Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Molecular Immunology


  Director : ACUTO, Oreste (oacuto@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We study the molecular mechanisms of T cell activation. The molecular information carried by activated antigen presenting cells (APC) loaded with antigen and/or cytokines is relayed to the T cell through a complex device formed by membrane receptors and a vast array of intracellular signaling that decodes positive (activators) and negative (tolerising) signals. These complex processes determine the fate of T cells whether they become effectors of the immune response or memory cells, or anergized cells. Our research is focused on understanding the role and regulation of some key signaling components on the signaling machinery. Moreover, we search for new signaling pathways by the use of mass spectrometry applied to intracellular protein complexes.



  report

cale

Sensory adaptation of T cell signaling threshold

(Maria Elena Marquez et Vincenzo Di Bartolo)

Besides clonal selection, the modulation of the T cell signalling threshold in response to self antigens has been proposed as another mechanism to control T lymphocyte self-reactivity. To address the importance of such a mechanism, we generated a transgenic mouse with increased TCR signalling sensitivity by expressing a ZAP-70 gain-of-function mutant (ZAP-YEEI) in post-selection CD8+thymocytes and T cells. Despite an increased basal phosphorylation of the ZAP-70-specific substrate LAT, ZAP-YEEI-expressing CD8 T cells showed no sign of activation and/or auto-reactivity in vivo but appeared rather hypo-responsive in vitro, since their secretion of cytokines was reduced. This correlated with a small decrease in TCR (T cell antigen receptor) and CD5 levels and partial modifications of signalling pathways (e.g., MAP kinase activation kinetics). The effect of avidity for self ligand(s) on adaptation was monitored by crossing ZAPYEEI mice onto P14 and HY TCR transgenic mice. In these animals, ZAP-YEEI expression began in double-positive thymocytes, and tuning of TCR and CD5 expression suggested some adaptation during thymic maturation. Moreover, while P14xZAP-YEEI mature CD8 T cells showed reduced antigen-induced cytokine production and homeostatic proliferation, peripheral survival/expansion and antigen responsiveness of HYxZAP-YEEI cells were enhanced. Our studies suggest that a TCR avidity-dependent sensory adaptation to self-induced stimuli takes place during and/or after T cell thymic development. We have proposed that such a process may prevent dangerous auto-reactivity, as an alternative to T cell deletion and consequent repertoire waste.

Activation of transmethylation in T cells by CD28 co-stimulatory signal

(Fabien Blanchet)

S-Adenosyl-L-Methionine (AdoMet)-dependent methyltransferases (MTases) regulate many biological processes, including signal transduction and gene expression. Every cellular methylation generates S-adenosyl-L-homocysteine (AdoHcy), a potent feedback inhibitor of MTases, normally removed by the enzyme AdoHcyase. T cell proliferation and differentiation are severely affected by blocking AdoHcyase activity and the resulting inhibition of methylation. We have found that the co-stimulatory receptor CD28 interacts with AdoHcyase, stimulates its activity and induces AdoMet-dependent arginine methylation of several proteins, including Vav1, a key effector of CD28 signalling. Methylated Vav1 is found in the nucleus. All these events require intact CD28 cytoplasmic region and are weakly induced by TCR ligation. Our findings uncover a novel role of CD28 in activating a pathway critical for T cell activation. Our future research in this field is aimed at dissecting the underlying molecular mechanism of this pathway, at establishing its physiological role in T cell differentiation and its potential exploitation for novel drug therapies in immuno-suppression.

Role of the adapter protein Dok-2 as a modulator of TCR signalling and T cell differentiation

(F. Michel)

The family of protein adapters, Dok (Dok1-5), appears to negatively regulate cellular proliferation, interfere with cell transformation induced by oncogenes and also control cellular differentiation. Dok phosphorylation on tyrosine is associated to its recruitment to the cell membrane and the "build-up" of a negative signaling pathway targeting Ras and Map kinases Erk1/2. The interest of these studies resides in the characterisation of signalling circuits capable of finely modulating the TCR-mediated activation signal and understanding their role in the polarisation of T helper cells towards Th1/2-cell types. We have shown that in CD4 T cells from human blood, Dok-2 (expressed particularly in T cells) is tyrosine phosphorylated after TCR triggering. We have partially characterised the composition of the multimolecular complex including Dok-2. To determine the role of Dok-2 in T cell activation, we are setting up the technique of siRNA in primary CD4 human T cells and utilising loss-of-function mutants of Dok-2. Our preliminary data indicate that Dok-2 recruitment at the membrane of the activated T cell is long-lasting and that it would play a role in the down-modulation of the activation signal.

Keywords: T cells, kinases, phosphatases, co-stimulation, methyltransferases



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  HOUSSIN, Wendy, (whoussin@pasteur.fr) ACUTO, Oreste, IP, (Professor, Unit Director, oacuto@pasteur.fr)

DI BARTOLO, Vincenzo, IP (Senior research scientist, vbartolo@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL, Frédérique, IP (Senior research scientist, fmichel@pasteur.fr)

BLANCHET, Fabien, PhD student.

MARQUEZ CAMPOS, Maria Elena, PhD student

CORRE, Béatrice, (technician, bgs@pasteur.fr)

MONTAGNE, Benjamin (technician, bmontagn@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Immunologie Moléculaire


  Responsable : ACUTO, Oreste (oacuto@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions les mécanismes moléculaires de l'activation des lymphocytes T. Les signaux adressés au lymphocyte T (LT) par la cellule présentatrice d'antigène (CPA) et les facteurs solubles (cytokines) sont relayés à l'intérieur de la cellule par une multitude de composants intracellulaires. Ce système décode les signaux positifs (activateurs) et négatifs (tolérisants) déterminant le devenir des LT en cellules effectrices de la réponse immunitaire. Nos projets de recherches portent sur la compréhension du rôle et la régulation d'éléments de l'appareil de signalisation. En outre, à l'aide de la spectrométrie de masse nous étudions de nouvelles voies de signalisation chez les LT.



  rapport

cale

Adaptation " sensorielle " des lymphocytes T

(Maria Elena Marquez et Vincenzo Di Bartolo)

Outre la délétion clonale, la modulation de la machinerie signalisation des LT pourrait être un mécanisme de contrôle de l'auto-réactivité. Afin de tester cette hypothèse, nous avons généré un modèle de souris transgénique ayant une sensibilité accrue du seuil d'activation des LT. Dans ce modèle, un mutant gain-de-fonction de la protéine tyrosine kinase ZAP-70 (ZAP-YEEI) a été exprimé chez les thymocytes T CD8 matures et les LT CD8. Les LT CD8-ZAP-YEEI ne montrent pas de signes d'activation in vivo. Au contraire, ils s'adaptent en devenant hypo-réactifs, comme le démontre une sécrétion diminuée de cytokines in vitro. L'étude de ce modèle sur un fond TCR transgénique a ensuite montré que l'avidité du TCR pour le soi joue un rôle important dans cette capacité d'adaptation. Nos résultats suggèrent que, grâce à une modulation des niveaux d'expression du TCR (T cell antigen receptor) et du régulateur négatif CD5, ainsi qu'à d'autres modifications des voies de signalisation intracellulaires, non définies à ce jour, les LT adaptent leur seuil d'activation en fonction des signaux reçus par le TCR. Nos études révèlent aussi que cette adaptation se façonne pendant et après le développement thymique, en maintenant un seuil d'activation compatible avec la survie des LT tout en empêchant une réponse contre le soi. Ce mécanisme serait une alternative aux processus de délétion avec l'avantage de conserver une partie du répertoire TCR.

Stimulation de la transméthylation par le " second signal " d'activation des LT.

(Fabien Blanchet)

Les méthyltransférases (MTases) S-Adenosyl-L-Methionine(AdoMet)-dépendantes régulent un grand nombre de processus biologiques tels que la transduction de signaux et l'expression génique. Chaque méthylation génère de l'S-adenosyl-L-homocysteine (AdoHcy), un puissant rétro-inhibiteur des MTases, éliminé par l'enzyme AdoHcyase. Il est connu depuis longtemps que la prolifération et la différenciation des LT sont fortement diminuées par l'inhibition de l'AdoHcyase qui inhibe les méthylations cellulaires. Nous avons montré récemment que CD28, le récepteur de la co-stimulation (le " second signal ") nécessaire pour une prolifération et différenciation optimales des LT, interagit avec l ‘AdoHcyase et stimule son activité. CD28 induit, en même temps, l'activation de MTases capables de méthyler des arginines et la méthylation sur arginine de plusieurs protéines intracellulaires, y inclus, Vav1 un effecteur clé de la co-stimulation. De manière intéressante, Vav1 méthylé est retrouvé dans le noyau. Ces événements sont contrôlés par la région intracellulaire de CD28 et ils ne sont que faiblement activés par l'engagement du TCR. Ces données révèlent un rôle insoupçonné de CD28 dans le contrôle des méthylations intracellulaires, une voie de signalisation critique pour l'activation des LT. Outre la dissection de l'organisation moléculaire de cette voie de signalisation, nos recherches s'orientent aussi vers la compréhension de son rôle dans la physiologie du LT et vers son exploitation pour de nouveaux traitements thérapeutiques, notamment dans l'immuno-suppression.

Rôle de la protéine de signalisation négative Dok-2 dans l'activation des LT auxiliaires

(F. Michel)

Les protéines adaptatrices de la famille Dok (Dok-1-5) semblent réguler négativement la prolifération cellulaire, interférer avec la transformation cellulaire induite par des oncogènes ou encore, contrôler la différenciation cellulaire. Leur phosphorylation sur tyrosine est associée à leur recrutement à la membrane cellulaire et la mise en place d'un signal " d'activation  négatif " ayant pour cible la petite protéine G Ras et les MAP kinases Erk1/2. Les fonctions des protéines Dok dans l'activation du LT ne sont guère connues. L'intérêt de ces études est dans la caractérisation de circuits de signalisation capables de moduler finement le signal d'activation et de comprendre leur rôle dans la différenciation et la polarisation de type Th1/2 des LT auxiliaires. Nous avons observé la phosphorylation de Dok-2 sur tyrosine après stimulation du TCR dans les LT humains auxiliaires de sang périphérique. Nous avons caractérisé en partie la composition du complexe multimoléculaire incluant Dok-2. Afin de déterminer la fonction de la protéine Dok-2 dans le signal d'activation lymphocytaire, nous appliquons la technique d'interférence d'ARNm aux LT primaires et nous utilisons des mutants " perte-de-fonction ". Nos premiers résultats indiquent que Dok-2 est recruté de façon prolongée à la membrane du lymphocyte T activé et qu'il jouerait un rôle dans l'atténuation de son signal d'activation.

Mots-clés: Lymphocytes T, kinases, phosphatases, co-stimulation, méthyltransférases



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  HOUSSIN, Wendy, whoussin@pasteur.fr ACUTO, Oreste, IP, (Professeur, Chef de l’Unité, oacuto@pasteur.fr)

DI BARTOLO, Vincenzo, IP (Chargé de Recherche, vbartolo@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL, Frédérique, IP (Chargée de Recherche, fmichel@pasteur.fr)

BLANCHET, Fabien, étudiant en thèse.

MARQUEZ CAMPOS, Maria Elena, étudiante en thèse

CORRE, Béatrice, (technicienne, bgs@pasteur.fr)

MONTAGNE, Benjamin (technicien, bmontagn@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr