Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Cytokines and inflammation


  Director : Cavaillon Jean-Marc (jmcavail@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We study the production of cytokines and their involvement in different inflammatory disorders in humans (sepsis, trauma, ischemia/reperfusion, cystic fibrosis). We investigate at the intracellular signaling pathways level, the immune dysregulation observed in circulatory cells, reminiscent of the endotoxin tolerance phenomenon and that could be linked to the increased susceptibility of these patients to nosocomial infections. Finally, we analyzed the mechanisms involved in cytokine induction by pathogen-associated molecular patterns (PAMPs), the very early phase of innate immunity.



  report

cale

1- MOLECULAR BASIS OF IMMUNE-DEPRESSION DURING SYSTEMIC INFLAMMATION (M. Adib-Conquy)

Since we first reported the in vitro hyporeactivity of circulating monocytes in sepsis patients in terms of cytokine production (Muñoz et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1991, 88, 1747), we have further characterized the immune-depression associated to this pathology. We have described a similar alteration in patients after surgery (Cabié et al. Cytokine 1992, 4, 576) and in patients resuscitated after cardiac arrest (Adrie et al. Circulation, 2002, 106, 562). We extended our observation to circulating neutrophils (Marie et al. Blood 1998, 91, 3439) and T-lymphocytes (Muret et al. Shock 2000, 13, 169). We study the intracellular molecular mechanisms responsible for the immune-depression observed in sepsis patients as well as in patients with non-infectious systemic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS) (trauma, ischemia/reperfusion). A global decrease of nuclear factor-κB (NF-κB), an unbalance between its active (p65p50) and inactive (p50p50) forms and a weak cytoplasmic expression of its inhibitor (IκBα) have been observed within mononuclear cells of sepsis patients (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2000, 162, 1877). This observation is a reminiscence of the events occurring in in vitro endotoxin-tolerized monocytes/macrophages. A similar study undertaken in trauma patients revealed that the defect in NF-κB expression lasts for more than 10 days (Adib-Conquy et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2001, 70, 30).

The immune dysregulation is illustrated by a dramatic decrease in the capacity of peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMC) to release tumor necrosis factor (TNF) upon activation by Escherichia coli endotoxin (lipopolysaccharide, LPS) and CpG oligonucleotide, and to produce interleukin-6 (IL-6) in response to IL-1 and TNF. However, this is not a global defect, since cells remain fully reactive to other stimuli (Staphylococcus aureus, Streptococcus pyogenes, and LPS from Leptospira interrogans, a Toll-like receptor-2 (TLR2) agonist). We have shown that the surface expression of TLR2 was not reduced on patients monocytes as compared to healthy controls, whereas that of TLR4 was reduced. However, the hyporeactivity to Gram-negative bacteria and E. coli LPS cannot be fully explained by the down-regulation of TLR4. Indeed, PBMC produce enhanced levels of IL-10 and IL-1 receptor antagonist (IL-1ra) in response to E. coli LPS as compared to cells from healthy controls. The activation of the p38 MAPK and the Sp-1 transcription factor was increased in PBMC from trauma patients after E. coli LPS or heat-killed Staphylococci stimulation, and the addition of an inhibitor of p38 decreased IL-10 production. Furthermore, heterotrimeric Gi proteins and phosphatidylinositol-3'-kinase were involved in IL-10 production (figure 1). In conclusion, the immune-dysregulation described in SIRS patients is not a generalized phenomenon, but depends on the stimuli and the signaling pathways (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158).

2- PRODUCTION OF MIF (V. Maxime, C. Fitting)

Macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF) is a pro-inflammatory cytokine that prevents glucocorticoid activities. In collaboration with Prof., D. Annane (Hôp. Poincaré, Garches) we have studied the capacity of leukocytes of sepsis patients versus those of healthy controls to produce MIF in vitro in response to various activators, and assessed the effect of a glucocorticoid treatment of the patients on the in vitro production of MIF by their leukocytes. PBMC from patients contained significantly higher amounts of MIF than cells from healthy controls. In culture, spontaneous release and release induced by LPS, heat-killed staphylococci and red blood cell lysates were significantly higher in patients than in controls. PBMC from patients treated with glucocorticoids showed a lower release of MIF in response to LPS, heat killed Escherichia coli and peptidoglycan than PBMC from untreated patients, and had levels similar to those obtained with PBMC from healthy controls. Thus, MIF is the first pro-inflammatory cytokine, of which ex vivo release by circulating cells is shown to be enhanced in sepsis. In contrast to the knowledge derived from animal studies, glucocorticoid treatment led to normalize the release of MIF by circulating PBMC from patients with septic shock.

3- CYTOKINES AND CYSTIC FIBROSIS (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy, C. Fitting)

We study neutrophils (PMN) derived from sputum of young patients with cystic fibrosis (CF). CF PMN display a high ex vivo spontaneous IL-8 production which cannot be up-regulated by the addition of LPS or down-regulated by dexamethasone in contrast to what was observed in blood neutrophils (Corvol et al. Am. J. Physiol. 2003, 284, L997). As well, IL-10, that inhibits IL-8 production by blood PMN activated by LPS or peptidoglycan, has no effect on sputum PMN. In CF patients, TLR2 and TLR4 surface expression on PMN are modified as compared to blood PMN from healthy donors. TLR2 expression is significantly reduced on blood PMN from CF patients and TLR4 expression is significantly enhanced on sputum PMN. The expression of CD64 (Fcγ receptor type I), a marker of cell activation, is increased on blood PMN of CF patients. PMN from sputum of CF patients, kept in contact with respiratory epithelial cells, display an enhanced survival (reduced apoptosis) as compared to blood PMN from patients and healthy controls. A synergy in terms of IL-6 and IL-8 production is observed when PMN from CF patients are cultured in the presence of CF bronchial epithelial cells as compared to normal bronchial epithelial cells. This work is performed in collaboration with Drs J. Jacquot, O. Tabary, H. Corvol and A. Clément (Hôp. Trousseau, Paris) and founded by Association Vaincre la Mucovosicidose.

4- CELL SIGNALING VIA TOLL-LIKE RECEPTORS-2 & 4 AND NOD1 (M. Adib-Conquy, R.Kapetanovic, C. Fitting)

Within the Programme Transversal de Recherche (PTR) 94 and in collaboration with Dana Philpott and Stephen Girardin, we investigate the role of TLR2, TLR4, TLR9 and Nod1 molecules in cellular signaling which specifically lead to the production of TNF and IL-10. In this context, numerous well purified and characterized PAMPs and KO mice are used. In the absence of TLR2 and TLR4, TNF production by peritoneal macrophages is impaired in response to Gram-negative bacteria; in contrast, activation by Gram-positive bacteria is unchanged. This suggests that TLR2 and TLR4 are dispensable for macrophage activation by Gram-positive bacteria, while their phagocytosis appears as an important step involved in cytokine induction. Nod1-/- macrophages produce less IL-10 than control cells in response to heat-killed Staphylococci. Transfection experiments of a macrophage cell line with dominant negative forms of Nod1, Nod2 and MyD88 suggest that these molecules are important for cytokine induction by S. aureus.

5- ENDOTOXIN TOLERANCE (C. Fitting, M. Adib-Conquy)

Endotoxin tolerance is characterized by a decreased production of pro-inflammatory cytokines by cultured leukocytes in response to LPS following a first exposure to the same stimulus. Gamma interferon (IFNγ) and granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF) are immunostimulatory cytokines that prime monocytes and prevent endotoxin tolerance. In monocytes pretreated with IFNγ or GM-CSF, IRAK-1 expression is upregulated. In LPS-tolerized monocytes, IRAK-1 expression and kinase activity, IRAK/MyD88 association and NF-κB activation are inhibited. The prevention of tolerance by IFNγ and GM-CSF was independent of IRAK-1 kinase activity. Our results suggest that these cytokines prevent endotoxin tolerance, induced by low but not by high doses of LPS, by inhibiting IRAK-1 degradation and by promoting its association with MyD88 after a second LPS stimulation, which in turn leads to NF-κB activation and TNF production (Adib-Conquy & Cavaillon, J. Biol. Chem. 2002, 277: 27927).

Endotoxin tolerance has been defined and analyzed either entirely in vivo or entirely in vitro. In contrast, the hyporeactivity of circulating leukocytes reported in patients with sepsis and often referred to an endotoxin tolerance phenomenon, is an ex vivo observation. Therefore, our objective was to set up an ex vivo model of endotoxin tolerance. Mice were injected intravenously with LPS and their leukocytes derived from different compartments were challenged in vitro with LPS or heat-killed Staphylococcus aureus (SAC) for production of TNF. Cells acquired LPS tolerance within 1 to 3 hours after in vivo injection of LPS. A dramatic decrease in the production of TNF in response to LPS was observed with circulating leukocytes, splenocytes, peritoneal cells and bone-marrow cells 24hrs post-LPS injection. In contrast, LPS-induced TNF production by bronchoalveolar cells was far less reduced and only very briefly. The kinetics of acquisition of tolerance and recovery were different for the various compartments. "Cross-tolerance" with SAC did not parallel the phenomenon of endotoxin tolerance as observed with LPS. These data show that endotoxin tolerance, as monitored by ex vivo analysis, is compartmentalized and that bronchoalveolar cells are less likely than peritoneal, splenic or marrow cells to develop endotoxin tolerance (Fitting et al. J. Infect. Dis. 2004, in press)

6. MODULATION OF INTERLEUKIN-10 PROPERTIES BY ADHERENCE (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy)

We previously demonstrated that adherence is a parameter, which markedly affects the properties of IL-10 on TNF production, TNF mRNA expression and NF-κB activation by monocytes/macrophages (Adib-Conquy et al. Int. Immunol. 1999, 11, 689). Tyk2 and STAT3 phosphorylation and suppressor of cytokine signaling (SOCS) 3 expression were induced by IL-10 in human monocytes both in the presence and in the absence of adherence, but a longer activation and/or expression was observed in adherent monocytes. Finally, heme oxygenase-1 (HO-1), an anti-inflammatory molecule, was induced by IL-10 in adherent monocytes, whereas its expression remained low in non-adherent cells (Petit-Bertron et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2003, 73, 145). Recently, we analyzed by macroarray the effect of IL-10 and adherence on the expression of 1050 genes. On adherent monocytes, IL-10 induced the expression of 21 genes and repressed the expression of 50 genes. On non-adherent monocytes, IL-10 induced the expression of 45 genes and repressed that of 67. Only 3 common genes were induced while 35 common genes were repressed by IL-10 in the two culture conditions. Interestingly, we showed that IL-10 modulated conversely on Teflon® and plastic the expression of 16 genes, of which SOCS2, SOCS3, coproporphyrinogen oxidase (an enzyme involved in heme biosynthesis)), and several matrix metalloproteinases. We confirmed by RT-PCR the modulation of the SOCS molecules and showed that the expression of the other proteins (except for CD35) was modulated similarly to that of their mRNA. The strong inhibition of coproporphyrinogen oxidase in adherent cells, could be one of the mechanisms by which IL-10 contributes to anemia. In the absence of adherence, IL-10 inhibited the expression of SOCS1, 2 and 3 molecules, which were strongly induced by this cytokine in adherent cells. The inhibition of SOCS could contribute to the pro-inflammatory effects of IL-10 in the absence of adherence, since these molecules have been shown to negatively regulate LPS signaling via TLR4. In addition, IL-10 induced in non-adherent monocytes the expression of various matrix metalloproteinases, molecules found in the blood stream during inflammatory states. This study demonstrates that adherence has a profound modulatory effect on the properties and the signaling induced by IL-10. This observation may partially explain the dual role of this cytokine. We consider that our model can mimic some in vivo events when circulating monocytes encounter IL-10 before adhering to endothelium and marginating within tissues towards inflammatory foci (fig. 2). The macroarray study was done in collaboration with T. Pedron and the plate forme 2 " puces à ADN " from Institut Pasteur.

7. SEROTONIN AND CYTOKINE PRODUCTION (I. Cloëz-Tayarani)

Serotonin (5-hydroxytryptamine, 5-HT) is released by activated platelets and can be present at micromolar concentration within the inflammatory site. In order to provide additional insight into the in vivo significance of 5-HT in inflammation, we examined its effects on the production of TNF, IL-1α, IL-1β, IL-6, IL-10 and IL-1ra in LPS-stimulated PBMC. 5-HT inhibited TNF production and increased IL-1β production in PBMC. The inhibitory effect of 5-HT on TNF production was antagonized by ketanserin, a selective 5-HT2A antagonist and mimicked by DOI, a selective 5-HT2A/2C agonist. These findings suggest that the inhibition of TNF production by 5-HT involves the participation of the 5HT2A receptor subtypes in PBMC. Accordingly, we detected the presence of 5-HT2A receptors in PBMC by Western-blots. Our data support a role of 5-HT in inflammation through its effect on cytokine production in PBMC (Cloëz-Tayarani et al. Int. Immunol. 2003, 15 233). More recently we showed an activation of extracellular signal-regulated kinase (ERK) within lymphocytes exposed to 5-HT. This phenomenon seems to be mediated via the 5-HT1A receptor since similar results were obtained with R-(+)-8-hydroxy-DPAT, a selective agonist of 5-HT1A receptor, and 5-HT-induced ERK phosphorylation was inhibited by WAY100635, a selective antagonist of 5-HT1A receptor.

Pictures :

Figure 1. Schematic cartoon of cellular signaling pathways, altered (grey background), or enhanced (thick lines) in leukocytes of trauma patients leading to the production of TNF, IL-1β, IL-1ra and IL-10 in response to TLR2 and TLR4 ligands derived from Gram negative (BG-) or Gram positive (BG+) bacteria. This cartoon illustrates our published works (Adib-Conquy M et al J. Leuk. Biol. 2001; 70:30; Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158) and other reports (Learn et al. J. Biol. Chem. 2001; 276:20234 ; Solomon et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1998; 102:2019)

Figure 2. Sequence of signaling, local levels, nature of target cells, role of co-signals, and nature of environmental cells can modify the properties of IL-10 (see Cavaillon J-M. Pro- versus anti-inflammatory cytokines : myth or reality, Cell Mol. Biol. 2001, 47, 695)

Keywords: Toll-like receptor, sepsis, intracellular signaling, endotoxin, innate immunity



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
    Minou Adib-Conquy Chargée de recherche IP madib@pasteur.fr

Isabelle Cloez-Tayarani Chargée de recherche IP (2003)
Anne-France Petit-Bertron Student (phD) (2003)

Virginie Maxime Student (master) (2003)

Ronan Kapetanovic Student (master) rkape@pasteur.fr
Catherine Fitting Technician IP cfitting@pasteur.fr

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Cytokines et Inflammation


  Responsable : Cavaillon Jean-Marc (jmcavail@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions la production des cytokines et leur l'implication dans diverses pathologies inflammatoires systémiques (sepsis, traumatologie, ischémie-reperfusion, mucoviscidose). Nous analysons, au niveau de la signalisation intracellulaire, la dérégulation immunitaire observée au sein des cellules circulantes, réminiscence du phénomène de tolérance aux endotoxines, et qui pourrait être associée à la susceptibilité accrue de ces patients aux infections nosocomiales. Enfin, nous étudions les mécanismes d'induction des cytokines par les produits bactériens (ou "PAMPs" pour pathogen-associated molecular patterns).

Les thèmes abordés concernent autant la recherche fondamentale que la recherche biomédicale, cette dernière étant menée en collaboration avec plusieurs services hospitaliers de la région parisienne.



  rapport

cale

1- BASES MOLÉCULAIRES DE L'IMMUNODÉPRESSSION LORS D'UNE RÉACTION INFLAMMATOIRESYSTÉMIQUE (M. Adib-Conquy)

Depuis la découverte au laboratoire (Muñoz et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1991, 88, 1747) de l'altération de la production de cytokines ex vivo par les monocytes de sujets sepsis, nous nous sommes intéressés au processus d'immunodépression associé au syndrome de réponse inflammatoire systémique (SIRS). Nous avons décrit ce même phénomène chez des patients après chirurgie (Cabié et al. Cytokine 1992, 4, 576) ou chez des patients réanimés après un arrêt cardiaque (Adrie et al. Circulation 2002, 106, 562). Nous avons étendu et précisé ce phénomène au niveau des neutrophiles (Marie et al. Blood 1998, 91, 3439) et des lymphocytes T (Muret et al. Shock 2000, 13, 169). Nous avons analysé les mécanismes moléculaires intracellulaires qui président à l'immunodépression observée chez les patients SIRS. Une diminution de la translocation du facteur nucléaire -κB (NFκB), un déséquilibre entre les formes active (p65p50) et inactive (p50p50), et une très faible expression cytoplasmique de son inhibiteur (IκBα), ont été observés chez les patients sepsis, semblables à ce qui a été décrit lors du phénomène de tolérance aux endotoxines (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2000, 162, 1877). La perturbation de l'expression de NF-κB perdure plus de 10 jours chez des patients de traumatologie (Adib-Conquy et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2001, 70, 30).

L'immunodépression est attestée au niveau des cellules mononucléées par une forte altération de la production de tumor necrosis factor (TNF) en réponse au lipopolysaccharide (LPS) d'Escherichia coli et au motif CpG des ADN bactériens, ainsi que par une altération de la production d'interleukine-6 (IL-6) en réponse à l'IL-1 et au TNF. Néanmoins, il ne s'agit pas d'une altération globale puisque les cellules demeurent réactives à d'autres stimuli (germes tués de Staphylococcus aureus ou de Streptococcus pyogenes, et le LPS de Leptospira interrogans, un ligand du Toll-like receptor 2 (TLR2)) et continuent à produire de l'interleukine-10 et de l'IL-1 receptor antagonist (IL-1ra) en réponse au LPS d'E. coli. Nous avons montré que l'expression normale de TLR-2 et celle réduite de TLR4 ne pouvaient pas à elles seules expliquer l'altération de la signalisation observée dans les cellules de sujets SIRS. En effet, contrairement à la voie TLR2, la voie TLR4 aboutissant à la production de TNF est altérée. Par contre, la signalisation via TLR4 aboutissant à la production d'IL-10 (activation de la p38 MAPK et du facteur de transcription Sp-1) est amplifiée dans les cellules de sujets SIRS (figure 1). Ce travail démontre que l'hyporéactivité leucocytaire n'est pas un phénomène universel, mais qu'elle dépend des voies d'activation utilisées, certaines pouvant être altérées, tandis que d'autres demeurent fonctionnelles, voire surexprimées (Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158).

2- PRODUCTION DE MIF AU COURS DU SEPSIS (V. Maxime, C. Fitting)

Le macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF) est une cytokine inflammatoire qui s'oppose aux effets des glucocorticoïdes. En collaboration avec le Prof. D. Annane (Hôp. R. Poincaré, Garches), nous avons analysé chez les patients sepsis la production de MIF in vitro par les leucocytes sanguins de sujets normaux et de patients sepsis, en réponse à différents activateurs. Les cellules mononucléées du sang périphérique (PBMC) des patients sepsis contiennent des taux intracellulaires de MIF plus élevés que les cellules de sujets sains. Mises en culture, les PBMC de patients sepsis libèrent spontanément plus de MIF que les cellules de sujets sains ainsi qu'en réponse à certains stimuli. Par contre, les PBMC des patients sepsis traités par les glucocorticoïdes présentent une normalisation de leur libération de MIF. Ainsi, le MIF apparaît comme la première cytokine pro-inflammatoire décrite dont la libération ex vivo par les cellules circulantes est accrue au cours du sepsis. À l'inverse des modèles animaux, le traitement des patients en choc septique par les glucocorticoïdes normalise la libération de MIF par leurs leucocytes.

3- CYTOKINES ET MUCOVISCIDOSE (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy, C. Fitting)

Nous étudions les neutrophiles (PMN) isolés de liquide d'expectoration d'enfants souffrant de mucoviscidose (CF). Ceux-ci présentent une production spontanée ex vivo très élevée d'IL-8 comparativement aux PMN sanguins. Celle-ci ne peut pas être accrue par le LPS ni inhibée par la dexamethasone, contrairement à ce qui est observé avec les neutrophiles circulants (Corvol et al. Am. J. Physiol. 2003, 284, L997). De même, l'IL-10 qui inhibe la production d'IL-8 par les PMN sanguins de sujets sains et CF stimulés par des produits bactériens (LPS, peptidoglycane), est sans effet sur la production d'IL-8 par les PMN dérivés des liquides d'expectoration. Chez ces patients, des altérations d'expression de marqueurs de surface se retrouvent aussi bien sur les neutrophiles sanguins que sur ceux dérivés des liquides d'expectoration. L'expression de TLR2 est significativement réduite à la surface des PMN sanguins de sujets CF, tandis que l'expression de TLR4 est significativement accrue à la surface des PMN d'expectoration. L'expression de CD64, (récepteur Fcγ type I), marqueur d'activation, est fortement accrue à la surface des PMN circulants des enfants CF. Les neutrophiles issus des voies aériennes de patients CF, en interaction avec des cellules épithéliales respiratoires CF présentent une durée de vie significativement augmentée comparativement aux neutrophiles sanguins des mêmes patients et aux neutrophiles collectés chez des sujets sains (réduction de l'apoptose). Par ailleurs, l'interaction entre neutrophiles de patients CF et cellules épithéliales bronchiques CF induit une amplification (x 7) de la production de cytokines pro-inflammatoires (IL-6 et IL-8), comparativement à des co-cultures de neutrophiles de sujets sains avec des cellules épithéliales bronchiques normales. (Ces travaux sont menés en collaboration avec les Drs H. Corvol, O. Tabary, J. Jacquot et A. Clément (Hôp. Trousseau) et sont financés par l'Association "Vaincre la Mucoviscidose").

4- SIGNALISATION VIA LES VOIES TOLL-LIKE RECEPTORS et NOD1 (M. Adib-Conquy, R.Kapetanovic, C. Fitting )

Dans le cadre du programme transversal de recherche (PTR 94) coordonné par Catherine Werts et en collaboration avec Dana Philpott et Stephen Girardin, nous cherchons à caractériser l'implication des molécules TLR2, TLR4, TLR9 et Nod1 dans l'induction des voies de signalisation qui mènent à des productions différentielles de TNF ou d'IL-10. Pour se faire, de nombreux PAMPs ont été testés sur des macrophages péritonéaux de souris déficientes pour TLR2 et TLR4. Nos résultats montrent que l'absence de TLR2 et TLR4 entraîne une perte importante de la réponse aux bactéries à Gram négatif (BG-), alors que la réponse aux bactéries à Gram positif (BG+) n'est pas du tout affectée. Les récepteurs TLR2 et TLR4 ne sont donc pas indispensables pour la réponse des macrophages aux BG+. Par contre, la phagocytose de ces germes est une étape importante pour induire la production de cytokines par ces dernières et son inhibition par la cytochalasine D entraîne une forte inhibition de cette production. D'autre part, à l'aide d'expériences de transfection dans une lignée macrophagique de souris, en surexprimant des dominants négatifs de MyD88, Nod1 et Nod2, nous avons montré que toutes ces molécules semblent contribuer à l'activation du facteur de transcription NF-κB en réponse à S. aureus. Nod1 ne reconnaît pas directement le peptidoglycane des BG+, mais pourrait jouer un rôle régulateur dans la réponse à Nod2. Ce qui expliquerait aussi la plus faible production d'IL-10 par les macrophages des souris Nod1-/- en réponse à S. aureus.

5- ETUDE DU PHÉNOMÈNE DE TOLÉRANCE AUX ENDOTOXINES (C. Fitting, M. Adib-Conquy)

Après une injection de LPS chez la souris, nous avons analysé ex vivo l'état de tolérance aux endotoxines de cellules issues de différents compartiments (rate, moelle osseuse, péritoine, poumon, sang périphérique) ainsi que le niveau de tolérance croisée avec des germes tués de S. aureus. L'analyse est effectuée en termes de production de TNF. Le phénomène de tolérance s'établit avec des cinétiques différentes et pour des durées différentes au niveau des splénocytes, des cellules des lavages péritonéaux, des cellules de la moelle osseuse et des cellules circulantes. Par contre, les cellules des lavages alvéolaires n'acquièrent qu'un état de tolérance très modeste et de courte durée. La tolérance croisée avec les germes de Staphylocoque n'est pas parallèle à l'état de tolérance aux endotoxines. Ces travaux démontrent la compartimentalisation de la tolérance et le comportement particulier des cellules alvéolaires (Fitting et al. J.Infect. Dis. 2004, in press)

D'autre part, nous avons étudié la capacité de l'interféron gamma (IFNγ) ou du granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF) à lever l'état de tolérance. Dans les cellules tolérantes au LPS, IRAK-1 est peu exprimé. L'IFNγ et le GM-CSF permettent de rétablir l'expression d'IRAK-1 dans les monocytes tolérisés par une faible dose de LPS, mais pas avec une forte dose. L'activation d'IRAK-1 et son association à MyD88 sont également favorisées par l'IFNγ et le GM-CSF. Ces cytokines permettent donc, dans le cas d'une tolérance induite par une faible concentration de LPS, de rétablir dans les monocytes l'activation d'IRAK-1, son association avec MyD88, l'activation de NFκB en réponse au LPS, et en final la production de TNF (Adib-Conquy & Cavaillon, J. Biol. Chem. 2002, 277: 27927).

6- MODULATION PAR L'ADHÉRENCE DES PROPRIÉTÉS DE L'INTERLEUKINE-10 (A-F. Petit-Bertron, M. Adib-Conquy)

L'adhérence des monocytes influence les propriétés immunomodulatrices de l'IL-10. Nous avons montré qu'en réponse à une stimulation ultérieure par le LPS, des monocytes prétraités avec de l'IL-10 dans des conditions qui préviennent l'adhérence des cellules, produisent davantage de TNF, alors que dans des conditions d'adhérence, l'IL-10 inhibe cette production. Cet effet paradoxal est retrouvé au niveau de l'ARNm du TNF et du facteur de transcription NF-kB (Adib-Conquy et al. Int. Immunol. 1999, 11, 689). Les cinétiques d'activation de STAT-3, tyk2 et d'induction de suppressor of cytokine signaling (SOCS)3 et de l'hème oxygenase-1, en réponse à l'IL-10 sont influencées par l'existence de l'adhérence leucocytaire (Petit-Bertron et al. J. Leuk. Biol. 2003, 73, 145). L'influence de l'adhérence et de l'IL-10 a été étudiée par macroarray sur l'expression de 1050 gènes. En absence d'adhérence, l'IL-10 induit l'expression de 45 gènes et en réprime 67, tandis qu'en présence d'adhérence, l'IL-10 induit l'expression de 21 gènes et en réprime 50. Seuls 3 gènes communs sont induits et 35 réprimés. Nous avons confirmé par RT-PCR et après analyse des protéines certaines modulations. Dans les cellules adhérentes, l'IL-10 inhibe fortement l'expression de la coproporphyrinogene oxidase (enzyme impliquée dans la biosynthèse de l'hème), ce qui pourrait être un des mécanismes par lesquels l'IL-10 contribue à l'anémie. En absence d'adhérence, l'IL-10 inhibe l'expression des gènes codant pour SOCS1, 2 et 3, ce qui pourrait contribuer à ses effets pro-inflammatoires observés dans ces conditions de culture. En effet, SOCS1 et SOCS3 inhibent la signalisation induite par le LPS via le TLR4. De plus, en absence d'adhérence, l'IL-10 induit l'expression de plusieurs metalloprotéinases, molécules trouvées dans la circulation sanguine lors d'états inflammatoires. Ces observations confirment les effets ambivalents de l'IL-10, et notre modèle pourrait mimer des évènements consécutifs à l'activation dans la circulation sanguine, de monocytes appelés à adhérer à l'endothélium et à migrer au sein des tissus inflammatoires (figure 2). Ce travail a été effectué en collaboration avec T. Pedron et la plate forme 2, puces à ADN de l'IP.

7- SÉROTONINE ET PRODUCTION DE CYTOKINES (I. Cloëz-Tayarani)

La sérotonine (5-hydroxytryptamine = 5-HT) est libérée par les plaquettes activées et peut se trouver à des concentrations micromolaires aux sites d'inflammation. Nous avons étudié l'effet de la 5-HT sur la production de cytokines par les PBMC humaines activées par le LPS, et sur la régulation de l'expression de leurs gènes. La 5-HT régule de façon différentielle la production de cytokines : elle inhibe significativement et de façon dose-dépendante la production de TNF tandis qu'elle augmente à plus fortes doses celle d'IL-1β. L'effet inhibiteur de la 5HT est réversé par un antagoniste sélectif du récepteur 5HT2A (kétansérine) et mimé par un agoniste sélectif des récepteurs 5HT2A/2C (DOI). Ces résultats qui suggèrent l'implication du récepteur 5HT2A dans les effets de la sérotonine, sont confirmés par l'identification par Western-blot de ce récepteur au niveau des PBMC. Ces résultats suggèrent l'implication de la sérotonine dans la modulation des processus inflammatoires et la production de cytokines (Cloëz-Tayarani et al. Int. Immunol. 2003, 15, 233). Une étude plus récente démontre l'activation de l'extracellular signal-regulated kinase (ERK) au sein des lymphocytes mis en présence de sérotonine. Le phénomène semble être lié à l'activation via un récepteur 5-HT1A puisque des résultats similaires sont obtenus en présence de R-(+)-8-hydroxy-DPAT, un agoniste sélectif du récepteur 5-HT1A . De plus, la phosphorylation de ERK induite par la sérotonine est inhibée en présence de WAY100635, un antagoniste sélectif du récepteur 5-HT.

Légendes

Figure 1. Illustration schématique des voies de signalisation altérées (sur fond gris) ou amplifiées (trait épais) dans les leucocytes de patients trauma aboutissant à la production de TNF, d'IL-1β, d'IL-1ra et d'IL-10 en réponse à l'activation par des ligands de TLR2 ou de TLR4. Ce schéma tient compte de nos travaux (Adib-Conquy M et al J. Leuk. Biol. 2001; 70:30; Adib-Conquy et al. Am. J. Respir. Crit Care Med. 2003, 168, 158) ainsi que des travaux rapportés dans la littérature (Learn et al. J. Biol. Chem. 2001; 276:20234 ; Solomon et al. J. Clin. Invest. 1998; 102:2019).

Figure 2. La chronologie des signaux, les concentrations locales, la nature des cellules cibles, la présence de co-signaux, la nature des cellules environnantes sont autant d'évènements qui modifient les propriétés de l'IL-10 (Cavaillon J-M. Pro- versus anti-inflammatory cytokines : myth or reality, Cell. Mol. Biol. 2001, 47, 695)

Mots-clés: Toll-like receptor, sepsis, signalisation intracellulaire, endotoxine, immunité innée



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
    Minou Adib-Conquy Chargée de recherche IP madib@pasteur.fr

Isabelle Cloez-Tayarani Chargée de recherche IP (2003)
Anne-France Petit-Bertron Etudiante (thèse) (2003)

Virginie Maxime Etudiante (DEA) (2003)

Ronan Kapetanovic Etudiant en DEA rkape@pasteur.f
Catherine Fitting Technicienne IP cfitting@pasteur.fr

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr