Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Oncogenic Viruses - URA1644 du CNRS


  Director : YANIV Moshe (yaniv@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research unit studies the interplay between transcription factors and chromatin remodeling in activating and repressing genes in mammalian cells. Our research examines the importance of several families of transcription factors in controling cell differentiation and organogenesis, cell growth or apoptosis. We use complete or conditional gene inactivation in mice , micro-array analysis and bioinformatics. Our work has implications for understanding viral and non-viral malignant cell transformation and for deciphering the mechanisms underlying diseases such as Type II diabetes, kidney or liver disorders.



  report

cale

HNF1alpha and HNF1beta : development and disease Head of the group : Marco Pontoglio. Members of the group: Olivier Bluteau, Claire Chéret, Antonia Doyen, Evelyne Fischer, Lionel Gresh and Andreas Reimann

Hepatocyte Nuclear Factors 1 alpha and beta (HNF1a and HNF1b) are two homologous atypical dimeric homeoproteins that appeared during evolution with the first vertebrates. They are expressed in the polarized epithelia of different organs, including liver, kidney, pancreas and intestine, where they control the expression of numerous tissue-specific genes. Mice lacking HNF1b die in utero at embryonic day 7.5 because of a defect in visceral endoderm differentiation. In contrast, the conditional inactivation of HNF1 b in the liver leads to defective differentiation in the intrahepatic bile duct and hepatic artery. Inactivation of HNF1 a leads to postnatal dysfunctions of the liver, kidney and pancreas. These mice suffer from hypercholesterolemia, hyperphenylalaninemia, renal Fanconi syndrome and a drastic defect in insulin secretion. Mutations in both HNF1 a and b are associated with familial type II diabetes in humans (MODY3 and MODY5). We have used DNA oligonucleotide microarray hybridisation technology (Affymetrix) to identify several hundred genes whose expression is downregulated in the absence of one of these two transcription factors in the liver. We are currently studying the correlation between the transcriptional effect of these target genes and the enrichment for HNF1 binding sites detected in the nearby genomic regions using an in silico approach.

Proto-oncogenes Jun and Fos : a family of transcription factors Heads of the group : Fatima Mechta-Grigoriou and Jonathan Weitzman. Members of the group : Maya Ameyar-Zazoua, Damien Gérald, Chaouki Miled, Marta Wisniewska.

The AP-1 transcription factor is central to the cell's ability to integrate multiple extracellular signals and initiate the appropriate genetic response. AP-1 plays a critical role in regulating the cell cycle and the cellular response to stress. AP-1 is composed of dimers of Jun (c-Jun, JunB or JunD) and Fos (c-Fos, FosB, Fra1 and Fra2) proto-oncoproteins. Our laboratory focuses on unravelling the functions of the different Jun proteins using genetic and biochemical approaches. We have demonstrated that the balance between different AP-1 dimers controls progression through the cell cycle. The different Jun proteins also determine cellular transformation by the RAS oncogene. We have shown that AP-1 activates target genes such as cyclin D1 that drive cell cycle progression, as well as genes encoding inhibitors of cell proliferation such as p14ARF. We found that JunD protects cells from p53-dependent senescence and stress-induced apoptosis. These observations place AP-1 at a key position linking the RAS/pRb and p53 regulatory pathways. We are currently using genomic approaches to decipher the transcriptional programs that link AP-1 and p53 pathways in the cellular response to stress. We have found evidence for genetic redundancy and cooperation between the c-jun and junD genes. Mice lacking both jun genes display cardio-vascular and angiogenic defects during embryonic development. These mutants also exhibit an abnormal response to hypoxic stress, suggesting a potential role for AP-1 in the appearance of hypoxia-linked pathologies, such as myocardial ischemia or tumour progression. We are currently investigating the gene programs that underlie these cellular and developmental phenotypes.

Chromatin remodelling and cell growth control Head of the group : Christian Muchardt. Members of the group: Brigitte Bourachot, Bogdan Mateescu.

In eukaryotes, genomic DNA associates with histones to form chromatin. This environment renders the DNA partially inaccessible to other proteins. To overcome the chromatin barrier, the cell contains large multi-subunit machineries that use the energy of ATP hydrolysis to locally modify the histone-DNA interactions. One of these machineries is known as the SWI/SNF complex. This complex is specifically involved in transcription and facilitates the recruitment of transcriptional regulators to a limited number of promoters. We have shown that this complex is essential for early development of mice. In addition, several lines of evidence suggest that the SWI/SNF complex is generally associated with the control of cell growth. We have shown that overexpression of Brm, the catalytic subunit of the complex, slows down the growth of cancer cells. Conversely, inactivation of the Brm gene in mice causes increased cell proliferation. Another subunit of the complex, known as SNF5/INI1, is encoded by a "tumor suppressor" gene inactivated in rhabdoid tumors, a very aggressive form of cancer of young children. We have shown that inactivation of both copies of this gene in mice leads to the formation of tumors with many similarities to the human rhabdoid tumors. The use of conditional inactivation and microarrays RNA hybridization will help to unravel how inactivation of the SWI/SNF complex deregulates cell proliferation. Another protein that regulates the accessibility of the chromatin is HP1 (Heterochromatin Protein 1). We have shown that HP1 interaction with the pericentromeric chromatin depends both on its capacity to recognize methylated H3 histone, as well as on RNA recognition.

Control of human papillomavirus type 18 carcinogenesis . Head of the group : Françoise Thierry. Members of the group : Sophie Bellanger, Stéphanie Blachon, Caroline Demeret, Sébastien Teissier.

Our research focuses on the mechanisms of malignant conversion of cervical cells infected with the Human Papillomavirus type 18 (HPV18). Cervical cancer is the second cause of mortality in women from cancer, after breast cancer. The HPV virus infects specifically the genital tract, where it replicates in the upper layers of the epidermis. The virus encodes two oncogenic proteins E6 and E7, which alter the normal proliferative control of cells by interfering with two regulatory proteins of the cell cycle, p53 and pRB. During carcinogenic progression, the viral genome integrates into the cellular genome from which transcription of the two viral oncogenes is strongly activated by a high-order transcriptional control element called an "enhanceosome". This viral enhanceosome is specific for cervical carcinoma cells and is exclusively composed of cellular proteins. We are currently searching for the proteins involved in its activity and for the basis of its cell specificity using chromatin immunoprecipitation experiments. In contrast, transcription of the viral oncogenes is repressed by the viral protein E2, which is specifically inactivated upon integration of the viral DNA into the cellular genome in cervical carcinomas. Reintroduction of the viral E2 protein into these cells induces a strong anti-proliferative effect that is due to both cell cycle arrest and cell death by apoptosis. We are currently studying this anti-proliferative effect of E2 using specific molecular approaches, as well as global strategies involving microarray analysis.

Photo: Hepatic gene expression pattern in HNF1alpha and HNF1beta mutant mice

Hierarchical clustering of gene expression pattern of livers carrying different genotypes as indicated just above each group of three columns. HNF1a, WT and HNF1b stand for HNF1a-/-, wild-type and HNF1b -/- animals at 8 days after birth. The last group of 3 columns, at the right and labelled "E18.5", represents the expression of the same set of genes just immediately before birth in wild-type animals. Each column represents an independent hybridization (3 replica for each group). The expression level of each gene is represented with different colors as indicated below (blue = downregulated; red = upregulated).

Keywords: oncogens, transcription, chromatin, development, cell cycle, diabetes



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  OLLIVIER Edith, Institut Pasteur, secretary DEMERET Caroline, Institut Pasteur, Assistant de Recherche (cdemeret@pasteur.fr)

LAVIGNE Marc, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche (mlavigne@pasteur.fr)

MECHTA-GRIGORIOU Fatima, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche (fmechta@pasteur.fr)

MUCHARDT Christian, CNRS, CR1 (muchardt@pasteur.fr)

PONTOGLIO Marco, CNRS, DR2 (marcop@pasteur.fr)

THIERRY Françoise, Institut Pasteur, Chef de laboratoire (fthierry@pasteur.fr)

WEITZMAN Jonathan, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche (jonnyw@pasteur.fr

AMEYAR-ZAZOUA Maya, Postdoc (maya@pasteur.fr)

BELLANGER Sophie, PhD student (bellange@pasteur.fr)

BLACHON Stéphanie, PhD student (sblachon@pasteur.fr)

BLUTEAU Olivier, Postdoc (obluteau@pasteur.fr)

CHERET Claire, PhD student (ccheret@pasteur.fr)

FISCHER Evelyne, Postdoc (efischer@pasteur.fr)

GERALD Damien, PhD student (dgerald@pasteur.fr)

GRESH Lionel, PhD student (gresh@pasteur.fr)

MATEESCU Bogdan, PhD student

MILED Chaouki, Postdoc (miled@pasteur.fr)

REIMANN Andreas, PhD student (areimann@pasteur.fr)

TEISSIER Sébastien, PhD student (teissier@pasteur.fr)

WISNIEWSKA Marta, Postdoc (mwisniew@pasteur.fr)

BOURACHOT Brigitte, CNRS, Ingénieur d’Etudes (bboura@pasteur.fr)

DOYEN Antonia, Institut Pasteur, Technicienne Supérieure (adoyen@pasteur.fr)

GARBAY Serge, CNRS, Ingénieur de Recherche (garbay@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Expression génétique et maladies - URA1644 du CNRS


  Responsable : YANIV Moshe (yaniv@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre unité étudie les rôles respectifs des facteurs de transcription et des machineries de remodelage de la chromatine lors de l'activation et de la répression des gènes dans les cellules de mammifères. Nous étudions le rôle de plusieurs familles de facteurs de transcription individuels dans le contrôle de la différenciation cellulaire et de l'organogenèse, ainsi que dans la croissance cellulaire ou l'apoptose. Nous procédons à l'inactivation complète ou conditionnelle de gènes chez la souris et utilisons des puces à ADN ainsi qu'une recherche in silico. Nos travaux ont des implications pour la compréhension de la transformation cellulaire viro-inductible ou non et pour la compréhension de certaines maladies comme le diabète de type II, l'insuffisance rénale ou hépatique.



  rapport

cale

HNF1alpha et HNF1beta : développement et maladiesResponsable : Marco Pontoglio. Autres membres du groupe : Olivier Bluteau, Claire Chéret, Antonia Doyen, Evelyne Fischer, Lionel Gresh, Serge Garbay et Andreas Reimann

Hepatocyte Nuclear Factor 1alpha et beta (HNF1aet HNF1 b) sont deux homéoprotéines qui sont apparues au cours de l'évolution avec les premiers vertébrés. Elles partagent de fortes homologies et sont exprimées dans les épithélia polarisés de différents organes tels que : le foie, le rein, le pancréas et l'intestin, où elles contrôlent l'expression de gènes cibles spécifiques. Des souris déficientes en HNF1b meurent à 7.5 jours de développement embryonnaire d'un défaut de la différenciation de l'endoderme viscéral extra-embryonnaire. D'autre part, l'inactivation conditionnelle de ce gène dans le foie entraîne un défaut de formation des canaux biliaires et des artérioles hépatiques. L'inactivation d'HNF1a entraîne des dysfonctionnements post-nataux du foie, du rein et du pancréas. Ces souris souffrent d'une hypercholestérolémie, d'une hyperphénylalaninémie, d'un syndrome rénal de Fanconi et d'un grave défaut de sécrétion d'insuline. Par ailleurs, des mutations autosomales dominantes dans les gènes HNF1a et b sont associées, chez l'homme, avec un diabète de type II (MODY3 et MODY5). A l'aide de micro puces ADN (Affymetrix) nous avons identifié quelques centaines de gènes dont l'expression hépatique dépend de l'un de ces deux facteurs de transcription. Nous étudions actuellement la corrélation entre l'effet transcriptionnel sur ces gènes cibles et l'enrichissement en sites HNF1, détecté à l'aide d'une approche in silico, dans les régions génomiques avoisinantes.

Les proto-oncogènes Jun et Fos : Une famille de facteurs de transcription. Responsables : Fatima Mechta-Grigoriou et Jonathan Weitzman . Autres membres du groupe : Maya Ameyar-Zazoua, Damien Gérald, Chaouki Miled, Marta Wisniewska.

Le facteur de transcription ou complexe AP-1 regroupe l'ensemble des dimères formés par interaction entre les produits des proto-oncogènes jun (c-jun, junB, junD) et fos (c-fos, fosB, fra-1, fra-2). Il constitue un médiateur clé de multiples signaux extracellulaires et intervient dans l'initiation d'une réponse génétique appropriée de la cellule. Notre laboratoire s'intéresse ainsi aux fonctions des produits des gènes jun en utilisant des approches génétiques et biochimiques. Nous avons montré que la concentration relative de différentes protéines Jun contrôle la progression du cycle cellulaire. Les protéines Jun contrôlent aussi la transformation par l'oncogène RAS. AP-1 active ainsi des gènes cibles dont Cycline D1 qui favorise la progression du cycle cellulaire de même que des gènes inhibant cette progression, comme p14ARF. Nous avons également montré que JunD joue un rôle protecteur contre l'apoptose ou la sénescence cellulaire dépendante de p53, en réponse aux signaux de stress génotoxiques. L'étude des souris ayant une simple ou double mutation c-jun et junD a mis en lumière le rôle pléiotropique de ces gènes au cours du développement. c-Jun et JunD interviennent dans la morphogenèse cardiaque et l'angiogenèse embryonnaire. Les défauts angiogéniques et cardiaques observés dans les mutants c-jun-/-junD-/- sont corrélés à la dérégulation de certains gènes pro-angiogéniques. Afin de mieux comprendre ces observations, nous développons une approche d'étude génomique systématique basée sur les micro-arrays. Cette technique nous permettra aussi d'identifier de nouveaux gènes cibles de AP-1, impliqués dans la réponse à divers stress cellulaires dont le stress hypoxique. Des résultats préliminaires indiquent, en effet, que le produit du gène junD participe à la réponse cellulaire à ce stress, notamment observé dans certaines pathologies dont l'infarctus du myocarde et les processus de tumorigenèse.

Remodelage de la chromatine et contrôle de la croissance cellulaire Responsable: Christian Muchardt. Autres membres du groupe : Brigitte Bourachot, Bogdan Mateescu.

Dans la cellule eucaryote, l'ADN s'associe aux histones pour former la chromatine. Dans ce contexte, l'ADN devient partiellement inaccessible. Afin de surmonter cet obstacle, la cellule s'est dotée de machineries multi-protéiques qui utilisent l'énergie libérée par l'hydrolyse de l'ATP pour dégager localement l'ADN de l'emprise des histones. L'une de ces machineries, le complexe SWI/SNF, ouvre la chromatine de manière à faciliter le recrutement de protéines régulatrices sur les promoteurs de certains gènes. Nous avons montré que ce complexe est essentiel pour le développement très précoce de la souris. Plusieurs observations suggèrent également que le complexe joue un rôle dans la régulation de la croissance cellulaire. Notamment, nous avons montré que la surexpression de Brm, la sous-unité catalytique du complexe, ralentie la croissance de cellules cancéreuses. Inversement, l'inactivation du gène codant pour Brm chez la souris provoque une augmentation de la prolifération cellulaire. Une autre sous-unité essentielle du complexe, la protéine SNF5/INI1 est codée par un gène " suppresseur de tumeurs " impliqué dans une forme très agressive de cancer chez le jeune enfant. Nous avons montré que l'inactivation de ce gène, chez la souris, est aussi associée à la formation de tumeurs. L'inactivation conditionnelle du gène suivie d'une analyse de transcriptome, a permis de comprendre comme l'inactivation de ce complexe dérégule la prolifération cellulaire. Une autre protéine qui affecte l'accessibilité de la chromatine est la protéine HP1 (Heterochromatin Protein 1). Nous avons montré que son ssociation avec la chromatine péricentromérique dépend aussi bien de sa capacité de reconnaître l'histone H3 méthylé que de sa capacité de lier à l'ARN.

Contrôles de la carcinogenèse du papillomavirus humain HPV18. Responsable : Françoise Thierry . Autres membres du groupe : Sophie Bellanger, Stéphanie Blachon, Caroline Demeret, Sébastien Teissier

Notre recherche vise à élucider les mécanismes de la conversion maligne de cellules du col utérin infectées par le papillomavirus humain HPV18. Le cancer du col de l'utérus est la deuxième cause de mortalité par cancer chez la femme dans le monde après celui du sein. Ce virus infecte exclusivement la muqueuse génitale en se répliquant dans les couches supérieures de l'épithélium. Il code pour deux oncogènes viraux E6 et E7 qui altèrent la prolifération normale de la cellule en interférant avec les anti-oncogènes cellulaires p53 et pRB. La conversion maligne des lésions infectées par HPV18 est accompagnée de l'intégration de l'ADN viral dans le génome cellulaire à partir duquel la transcription des oncogènes viraux E6 et E7 est fortement activée par une structure en " enhanceosome " que nous avons caractérisée. Cet enhanceosome qui est spécifique des cellules de carcinome cervical n'est composé que de protéines cellulaires dont nous caractérisons les interactions in vivo par la technique d'immunoprécipitation de la chromatine. Au contraire, la transcription des oncogènes viraux est réprimée par le produit du gène viral E2. Ce gène est d'ailleurs inactivé lors de l'intégration de l'ADN viral dans les cellules de carcinome cervical, chez lesquelles la réintroduction de cette protéine induit un fort effet antiprolifératif, dû à un arrêt du cycle et à une mort cellulaire par apoptose. Nous étudions les différents aspects du rôle antiprolifératif de E2 dans le cancer du col par des approches moléculaires spécifiques et globales par analyses de "microarrays".

Photo Profil d'expression de gènes hépatiques chez la souris déficiente en HNF1alpha et HNF1beta

Regroupement hiérarchique du profil d'expression de gènes dans le foie de souris porteuses de différentes mutations comme indiqué au dessus de chaque groupe de trois colonnes. HNF1a, WT and HNF1b indiquent respectivement HNF1a-/-, sauvage et HNF1b-/- 8 jours après la naissance. Le dernier groupe de trois colonnes, à droite, marqué "E18.5", représente l'expression des mêmes gènes chez des animaux sauvages juste avant la naissance. Chaque colonne représente une hybridation indépendante (3 pour chaque groupe). Le niveau d'expression de chaque gène est représenté par une couleur différente comme indiqué en bas (bleu = sous-exprimé ; rouge = sur-exprimé).

Mots-clés: oncogènes, transcription, chromatine, développement, cycle cellulaire, diabète



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  OLLIVIER Edith, Institut Pasteur DEMERET Caroline, Institut Pasteur, Assistant de Recherche (cdemeret@pasteur.fr)

LAVIGNE Marc, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche (mlavigne@pasteur.fr)

MECHTA-GRIGORIOU Fatima, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche (fmechta@pasteur.fr)

MUCHARDT Christian, CNRS, CR1 (muchardt@pasteur.fr)

PONTOGLIO Marco, CNRS, DR2 (marcop@pasteur.fr)

THIERRY Françoise, Institut Pasteur, Chef de laboratoire (fthierry@pasteur.fr)

WEITZMAN Jonathan, Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche (jonnyw@pasteur.fr)

AMEYAR-ZAZOUA Maya, Postdoc (maya@pasteur.fr)

BELLANGER Sophie, Thésarde (bellange@pasteur.fr)

BLACHON Stéphanie, Thésarde (sblachon@pasteur.fr)

BLUTEAU Olivier, Postdoc (obluteau@pasteur.fr)

CHERET Claire, Thésarde (ccheret@pasteur.fr)

FISCHER Evelyne, Postdoc (efischer@pasteur.fr)

GERALD Damien, Thésard (dgerald@pasteur.fr)

GRESH Lionel, Thésard (gresh@pasteur.fr)

MATEESCU Bogdan, Thésard

MILED Chaouki, Postdoc (miled@pasteur.fr)

REIMANN Andreas, Thésard (areimann@pasteur.fr)

TEISSIER Sébastien, Thésard (teissier@pasteur.fr)

WISNIEWSKA Marta, Postdoc (mwisniew@pasteur.fr)

BOURACHOT Brigitte, CNRS, Ingénieur d’Etudes (bboura@pasteur.fr)

DOYEN Antonia, Institut Pasteur, Technicienne Supérieure (adoyen@pasteur.fr)

GARBAY Serge, CNRS, Ingénieur de Recherche (garbay@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr