Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Structural Bioinformatics


  Director : Michael Nilges (nilges@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main research interests of the unité are the analysis and prediction of the structure and interactions of proteins, the prediction of large motions of proteins, the determination of structure and dynamics of proteins from NMR data, and the analysis of genomic data. The scope is from atomic detail to the analysis of whole genomes. Methods used and/ or developed include homology modelling, docking, molecular dynamics, and free energy calculations.



  report

cale

Analysis of protein interactions

Modelling of protein-peptide interactions in snake venoms (R. Maroun)

The venom of the snake B.jararaca contains two serine proteinases that show 66% sequence identity, but present complementary fonctions. PA-BJ induces platelet aggregation without clotting fibrinogen and bothrombin clotts fibrinogen, but has no direct effects on platelets. In order to understand the molecular basis of the distribution of the 2 major procoagulant functions of thrombin -fibrinogen activation and platelet aggregation- among the 2 snake venom enzymes, we obtained molecular models of the enzymes in complex with their natural ligands. For bothrombin, the ligand at the active site and at exosite I is a fragment of fibrinogen containing fibrinopeptide A. PA-BJ is in the presence of a peptide fragment coming from the binding site of thrombin on the thrombin receptor, PAR-1. The molecular models of the complexes thus obtained show, in an analogous fashion to thrombin, that each snake venom enzyme possesses 2 exosites. Nevertheless, the exosites contain a lesser proportion of basic amino acids than thrombin (45-72%), which could explain the reduction in the functional diversity of these enzymes. Besides, the composition of exosite I is different for each of the 2 enzymes. We have identified those residues in exosite I that could contribute to the differences in specificity. Finally, as opposed to thrombin, allostery does not seem to play a role in the macromolecular substrate recognition by these enzymes.

New free energy methods to analyze protein-ligand associations (A. Blondel)

The aim of these developments is to make the quantitative predictions of the free energy of protein-ligand association sufficiently reliable to be a useful complement to experiments on biological processes or to contribute in the design of new drugs. Because of their energetic importance, we are also interested in the identification of the relevant conformations and mechanisms for protein-ligand association or for more complex processes such as enzymatic reactions or folding.

The conception of these methods was motivated by a thorough study of the association of R67 DHFR subunits combining experimental and computational approaches (see previous reports, Protein Folding and Modelling Unit). Our new method reduces significantly the uncertainties of free energy difference calculations. The method is based on the optimization of ensemble fluctuations during thermodynamic integration. Good convergence properties were observed, and predictions were in good agreement with experiments (~0.4 kcal/mol difference). A recent comparison with standard methods from the literature confirmed the superiority of our method. We further tested the convergence on systems presenting significant hysteresis. Based on the comparison of the calculation results with the set of precise experimental data that we have made available in the literature we conclude that we can predict free energy differences with a precision comparable to that of experiments, provided the mechanism of association and structural relaxations are taken into account.

Dynamics of protein-ligand interactions (P.-L. Chau)

An 1-ns unbinding trajectory of retinol from the bovine serum retinol-binding protein has been obtained from molecular dynamics simulations. The behaviour of water during ligand unbinding has never been studied in detail. In this study, a new method for defining a binding site was developed, the water molecules involved in the binding site were located, and their movements examined during unbinding. It was found that there were only small changes in the binding site. The number of water molecules inside the binding site decreased, and there were re-arrangements of the hydrogen bonds, during unbinding. This work represents the first detailed study of the behaviour of water during an unbinding process.

The dynamics of protein-protein complex formation (R. Grünberg, J. Leckner, M. Nilges)

One of the major problems when predicting protein-protein complexes is posed by structural transitions between the free and bound conformations. Protein-protein docking algorithms need to rely on various simplifications, since fully flexible docking is computationally not feasible. To improve docking procedures, detailed knowledge about dynamic properties of binding surfaces is necessary. While static properties like shape complementarity and differences between free and bound structures have been studied in quite some detail, little is known about how binding affects - and is affected by - the dynamics of the protein partners. We selected a set of 17 protein-protein complexes for which the three-dimensional structures of both free components and the complex are available. For each of these 51 systems we performed molecular dynamics simulations in explicit water. Surprisingly, in many cases binding does not restrict the motion of interface residues or of the proteins as a whole. In the majority of cases, average fluctuations of the bound components are similar or higher when compared to the free trajectories. Such increased flexibilities have also been observed experimentally in complexes of Calmodulin, protein L9, Protein kinase A, and others. Moreover, we often observe that already the free receptor and ligand interfaces show complementary dynamic behaviour.

Interaction between 5-HT and the 5-HT3 receptor (P.L. Chau, N. Duclert-Savatier, M. Nilges; collaboration with Sarah Lummis (Department of Biochemistry, University of Cambridge))

This study is a continuation of previous work on the predicted complex of 5-HT and a homology model of the 5-HT3 receptor, which showed good agreement with experimental findings (D.C. Reeves, M.F.R. Sayed, P.-L. Chau, K.L. Price and S.C.R. Lummis (2003) Biophysical Journal 84 2338--2344). The properties of the modelled complex were further studied by molecular dynamics calculations. A water sphere of 12 Å was placed around the binding site, and the dynamic properties of 5-HT studied using Langevin dynamics. The dynamics will permit a detailed analysis of the strength of the different interactions between the ligand and the protein, which will be compared to the experimental results obtained in the laboratory of Sarah Lummis.

Hydrophobic hydration (P.-L. Chau)

The influence of curvature on hydrophobic hydration was studied by molecular dynamics calculations. Three hemispherical objects of radius 6.5 Å, 9.3 Å and 12.2 Å were constructed from tessellated icosahedra where the vertices were hydrophobic "atoms". These objects were hydrated, and molecular dynamics simulations were performed on the solvated system. Analysis of the trajectories demonstrated that water molecules around convex solutes possess different configurations and exhibit different translational and rotational dynamics from water molecules in the bulk region. No qualitative difference was observed in the alteration of these structural and dynamic properties as the hemispheres became larger.

Interpretation of experimental NMR data

A new principle for NMR structure determination (W. Rieping, M. Habeck, M. Nilges)

The principal determinants of uncertainties in NMR structures are imperfections in the experimental data and inaccuracies of theoretical models. We are developing a new structure determination principle, called Inferential Structure Determination (ISD), based on Bayesian probability theory, in order to deal with uncertainties of experimental data and theoretical models in a fundamental way. The approach is very general and not limited to NMR structure determination. One key advantage is that all unknown quantities, not only atomic coordinates, can be estimated from the data. Accordingly, ISD contains no free parameters, thus reducing human bias to a minimum: calculated structures depend only on the experimental data and additional prior knowledge about physical interactions of the system, implemented in a molecular dynamics force field. The estimated precision of the structure is only determined by the data, as it ideally should be. Using this approach, we can for the first time derive statistically meaningful figures of merit for NMR structures (atomic uncertainties). The Bayesian analysis also permits us to evaluate the consistency of the data, using predictive distributions. In addition, we are working on improvements of the data model used to directly include parameters describing internal dynamics into the calculation.

Larges-scale structural models and genomic analyses (E. Yeramian)

In the prolongation of previous work, the developments (based on collaborations) are following four complementary directions: 1) Algorithmic methodologies, for the implementation of realistic large-scale structural models. Usually such implementations are limited by computational complexities relative to the long-range effects. The new extensions concern the problems of RNA secondary structures and sequence alignments with non-linear gap penalties (with E. Debonneuil); 2) Elaboration of physical bases for large-scale structural models. The recent developments concern notably supercoiled DNA (with H. Orland and T. Garel); 3) Genomic analyses and gene identifications on structural bases. Such analyses (with L. Jones) being implemented now in a new web-site 'pbga.pasteur.fr' (PBGA: Physics-Based-Genomic-Analyses) and 4) Genome comparisons for the evolutionary description of phylogenies (with F. Tekaia).

Keywords: protein structure prediction, protein interactions, docking, molecular modelling, genome analysis



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Communal Renée, communal@pasteur.fr Nilges Michael, Head of Unit : nilges@pasteur.fr

Blondel Arnaud, Researcher: ablondel@pasteur.fr

Chau Pak Lee, Researcher : pc104@pasteur.fr

Maroun Rachid, Researcher : rmaroun@pasteur.fr

Yeramian Edouard, Researcher : yeramian@pasteur.fr

Jens Linge, Post-doctorant

Johan leckner, Post-doctorant

Grünberg, Raik, PhD student, raik@pasteur.fr

Habeck, Michael, PhD student, habeck@pasteur.fr

Rieping, Wolfgang, PhD student, rieping@pasteur.fr

Krzeminski Michael, PhD student, mkrzemin@pasteur.fr

Ait Abdallah Samira, Student

Ravetch Jared, Student

Rang Catherine, Student
Duclert-Savatier, Nathalie, engineer, nathsav@pasteur.fr

Huynh, Tru-Quang, engineer, tru@pasteur.fr

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Bioinformatique structurale


  Responsable : Michael Nilges (nilges@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les intérêts principaux de recherches de l'unité sont l'analyse et la prédiction des structures et des interactions des protéines, la prédiction de grands mouvements des protéines, la détermination de la structure et de la dynamique des protéines à partir des données RMN, et l'analyse des données génomiques. Les méthodes employées ou développées incluent la modélisation par homologie, les calculs d'amarrage, la dynamique moléculaire, et le calcul d'énergie libre.



  rapport

cale

Modélisation des interactions protéine-peptide dans des venins de serpent (R. Maroun)

Le venin du serpent B. jararaca contient deux sérines protéinases qui présentent 66 % d'identité de séquence, mais avec des fonctions complémentaires. La PA-BJ induit l'agrégation et la réaction de relâche des plaquettes sans coaguler le fibrinogène. La bothrombine coagule le fibrinogène, mais n'a pas d'effets directs sur les plaquettes, sauf en présence de fibrinogène exogène. Afin de comprendre la base moléculaire de la distribution des deux fonctions procoagulantes de la thrombine - activation du fibrinogène et agrégation plaquettaire - parmi ces deux enzymes de venin de serpent, nous avons obtenu des modèles moléculaires pour chaque enzyme dans la forme apo et dans la forme complexée. Deux fragments du fibrinogène comprenant le fibrinopeptide A ont été modélisés au niveau du site actif et de l'exosite 1 de la bothrombine. Pour la PA-BJ, un tétrapeptide provenant du site de liaison de la thrombine avec son récepteur PAR1 a été utilisé. Les modèles moléculaires des complexes montrent que, de façon analogue à la thrombine, chacune des enzymes présente deux exosites. Néanmoins, les exosites contiennent une moindre proportion d'acides aminés basiques que la thrombine (45-72%), ce qui peut expliquer la réduction de la diversité fonctionnelle de ces enzymes. En plus, la composition de l'exosite I est différente chez les deux enzymes. Nous avons identifié ceux résidus dans l'exosite I qui pourraient contribuer aux différences de spécificité. Finalement, contrairement au cas de la thrombine, l'allostérie ne semble pas jouer un rôle dans la reconnaissance macromoléculaire du substrat.

Nouvelles méthodes de calcul de l'énergie libre des associations protéine-ligand (A. Blondel)

Ces développements ont pour but de fiabiliser les méthodes de prédictions quantitatives de l'énergie libre d'associations protéine-ligand de sorte qu'elle puissent compléter utilement les expériences sur des processus biologiques ou contribuer à la conception de nouveaux agents thérapeutiques. En raison de leur importance énergétique, nous nous intéressons à l'identification des conformations et des mécanismes pertinents pour les associations protéine-ligand, ou encore pour des processus plus complexes comme les réactions enzymatiques ou le repliement des protéines.

La conception de ces méthodes à été motivée par une étude expérimentale et théorique approfondie de l'association des sous-unités de R67 DHFR (voir les rapports précédents de l'unité de Repliement et Modélisation des Protéines). Notre nouvelle méthode réduit de manière significative les incertitudes dans le calcul de différence de l'énergie libre. La méthode est basée sur l'optimisation des fluctuations d'ensemble lors de l'intégration thermodynamique. De bonnes propriétés de convergence ont été observées, et les prédictions étaient en accord avec des expériences (différence de ~0.4 kcal/mol). Une comparaison récente avec des méthodes standard de la littérature a confirmé la supériorité de notre méthode. Nous avons aussi examiné la convergence sur des systèmes présentant une hystérèse significative. Une comparaison de nos calculs avec l'ensemble de données expérimentales précises que nous avons rendues disponibles dans la littérature nous permet de conclure qu'il est possible de prédire les différences d'énergie libre avec une précision comparable à celle de l'expérience à condition de prendre en compte le mécanisme d'association et les relaxations structurales.

La dynamique des interactions protéine-ligand (P.-L. Chau)

Une trajectoire de dynamique moléculaire montrant la sortie forcée du rétinol de son transporteur dans le sérum de boeuf a été calculé. Le comportement de l'eau pendant la séparation du ligand n'a jamais été étudié en détail. Dans cette étude, une nouvelle méthode pour définir un site de liaison a été développée, les molécules d'eau impliquées dans la liaison ont été localisées, et leurs mouvements ont été examinés pendant la séparation du ligand. On n'observe que de petits changements structuraux dans le site de liaison. Le nombre de molécules d'eau à l'intérieur du site diminue, et les liaisons d'hydrogène se réarrangent pendant la séparation. Ce travail représente la première étude détaillée du comportement de l'eau pendant un processus de séparation.

La dynamique de la formation de complexes entre protéines (R. Grünberg, J. Leckner, M. Nilges)

Un des problèmes principaux pour la prédiction de complexes entre protéines est la flexibilité de partenaires. Les algorithmes d'amarrage doivent comporter diverses simplifications pour contourner la complexité dû à la flexibilité des partenaires. Pour améliorer des procédures d'amarrage, la connaissance détaillée des propriétés dynamiques des surfaces d'interaction est nécessaire. Tandis que des propriétés statiques comme la complémentarité de forme et les différences entre les structures libres et complexées ont été étudiées en détail, peu de chose est connu au sujet de la façon dont une interaction entre protéines affecte la dynamique des protéines. Nous avons choisi un ensemble de 17 complexes de deux protéines pour lesquels les structures tridimensionnelles des composants libres et du complexe sont disponibles. Pour chacun de ces 51 systèmes nous avons effectué des simulations de dynamique moléculaire dans l'eau. Dans beaucoup de cas, l'interaction ne diminue pas le mouvement globale des partenaires ni des résidus de l'interface. Dans la majorité de cas, les fluctuations moyennes des partenaires dans le complexe sont similaires ou plus grandes que dans la forme libre. Des effets similaires ont été observés expérimentalement dans les complexes de la calmoduline, de la protéine L9, de la protéine kinase A, et d'autres encore. Par ailleurs, nous observons souvent que les interfaces de récepteur et de ligand montrent un comportement dynamique complémentaire avant l'interaction.

Interaction entre 5-HT et le récepteur 5-HT3 (P.L. Chau, N. Duclert-Savatier, M. Nilges ; collaboration avec Sarah Lummis (département de biochimie, Université de Cambridge)).

Cette étude est la suite des travaux précédents sur le complexe de 5-HT et un modèle d'homologie du récepteur 5-HT3, qui était en bonne concordance avec des résultats expérimentaux (D.C. Reeves, M.F.R. Sayed, P.-L. Chau, K.L. Price and S.C.R. Lummis (2003) Biophysical Journal 84: 2338-2344). Les propriétés du complexe modelé ont été étudiées par des calculs de dynamique moléculaire. Une sphère de l'eau de 12 Å a été placée autour du site de liaison, et les propriétés dynamiques de 5-HT ont été étudiées en utilisant la méthode de dynamique de Langevin. Cette étude permettra une analyse détaillée des forces des différentes interactions entre le ligand et la protéine, et une interprétation des résultats expérimentaux obtenus en laboratoire de Sarah Lummis.

L'hydratation hydrophobe (P.-L. Chau)

L'influence de la courbure sur l'hydratation hydrophobe a été étudiée par des calculs moléculaires de dynamique. Trois objets hémisphériques de rayon 6.5 Å, 9.3 Å et 12.2 Å ont été construits à partir des icosaèdres où les sommets étaient les "atomes" hydrophobes. Ces objets ont été hydratés, et des simulations de dynamique moléculaire ont été effectuées sur le système. L'analyse de la trajectoire a démontré que les molécules d'eau autour des corps dissous convexes possèdent des configurations différentes et montrent la dynamique de translation et de rotation différente des molécules d'eau dans la région en bloc. On n'a observé aucune différence qualitative dans le changement de ces propriétés structurales et dynamiques pendant que les hémisphères devenaient plus grands.

Un nouveau principe pour la détermination RMN de structure (W. Rieping, M. Habeck, M. Nilges)

Les deux principales causes des incertitudes en structures RMN sont l'imperfection de données expérimentales et l'inexactitude des modèles théoriques. Nous développons un nouveau principe de détermination de structure, appelé " Inferential Structure Determination " (ISD), basé sur la théorie des probabilités Bayésienne, afin de traiter ces incertitudes de manière fondamentale. L'approche est très générale et non limitée à la détermination de structure RMN. Le principal avantage est que cette méthodes permet d'estimer non seulement les coordonnées atomiques, mais aussi d'autres paramètres inconnus comme la qualité de données. En conséquence, ISD n'introduit qu'un minimum de biais humain : les structures calculées dépendent seulement des données expérimentales et des interactions physiques du système (un champ de force de dynamique moléculaire). La précision estimée de la structure est donc seulement déterminée par les données, comme elle devrait l'être idéalement. En utilisant cette approche, nous pouvons pour la première fois dériver des figures de mérite statistiquement significatives pour les structures RMN (incertitudes atomiques). L'analyse Bayésienne nous permet également d'évaluer la cohérence des données, en utilisant des distributions prédictives. En outre, nous travaillons à l'amélioration de la façon dont sont employées les données, pour tenir compte de la dynamique interne de la protéine dans le calcul.

Application des principes physiques à l'analyse des structures d'acide nucléique(E. Yeramian)

Dans le prolongement des travaux des années précédentes les développements se sont effectués (en collaboration) selon 4 directions complémentaires: 1) méthodologies algorithmiques, avec extensions aux problèmes d'alignements de séquences et structures d'ARN (avec E. Debonneuil); 2) physique des modèles structuraux à grande échelle, notamment pour l'ADN sous-enroulé (avec H. Orland et T. Garel); 3) analyses génomiques, et identification de gènes, sur des bases structurales (avec L. Jones, et la création notamment d'un site pbga.pasteur.fr, pbga: Physics-Based-Genomic-Analyses) et 4) comparaisons génomiques et phylogénies (avec F. Tekaia).

Mots-clés: prediction de structures des protéines, interactions des protéines, arramage, modélisation moléculaire, analyse de genomes



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Communal Renée, communal@pasteur.fr Nilges Michael, Chef de laboratoire IP : nilges@pasteur.fr

Blondel Arnaud, Chargé de Recherche IP : ablondel@pasteur.fr

Chau Pak Lee, Chargé de Recherche IP : pc104@pasteur.fr

Maroun Rachid, CR1 CNRS : rmaroun@pasteur.fr

Yeramian Edouard, DR2 CNRS : yeramian@pasteur.fr

Jens Linge, post-doctorant

Johan leckner, post-doctorant

Grünberg, Raik, Thésard, raik@pasteur.fr

Habeck, Michael, Thésard, habeck@pasteur.fr

Rieping, Wolfgang, Thésard, rieping@pasteur.fr

Krzeminski Michael, Thésard, mkrzemin@pasteur.fr

Ait Abdallah, Samira Maîtrise

Ravetch, Jared

Rang, Catherine
Duclert-Savatier, Nathalie, Ingénieur, nathsav@pasteur.fr

Huynh, Tru-Quang, Ingénieur, tru@pasteur.fr

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr