Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Slow Viruses - CNRS URA 1930


  Director : BRAHIC Michel (mbrahic@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit studies the pathogenesis of two persistent infections of the central nervous system (CNS): The demyelinating disease of mouse due to Theiler's virus, a model for multiple sclerosis, and the behavioral disease of rats infected at birth by Borna disease virus (BDV). The Unit has constructed a chimeric HTLV-I virus which will allow studying the pathogenesis of this virus in mice. Another important goal of the Unit is to use live attenuated measles vaccine as a vector to immunize against HIV.



  report

cale

1- Pathogenesis of the infection by Theiler's virus (Michel Brahic, Jean-Francois Bureau).

Theiler's virus is a picornavirus of mouse which infects neurons in the brain and spinal cord for about 2-3 weeks, before being eliminated by the immune system. However, in some genetically susceptible strains of mice, the virus is not eliminated and persists in glial cells of the white matter of spinal cord. This persistent infection is accompanied by chronic inflammation and primary demyelination resembling active plaques of multiple sclerosis.

Only viral strains which infect white matter glial cells may persist. The trafficking of the virus between neurons and glial cells and the role of myelin and oligodendrocytes in the establishment of persistent infection are studied by taking advantage of the resistance to persistent infection of the shiverer and rumpshaker mutant mice. These mice bear mutations in, respectively, Mbp and Plp, two genes coding for structural myelin proteins. Our studies call for pure primary oligodendrocyte and mixed oligodendrocyte/neuron cultures. In the latter, oligodendrocytes form myelin sheaths around axons in vitro. A technique which combines in situ hybridization with a fluorescent probe and immunofluorescent detection of antigens has been set up in the course of these studies. The technique allows quantitative studies on cell populations analyzed by FACS.

The group headed by Jean-Francois Bureau has been studying the genetic susceptibility to this disease for several years. The human homologues of some of the genes identified are studied as candidate gene for the susceptibility to multiple sclerosis.

In crosses between susceptible and resistant inbred mice, there is a correlation between high viral load in the CNS and clinical disease. However, high viral load is not sufficient for the appearance of clinical symptoms and a susceptibility locus for clinical disease has been mapped on chromosome 11.

Two loci for susceptibility to persistence infection, Tmevp2 and Tmevp3, have been mapped on chromosome 10, close to the gene for gamma interferon. Positional cloning has been initiated for Tmevp3. A candidate gene, Tmevpg1, and its human orthologue, TMEVPG1, have been characterized. They code for non-coding RNA expressed in CD4+ and CD8+ T-lymphocytes. They are turned off when these lymphocytes are activated, whereas the interferon gamma gene is turned on.

2- Neuronal dysfunction due to Bornavirus (Daniel Gonzalez-Dunia).

Borna disease virus (BDV), a single-stranded, non-segmented, negative RNA virus, causes persistent infections of the CNS with behavioral diseases. There is some evidence, both serologic and molecular, that BDV infects humans and that it could be implicated in some psychiatric diseases.

BDV infects neurons primarily and is non-cytopathic. In rats infected at birth, BDV persistent infection causes anomalies of the postnatal development of specific parts of CNS, in particular hippocampus and cerebellum. The animals do not show symptoms of meningitis or encephalitis; instead they show various behavioral disturbances. This system offers a unique opportunity to study structural and functional abnormalities due to a persistent viral infection, in the absence of inflammation. Our goal is to elucidate the mechanisms by which BDV alters the postnatal development of the CNS and neuroplasticity in general.

We showed that BDV infected PC12 cells are resistant to the neuronal differentiation induced by NGF. Resistance is linked to reduced expression of the NGF receptors, and also to alterations in the MEK/ERK NGF signaling pathway. We hypothesized that BDV interferes in vivo with the response of neurons to neurotrophins.

We studied the infection of primary cultures of hippocampal neurons by BDV. The virus does not alters the survival of the neurons, their morphology or the expression of neuron specific structural markers. Instead, the infection causes a specific down-regulation of the expression of proteins implicated in synaptic plasticity such as GAP-43, synapsin, VAMP-2 and synaptophysin. Furthermore, infected neurons do not respond normally to the neurotrophins BDNF and NT3, as shown by studying both the neurotrophin signaling pathway and the synaptogenesis normally induced by BDNF.

We showed that 1-ß-D-arabinofuranosylcytosine (Ara-C), an inhibitor of mitosis, was a powerful inhibitor of BDV, both in vitro and in vivo. This antiviral activity is specific for BDV. It is not linked to the effect of the drug on cellular DNA synthesis. New anti-BDV drugs, derived from Ara-C, but with reduced cellular toxicity are being investigated.

3- HTLV-I pathogenesis (Frédéric Tangy).

HTLV-I is the agent of tropical spastic paraparesis, a chronic demyelinating disease for which there is no good animal model. We constructed a chimeric HTLV-I in which the envelope protein is replaced by that of ecotropic Moloney murine leukemia virus. This chimeric virus lost its tropism for human cells but acquired a tropism for murine cells. Several inbred mouse lines were inoculated with this virus. The virus persisted in most of them, as integrated provirus, in CD4+ T-lymphocytes in lymphoid organs. Although the level of proviral expression was low, infected lymphocytes could spread the infection to naive ones.

4- A recombinant measles virus vaccine to immunize against HIV (Frédéric Tangy).

Live attenuated strains of measles virus are efficacious and safe vaccines which are widely used to immunize children. These vaccine can now be turned into viral vectors expressing foreign genes. A recombinant vaccine which could immunize at the same time against measles and against HIV would be a considerable asset in the fight against AIDS.

The Schwarz vaccine strain was cloned from a commercial batch of measles vaccine and made into a vector by inserting two additional transcription units. After two passages on chick embryo fibroblasts, the cell used to manufacture the vaccine, the sequence of the cloned measles vector was identical to that of the original vaccine. The immunogenicity of the cloned virus was tested in mice transgenic for the measles receptor (CD-46) and in macaques. Antibody titers and T cell responses were identical to those obtained with the same dose of the commercial vaccine.

A large series of recombinant measles viruses expressing various forms of the Gag, Pol and Nef proteins of SIV ant the Env and Tat proteins of HIV was constructed. Good humoral and cellular responses against these proteins were obtained by inoculating mice transgenic for the CD-46 receptor.

Several mutations were introduced in the env gene of HIV 89.6, a primary isolate, to increase the immunogenicity of the envelope protein, in particular the induction of neutralizing antibodies. The hyper-variable V1, V2 and V3 loops were deleted, singly or in various combinations. In some of the constructions, the V3 loop was replaced by the so-called "Katinger" neutralizing epitope. The constructions were obtained for the gp140 as well as the gp160 form of the Env protein. They were introduced in a measles vector and tested for their immunogenicity after a single low dose injection in mice transgenic for the CD-46 receptor. When the V3 loop was deleted, the neutralizing titers obtained were similar to those of human reference neutralizing sera or of a mixture of the 2F5 and 2G12 neutralizing monoclonal antibodies.

Recombinant measles/HIV-env viruses were inoculated to CD-46 transgenic mice which had been previously immunized against measles virus alone. After two injections of recombinant viruses, the anti-HIV neutralizing titers were identical to those obtained with naive animals. These results indicate that it might be possible to use recombinant measles vaccines in adults as well as in children.

Keywords: Theiler's virus, Borna disease virus, HTLV-I, AIDS vaccine, Pathogenesis



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  GAU Mireille BRAHIC Michel

BUREAU Jean-François

GONZALEZ-DUNIA Daniel

MOLLET Lucile

TANGY Frédéric

BAJRAMOVIC Jeffrey, Postdoc

DELEBECQUE Frédéric, PhD student

HANS Aymeric, PhD student

KARACHTCHOUK Galina, Postdoc

KHIAR, Hind, PhD student

LORIN, Clarisse, PhD student

MARTINAT Cécile, PhD student

MENA Ignacio, Postdoc

ROUSSARIE Jean-Pierre, PhD student

SARTORIUS Leah, Fulbright fellow

VIGNEAU Soline, PhD student

VOLMER Romain, PhD student

COMBREDET Chantal, Technician

LEVI-ACOBAS Fabienne, Technician

LEVILLAYER Florence, Technician

NAJBURG-LABROUSSE Valérie, Technician

SYAN Sylvie, Technician


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Virus Lents - CNRS URA 1930


  Responsable : BRAHIC Michel (mbrahic@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité étudie la pathogénie de la maladie démyélinisante de la souris due au virus de Theiler, un modèle de sclérose en plaques, et les mécanismes moléculaires responsables du dysfonctionnement neuronal causé par le Bornavirus. Par ailleurs, l'Unité a mis au point un virus chimérique pour étudier la pathogénie du HTLV-I chez la souris. Un autre objectif important est d'utiliser des virus vaccin anti-rougeole recombinants pour immuniser contre le VIH.



  rapport

cale

1- Pathogénie de l'infection par le virus de Theiler (Michel Brahic, Jean-François Bureau)

Après avoir atteint le système nerveux central (SNC), le virus de Theiler, un picornavirus de la souris, infecte les neurones du cerveau et de la moelle épinière pendant environ 2 semaines avant d'être éliminé par le système immunitaire. Cependant, chez certaines souris génétiquement sensibles, le virus n'est pas éliminé et persiste. Cette infection persistante a lieu dans les cellules gliales de la substance blanche de la moelle épinière. Elle s'accompagne d'inflammation chronique et de lésions démyélinisantes qui ressemblent à celles de la sclérose en plaques.

Seules les souches du virus de Theiler qui infectent les cellules gliales de la substance blanche persistent. Le trafic du virus depuis les neurones vers les cellules gliales de la substance blanche, et le rôle de la myéline et des oligodendrocytes dans ce trafic et dans l'établissement de l'infection persistante, sont étudiés en tirant partie de la résistance à l'infection persistante des souris mutantes shiverer et rumpshaker. Ces souris sont porteuses de mutations dans deux gènes (Mbp et Plp) codant pour des protéines de structure de la myéline. Ces études font appel à des cultures pures d'oligodendrocytes et des cultures mixtes neurones/oligodendrocytes/astrocytes qui myélinisent in vitro. Une technique d'hybridation in situ avec sonde fluorescente, combinée à la détection de protéines par immunofluorescence a été mise au point dans le cadre de ces études. Cette technique permet des études quantitatives sur des populations cellulaires analysées par FACS.

Depuis plusieurs années, le groupe de Jean-François Bureau identifie les gènes de sensibilité à la maladie démyélinisante et étudie le rôle que leurs équivalents humains pourraient jouer dans la sensibilité à la sclérose en plaques.

Un croisement entre souris sensibles et résistantes a montré qu'il existe une corrélation entre charge virale et maladie clinique. Cependant, une charge virale élevée est nécessaire mais n'est pas suffisante à l'apparition de signes cliniques. Un locus sur le chromosome 11 influe le risque de présenter une maladie clinique chez des animaux à charge virale élevée.

Deux locus de sensibilité à la persistance virale, Tmevp2 et Tmevp3, ont été localisés sur le chromosome 10, à proximité du gène codant pour l'interféron gamma. Le clonage positionel de Tmevp3 a été entrepris. Un gène candidat, Tmevpg1, a été caractérisé ainsi que son homologue humain TMEVPG1. Ils codent tous deux pour des ARN non-codants qui s'expriment dans les lymphocytes CD4+ et CD8+. Leur expression s'arrête lorsque ces lymphocytes sont stimulés, alors que celle du gène de l'interféron gamma est induite

2- Pathologie neuronale due au Bornavirus (Daniel Gonzalez-Dunia).

Le Bornavirus (BDV), un virus à ARN négatif simple brin non segmenté, infecte le SNC de façon persistante et induit des troubles du comportement. Des données séro-épidémiologiques et moléculaires suggèrent que le BDV infecte l'homme et qu'il pourrait être impliqué dans certaines maladies psychiatriques.

Le virus n'est pas cytopathique et infecte principalement les neurones. Chez le rat infecté à la naissance, cette infection persistante cause des anomalies du développement postnatal de certaines régions du SNC, en particulier de l'hippocampe et du cervelet. L'infection n'entraîne ni méningite ni encéphalite. Par contre, les animaux présentent divers troubles du comportement. L'infection périnatale par le BDV est un système unique pour étudier, en l'absence d'inflammation, les troubles structuraux et fonctionnels dûs à une infection virale persistante du SNC. Notre objectif est d'élucider les mécanismes par lesquels le BDV altère la neuroplasticité et le développement postnatal du SNC.

Nous avons démontré que les cellules PC12 infectées par le BDV devenaient résistantes à la différenciation neuronale induite par le NGF. Cette résistance est liée à une baisse de l'expression des récepteurs au NGF et aussi à des défauts dans la cascade de signalisation MEK/ERK induite par le NGF. Nous avons formulé l'hypothèse que, in vivo, l'infection des neurones interfère avec leur réponses aux neurotrophines.

Nous avons étudié l'effet du virus sur des cultures primaires de neurones d'hippocampe. Ces neurones sont particulièrement sensibles au BDV. L'infection n'altère pas leur survie, leur morphologie ni l'expression de marqueurs structuraux spécifiques. Par contre, l'infection entraîne une baisse sélective de l'expression de protéines impliquées dans le remodelage et la plasticité synaptique, telles que GAP-43, la synapsine, VAMP-2 et la synaptophysine. De plus, les neurones infectés présentent un défaut de réponse aux neurotrophines BDNF et NT3, tant au niveau de la cascade de transduction du signal que dans la synaptogénèse induite par le BDNF.

Nous avons observé que le 1-ß-D-arabinofuranosylcytosine (Ara-C), un inhibiteur mitotique, était un inhibiteur puissant du BDV, in vivo et in vitro. L'effet semble être spécifique pour le BDV et nous étudions actuellement le mécanisme d'action de l'Ara-C. De nouveaux antiviraux, aussi actifs contre le BDV que l'AraC mais a toxicité réduite, sont actuellement étudiés

3- Pathogénie de l'infection par HTLV-I (Frédéric Tangy).

HTLV-I est responsable d'une maladie neurologique démyélinisante chronique, la paraparésie spastique tropicale, pour laquelle il n'existe pas de bon modèle animal. Un HTLV-I, dont la protéine d'enveloppe a été remplacée par celle du virus écotrope de la leucémie murine de Moloney, a été construit au laboratoire dans le but d'établir un modèle murin de l'infection par HTLV-I. Ce virus chimérique a acquis un tropisme pour les cellules murines et a perdu son tropisme pour les cellules humaines. Plusieurs lignées de souris ont été infectées avec ce virus. Il persiste chez ces animaux, sous forme de provirus intégré, dans les organes lymphoïdes et en particulier dans les lymphocytes T CD4+. Le niveau d'expression du provirus est faible, cependant des lymphocytes infectés peuvent transmettre l'infection à des lymphocytes naïfs.

4- Mise au point d'un vaccin anti-HIV dérivé du vaccin contre la rougeole (Frédéric Tangy).

Les souches atténuées du virus de la rougeole sont des vaccins très efficaces, très sûrs et donc très largement utilisés. Ces vaccins peuvent maintenant être transformés en vecteurs pour exprimer des gènes étrangers. Un vaccin recombinant permettant d'immuniser les enfants à la fois contre la rougeole et contre le HIV serait d'un intérêt considérable.

La souche vaccinale Schwarz du virus de la rougeole a été clonée à partir d'un lot de vaccin commercial et transformée en vecteur par addition de deux unités de transcription suplémentaires. La séquence rougeole obtenue est identique à celle du virus vaccinal de départ après deux passages du virus cloné sur cellules d'embryons de poulet, les cellules utilisées pour produire ce vaccin. L'immunogénicité du virus cloné a été testée chez des souris transgéniques pour le récepteur de la rougeole (CD-46) et chez des singes macaques. Les titres d'anticorps et les réponses T étaient identiques à ceux obtenus avec le virus vaccinal commercial.

Un nombre important de vaccins rougeole recombinants exprimant différentes formes des protéines Gag, Pol et Nef du SIV, Env et Tat du HIV ont été construits. De bonnes réponses humorales et cellulaires contre les protéines SIV et HIV ont été obtenues en infectant les souris transgéniques avec ces virus.

Une série de mutations ont été introduites dans le gène env du HIV 89.6, un isolat primaire, de façon à augmenter l'immunogénicité de la protéine, en particulier l'induction d'anticorps neutralisants. Les boucles hyper variables V1, V2 et V3 ont été délétées isolément ou dans différentes combinaisons. L'épitope neutralisant dit "de Katinger" a été introduit dans certaines constructions à la place de la boucle V3. Ces contructions, qui concernaient les formes gp140 et gp160 de la protéine Env, ont été clonées dans un vecteur rougeole et exprimées. Leur immunogénicité (réponses T et anticorps neutralisants) a été testée après une seule injection de virus recombinant à des souris transgéniques pour le récepteur du virus de la rougeole. Après délétion de la boucle V3, les taux de neutralisation obtenus contre des isolats primaires du HIV étaient comparables à ceux de sérums humains neutralisants de référence ou à celui d'un mélange d'anticorps monoclonaux neutralisants (2F5/2G12).

Ces virus recombinants rougeole/envHIV ont également été injectés à des souris CD-46 et des macaques pré-immunisés contre la rougeole. Après deux injections de virus recombinants, les titres d'anticorps neutralisants étaient identiques à ceux obtenus chez des animaux naïfs. Ces résultats indiquent que des vaccins rougeole recombinants pourraient être utilisés non seulement chez les enfants mais aussi chez les adultes.

Mots-clés: Virus de Theiler, Bornavirus, HTLV-I, Vaccin anti-VIH, Virus neurotropes, Pathogénie



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  GAU Mireille, (mgau@pasteur.fr) BRAHIC Michel, CNRS/IP, (Directeur de Recherche I, Professeur,mbrahic@pasteur.fr)

BUREAU Jean-François, IP, (Chef de Laboratoire,jfb@pasteur.fr)

GONZALEZ-DUNIA Daniel, IP, (Chargé de Recherche,ddune@pasteur.fr)

MOLLET Lucile, IP (Chercheur contractuel,lmollet@pasteur.fr)

TANGY Frédéric, CNRS, (Directeur de Recherche II,ftangy@pasteur.fr)

BAJRAMOVIC Jeffrey, Post-doc

DELEBECQUE Frédéric, Thèse

HANS Aymeric, Thèse

KARACHTCHOUK Galina, Post-doc

KHIAR Hind, DEA

LORIN Clarisse, Thèse

MARTINAT Cécile, Thèse

MENA Ignacio, Post-doc

ROUSSARIE Jean-Pierre, DEA

SARTORIUS Leah, Boursière Fulbright

VIGNEAU Soline, Thèse

VOLMER Romain, Thèse

COMBREDET Chantal, (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire,combred@pasteur.fr)

LEVI-ACOBAS Fabienne, (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire,flacobas@pasteur.fr)

LEVILLAYER Florence, (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire,flevilla@pasteur.fr)

NAJBURG-LABROUSSE Valérie, (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire,vlabrous@pasteur.fr)

SYAN Sylvie, (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire,ssyan@pasteur.fr)

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr