Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Virology and Cellular Immunology - URA CNRS 1930


  Director : Hovanessian, Ara (arahovan@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The mechanism of HIV entry in target cells was investigated in order to design specific inhibitors of HIV infection. In addition, HIV infection, like most of other viruses, induces interferon that eventually controls virus infection. In this respect, the major lines of research are: 1) The mechanism of HIV entry and its inhibition by the pseudopeptide HB-19 and the cytokine Midkine; 2) Role of the virus-activated transcription factor IRF7 in the onset of the innate antiviral response mediated by interferon.



  report

cale

The Anti-HIV Pseudopeptide HB-19 Binds the C-terminal End of Nucleolin and Prevents Anchorage of Virus Particles on Target Cells (A. Hovanessian, B. Krust, E. Said)

The pseudopeptide 5[Ky (CH2N)PR]-TASP, referred to as HB-19, is a potent inhibitor of HIV infection in different CD4+ cell lines as well as in primary T lymphocytes and macrophages. HB-19 binds specifically the cell-surface-expressed nucleolin and blocks virus particle attachment on permissive cells. The binding of HB-19 to the surface nucleolin is independent of heparan and chondroitin sulfate proteoglycans. Consistent with these results, the full-length nucleolin was found to bind HB-19 whereas the N-terminal part containing the acidic amino acid stretches of nucleolin did not. The use of various deletion constructs of the C-terminal part of nucleolin then permitted the identification of the extreme C-terminal end of nucleolin, containing repeats of the amino acid motif RGG, as the domain that binds HB-19. Finally, a synthetic peptide corresponding to the last C-terminal 63 amino acids was able to inhibit HIV infection at the stage of HIV attachment to cells, thus suggesting that this domain could be functional in the HIV attachment.

Anchorage of HIV on Permissive Cells Leads to the aggregation of Viral Particles with Surface Nucleolin at Membrane Raft Microdomains (A. Hovanessian, B. Krust, and J. Svab)

The cross-linking of HIV particles on permissive cells results aggregation of HIV and its colocalization with clustered surface nucleolin, CD4, and CXCR4, but without affecting the organization of CD45. In addition, HIV particles and nucleolin co-aggregate with glycolipid-enriched membrane-microdomains (GEMs) containing ganglioside, and glycosylphosphatidylinositol-linked proteins CD90 and CD59, pointing out that HIV anchorage induces lateral assemblies of specific membrane components into lipid rafts in which surface nucleolin is also incorporated. Consequently, equilibrium density fractionation of extracts from infected cells revealed that HIV proteins and nucleolin copurify with Triton X-100-resistant GEMs-associated proteins. Our findings demonstrate that surface nucleolin and lipid rafts are implicated in early events in the HIV entry process.

Inhibition of HIV Infection by the Physiological Ligand of Nucleolin, the Cytokine Midkine (A. Hovanessian, E. Said, B. Krust, J. Svab)

We have recently shown that the growth factor midkine (MK), implicated in differentiation and development, inhibits HIV infection by a mechanism similar to that of the anti-HIV pseudopeptide HB-19. MK binds specifically surface nucleolin as a low affinity receptor and inhibits HIV attachment to target cells. The binding of MK to surface nucleolin is independent of heparan sulfate or chondroitin sulfate proteoglycans. In view of its enhanced expression in response to physiological agents along with its various growth factor effects, MK should be considered as a cytokine with a potential function in homeostasis. As examples for the potential control of HIV infection by MK, we then show that CD4+ T-cell clones expressing constitutively MK resist HIV infection via inhibition of HIV particle attachment to cells. Furthermore, when CD4+ cells are cocultured with MK producing CD4-negative cell clones, they become resistant to HIV infection. Taken together, our results suggest that MK is a cytokine that could regulate HIV infection in an autocrine or paracrine manner and thus be implicated in HIV pathogenesis.

Development of the Innate Immune Antiviral Response Against Virus Infections by the Expression of Transcription Factor IRF7. (A. Hovanessian, H. Collandre, A. Caillaud and I. Marié)

Interferon regulatory factor 7 (IRF7) is an interferon inducible transcription factor required for induction of delayed early interferon alpha genes and the onset of a potent antiviral state. After induction of IRF7 by autocrine interferon, latent IRF7 is activated by virus-induced phosphorylation on serine residues within the C-terminal regulatory domain.

- Mapping of IRF7 phosphorylation sites and identification new target genes induced directly by IRF7.

The critical role of IRF7 in the induction of type I interferon genes is now well established, however it is important to determine whether IRF7 is also involved in the transcriptional activation of other genes, in particular cytokines and chemokines. Virus-triggered phosphorylation of IRF7 on serine residues is a prerequisite to IRF7 activation. In view of this, we mapped the serine residues target of phosphorylation and designed a constitutively active phosphomimetic mutant by replacing these serines by aspartic acids. We are currently constructing a retroviral vector expressing the wild type and the constitutively active mutant of IRF7 to be used in cells that do not respond to interferon (cells deficient in STAT1 expression) in order to identify new target genes induced directly by IRF7. These retroviral vectors will also be used in T lymphocytes during infection by HIV-1 in an attempt to control virus infection by the production of inerferon. Finally, such retroviral vectors expressing the wild type and the constitutively active mutant of IRF7 have the potential capacity to boost the innate immune response in individuals infected with HIV or with other viruses.

- Acetylation of IRF7 impairs its DNA binding capacity.

In addition to its virus-dependent activation of IRF7 by phosphorylation of the C-terminal serine residues, we have shown that the activity of IRF7 can be modulated in vivo by the histone acetyltransferases PCAF and GCN5. We mapped the acetylation site to a unique lysine residue located in the DNA binding domain of IRF7 at position 92. We showed that a mutant that is not acetylatable by PCAF due to a change in the surrounding amino acid context of lysine 92, shows increased DNA binding and activity compared to wild type IRF7. Conversely, we show that acetylated IRF7 displays impaired DNA binding capability and that overexpression of PCAF leads to decreased IRF7 activity. Together, our results strongly suggest that acetylation of Lysine 92 negatively modulates IRF7 DNA binding.

Keywords: HIV, HIV entry, pseudopeptide, midkine, interfgeron, IRF7, acetylation



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Hovanessian, Ara (arahovan@pasteur.fr) HOVANESSIAN Ara, DR I, CNRS/Head of Unit, IP (arahovan@pasteur.fr)

KRUST Bernard, INSERM, Researcher (bkrust @pasteur.fr)

MARIE Isabelle, IP, Researcher (imarie@pasteur.fr)

CAILLAUD Alexandre PhD student (caillaud@pasteur.fr)

SAID Elias, PhD student (eliasans@pasteur.fr)

COLLANDRE Hélène, Ingénieur de Recherche I, CNRS (hecol@pasteur.fr)

SVAB Josette, Assistante Ingénieur, CNRS (jsvab@pasteur.fr)

FERRIS Stéphane, Technicien Sup., IP (06/02 - 11/02) (sferris@pasteur.fr)

GEORGES, Monique, Aide de laboratoire IP (mi-temps) (mgeorges@pasteur.fr)

QUEROL, Chantal, Aide de laboratoire IP (mi-temps)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Virologie et d'Immunologie Cellulaire - URA CNRS 1930


  Responsable : Hovanessian, Ara (arahovan@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions les mécanismes d'entrée du VIH dans les cellules cibles avec pour objectif la mise au point d'inhibiteurs spécifiques de l'infection. Par ailleurs, l'infection par le VIH, comme tous les virus, conduit à la production d'interféron qui joue le rôle de première barrière contre l'extension de la virémie. Dans cette optique, les principales lignes de recherche sont les suivantes : 1) Etude de l'entrée du VIH et de son inhibition par le pseudopeptide HB-19 ou la cytokine Midkine; 2) Rôle du facteur de transcription IRF7 dans l'établissement d'une réponse anti-virale sous le contrôle de l'interféron.



  rapport

cale

Le pseudopeptide HB-19 inhibe la fixation du VIH à la surface des cellules cibles par le biais d'une interaction avec le domaine C-terminal de la nucléoline (A. Hovanessian, B. Krust, E. Said)

Le pseudopeptide 5[Ky (CH2N)PR]-TASP, nommé HB-19, inhibe la fixation des particules du VIH aux cellules cibles en se fixant à la nucléoline exprimée à la surface cellulaire. À l'aide de différents mutants de délétion de la nucléoline, nous avons démontré que son extrémité C-terminale, le domaine qui contient neuf répétitions du motif RGG, constitue le site minimal de fixation d'HB-19. Par extrapolation, il est possible de suggérer que ce domaine RGG corresponde au site d'interaction de la glycoprotéine de surface du VIH, avec la nucléoline. Afin de confirmer cette hypothèse nous avons synthétisé un peptide de 63 acides aminés (dénommé N63) correspondant aux résidus du domaine RGG de la nucléoline. Le peptide N63 inhibe l'infection de cellules par l'isolat T-tropique LAI ou par l'isolat M-tropique Ba-L. Ce résultat tend à confirmer que le domaine RGG de la nucléoline est impliqué dans la fixation du VIH aux cellules permissives.

L'ancrage du VIH aux cellules permissives induit un co-capping des particules virales et de la nucléoline de surface au niveau de radeaux lipidiques. (A. Hovanessian, B. Krust, J. Svab)

Le couplage des particules virales à la surface des cellules permissives, à l'aide d'anticorps, conduit à un rassemblement latéral coordonné des virions, ou " capping ", et à leur colocalisation avec des agrégats formés de la nucléoline, le CD4 et le CXCR4, mais dont est exclu le CD45. Ce phénomène s'accompagne d'une colocalisation des virions et de la nucléoline avec les microdomaines membranaires constitués de gangliosides, et de protéines couplées au glycosylphosphatidylinositol, comme le CD90 et le CD59. Ceci suggère que l'ancrage du VIH aux cellules induit une réorganisation de protéines membranaires, dont la nucléoline, au niveau de radeaux lipidiques. En accord avec ces données, on observe une copurification de la nucléoline avec les microdomaines membranaires enrichis en glycolipides, qui présentent la particularité d'être insoluble en présence d'un détergent non ionique comme le Triton-X100. Nos résultats démontrent que l'ancrage des particules virales à la surface des cellules cibles s'accompagne d'une agrégation de la nucléoline, au niveau des microdomaines membranaires de type radeaux lipidiques.

Le facteur de croissance midkine est une cytokine qui inhibe l'infection par le VIH. (A. Hovanessian, E. Said, B. Krust, J. Svab)

Un ligand physiologique de la nucléoline, le facteur de croissance Midkine, s'est révélé être une cytokine qui inhibe par une voie autocrine ou paracrine l'accrochage des particules virales selon un mécanisme identique à celui d'HB-19. Nous avons démontré que la nucléoline exprimée à la surface cellulaire est le récepteur de faible affinité de MK, et qu'elle est impliquée dans son processus d'entrée dans les cellules, probablement par le biais des radeaux lipidiques. Vu de son action anti-VIH, son expression constitutive dans les lymphocytes circulant de donneurs sains et l'augmentation significative de sa synthèse après stimulation spécifique des lymphocytes T, la Midkine apparaît être une cytokine impliquée dans le contrôle de l'infection par le VIH. MK pourrait représenter parmi les autres cytokines et chimiokines précédemment décrites dans la littérature, un élément de défense naturel supplémentaire dirigé contre le VIH. De ce fait, MK pourrait jouer un rôle dans la physiopathologie du SIDA.

Rôle du facteur IRF7 dans l'établissement de l'état antiviral en réponse aux infections virales (A. Hovanessian, I. Marié, H. Collandre et A. Caillaud)

Nous avons récemment démontré que le facteur de transcription IRF7 (Interféron Regulatory Factor) est responsable de l'induction transcriptionnelle différentielle d'une sous-classe d'interférons de type I en réponse à toute infection virale. IRF7, étant lui-même inductible par l'interféron, est la protéine responsable du feedback positif de l'interféron sur sa propre synthèse. Il assure une réponse antivirale maximale qui permet d'arrêter le développement du virus dans la cellule infectée et de prévenir l'infection des cellules voisines par action paracrine de l'interféron.

- Etude des sites de phosphorylation d'IRF7 et recherche de nouveaux gènes cibles

L'objectif est d'établir une réponse immune innée contre les infections virales par l'expression d'IRF7. Les travaux antérieurs du groupe d'A. Hovanessian ont montré que la phosphorylation des six dernières sérines d'IRF7 en réponse à l'infection virale est une étape cruciale de son activation et que le remplacement de ces sérines par des résidus aspartate (mutation phosphomimétique) engendre une forme transactivatrice constitutive très active. L'objet du projet est de rechercher de nouveaux gènes cibles d'IRF7 en exprimant la forme sauvage ou mutée d'IRF7 dans des cellules insensibles à l'interféron (déficientes pour STAT1). Il est également de contrôler l'infection des lymphocytes T par le VIH, in vitro, en augmentant la production d'interféron dans ces cellules par transduction du gène IRF7 sauvage ou muté à l'aide d'un vecteur antiviral. Si cette stratégie s'avérait efficace, l'utilisation de cette approche pour augmenter la production d'interféron au cours de l'infection par le VIH, in vivo, pourrait être envisagée.

- L'acétylation d'IRF7 inhibe sa capacité de liaison à l'ADN.

Nous avons démontré qu'IRF7 est acétylé in vivo par les histone-acétyltransférases p300/CBP-associated factor (PCAF) et GCN5. L'unique résidu lysine cible de l'acétylation, la lysine 92, est localisé dans le domaine de liaison à l'ADN (DBD) et est conservé dans toute la famille des IRFs. Un mutant non-acétylable par PCAF en raison d'une modification des aminoacides voisins de la lysine 92 se caractérise par une plus forte capacité de liaison à l'ADN et une activité accrue en comparaison à IRF7 sauvage. Par ailleurs, nous avons montré que IRF7 acétylé possède une capacité de liaison à l'ADN moindre et que la sur-expression de PCAF entraînait une diminution de l'activité d'IRF7. Dans leur ensemble, nos résultats suggèrent fortement que l'acétylation de la lysine 92 module négativement l'affinité d'IRF7 pour l'ADN.

Mots-clés: VIH, entrée virale, pseudopeptide, midkine, interféron, IRF7, acétylation



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  TALPIN, Evelyne (evtalpin@pasteur.fr) HOVANESSIAN Ara, CNRS/IParahovan@pasteur.fr

KRUST Bernard, INSERM bkrust @pasteur.fr

MARIE Isabelle, IPimarie@pasteur.fr

CAILLAUD Alexandre Thésard (caillaud@pasteur.fr)

SAID Elias, Thésard (eliasans@pasteur.fr)

COLLANDRE Hélène, Ingénieur de Recherche I, CNRS (hecol@pasteur.fr)

SVAB Josette, Assistante Ingénieur, CNRS (jsvab@pasteur.fr)

FERRIS Stéphane, Technicien Sup., IP (06/02 - 11/02) (sferris@pasteur.fr)

GEORGES, Monique, Aide de laboratoire IP (mi-temps) (mgeorges@pasteur.fr)

QUEROL, Chantal, Aide de laboratoire IP (mi-temps)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr