Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Recombination and Genetic Expression - INSERM U.163


  Director : Pierre TIOLLAIS (tiollais@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The research projects of our Unit cover the fields of oncogenesis, molecular virology and hepatitis B therapeutic vaccine. We are attempting to identify tumor suppressor genes involved in liver cancer, and to better understand the role of the viral protein HBX and of the ß-catenin oncogene in liver tumorigenesis. Our laboratory also studies the relationships between the functional compartmentalization of the nucleus and acute promyelocytic leukemia. Finally we have established a protocol of therapeutic genetic vaccination against hepatitis B.



  report

cale

Hepatitis B Virus and Hepatocellular CarcinomaGroup leader: Marie Annick BUENDIA

Chronic infection with hepatitis B virus (HBV) remains a major risk factor for the development of liver cancer. However, the molecular basis of viral-induced liver carcinogenesis remains incompletely understood. The viral regulatory protein HBx has been implicated as a co-factor in the tumoral process by its transcriptional and cytotoxic activities. To recapitulate the hepatic context in HBV-infected patients, most of our studies used primary human hepatocytes or mouse liver. We have shown that HBx expression sensitizes liver cells to apoptotic killing by the Fas pathway, and that HBx activates the expression of different apoptotic genes. We are currently analyzing the functional role of wild-type and mutant HBx isolated from human tumors in cell cycle progression, apoptosis and senescence of primary human cells. To better understand the mechanisms of transcriptional activation by HBx, we are studying the interactions of the viral protein with histone acetyl-transferases et deacetylases. Our recent data indicating that the HBx protein is modified by acetylation prompted us to search for the functional significance of this post-translational modification in known HBx activities.

Molecular Mechanisms of Liver OncogenesisGroup leader: Marie Annick BUENDIA

Primary liver cancer is a leading cause of death worldwide. Our recent studies of the molecular steps involved in the tumoral process have shown that activation of Wnt signaling by oncogenic mutations of ß-catenin plays an important role in the development of hepatocellular carcinoma and hepatoblastoma. Our ongoing project is to better characterize the network of cellular factors implicated in abnormal reactivation of the Wnt pathway in liver tumors. To this aim, we have searched for new binding partners of ß-catenin and for Wnt target genes that are involved in liver cell transformation. Several new ß-catenin-interacting proteins have been identified, including the LIM domain protein FHL2, which acts as a co-activator of the ß-catenin/Tcf complex. Furthermore, we have shown that binding of CBP/p300 with ß-catenin results in acetylation and enforced transcriptional activity of ß-catenin. The impact of ß-catenin activation on gene expression profiles has been analyzed in primary human hepatocytes and in murine hepatomas, leading to the identification of candidate target genes of the Wnt pathway in the liver context. Notably, we found that the IL-8 chemokine is a direct target of ß-catenin and might convey proliferative and angiogenic signals in tumoral cells. In parallel, we are studying the role of these diferent factors, as well as that of the ß-catenin-E-cadherin complex, in the human liver and in primary liver tumors. Detailed analysis of new oncogenic pathways will undoubtly provide tools for diagnostic and therapeutic purposes.

Photo: Hépatocytes humains primaires en contraste de phase et expression de la ß-caténine transduite par un vecteur lentiviral.

Genetics of primary liver cancerGroup Leader: Anne DEJEAN

One of our main research interest focuses on the genetic basis of hepatocellular carcinoma. Our first goal is to identify novel tumor suppressor genes involved in the development of primary liver cancer. To this aim, we searched for allelic deletions affecting tumor DNA through a genome-wide scanning for LOH coupled to a comparative genomic hybridization (CGH) study. Such approaches are of great value for locating candidate genes implicated in cancer development. The chromosomes most frequently affected by deletions were 1p, 4q, 6q, 8p, 13q and 16q. Since the highest percentage of deletions were found at chromosomes 8p and 4q ( >50%), these two regions have been studied in details. The study of tumors and tumor derived cell lines using LOH and reduction to homozygosity has pointed to three regions on 8p that likely harbor hepatic tumor suppressor genes. The role of these candidate genes in liver tumorigenesis will be studied by mutational and expression analysis, including ‘tissue arrays'. Putative suppressor genes at 4q will be identified by positional cloning using a novel approach, the CGH array. Moreover, a search for homozygous deletions in a collection of a hundred tumor cell lines, including sixty of hepatobiliary origin, revealed five candidate tumor suppressor genes not previously associated with liver cancer. We will carry out mutational analysis of these genes in different etiological contexts (infection with HBV and HCV, alcohol use, metabolic disorders). The mutational analysis will be complemented by functional studies. Finally, an extensive transcriptome analysis of hepatocellular carcinoma was undertook with the aim of defining the major expression profiles of this heterogenous class of tumors. This should hopefully lead to the establishment of a tumor classification system of significant prognostic and therapeutic value for primary liver cancer.

Functional compartmentalization of the nucleus and acute promyelocytic leukemiaGroup Leader: Anne DEJEAN

A major aspect of Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia (APL) pathogenesis involves (i) a chromosomal translocation affecting the gene encoding the retinoic acid receptor a (RARa) and the PML gene (giving rise to the fusion PML-RARa oncoprotein) as well as (ii) a retinoic acid- reversible disruption of a particular subnuclear structure, the PML Nuclear Body (NB). This latter observation, that provides a striking parallelel to the therapeutic effect of retinoids in this type of leukemia, implies a new type of nuclear 'organelle' in a human disease. While it is generally accepted that the eukaryotic cell nucleus is highly organized, its functional compartmentalization still remains poorly understood. Our work seeks to identify and characterize the signals that regulate the dynamics, and hence function, of the PML NBs both in normal and pathological contexts.

We will mainly concentrate on the relationship between these particular substructures and the chromatin compartment for which we recently established a link. Our goal is to clarify the role of the PML NBs in regulating chromatin dynamics by biochemical and localization studies with the aim of integrating transcriptional regulatory mechanisms into the framework of subnuclear architecture. Moreover we have shown that PML plays a major role in inducing premature cellular senescence by activation of the two p53 and RB pathways. Molecular and cellular mechanisms involved in this process will be analyzed through the identification of interacting proteins and target genes whose expression is regulated by PML during senescence. Finally, we showed that PML and SP100, the two major components of the NBs, were modified by covalent linkage with the ubiquitin-related SUMO-1 modifier. By contrast to ubiquitination, ‘sumoylation' does not target protein for degradation but is rather involved in subcellular localization. Notably, sumoylation of PML is necessary for its proper targeting to the NBs and for the maintenance of the structural integrity of these structures. Given the tight link between sumoylation and NB dynamics, a significant effort will be dedicated to the study of this new type of post-translational modification and its role in the general organization of the nucleus both in normal and leukemic cells.

The PML Nuclear Bodies

Preventive and therapeutic vaccines against chronic viral infections Group Leader: Marie-Louise MICHEL

The aims of our studies are to develop preventive and therapeutic vaccines against persisting hepatitis B virus (HBV) or human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infections. Chronic liver disease and hepatocellular carcinoma associated with chronic HBV infections are among the most important human health problems in highly endemic regions. Current therapeutic approaches to control chronic hepatitis are not fully satisfactory. Patients with HBV-associated chronic hepatitis would greatly benefit from a specific immunotherapy, which could control this persistent infection. We are studying the immunogenicity of selected HBV envelope-based vaccine formulations for the induction and/or the broadening of T and B cell responses that are deficient in HBV chronic carriers. The effect of immunostimulatory DNA motifs (CpG) as adjuvant for vaccination with recombinant or DNA-encoded hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) was studied in mice transgenic for HBsAg. To study the mechanisms involved in tolerance to HBsAg and underlying viral persistence during chronic infection we have developed HLA-A2/HBsAg double transgenic mice. This humanized animal model allows us to design new strategies aimed at restoring in vivo effector functions of peripherally tolerized T cells, that could be directly transferred to patients chronically infected with HBV. Based on our results in animal models, a phase I clinical trial with a DNA vaccine encoding HBsAg is ongoing for HBV-chronically infected patients. This trial conducted by clinicians from Necker Hospital (Pr. Brechot, Pr. Pol and Dr. H. Fontaine) will mainly serve to assess safety. But, we are studying the immune response in vaccinated patients before and during vaccine therapy.

We have used HBsAg as virus like particle (VLP) for the presentation of foreign epitopes derived from SIV/HIV to specifically activate the immune system. This approach is combined to genetic vaccination in order to provide T cell help and to enhance cytotoxic response to these viruses. In a pilot experiment in macaques, we are assessing the immunogenicity and protective efficacy of our DNA-based vectors encoding HIV/HBsAg VLP against a SHIV challenge (collaborative work with Y. Rivière , I.P. and R. LeGrand, CEA).

Keywords: hepatocellular carcinoma, b-catenin, genetic alterations, hepatitis B virus, antiviral inhibitors, genetic vaccine, immunotherapy, transgenic mice, PML nuclear bodies, SUMO, cellular senescence, chromatin, leukemia



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  BUENDIA Marie-Annick DR1 CNRS (mbuendia@pasteur.fr)

DEJEAN Anne DR1 INSERM (adejean@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL Marie-Louise DR2 INSERM (maloum@pasteur.fr)

NEUVEUT Christine CR2 INSERM (cneuveut@pasteur.fr)

PINEAU Pascal CR IP (ppineau@pasteur.fr)

SEELER Jacob CR IP (seeler@pasteur.fr)

TIOLLAIS Pierre Prof. IP/Paris 7 (tiollais@pasteur.fr)

TRANSY Catherine DR2 INSERM (ctransy@pasteur.fr)

WEI Yu CR IP (ywei@pasteur.fr)

BISCHOF Oliver Post-doc

CARAMEL Julie DEA Student

CORDINA Emilie DESS Student

DA SILVA Lucie Student ESTBA

KIRSH Olivier Ph.D. Student

LABALETTE Charlotte Ph.D. Student

LEVY Laurence Ph.D. Student

MALMASSARI Silvina Post-doc

MARTIN Nadine DEA Student

NACERDDINE Karim Ph.D. Student

PUAUX Anne-Laure Ph.D. Student

WU Yuanfei Ph.D. Student

BERGAMETTI Françoise Engineer, Paris 7

BOURGINE Maryline Engineer, IP

MARCHIO Agnès Engineer, IP

RENARD Claire-Angélique Technician, IP



GEORGES Monique IP

LEGOUT Claudine IP

LEGUEULT Catherine IP

QUEROL Chantal IP


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Recombinaison et Expression Génétique - INSERM U.163


  Responsable : Pierre TIOLLAIS (tiollais@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les recherches de notre Unité portent sur l'oncogénèse, la virologie moléculaire et la vaccination thérapeutique contre l'hépatite B. Nous cherchons à identifier des gènes suppresseurs de tumeur impliqués dans le cancer du foie, et à déterminer le rôle de la protéine virale HBX et de l'activation oncogénique de la ß-caténine dans l'oncogénèse hépatique. Notre laboratoire étudie également les relations existant entre la compartimentalisation fonctionnelle du noyau et les leucémies aiguës à promyélocytes. Enfin, nous avons mis au point un protocole de vaccination génétique thérapeutique contre l'hépatite B.



  rapport

cale

Virus de l'hépatite B et hépatocarcinomeResponsable: Marie Annick BUENDIA

L'infection chronique par le virus de l'hépatite B (HBV) représente un facteur de risque majeur pour le développement du cancer du foie. Cependant, les mécanismes d'action du virus restent mal compris. La protéine régulatrice HBx pourrait agir comme un co-facteur dans l'oncogenèse par ses propriétés transactivatrices et cytotoxiques. Nous avons montré que l'expression d'HBx dans un contexte hépatique sensibilise la cellule à l'apoptose induite par Fas, et qu'HBx active l'expression de plusieurs gènes impliqués dans l'apoptose. Nous étudions actuellement le rôle d'HBx et de mutants issus de tumeurs dans le contrôle du cycle cellulaire, l'apoptose et la sénescence, dans des cellules primaires humaines. Pour mieux comprendre les mécanismes de la transactivation transcriptionnelle par HBx, nous analysons les interactions de cette protéine virale avec les histone acetyl-transférases et deacétylases. Nos données récentes indiquent que la protéine HBx est modifiée par acétylation, et nous recherchons le rôle de cette modification dans l'activité fonctionnelle de la protéine.

Mécanismes Moléculaires de l'Oncogenèse HépatiqueResponsable: Marie Annick BUENDIA

Nous étudions les étapes moléculaires de la carcinogenèse hépatique chez l'homme et dans des modèles transgéniques murins. Notre groupe a montré que la voie de signalisation Wnt est fréquemment activée dans l'hépatocarcinome et dans l'hépatoblastome par des mutations stabilisatrices de la ß-caténine. Notre projet est de caractériser le réseau de facteurs cellulaires impliqués dans l'oncogenèse induite par l'activation de la voie Wnt. Dans ce but, nous avons recherché d'une part les partenaires cellulaires de la ß-caténine, et d'autre part les gènes cibles de la voie Wnt activés dans les tumeurs hépatiques. De nouveaux partenaires de la ß-caténine ont été identifiés, notamment FHL2, une protéine de la famille LIM qui agit comme un co-activateur du complexe transcriptionnel ß-caténine/Tcf. De plus, nous avons montré que l'interaction de la ß-caténine avec CBP/p300 conduit à l'acétylation de la ß-caténine et renforce son activité transactivatrice. Par ailleurs, l'impact de la ß-caténine sur le profil d'expression génique a été analysé dans des hépatocytes humains primaires et dans des hépatocarcinomes de souris. Ces travaux ont permis de caractériser de nouveaux gènes cibles de la ß-caténine dans le contexte hépatique, en particulier la chemokine IL-8 qui joue un rôle important dans la prolifération cellulaire et l'angiogenèse. Parallèlement, nous cherchons à préciser le rôle de ces différents facteurs, ainsi que de l'interaction entre la ß-caténine et la E-cadhérine dans le foie et dans les tumeurs primaires liées à différentes étiologies. La mise en évidence de nouveaux mécanismes impliqués dans le processus tumoral pourra fournir des outils pour le diagnostic et le traitement du cancer du foie.

Légende de la figure: Hépatocytes humains primaires en contraste de phase et expression de la ß-caténine transduite par un vecteur lentiviral.

Génétique du cancer du foieResponsable : Anne DEJEAN

L'inactivation somatique de gènes suppresseurs de tumeur est d'importance majeure dans le développement des cancers humains. Dans le but d'identifier des suppresseurs de tumeur potentiellement inactivés au cours du développement du cancer du foie, une cartographie des pertes d'allèles les plus fréquentes (LOH) couplée à une étude par hybridation génomique comparative (CGH) nous a permis de mettre en évidence des pertes de matériel génétique fréquentes sur les chromosomes 1p, 4q, 6q, 8p, 13q et 16p. Il est important de noter qu'aucun suppresseur de tumeur n'a encore été identifié dans les deux régions chromosomiques 8p et 4q présentant les taux de délétion les plus importants ( >50%). Nos efforts se sont donc focalisés sur ces deux régions. L'étude des pertes de l'hétérozygotie et de la réduction à l'homozygotie du chromosome 8p dans les tumeurs et les lignées cellulaires hépatiques nous a permis d'identifier trois segments génomiques susceptibles d'abriter des gènes candidats. Nous procéderons à l'analyse mutationnelle ainsi qu'à l'étude de l'expression de ces gènes dans des tumeurs hépatiques, notamment par tissue array. Le clonage positionnel des gènes localisés en 4q est effectué quant à lui selon la nouvelle approche de CGH array. Parallèlement, la recherche systématique de doubles délétions dans une centaine de lignées cellulaires tumorales (dont 60 d'origine hépato-biliaire) a révélé cinq gènes suppresseurs de tumeur candidats jusqu'alors non incriminés dans le cancer du foie. L'analyse mutationnelle de ces gènes sera effectuée dans divers contextes étiologiques (infections virales B et C, intoxication alcoolique, troubles métaboliques). Ces études mutationnelles seront complétées par des analyses fonctionnelles. Finalement, une étude de transcriptome sur le cancer du foie a été initiée afin de définir les principaux profils d'expression de cette tumeur très hétérogène. Ces travaux devrait à terme permettre d'établir une classification à valeur prédictive et thérapeutique du carcinome hépatocellulaire.

Compartimentalisation fontionnelle du noyau et leucémies aiguës promyélocytairesResponsable : Anne DEJEAN

Parallèlement aux travaux portant sur le cancer du foie, notre équipe étudie depuis plusieurs années le rôle des récepteurs aux rétinoïdes dans l'oncogénèse chez l'homme. Nous avons pu montrer que la translocation t(15,17) associée aux leucémies aiguës promyélocytaires (LAP) génère une protéine hybride entre la protéine PML et le récepteur a de l'acide rétinoïque (PML-RARa ). La protéine PML est localisée au niveau de structures subnucléaires appelées corps nucléaires qui sont désorganisées de manière réversible par l'acide rétinoïque dans les cellules LAP. Cette observation, qui fournit un parallèle frappant avec l'effet thérapeutique des rétinoïdes dans ce type d'hémopathie, permet ainsi d'impliquer une structure nucléaire dans une pathologie humaine. Le noyau de la cellule eucaryote est hautement organisé, cependant la compartimentalisation de ses principales fonctions reste mal connue. Dans ce contexte, notre objectif est d'identifier et caractériser les signaux régulant la dynamique et la fonction des corps nucléaires PML dans la cellule normale et pathologique.

Nous avons récemment mis en évidence l'existence d'un lien étroit entre ces structures et le compartiment chromatinien. Des études biochimiques et de localisation seront entreprises afin de clarifier le rôle des corps PML dans la dynamique chromatinienne. L'objectif est de pouvoir intégrer les mécanismes de régulation transcriptionnelle dans le contexte des composants architecturaux du noyau. Par ailleurs, nous avons mis à jour un rôle de PML dans le déclenchement d'une sénescence cellulaire prématurée impliquant les deux voies p53 et RB. Nous chercherons à analyser les mécanismes tant moléculaires que cellulaires impliqués dans ce processus à travers l'identification des protéines partenaires et des gènes dont l'expression est régulée par PML au cours de la sénescence. Finalement, nous avons montré que les protéines PML et SP100, les deux composants majeurs des corps nucléaires, sont modifiées de façon covalente par une protéine apparentée à l'ubiquitine appelée SUMO-1. Cette modification, contrairement à l'ubiquitination, n'est pas associée à une dégradation protéique mais semble jouer un rôle majeur dans la compartimentalisation subcellulaire des protéines. Ainsi la ‘sumoylation' de PML est-elle déterminante pour son adressage vers les corps nucléaires ainsi que pour le maintien de l'intégrité structurale de ces ‘organelles'. Compte-tenu du lien étroit existant entre la sumoylation et la dynamique des corps nucléaires, nous consacrerons un effort important à l'étude de cette nouvelle voie de modification post-traductionnelle afin de clarifier son rôle dans l'organisation générale du noyau de la cellule normale et de la cellule leucémique.

Les Corps Nucléaires PML

Prévention et traitement des infections virales chroniques par vaccination spécifique Responsable : Marie-Louise Michel

Notre recherche est orientée vers la prévention et l'immunothérapie des infections chroniques dues au virus de l'hépatite B (VHB) et au virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (HIV). Les infections chroniques par le VHB exposent les patients à un risque d'hépatopathie chronique et de carcinome hépatocellulaire. Les approches thérapeutiques anti-virales actuelles étant peu efficaces à long terme, nous étudions différentes stratégies ou préparations vaccinales pour l'induction et/ou l'activation de réponses immunitaires T et B qui sont déficientes chez les porteurs chroniques du virus. Dans le modèle des souris transgéniques pour l'antigène de surface du VHB (AgHBs), l'injection d'ADN ou d'AgHBs couplé à des oligonucléotides contenant des motifs CpG stimule des lymphocytes T spécifiques de l'antigène viral, produisant des cytokines de type Th1. Ces lymphocytes régulent l'expression des gènes viraux au niveau du foie des souris transgéniques par un mécanisme n'impliquant pas la lyse des hépatocytes. Nous avons développé une lignée de souris doublement transgénique AgHBs/HLA-A2. Ce modèle d'étude des porteurs chroniques devrait nous permettre d'élaborer de nouvelles stratégies de vaccination destinées à restaurer les fonctions des cellules T tolérisées en périphérie chez les patients infectés à la naissance. Basé sur les résultats obtenus dans les modèles animaux, un essai clinique de phase I de "vaccinothérapie spécifique par ADN nu" est en cours dans lequel nous étudions la réponse immunitaire induite (collaboration avec les cliniciens de l'hôpital Necker : Pr. Bréchot et Pr. Pol, Dr. H. Fontaine).

Enfin, l'AgHBs est utilisé comme vecteur pour la présentation d'épitopes dérivés d'autres pathogènes et la stimulation spécifique du système immunitaire dans le modèle de l'infection par VIH et SIV. Un essai pilote de vaccination, basé sur l'injection d'ADN hybrides codant pour des particules pseudo virales SHIV/HBsAg a montré l'efficacité de cette approche pour l'induction de réponses T effectrices chez le macaque. Une épreuve infectieuse avec le virus SHIV est en cours (collaboration avec Y. Rivière, IP et R. LeGrand, CEA).

Mots-clés: hépatocarcinome, b-caténine, altérations génétiques, virus de l’hépatite B, anti-viraux, vaccin génétique, immunothérapie, souris transgéniques, corps nucléaires PML, SUMO, sénescence cellulaire, chromatine, leucémies



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  DA Louise-Marie IP (lmda@pasteur.fr) BUENDIA Marie-Annick DR1 CNRS (mbuendia@pasteur.fr)

DEJEAN Anne DR1 INSERM (adejean@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL Marie-Louise DR2 INSERM (maloum@pasteur.fr)

NEUVEUT Christine CR2 INSERM (cneuveut@pasteur.fr)

PINEAU Pascal CR IP (ppineau@pasteur.fr)

SEELER Jacob CR IP (seeler@pasteur.fr)

TIOLLAIS Pierre Prof. IP/Paris 7 (tiollais@pasteur.fr)

TRANSY Catherine DR2 INSERM (ctransy@pasteur.fr)

WEI Yu CR IP (ywei@pasteur.fr)

BISCHOF Oliver Post-doc

CARAMEL Julie DEA

CORDINA Emilie DESS

DA SILVA Lucie Etudiante ESTBA

KIRSH Olivier Thèse

LABALETTE Charlotte Thèse

LEVY Laurence Thèse

MALMASSARI Silvina Post-doc

MARTIN Nadine DEA

NACERDDINE Karim Thèse

PUAUX Anne-Laure Thèse

WU Yuanfei Thèse

BERGAMETTI Françoise Ingénieur, Paris 7

BOURGINE Maryline Ingénieur, IP

MARCHIO Agnès Ingénieur, IP

RENARD Claire-Angélique Technicienne Supérieure, IP



GEORGES Monique IP

LEGOUT Claudine IP

LEGUEULT Catherine IP

QUEROL Chantal IP


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr