Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Genetics of Differentiation


  Director : Mary C. Weiss (mweiss@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The unit studies the mechanims implicated in the regulation of expression of hepatic genes and in the roles of the transcription factors that are necessary for the establishment and maintenance of hepatic differentiation. In addition, we have established new experimental models of liver cell differentiation, and are attempting to identify transcripts that are specifically induced when hapatocytes are infected by sporozoites of Plasmodium berghei.



  report

cale

The Unit of Genetics of Differentiation uses cell genetics to analyse the roles of different Liver Enriched Transcription Factors (LETF) in the establishment and maintenance of the differentiated hepatic phenotype. It has been shown that in dedifferentiated rat hepatoma cells, the forced expression of HNF4α cDNA is sufficient to provoke the re-expression of genes that are considered markers of hepatic differentiation. In addition, in some cell lines of hepatic origin which fail to express either the LETF or hepatocyte differentiation, the forced expression of either HNF1α or of HNF4α cDNA is sufficient to ensure the expression of the endogenous genes for both factors, indicating the existence of a reciprocal regulatory loop between these two key transcription factors.

At present, our efforts are concentrated on the study of HNF4α, a transcription factor of the nuclear receptor family which has been identified as a key factor for execution of the liver differentiation program. The HNF4α gene has two alternative promoters whose use is regulated during the course of liver development. The protein resulting from use during embryogenesis of the distal promoter, HNF4α7, shows avid transactivation in tranfection tests of genes that are expressed early during development. In contrast, HNF4α1 is produced in abundant fashion only at birth, and this protein shows strong activity on promoters of genes that are expressed neonatally. Thus, the timing of expression and the activity of the two HNF4α isoforms are complementary.

To analyse the roles of the two isoforms of HNF4, α1 and α7, we have used directed mutagenesis in the mouse to create animals that can express only one of the two isoforms, but under control of both of the respective promoters.

To understand the basis for the differences in transcriptional activity of the HNF4α1 and HNF4α7 isoforms, which differ only in their N-terminal amino acids, the two transactivation domains known for nuclear receptors were analysed using tests of in vitro interaction as well as co-transfection assays. It was found that the region corresponding to the AF-1 of HNF4α7 is devoid of activity while that of HNF4α1 showed the anticipated activity, that was increased by interaction with GRIP and CBP. For both isoforms the AF-2 domain was able to mediate interactions with GRIP-1, p300 and the corepressor SMRT. However, the repression imposed by SMRT was less robust for HNF4α7 than for HNF4α1. Finally, both isoforms, in association with SMRT, are able to recuite HDAC1 and 4, and when the three molecules are associated, a larger quantity of HNF4α1, but not of HNF4α7, is fixed. Moreover, in a test of transfection in the presence of an inhibitor of HDACs, a dramatic increase of reporter gene activity is observed for HNF4α1 but not HNF4α7. These results imply that HNF4α1, the isoform found in adult liver, is more subject to regulation by interaction with coactivators and corepressors than the HNF4α7 isoform that is present mainly in embryonic and fetal liver.

We have continued to study bipotential cell lines obtained from embyronic liver of the mouse. While the first lines to be studied here were obtained from transgenic mice expressing an activiated form of human c-Met in the liver, our recent attempts to obtain them from non-transgenic mice have been successful. Thus, we now have bipotential liver lines from a large variety of mouse lines. In addition, we have improved the methods for obtaining their differentiation into cholangiocytes and hepatocytes. Hepatocyte functions such as apolipoproteins, albumin, AFP, alcohol dehydrogenase and aldolase B are induced upon culture for a few days in the form of aggregates. When cultured in Matrigel, not only are cholangiocyte/oval cell markers such as CD34, c-kit, integrin b4, connexins and GGTIV induced, but morphogenesis into bile duct units is observed. At present, we are using these techniques to analyse cell lines obtained from mouse embryos carrying targeted mutations in transcription factors important for liver dvelopment. These studies will permit us to clarify the roles of these factors in the maintenance of the bipotential phenotype and in the execution of the cholangoicyte and hepatoctyte programs. Finally, these cell lines are being tested for their capacity to participate in liver regeneration, by differentiating into mature hepatocytes and cholangiocytes.

Keywords: Hepatic differentiation, liver-enriched transcription factor, co-regalutor, bipotential cells



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  WEISS Mary C., IP, CNRS, mweiss@pasteur.fr

BAILLY Alain, INSERM, abailly@pasteur.fr

FAUST Daniela, IP, dfaust@pasteur.fr

HAYHURST Graham, IP, hayhurst@pasteur.fr

IMAIZUMI-SCHERRER Tereza, CNRS,

mayumi@pasteur.fr

STRICK-MARCHAND Hélène, hstrick@pasteur.fr

BRIANCON Nadège, Ph.D. student, nbrianco@pasteur.fr

RICHARD Anne-Françoise, DEA student, arichard@pasteur.fr
CATHERIN Anne-Marie, Technician IP, acatheri@pasteur.fr

DESCHATRETTE Catherine, Graduate engineer CNRS, cdeschat@pasteur.fr

MULET Céline, Technician IP, cmulet@pasteur.fr

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Génétique de la Différenciation


  Responsable : Mary C. Weiss (mweiss@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité s'intéresse aux mécanismes impliqués dans la régulation de l'expression de gènes hépatiques et dans les rôles de facteurs de transcription nécessaires à l'établissement et au maintien de cette différenciation, en particulier, HNF4α. De plus, nous établissons de nouveaux modèles de la différenciation hépatique. Enfin, nous cherchons à définir des molécules spécifiquement induites lors de l'infection de l'hépatocyte par des sporozoïtes de Plasmodium berghei.



  rapport

cale

L'Unité de Génétique de la Différenciation analyse le rôle de différents facteurs de transcription enrichis dans le foie (FETF) dans l'établissement du phénotype hépatique différencié. Il a été montré que l'expression forcée du facteur HNF4α dans des cellules d'hépatome de rat dédifférenciées suffit à provoquer la ré-expression de gènes marqueurs de la différenciation hépatique. De plus, dans certaines lignées d'origine hépatique ayant perdu l'expression des FTEF et la différenciation hépatique, l'expression forcée d'HNF1α ou HNF4α est suffisante pour induire l'expression de ces deux gènes endogènes, ce qui indique l'existence d'une boucle de régulation réciproque entre ces deux facteurs.

Nos efforts sont concentrés sur l'étude d'HNF4α, un récepteur nucléaire qui est un facteur clef pour la différenciation hépatique. Le gène HNF4α possède deux promoteurs alternatifs dont l'usage est régulé au cours du développement du foie. La protéine qui résulte de l'expression précoce à partir du promoteur distal, HNF4α7, montre une transactivation particulièrement avide de gènes exprimés tôt au cours de développement. En revanche, HNF4α1 est produit de façon abondante seulement à la naissance par transcription à partir du promoteur proximal, et ce facteur transactive surtout les gènes exprimés tard. Ainsi, le temps d'expression des deux isoformes se corrèle avec leur potentiel de transactivation des gènes cibles qui sont activés tôt ou tard au cours du développement.

Les rôles des isoformes α1 et α7 de HNF4 sont analysés par la création de mutants chez la souris où un seul des isoformes est exprimé mais sous le contrôle des deux promoteurs.

Pour mieux comprendre les différences d'activité des isoformes HNF4α1 et HNF4α7, les deux domaines de transactivation connus pour les récepteurs nucléaires ont été analysés par tests d'interactions in vitro et de co-transfection ex vivo. Dans le cas de HNF4α7 l'AF-1 est dépourvu d'activité alors que celui de HNF4α1 est d'une part actif dans un essai simple hybride et d'autre part son activité est augmentée par interaction avec GRIP et CBP. Par contre, pour les deux protéines l'AF-2 est capable de médier l'interaction avec GRIP-1, p300 et le corépresseur SMRT. Cependant, la répression médiée par SMRT est moins importante pour HNF4α 7 que pour HNF4α1. Finalement les deux isoformes, en association avec SMRT, sont capables de recruter HDAC 1 et 4, et quand les trois molécules sont associées, une plus grande quantité de HNF4α1 (mais pas de HNF4α7) est fixée. De plus, dans un test de transfection en présence d'un inhibiteur de HDACs une augmentation dramatique d'un rapporteur est observée pour HNF4α1 mais pas HNF4α7.

Nous avons poursuivi l'étude de lignées bipotentielles obtenues de foies embryonnaires de souris. Alors que les premières lignées ont été obtenues à partir de souris exprimant un transgène, nos tentatives récentes de les obtenir à partir de souris non-transgéniques ont reussi. Ainsi, nous disposons de lignées à partir d'un grand nombre de souches de souris. Les méthodes pour induire leur différenciation en hépatocytes ou en cholangiocytes ont été améliorées. Des fonctions hépatocytaires telles que les apolipoprotéines, l'albumine, l'AFP, et les enzymes alcohol deshydrogénase et aldolase B sont efficacement induites après culture pour cinq jours en forme d'agrégats. En revanche, la culture en Matrigel permet non seulement l'induction d'une série de marqueurs de cholangiocytes et de cellules ovales, tels que CD34, c-kit, integrine b4, connexines et GGTIV, mais aussi une morphogenèse en structure appelée unité de canaux biliaire. Actuellement, nous testons la capacité des cellules de ces lignées à participer à la régénération du foie in vivo par la formation d'hépatocytes fonctionnels et de cholangiocytes. La facilité d'obtention de ces lignées nous permettra maintenant de les dériver à partir de souris dont des gènes importants pour le développement du foie ont été mutés par recombinaison homologue dans des cellules ES. De plus ces lignées sont en cours d'analyse pour leur capacité à participer dans la régénération hépatique en formant des hépatocytes matures et des cholangiocytes.

Mots-clés: Différenciation hépatique, Facteurs de transcription enrichis dans le foie, corégulateurs, cellules hépatique bipotentielles



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Papelard Solange (papelard@pasteur.fr) WEISS Mary C., Prof. IP, DR1 CNRS, mweiss@pasteur.fr

BAILLY Alain, DR2 INSERM, abailly@pasteur.fr

FAUST Daniela, CR IP, dfaust@pasteur.fr

HAYHURST Graham, IP, hayhurst@pasteur.fr

IMAIZUMI-SCHERRER Tereza, CR1 CNRS,

mayumi@pasteur.fr

STRICK-MARCHAND Hélène, hstrick@pasteur.fr
BRIANCON Nadège, Etudiante en Thèse, nbrianco@pasteur.fr

RICHARD Anne-Françoise, Etudiante en DEA, arichard@pasteur.fr

CATHERIN Anne-Marie, Technicienne supérieure IP, acatheri@pasteur.fr

DESCHATRETTE Catherine, IR1 CNRS, cdeschat@pasteur.fr

MULET Céline,Technicienne IP, cmulet@pasteur.fr

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr