Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Oncogenesis and Molecular Virology  - INSERM U.579


  Director : Marie-Annick BUENDIA (mbuendia@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our Unit is investigating the molecular mechanisms of liver carcinogenesis in humans and in murine models. We are particularly interested in better understanding the role of hepatitis B virus, notably the regulatory protein HBx, and in defining the factors implicated in liver cell transformation upon abnormal reactivation of the WNT/ß-catenin signaling pathway in hepatocellular carcinoma and hepatoblastoma.



  report

cale

Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) is the predominant type of primary liver cancer, affecting epithelial cells of the hepatic parenchyma, the hepatocytes. This tumor ranks among of the commonest human cancers, and because it is usually fatal within a few months of diagnosis, it represents a leading cause of cancer death worldwide. HCC is also one of the rare human neoplasms epidemiologically related to viral infections : over 70% of HCC cases are associated with chronic infection with hepatitis B (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV). In particular, HBV infection remains a major risk factor, despite the availability of an efficient and safe vaccine. However, the molecular basis of liver carcinogenesis remains incompletely understood. Several oncogenic pathways have been implicated, including abnormal reactivation of WNT/ß-catenin signaling. This pathway plays a predominant role in the development of hepatoblastoma, a rare embryonic liver tumor.

Our research Unit was created in April 2003. During this year, we have analyzed the mechanisms regulating the functional activity of two proteins involved in liver oncogenesis : the transcriptional transactivator HBx of hepatitis B virus, and the oncoprotein ß-catenin, which is frequently mutated in human cancers. A major objective is to identify the cellular genes that are activated by these proteins, and to better understand their role in human and murine hepatocarcinogenesis.

1- Analysis of the viral regulatory protein HBx

(Christine Neuveut, Yuanfei WU, Julie Caramel, Delphine Cougot)

The HBx protein of hepatitis B virus is a transcriptional transactivator endowed with weak oncogenic properties, and it has been implicated in cell cycle control and apoptosis, and as a co-factor in liver carcinogenesis. Our project aims at better understanding the regulation of HBx transcriptional activity. We are currently analyzing HBx interactions with histone acetyltransferases and deacetylases and subsequent post-translational modifications of HBx. Our recent data indicate that HBx is acetylated in vivo, and we are investigating the effects of this modification on known HBx functions, including interaction with cellular partners, subcellular localization, and role in viral replication and oncogenesis. A second theme is the search for cellular genes that are regulated by HBx in primary human hepatocytes and in mouse liver. By its activities in the viral life cycle and in liver tumorigenesis, HBx represents a major therapeutic target for combating HBV-induced carcinogenesis.

2- Oncogenic activation of ß-catenin

(Yu Wei, Charlotte Labalette, Christine Neuveut, Claire-Angélique Renard)

We have previously demonstrated that the Wnt pathway is frequently activated by stabilizing mutations of ß-catenin in HCC and in hepatoblastoma. Our objectives are to characterize the network of factors involved in liver carcinogenesis induced by oncogenic ß-catenin, including interacting partners and downstream target genes of ß-catenin in the liver context. In a recent work, we have identified the LIM protein FHL2 as a new ß-catenin binding protein. LIM domains are made of double zinc fingers rich in cysteines and histidines, and LIM proteins are viewed as adaptors capable of mediating protein interactions. We have shown that FHL2 behaves as a coactivator of the nuclear ß-catenin/Tcf complex, and that it interacts and synergizes with CBP/p300 in transcriptional activation of Wnt-responsive genes. In parallel studies, we have demonstrated that interaction of ß-catenin with p300 leads to acetylation of ß-catenin at lysine 345, thus increasing ß-catenin affinity for Tcf4 and transcriptional activity of the ß-catenin-Tcf complex. This process is stimulated by FHL2. The second aspect of our project is to identify downstream targets of activated ß-catenin using microarray analysis in primary human hepatocytes and murine hepatocellular carcinomas. Our recent work has allowed us to characterize a number of ß-catenin target genes in the liver context, and we are studying the role of these genes in liver carcinogenesis. Our group is the main investigator for the study of hepatoblastoma in a national program of tumor expression profiling (CIT project of the Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer), in collaboration with different French hospitals. The aim of our project is to generate new molecular markers for tumor diagnosis and prognosis, and novel approaches for liver cancer therapy.

3- Murine models of liver tumorigenesis

(Claire-Angélique Renard, Charlotte Labalette, Yu Wei)

In WHV/myc transgenic mice, liver-specific expression of the c-myc or N-myc oncogene driven by hepatitis virus regulatory elements leads to the development of primary liver tumors in all animals within 12 months in average. These models are used to analyze the oncogenic steps in liver oncogenesis. A major project is to analyze gene expression profiles and genetic alterations of liver tumors induced by Myc in the context of the CIT program of the Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer. In a collaborative project recently initiated within Pasteur Institute (PTR 136), the WHV/myc transgenic mice will be used to monitor potential anti-tumor effects of proapoptotic biopeptides.

The importance of the coactivator FHL2 in tumorigenesis will be evaluated in murine models. Both FHL2-null mice (collaboration: Ju Chen, UCSD) after crossing with different oncomice that develop liver or colon tumors, and transgenic mice expressing FHL2 in liver and intestine under control of the ApoA-IV promoter-enhancer.

Photo : ß-catenin expression in human liver (left) and in hepatocellular carcinoma carrying a stabilizing mutation of ß-catenin (right). The normal ß-catenin protein is localized at the lateral plasma membrane in hepatocytes, and the mutated form accumulates in cytoplasmic and nuclear compartments of tumor cells.

Keywords: cancer, virology, hepatitis, transcription regulation, acetylation, transgenic mice



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  DA Louise-Marie IP lmda@pasteur.fr BUENDIA Marie-Annick DR1 CNRS mbuendia@pasteur.fr

NEUVEUT Christine CR2 INSERM cneuveut@pasteur.fr

WEI Yu CR IP ywei@pasteur.fr
CARAMEL Julie DEA Student (January-September 2003)

COUGOT Delphine DEA Student (October-December 2003)

DELAYE Maurine ESTBA Student

LABALETTE Charlotte Ph.D. Student

WU Yuanfei Ph.D. Student

RENARD Claire-Angélique Technician, IP

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Oncogenèse et Virologie Moléculaire  - INSERM U.579


  Responsable : Marie-Annick BUENDIA (mbuendia@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les travaux de l'Unité sont centrés sur l'étude des mécanismes moléculaires du développement du cancer du foie, chez l'homme et dans des modèles animaux. Nous développons deux axes de recherche : le rôle du virus de l'hépatite B, en particulier la protéine régulatrice virale HBx, et l'activation oncogénique de la voie Wnt/ß-caténine dans l'hépatocarcinome et l'hépatoblastome.



  rapport

cale

La forme la plus fréquente du cancer primitif du foie est le carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC), qui affecte la cellule épithéliale du parenchyme hépatique : l'hépatocyte. Cette tumeur au pronostic sévère est responsable de 6,000 décès par an en France et représente à l'échelle mondiale la troisième cause de mortalité par cancer. C'est également l'un des rares cancers humains associés à des infections virales : plus de 70 % des cas sont associés à l'infection chronique par le virus de l'hépatite B (VHB) ou de l'hépatite C (VHC). En particulier, le VHB reste un facteur de risque majeur, malgré l'existence d'un vaccin sur et efficace. Néanmoins, les bases moléculaires du processus tumoral restent mal comprises. Plusieurs voies oncogéniques ont été impliquées, notamment la réactivation de la voie Wnt/ß-caténine. Cette voie joue un rôle prédominant dans le développement de l'hépatoblastome, une tumeur embryonnaire très rare.

Notre Unité de Recherche, créée en Avril 2003, étudie les mécanismes régulant l'activité fonctionnelle de deux protéines impliquées dans l'oncogenèse hépatique: la protéine transactivatrice HBx du virus de l'hépatite B, et une oncoprotéine fréquemment mutée dans les cancers humains, la ß-caténine. Nous recherchons les gènes dont l'expression est activée par ces deux protéines, et leur rôle dans la tumorigenèse hépatique humaine et murine.

1- Etude de la protéine régulatrice virale HBx

(Christine Neuveut, Yuanfei WU, Julie Caramel, Delphine Cougot)

La protéine HBx du VHB est un activateur transcriptionnel faiblement oncogénique, impliqué dans le contrôle du cycle cellulaire et de l'apoptose, et comme co-facteur dans l'oncogenèse. Notre projet vise à mieux comprendre les mécanismes régulant l'activité transcriptionnelle d'HBx par l'analyse des interactions de cette protéine avec les histone acetyltransférases et deacétylases, et des modifications post-traductionnelles qu'elle subit. Nos données récentes indiquent que la protéine HBx est acétylée in vivo, et nous recherchons les effets de cette modification sur les fonctions de la protéine, es interactions avec ses partenaires cellulaires, sa localisation dans la cellule, et sur la réplication virale et l'oncogenèse. Par ailleurs, la recherche des gènes dont l'expression est régulée par HBx est poursuivie dans les hépatocytes humains primaires et le foie de souris transgéniques. Par ses activités dans la réplication virale et la tumorigenèse, la protéine HBx représente une cible thérapeutique de choix pour lutter contre le développement tumoral induit par le VHB.

2- Activation oncogénique de la ß-caténine

(Yu Wei, Charlotte Labalette, Christine Neuveut, Claire-Angélique Renard)

Notre groupe a montré que la voie de signalisation Wnt est fréquemment activée dans l'hépatocarcinome et l'hépatoblastome par des mutations stabilisatrices de la ß-caténine. Le projet vise à caractériser le réseau de facteurs impliqués dans l'oncogenèse induite par la ß-caténine, incluant les partenaires cellulaires et les gènes cibles de la ß-caténine dans les tumeurs hépatiques. Nous avons récemment identifié un nouveau partenaire : la protéine à domaines LIM nommée FHL2. Les domaines LIM sont constitués de double doigts de zinc riches en cystéines et histidines, et les protéines LIM sont considérées comme des adaptateurs capables de médier l'interaction entre différentes protéines. FHL2 agit comme un co-activateur du complexe nucléaire ß-caténine/Tcf et synergise avec CBP/p300 dans l'activation des gènes cibles de Wnt. Par ailleurs, nous avons récemment montré que l'interaction de la ß-caténine avec p300 conduit à l'acétylation de la ß-caténine. Cette modification renforce l'affinité de la ß-caténine pour Tcf4 et l'activité transactivatrice du complexe, et ce processus est stimulé par FHL2. Le second volet du projet est l'étude par microarrays des gènes cibles de la ß-caténine dans les hépatocytes humains primaires et les hépatocarcinomes de souris. Ces travaux ont déjà permis de caractériser de nouvelles cibles de la ß-caténine dans le contexte hépatique, et nous étudions le rôle fonctionnel de ces facteurs dans l'hépatocarcinogenèse. Notre groupe coordonne une étude nationale du transcriptome de l'hépatoblastome dans le cadre du programme CIT de la Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer et en collaboration avec de nombreux centres hospitaliers L'objectif de ces travaux est d'identifier des marqueurs moléculaires pour le diagnostic et de nouvelles pistes pour le traitement du cancer du foie.

3- Modèles murins d'oncogenèse hépatique

(Claire-Angélique Renard, Charlotte Labalette, Yu Wei)

Les souris transgéniques WHV/myc expriment l'oncogène c-myc ou N-myc dans le foie sous contrôle de séquences régulatrices virales et développent systématiquement des tumeurs hépatiques à l'âge de 12 mois. Nous étudions dans ce modèle les étapes de l'hépatocarcinogenèse. Le transcriptome des tumeurs est analysé dans le cadre du projet CIT de la Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer. Un autre projet, en collaboration avec plusieurs Unités de l'Institut Pasteur, est d'utiliser ce modèle pour tester l'effet anti-tumoral préventif et curatif de biopeptides pro-apoptotiques (PTR 136, coordonnateur A. Garcia).

Afin d'évaluer l'importance du coactivateur FHL2 dans la tumorigenèse, nous étudierons le phénotype des souris invalidées pour FHL2 (collaboration Ju Chen, UCSD) après croisement avec différentes lignées de souris prédisposées à la cancérogenèse hépatique ou colique, et de souris transgéniques ApoA-IV-FHL2 exprimant FHL2 dans le foie et l'intestin.

Légende de la photo : Expression de la ß-caténine dans le foie humain (à gauche) et dans un carcinome hépatocellulaire portant une mutation stabilisatrice de la ß-caténine (à droite). La protéine est localisée à la membrane des hépatocytes dans le foie non tumoral, et la forme mutée s'accumule dans le cytoplasme et le noyau des cellules tumorales.

Mots-clés: cancer, virologie, hépatite, régulation de la transcription, acétylation, souris transgéniques



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  DA Louise-Marie IP lmda@pasteur.fr BUENDIA Marie-Annick DR1 CNRS mbuendia@pasteur.fr

NEUVEUT Christine CR2 INSERM cneuveut@pasteur.fr

WEI Yu CR IP ywei@pasteur.fr
CARAMEL Julie Etudiante DEA (Janvier-Septembre 2003)

COUGOT Delphine Etudiante DEA (Octobre-Décembre 2003)

DELAYE Maurine Stagiaire ESTBA

LABALETTE Charlotte Thèse

WU Yuanfei Thèse
RENARD Claire-Angélique Technicienne Supérieure, IP

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr