Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Mycobacterium Reference


  Director : Véronique Vincent (vvincent@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

A tuberculosis study in Cameroon showed a recent epidemiological change with a drastic decrease of Mycobacterium africanum, with less than 10% of cases. A new genetic family of M. tuberculosis recently emerged. This very homogenous family is highly prevalent, totalling more than 40% of cases.

New diagnostic techniques for tuberculosis are currently developed targeting manosylated proteins.



  report

cale

Mycobacterium National Reference Center (Gilles Marchal, Véronique Vincent, Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Anne Varnerot, Maria de Moura Goncalves, Nathalie Barilone, Cyril Dumontt)

Our laboratory is a National Reference Center and is implied in the surveillance of tuberculosis and other mycobacterial infections. The surveillance of multi-drug resistant tuberculosis, i.e. difficult to treat cases due to strains resistant to both major drugs isoniazide and rifampicin, is achieved by a systematic strain typing. Our laboratory is member of the WHO network of supranational laboratories for the surveillance of global antituberculous drug resistance. A training course for molecular typing techniques of tubercle bacilli has been organised since 2000. Member of the an ad hoc committee for the Conseil Supérieur d'Hygiène Publique de France, our CNR participated to recommendations of prevention and care of tuberculosis in France

Genetic biodiversity of tubercle bacilli in Cameroon (Sara Ngo Niobe - Eyangoh, Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez)

The study shows a recent epidemiological change of tubercle bacilli circulating in Cameroon. M. africanum represented more than 50% in 1970, but is currently isolated in less than 10% of cases. A highly prevalent genetic family of M. tuberculosis is recovered from approximately 40% of patients. This very homogenous family is also found in some other West African countries and in carabbean islands, tracing the slavery roads.

Taxonomy of tubercle bacilli (Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Véronique Vincent)

The definition of M. africanum has been revised in the light of newly described molecular markers, specially deleted regions identified in S. Cole's laboratory by genomic comparison of m. tuberculosis and M. bovis.

M. abscessus in cystic fibrosis (Véronique Vincent)

Our laboratory participates to a multicentric project for the determination of the incidence of mycobacterial infections in cystic fibrosis in children. A systematic search of mycobacteria in respiratory specimens has been initiated. M. abscessus is the main mycobacterial species involved in respiratory infections, detected in 5% of patients among approximately 10% of patients positive for mycobacteria. Molecular typing by pulsed-field gel electrophoresis shows the heterogeneity of strains and the absence of a common reservoir, specially nosocomial, and the absence of patient to patient transmission.

Interest of glycosylated proteins for the diagnosis of active tuberculosis (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot)

Tuberculosis diagnosis is difficult. Treatment is started whereas bacterial presence is detected in only 40% of cases. In our laboratory, we characterized antigens able to interact with cells (T lymphocytes), involved in the control of an experimental infection in guinea-pigs. These molecules are secreted during bacterial multiplication. Chemical analysis showed unique biochemical properties, with a high Proline content and the presence of glycosylated residues. Antigenic peptides are the glycosylated peptides. Purified molecules and synthetic peptides (in collaboration with Unité de Chimie organique) are recognised by lymphocytes from patients with active tuberculosis but not by lymphocytes from controls. This difference in the response of circulating lymphocytes, according to their source from patients or from contacts, will allow to develop a method for confirming active tuberculosis.

Interest of BCG in asthma treatment (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot, Micheline Lagranderie, Jean Lefort)

Asthma is a highly prevalent and serious health problem. In a murine experimental model of asthma, we studied the curative effect of BCG inactivated by freeze drying (EFD). After EFD-treatment, the parameters of asthma (airways eosinophilia and inflammation, bronchial hyperreactivity) were reduced.

Keywords: Tuberculosis, Epidemiology, Molecular typing, Immunodominant antigen, Mannosylation, Cystic fibrosis, Asthma



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Laurence Hay (1/2 temps)

Martine Mercier (1/2 temps)

Gilles Marchal, , Institut Pasteur, Professeur, gmarchal@pasteur.fr

Véronique Vincent, Institut Pasteur, Chef de Laboratoire, vvincent@pasteur.fr

Maria-Cristina Gutiérrez Perez, Institut Pasteur, Chargée de recherches, crisgupe@pasteur.fr

Sambo Boy

Borann Sar

Ayman Gafaar

Jerome Serand

Francoise Jaureguy

Céline Louveau

Mohammad Abolhassani

Sara Irène Ngo Niobe-Eyangoh

Félix Romain

Pierre Chavarot

Cyril Dumont

Eddie Maranghi

Maria de Moura Goncalves

Pascale Pescher

Nathalie Barilone

Anne Varnerot

Séverine Mazars


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Référence des Mycobactéries


  Responsable : Véronique Vincent (vvincent@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Une étude de la tuberculose au Cameroun montre une nette évolution épidémiologique récente des agents impliqués dans les cas de tuberculose au Cameroun avec une forte diminution de Mycobacterium africanum ne représentant plus 10% des cas. Une famille génétique de M. tuberculosis, très homogène, d'émergence récente, apparaît prépondérante avec près de 40% des cas.

De nouvelles techniques de diagnostic de la tuberculose ciblant des protéines mannosylées sont en cours de développement



  rapport

cale

Centre National de Référence (Gilles Marchal, Véronique Vincent, Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Anne Varnerot, Maria de Moura Goncalves, Nathalie Barilone, Cyril Dumont)

Le Laboratoire est Centre National de Référence des Mycobactéries et est à ce titre impliqué dans la surveillance épidémiologique de la tuberculose et des autres infections mycobactériennes.

La surveillance de la transmission de la tuberculose multi-résistante, c'est-à-dire des cas de tuberculose à traitement difficile car privé des antituberculeux majeurs isoniazide et rifampicine, est assurée par le typage systématique des souches. Le CNR est intégré au réseau OMS de laboratoires supra-nationaux établi pour la surveillance de la résistance aux antituberculeux au niveau mondial.

Le CNR développe et évalue des techniques d'identification moléculaire des mycobactéries autres que les bacilles de la tuberculose, avec en particulier des méthodes reposant sur l'analyse du polymorphisme de gènes conservés. Un cours de formation aux différentes techniques de typage moléculaire est organisé annuellement depuis 2000. Membre du groupe de travail du Conseil Supérieur d'Hygiène Publique de France, le CNR a participé à l'élaboration des recommandations de prévention et de prise en charge de la tuberculose en France.

Biodiversité génétique des bacilles de la tuberculose au Cameroun (Sara Ngo Niobe - Eyangoh, Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez)

L'étude montre une évolution épidémiologique récente des agents impliqués dans les cas de tuberculose au Cameroun. Alors que M. africanum était responsable de plus de 50% des cas en 1970, il représente aujourd'hui impliqué moins de 10% des cas. Près de 40% des cas dus à M. tuberculosis impliquent des souches d'une même famille génétique. Cette famille fortement prévalente au Cameroun n'est retrouvée que dans quelques pays de l'Afrique de l'Ouest et dans les Caraïbes, vestige de la traite humaine esclavagiste.

Taxonomie des bacilles de la tuberculose (Cristina Gutiérrez-Perez, Véronique Vincent)

La définition de M. africanum a été revue à la lumière des marqueurs moléculaires nouvellement décrits, en particulier des régions de délétion identifiées par l'équipe de S. Cole après comparaison des génomes de M. tuberculosis et M. bovis.

Incidence des infections à M. abscessus au cours de la mucoviscidose (Véronique Vincent)

Notre laboratoire collabore à un projet multicentrique de détermination de l'incidence des mycobactérioses au cours de la mucoviscidose chez l'enfant. Une recherche systématique de mycobactéries dans les prélèvements respiratoires des malades met en évidence M. abscessus comme la plus fréquente des mycobactéries responsables de surinfections respiratoires, retrouvé chez 5% des patients sur un ensemble d'environ 10% de patients positifs à mycobactéries. Le typage moléculaire par électrophorèse en champ pulsé montre l'hétérogénéité des souches et indique l'absence de réservoir commun, notamment nosocomial, et de transmission de patient à patient.

Intérêt des protéines glycosylées pour le diagnostic de tuberculose active. (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot)

Le diagnostic de tuberculose est difficile. Le traitement est commencé alors que la présence de bactéries dans l'expectoration n'a été observée que dans environ 40% des cas. Des antigènes ont été caractérisées sur leur capacité à interagir avec les cellules (lymphocytes T) impliquées dans le contrôle d'une infection expérimentale chez le cobaye. Ces molécules sont sécrétées par les bactéries durant leur multiplication. L'analyse chimique de ces molécules montre qu'elles possèdent des caractéristiques biochimiques particulières, richesse en proline et présence de résidus glycosylés. Une analyse des peptides antigéniques de ces molécules (épitopes) reconnus préférentiellement lors de l'infection a été effectuée. Les peptides antigéniques sont les peptides portant des résidus glycosylés. Les molécules purifiées et des peptides de synthèse (collaboration avec l'Unité de Chimie Organique) sont reconnus par les lymphocytes de malades atteints de tuberculose, sans être reconnus par les lymphocytes de sujets témoins. Cette différence dans la réponse des lymphocytes circulants, selon qu'ils proviennent de malades ou de sujets contacts, permettra de développer une méthode confirmant une tuberculose active.

Intérêt du BCG dans le traitement de l'asthme (Gilles Marchal, Pascale Pescher, Félix Romain, Pierre Chavarot, Micheline Lagranderie, Jean Lefort)

L'asthme est une affection d'importance médico-sociale considérable. Dans un modèle d'asthme expérimental murin, nous étudions l'effet curatif du BCG inactivé par lyophilisation (EFD). Le traitement par l'EFD de souris sensibilisées et provoquées par un allergène se traduit par une réduction des paramètres caractéristiques de l'asthme: éosinophilie, inflammation pulmonaire et hyperréactivité bronchique.

Mots-clés: Tuberculose, Epidémiologie, Typage moléculaire, Antigène immunodominant, Mannosylation, Mucoviscidose, Asthma



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Laurence Hay (1/2 temps)

Martine Mercier (1/2 temps)

Gilles Marchal, , Institut Pasteur, Professeur, gmarchal@pasteur.fr

Véronique Vincent, Institut Pasteur, Chef de Laboratoire, vvincent@pasteur.fr

Maria-Cristina Gutiérrez Perez, Institut Pasteur, Chargée de recherches, crisgupe@pasteur.fr

Sambo Boy

Borann Sar

Ayman Gafaar

Jerome Serand

Francoise Jaureguy

Céline Louveau

Mohammad Abolhassani

Sara Irène Ngo Niobe-Eyangoh

Félix Romain

Pierre Chavarot

Cyril Dumont

Eddie Maranghi

Maria de Moura Goncalves

Pascale Pescher

Nathalie Barilone

Anne Varnerot

Séverine Mazars


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr