies identiques à celles décrites chez l'homme, il permet donc des études exhaustives longitudinales. Avec ce modèle nous avons mis en évidence le passage de cellules infectées, essentiellement d'origine monocytaire, au sein de l'encéphale durant la primo-infection. Ces cellules infectées induisent une encéphalopathie latente. Par hybridation in situ, il a été montré que tout au long de l'infection, le virus était présent et se répliquait à bas bruit au sein du système nerveux central (SNC) dans les cellules issues de la lignée monocytaire (macrophage, microglie). Afin de tester les différentes hypothèses actuellement évoquées pour expliquer la neuropathogénicité du HIV, nous avons effectué dans ce modèle une quantification très rigoureuse des lésions présentes dans le SNC que nous avons comparées aux productions virales. Nous avons montré l'absence de relation entre la charge virale plasmatique et les lésions cérébrales induites. L'une des questions fondamentales concernant la période asymptomatique est le renouvellement viral au sein du SNC. Nos travaux récents menés chez le macaque, nous ont permis de montrer que les virus retrouvés au sein du SNC proviennent essentiellement de la primo-infection. Par contre toutes les quasi-espèces virales nouvelles caractérisées au niveau périphérique ne sont jamais retrouvées au sein du SNC. Ces résultats sont en faveur du non passage des virus pérphériques au sein du SNC durant la phase asymptomatique. Ces résultats constituent un nouvel élément en faveur d'un traitement le plus précoce possible de la primo-infection.

Mots-clés: Virologie, sida, primo-infection, apoptose, encephalopathie



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Guesdon, Sylviane, cayre@pasteur.fr Hurtrel Bruno, Institut Pasteur, chef de laboratoire, bhurtrel@pasteur.fr

Estaquier Jérôme, INSERM, chargé de recherche, jestaqui@pasteur.fr

Brussel Audrey, postdoctorant

Petit Frédéric, postdoctorant

Ho Stang Fang Raphaël, doctorant

Viollet Laurence, doctorant

Cumont Marie-Christine, ITA, mcumont@pasteur.fr

Monceaux Valérie, ITA, vmonceaux@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr