Homepage   general_banner
imprimer
Print
     Apoptosis and Immune System - CNRS URA 1961


  Director : SUSIN, Santos A. (susin@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Programmed cell death (PCD) or apoptosis is part of the normal physiology of an organism. PCD deregulation may give rise to several pathologies (cancer, neurodegenerative and autoimmune diseases). In several models, this highly controlled process is linked to the activation of a family of cysteine proteases called caspases. However, there is a considerable amount of data pointing out the existence of several caspase-independent cell death pathways. The Apoptosis and Immune System team is devoted to research on caspase-independent cell death mechanisms in the immune system. The main objectives of our scientific project are to: 1) identify the mechanisms that regulate the necrosis-like cell death mediated by CD47 in B-chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (B-CLL) cells; 2) expand the knowledge of the regulation mechanism involved in apoptosis-like cell death by seeking to define the molecular mechanisms that determine the functions of AIF (one of the essential agents of this type of caspase-independent apoptosis).



  report

cale

Identification of mechanisms that regulate necrosis-like cell death mediated by CD47 in B-chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (B-CLL) cells (Marlène Bras, Nadine Robert & Gaël Roué).

The involvement of antigen CD47 (IAP) via its physiological ligand, thrombospondin, or via an anti-CD47 agonist antibody, induces cell adhesion and motility through the ß3 integrins. It also induces a form of caspase-independent cell death whose mechanism is yet to be defined. Our objective is to identify, through a multi-parametrical cell analysis, the actors involved in this pathway. Special attention should be paid to the importance of this type of apoptosis in the context of B-CLL. Indeed, the functionality of this way to death is preserved even in B-CLL cells offering resistance to apoptosis mediated by the intrinsic mitochondrial pathway (activated by most of the agents used in chemotherapy) and/or by the extrinsic death receptors.

Upon inducing cell death in B-CLL cells, via anti-CD47, we do not observe any nuclear change (hypodiploidy or DNA fragmentation) despite the reduction in the mitochondrial membrane potential, the production of oxygen free radicals and the aberrant exposure of phosphatidylserine residues on the outer plasma membrane leaflet. Furthermore, downstream of mitochondria, we neither observe cytochrome c or AIF release nor caspase-3 activation. These parameters as a whole enable us to identify the cell death mediated by CD47 as a necrosis-like PCD. In contrast, when treating these B-CLL cells with hydrocortisone, cell death is accompanied by all the typical hallmarks of apoptosis, including the alteration in mitochondrial potential and nuclear DNA fragmentation. These phenomena induced by hydrocortisone treatment depend on caspase activity and can no longer be observed when the general caspase inhibitor z-VAD.fmk is present. All these results indicate that at least two cell death pathways coexist in most B-CLL cells.

In order to identify the elements involved in the CD47 cell death pathway, we first sought to determine, through a flow cytometry and a immunofluorescence analysis, the activation level of two proapoptotic proteins of the Bcl-2 family: Bax and Bak. Using these two techniques we noticed that Bax and Bak are activated in the CD47 death pathway, and in a much stronger way than under the caspase-dependent hydrocortisone treatment. These results were confirmed in the T Jurkat leukemic cells using etoposide - a topoisomerase II inhibitor - as a positive control.

We currently study the role of Bax and Bak activation in this death pathway. At the same time, we analyse the possible role of the BH3-proteins such as Bid, Bim or Bmf, which could be potentially involved in Bax and Bak activation. Finally, through the use of specific inhibitors of the different signal transduction paths we seek to characterize the events that precede Bax and Bak activation.

Expansion of the knowledge of regulation mechanisms in apoptosis-like cell death (Cécile Delettre-Cribaillet, Rana Moubarak & Victor J. Yuste-Mateos).

One of the essential agents acting in apoptosis-like, caspase-independent PCD, is AIF (Apoptosis-Inducing Factor). AIF is a mitochondrial intermembrane flavoprotein that has both oxydoreductase and apoptotic functions. Although AIF functions have already been described, several questions about the mode of action of AIF still remain unanswered.

In order to expand our knowledge of apoptosis-like cell death, the aim of our project is to define the molecular mechanisms that determine the functions of AIF.

-Characterization of AIF isoforms: there are two AIF isoforms issued from the alternate splicing of exon 2 (variant 1) and exon 2b (variant 2). In order to better understand the role of these isoforms in the caspase-independent apoptotic process, we characterized their tissue distribution in human through RT-PCR and Northern blot analysis. The two variants show a different tissue expression. At present, we are working on a more detailed characterization of these two splice variants and of their functions in caspase-independent cell death.

-Identification of factors that interact with AIF before and after the apoptotic stimulus: Based on an AIF-FLAG construction and with the help of co-immunoprecipitation assays we obtained, in close collaboration with the Proteomic Platform at the Pasteur Institute, the sequences of several potential AIF partners. Studies of the links between these proteins and AIF will be performed in order to demonstrate their functional interaction. The resulting data will be completed by functional tests that will enable us to select the AIF cofactors.

-AIF elimination by RNAi technique, effects on apoptosis: The RNAi technique (RNA interference) makes it possible to reduce protein expression by introducing a small double-chained ARN into the cell. We outlined 19-nucleotide siRNAs (short interference RNA) that correspond to region 5' of AIF's ARN messenger. After the transfection of these oligonucleotides into HeLa cells, we were able to observe, by Western blot and by immunofluorescence, a reduction of 80% in AIF expression. Having confirmed these results by RT-PCR, we are currently working on the apoptosis signalling pathways that could be affected by a lower level of AIF expression.

-AIF anti-tumoral activity: In an effort to further analyse AIF's implication in different types of cancer, we are also studying AIF expression in a series of tumoral cell lines treated with apoptotic inducers such as oxidative stress inducers, chemotherapeutic agents or irradiation. We presently aim to demonstrate the cause and effect relationship between AIF and oncogenesis.

All of these studies will allow for a deeper knowledge of the molecular mechanisms that characterize apoptosis-like death. The consequent results will provide data that is needed in order to know AIF partners, thereby paving the way for evaluating the role of AIF in tumour development and determining whether it can be a diagnosis marker for the study of cancer.

Photos :

1. Subcellular distribution of cytochrome c and AIF in B-CLL B cells treated with hydrocortisone or with an immobilised anti-CD47 antibody.

2. Morphologic modifications induced by AIF in HeLa cell nuclei.

Keywords: Apoptosis, Apoptosis Inducing Factor (AIF), Cancer, B-CLL, Caspase-independent cell death



  publications

puce Publications 2003 of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  AYTAC, Marie-Dominique, (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) SUSIN, Santos A., CNRS, (CR1, susin@pasteur.fr) DELETTRE-CRIBAILLET, Cécile, Postdoc

ROUÉ, Gaël, Postdoc

YUSTE-MATEOS, Victor J., Postdoc

BRAS, Marlène, PhD student

MOUBARAK, Rana, PhD student

ROBERT, Nadine (Technician, nadou@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
imprimer
Imprimer
     Apoptose et système immunitaire - CNRS URA 1961


  Responsable : SUSIN, Santos A. (susin@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

La mort cellulaire programmée (MCP) ou apoptose fait partie intégrante de la physiologie normale d'un organisme. Une dérégulation de la MCP peut-être à l'origine de nombreuses pathologies (cancers, maladies neurodégénératives et auto-immunes). Dans de nombreux modèles, ce processus hautement contrôlé est lié à l'activation d'une famille de protéases à cystéine, les caspases. Mais de nombreuses données se sont accumulées en faveur de l'existence de diverses voies de mort caspase-indépendantes. L'équipe Apoptose et Système Immunitaire se consacre à l'étude des mécanismes de la mort cellulaire indépendante des caspases dans le contexte du système immunitaire, à travers un projet de recherche visant deux objectifs majeurs: 1) Identifier les mécanismes qui régulent la mort cellulaire "nécrose-like" médiée par CD47 dans la leucémie lymphoïde chronique B; 2) Définir les mécanismes moléculaires qui déterminent les fonctions de AIF (un des agents essentiels de l'apoptose caspase-indépendante) et approfondir les connaissances du mécanisme de régulation cellulaire de la mort "apoptose-like".



  rapport

cale

Identification des mécanismes qui régulent la mort cellulaire "nécrose-like" médiée par CD47 dans la leucémie lymphoïde chronique B (Marlène Bras, Nadine Robert & Gaël Roué).

L'engagement de l'antigène CD47 (IAP) par son ligand physiologique, la thrombospondine, ou par un anticorps agoniste anti-CD47 mimant les effets du ligand, induit l'adhésion et la mobilité des cellules via les intégrines-ß3 auxquelles le récepteur est associé, mais aussi une forme de mort cellulaire indépendante des caspases dont le mécanisme reste à déterminer. A travers une analyse cellulaire multi-paramétrique, notre objectif est d'identifier les acteurs impliqués dans la transduction de ce signal de mort dans le contexte de la leucémie lymphoïde chronique B (LLC-B). En effet, alors que le système CD47 est physiologiquement impliqué dans l'élimination des lymphocytes B et T, la fonctionnalité de cette voie de mort est conservée dans les cellules de LLC-B alors que celles-ci se montrent résistantes à l'apoptose médiée par la voie intrinsèque mitochondriale (activée par la plupart des agents utilisés en chimiothérapie) et par la voie extrinsèque des récepteurs de mort.

En induisant la mort des cellules B de LLC-B par l'anti-CD47, nous n'observons pas de modification de la morphologie nucléaire, d'hypodiploïdie, ou de fragmentation de l'ADN, malgré la chute du potentiel membranaire mitochondrial, la production de radicaux libres oxygénés et l'exposition des résidus de phosphatidylsérine à la couche externe de la membrane plasmique. De plus, en aval de la mitochondrie, nous n'observons pas de relargage du cytochrome c ou de AIF ni d'activation de la caspase-3. Par comparaison, lors d'un traitement des cellules de LLC-B par l'hydrocortisone, un glucocorticoïde auquel ces cellules sont restées sensibles, la mort cellulaire est accompagnée de tous les signes de l'altération du potentiel mitochondrial et de la fragmentation de l'ADN nucléaire due à l'activité des caspases. Dans ce cas de figure, le cytochrome c et AIF se trouvent bien remobilisés, et la caspase-3 est activée. Tous ces phénomènes sont alors dépendants de l'activité des caspases et ne sont plus observés en présence de l'inhibiteur général de caspases z-VAD.fmk. En revanche, la mort induite par CD47 reste indépendante de ces protéases et n'est pas inhibée par le z-VAD.fmk. L'ensemble de ces paramètres nous permettent d'identifier la mort cellulaire médiée par CD47 comme une mort de type "nécrose-like".

Afin d'identifier les éléments de cette voie de mort, nous avons tout d'abord cherché à déterminer par cytométrie en flux et immunofluorescence le niveau d'activation de deux protéines pro-apoptotiques de la famille Bcl-2 : Bax et Bak. Nous observons par cette technique que ces deux protéines se retrouvent activées dans cette voie de mort, et ceci de manière encore plus importante que lors du traitement par l'hydrocortisone. Ces résultats ont été confirmés dans la lignée leucémique T Jurkat, avec pour contrôle un traitement par l'étoposide, un inhibiteur de la topoisomérase II.

Nous étudions actuellement le rôle de l'activation de Bax et Bak dans cette voie de mort, à partir de cellules invalidées pour Bax et/ou Bak. En parallèle, nous étudions le rôle éventuel des protéines à domaine BH3 telles que Bid, Bim, ou Bmf, potentiellement impliquées dans l'activation de Bax et Bak. Enfin, par l'utilisation de différents inhibiteurs spécifiques, nous cherchons à caractériser les évènements qui précèdent l'activation de Bax, Bak et le signal mitochondrial.

II. Approfondissement des connaissances de la régulation cellulaire de la mort "apoptose-like" (Cécile Delettre-Cribaillet, Rana Moubarak & Victor J. Yuste-Mateos)

Un des agents essentiels de l'apoptose caspase-indépendante est la protéine AIF (ou "Apoptosis Inducing Factor"). AIF est une protéine mitochondriale possédant à la fois une fonction oxydo-réductase et une fonction apoptotique. Bien que ces fonctions aient été déjà caractérisées, de nombreuses questions relatives au mode d'action de la protéine restent encore sans réponse.

L'objectif de notre projet est ainsi de définir les mécanismes moléculaires qui déterminent les fonctions de AIF et d'approfondir les connaissances du mécanisme de régulation cellulaire de la mort caspase-indépendante "apoptose-like" et du rôle de AIF dans cette régulation.

-Caractérisation des isoformes de AIF: Il existe deux isoformes de AIF issues respectivement de l'épissage alternatif de l'exon 2 (variant 1) et de l'exon 2b (variant 2). Afin de mieux comprendre leur rôle dans le processus d'apoptose caspase-indépendante, nous avons caractérisé leur distribution tissulaire chez l'homme par RT-PCR et Northern blot. Les deux variants montrent une expression tissulaire différentiell. Nous procédons actuellement à une caractérisation plus précisé de ces deux isoformes, ainsi que de leurs fonctions dans la mort cellulaire caspase-indépendante.

-Identification des facteurs qui interagissent avec AIF avant et après un stimulus apoptotique: À partir d'une construction AIF-FLAG et à l'aide d'expériences d'immunoprécipitation, nous avons obtenu, en collaboration avec la plate-forme de protéomique de l'Institut Pasteur, les séquences de plusieurs protéines potentiellement partenaires de AIF. Des études de liaisons entre ces protéines et AIF seront effectuées afin de démontrer leurs interactions potentielles. Les données ainsi obtenues seront complétées par des expériences fonctionnelles qui nous permettront de sélectionner de potentiels cofacteurs d'AIF.

-Élimination de AIF par la technique de RNAi, effets sur l'apoptose : La technique de RNAi (RNA interférence) permet de diminuer l'expression d'une protéine au moyen de l'introduction dans la cellule d'un petit ARN de double chaîne, spécifique de l'ARN messager à détruire. Nous avons dessiné des siRNA (short interference RNA) de 19 nucléotides qui correspondent à la région 5' de l'ARN messager de AIF. Après la transfection de ces oligonucléotides dans des cellules HeLa, nous avons pu observer par Western blot et par immunofluorescence une diminution de 80% de l'expression de AIF. Après la confirmation de ces résultats par RT-PCR, nous travaillons actuellement sur les voies de signalisation de l'apoptose qui pourraient être affectées par la diminution du niveau d'expression de AIF.

-Activité anti-tumorale de AIF : Dans le but d'approfondir l'implication de AIF dans les cancers, nous étudions également l'expression de la protéine dans différentes lignées cellulaires tumorales traitées avec des inducteurs de stress oxydatif, des agents chimiothérapeutiques ou par irradiation. Nous cherchons actuellement à démontrer le lien de cause à effet entre déficit d'AIF et oncogénèse.

L'ensemble de ces travaux permettra d'approfondir la connaissance des mécanismes moléculaires qui caractérisent la mort "apoptose-like". Les résultats obtenus fourniront les données nécessaires pour connaître les partenaires de AIF et permettront aussi d'évaluer l'implication de AIF dans le développement des tumeurs et de déterminer s'il peut être un marqueur diagnostique et pronostique des cancers.

Légendes

1. Distribution subcellulaire des protéines proapoptotiques cytochrome c et AIF dans les cellules B de LLC-B traitées avec hydrocortisone ou avec un anticorps anti-CD47 immobilisé.

2. Modifications morphologiques induites par AIF dans les noyaux des cellules Hela.

Mots-clés: Apoptose, Apoptosis Inducing Factor (AIF), Cancer, LLC-B, Mort caspase-indépendante



  publications

puce Toutes les publications 2003 sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  AYTAC, Marie-Dominique, (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) SUSIN, Santos A., CNRS, (CR1, susin@pasteur.fr) DELETTRE-CRIBAILLET, Cécile, Chercheur post-doctoral

ROUÉ, Gaël, Chercheur post-doctoral

YUSTE-MATEOS, Victor J., Chercheur post-doctoral

BRAS, Marlène, Étudiante en thèse

MOUBARAK, Rana, Étudiante en thèse
ROBERT, Nadine (Technicienne, nadou@pasteur.fr)

Rapports d'activité 2003 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr