Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Retroviruses and Gene Transfer - URA CNRS 1930


  Director : Jean Michel Heard (jmheard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We investigate strategies aimed at repairing lesions in the central nervous system (CNS). Gene therapy is used to deliver a soluble corrective factor in laboratory and large animal models of neurodegeneration associated to lysosomal storage diseases, with the perspective of human application. Models have been created in which the modalities of the regeneration of efferent and afferent connections of resident motor neurons or of transplanted stem cells giving rise to new motor neurons can be explored. The group of B. Durand studies the effectors of barhl2, a homeogene involved in neural plate patterning.



  report

cale

The notion that repair strategies could be proposed for treating CNS lesions in the future emerged from various observations made over the last decade, including fetal cell graft in Parkinson's disease patients, evidence for neurogenesis in adult mammals, isolation of neural stem cells from various part of the adult mammalian CNS. At the same time, gene transfer vectors capable of inducing the expression of foreign genes into CNS cells became available.

A first type of repair strategy for the CNS relies on the delivery of soluble factors that could prevent cell death or stimulate axonal regeneration. Local sources of soluble factors can be created by genetically modifying resident cells with gene transfer vectors. We approach this first type of strategy by delivering gene transfer vectors coding for the missing enzyme in models of lysosomal storage diseases, which induce dramatic neurodegeneration in children.

A second type of strategy would consist in replacing lost cells. A requisite is that CNS had sufficient plasticity in the adult to incorporate exogenous cells within the pre-existing architecture. It is postulated that neural progenitors might do so, either spontaneously, or after genetic reprogrammation. Successful achievement will require combining cell transplantation with interventions aimed at favoring plasticity. We approach this second type of strategies in models of motor pathway repair in rodents.

Knowledge about tools and targets that would make manipulations of neural progenitors cell fate in adults possible comes from studies of embryonic developmental pathways. B. Durand studies genetic regulators governing neural plate patterning in vertebrates.

Investigation and treatment of neurodegeneration in mucopolysaccharidosis (MPS)

Previous results obtained by N. Desmaris and A. Cressant in mouse models of Hurler syndrome (MPSI) and Sanfilippo syndrome (MPSIIIb) indicate that a single stereotactic injection of AAV2 vectors in the brain is sufficient for correcting pathology in the entire encephalon, preventing neuronal cell death and improving behavioral performances.

In the perspective of human trials, we are currently examining the therapeutic efficacy and safety of vector delivery and enzyme secretion in large animal brains, according to a clinically relevant protocol. AAV2 as well as new AAV serotypes are used. Experiments in affected MPSI dogs allow to draw brain maps of vector distribution, enzyme spreading and disease correction. A similar protocol, including behavioral testing and MRI, is used for tolerance studies in normal macaques. This is a collaborative program with the team of P. Moullier in Nantes, the Ecole Nationale Vétérinaire de Nantes, a neuropediatrician (Pr. M. Tardieu) and neurosurgeons (Prs. M. Tadié and Y. Lajat).

Mechanisms responsible for lysosomal enzyme spreading in the brain are not known. F. Chen examines enzymes transport along axons. Experiments are performed with lysosomal enzyme/GFP fusion proteins and time-lapse microscopy on cultured neurons. In vivo administration in deficient mice allows marking of brain areas in which enzyme delivery is associated with improved behavior. We also introduce enzyme modifications aimed at increasing spreading in brain tissues, such as fusion with the HIV-1 Tat protein.

Repair strategies for motor pathways

Motricity is controlled at the cortical, sub-cortical and spinal levels. Motor pathways can undergo limited reorganization at each level, allowing partial adaptive compensation after lesion. We explore repair strategies at the spinal cord level. S. Liu is a neurosurgeon who described surgical methods for the reconstruction of motor pathways after spinal cord section at the thoraco-lumbar boundary in rats and primates. Methods are based on the reconnection of lumbar ventral roots to thoracic motor neurons. Surgery induces neuro-regeneration, which results in placing hind limb muscles under the control of thoracic motor neurons that are a priori unable to govern locomotion. Experimental models are thus created in which the development of efferent and afferent connections of transplanted motor neurons can be investigated in adult rats, as well as the conditions for anatomical and functional re-organizations leading to the return of locomotion behaviors.

T. Bréjot documented the kinetics of thoracic motor neuron axonal regrowth toward hind limb muscles after surgery. Combining surgery with cell transplantation in the ventral horn, similar investigations are performed by D. Bohl in the rat using transplanted neural stem cells. A. Nosjean approaches the same question in the mouse, using embryonic stem cells, such as mouse models of motor neuron disorders can be explored in the future. Transplanted cells are either left unmodified, or exposed to differentiation inducing factors or genetically reprogrammed.

Consistently with the reconnection of hind limb muscles to thoracic motor neurons, return of motricity in treated animals is not adequate for locomotion. With the aim to improve function, D. Bohl, S. Liu and A. Cressant use locomotion training and intra-spinal secretion of neurotrophic factors in order to induce local anatomical re-organization.

Neural differentiation

Homeobox proteins are transcriptional regulators that induce specific target gene expression controlling a developmental pathway. The identity of different domains and segments of the CNS depends on sets of homeobox proteins and other gene regulatory proteins that control the transcription of specific target genes. In the proencephalic neural plate, patterns of homeobox genes expression can be related to primary morphogenetic processes that organize the histological primordia of the embryonic CNS into a grid of domains. At later stages, patterning relies on organizing centers. Transverse rings of specialized neuroepithelia for the brain, as well as floor plate and roof plate for the spinal cord, provide sources of secreted patterning molecules like Shh, Fgf8 and BMP, which establishe regional identity and neuronal fate in adjacent domains of the neural tube.

B. Durand recently isolated a new homeobox gene in xenopus and mice, called barhl2. barhl2 pattern of expression and phenotype in xenopus suggest a role in dorso-ventral patterning of the neural tube. Using morphological and molecular criteria, barhl2 appeared to mimic BMP and FGF signaling, and thus likely represents a target for the patterning effect of these factors. barhl2 is a transcriptional repressor specifically expressed in the dorsal diencephalon, the dorsal part of the retina and the roof plate of the neural tube at early stages of development. Its expression has a dorsalizing effect. Studies of the cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying the function of barhl2 are performed to identify genetic regulators downstream and upstream of this gene.

Other project

In collaboration with the laboratory of C. Petit, B. Delprat explores the potentials of gene transfer into the cochlea in mouse models of hearing deficiency.

Keywords: gene therapy, stem cells, nervous system, lysosomal storage diseases, motricity, homoegenes



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Renée Communal,communal@pasteur.fr Delphine Bohl CR2 INSERM, dbohl@pasteur.fr

Béatrice Durand CR1 CNRS, bdurand@pasteur.fr

Jean Michel Heard DR1 INSERM ,jmheard@pasteur.fr

Song Liu CR1 INSERM ,songliu@pasteur.fr

Anne Nosjean CR1 CNRS, nosjean@pasteur.fr

Arnaud Cressant Stage post-doctoral ,cressant@pasteur.fr

Benjamin Delprat Stage post-doctoral ,delprat@pasteur.fr

Thomas Bréjot Thèsard Paris VII ,tbrejot@pasteur.fr

Fengtian Chen Thèsard Paris VII, ftchen@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Desmaris Technicienne Supérieure 1D ,nchodan@pasteur.fr

Sébastien Franconi Technicien Supérieur 1D ,franconi@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Rétrovirus & Transfert Génétique - URA CNRS 1930


  Responsable : Jean Michel Heard (jmheard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions des stratégies de réparation pour les lésions du système nerveux central. La thérapie génique nous permet d'apporter un facteur soluble correctif dans des modèles de neurodégénérescence associée aux maladies de surcharge lysosomale chez l'animal de laboratoire et chez le gros mammifère, avec la perspective d'une application clinique. Des modèles ont été créés afin d'étudier les modalités de la régénération de connections efférentes et afférentes de motoneurones, résidents ou générés à partir de cellules progénitrices. Le groupe de B. Durand étudie les effecteurs de barhl2, un homéogène impliqué dans l'organisation de la plaque neurale.



  rapport

cale

L'idée que des stratégies de réparation pourraient être un jour proposées pour le traitement de lésions du système nerveux central (CNS) provient d'observations effectuées au cours de la dernière décennie, parmi lesquelles la greffe de cellules fœtales chez des patients atteints de maladie de Parkinson, la mise en évidence d'une neurogénèse chez les mammifères adultes, et l'isolement de cellules souches neurales de différentes régions du SNC chez l'adulte. Dans le même temps, des vecteurs de transfert de gène capables d'induire l'expression de gènes étrangers dans le SNC sont devenus disponibles.

Une première catégorie de stratégies pour la réparation du SNC repose sur l'apport de facteurs solubles qui pourraient prévenir la mort ou stimuler la repousse axonale. Des sources de facteurs solubles peuvent être créées par la modification génétique de cellules résidentes. Nous abordons ce type de stratégie par le transfert de gène codant pour l'enzyme manquante dans des modèles de maladie de surcharge lysosomale, lesquelles induisent des processus neurodégénératifs graves chez l'enfant.

Une seconde catégorie de stratégies consiste dans le remplacement de cellules disparues. Ceci suppose que le SNC possède une plasticité suffisante pour incorporer des cellules nouvelles dans l'architecture existante. Il est possible que des cellules neurales progénitrices aient cette capacité, soit spontanément, soit après reprogrammation génétique. Pour atteindre cet objectif il est nécessaire d'associer la transplantation cellulaire à des manœuvres destinées à favoriser la plasticité.

La connaissance des outils et des cibles permettant la manipulation du devenir de cellules progénitrices neurales chez l'adulte provient de l'étude du développement embryonnaire. B. Durand étudie les facteurs génétique contrôlant l'organisation de la plaque neurale chez les vertébrés.

Etude et traitement du processus dégénératif associé aux mucopolysaccharidoses (MPS)

Les résultats récents de N. Desmaris et A. Cressant dans des modèles de maladie de Hurler (MPSI) et de Sanfilippo (MPSIII) chez la souris ont montré qu'une injection unique de vecteur AAV2 dans le cerveau est suffisante pour corriger la pathologie dans la totalité du cerveau, prévenir la mort neuronale et améliorer les performances comportementales des animaux.

Dans la perspective d'essais cliniques, nous examinons actuellement l'efficacité thérapeutique et la tolérance du transfert de gène et de l'apport de l'enzyme manquante dans le cerveau de gros mammifères, selon un protocole cliniquement acceptable. Des vecteurs AAV2 et AAV5 sont utilisés. Les expériences chez des chiens atteints de MPSI permettent de dresser des cartes de la distribution du vecteur, de l'enzyme et de la correction des lésions dans le cerveau. Un protocole identique est mis en œuvre chez des macaques pour apprécier la tolérance au traitement. Ce programme est mené en collaboration avec les équipes de P. Moullier à Nantes, l'Ecole Vétérinaire de Nantes, un neuropédiatre (Pr. M. Tardieu) et des neurochirurgiens (Prs. M. Tadié et Y. Lajat).

Les mécanismes responsables du transport des enzymes lysosomales dans le cerveau est inconnu. F. Chen examine leur transport axonal. Les expériences sont réalisées à l'aide de protéines de fusion avec la GFP en vidéo-microscopie en temps réel sur des neurones en culture. L'administration in vivo chez la souris déficitaire permet un marquage des aires cérébrales dans lesquelles l'apport d'enzyme est associée avec une amélioration des tests comportementaux. Nous modifions également les enzymes, par exemple en réalisant des fusions avec la protéine Tat du VIH, afin d'augmenter leur diffusion dans le cerveau.

Réparations des lésions des voies motrices

La motricité est contrôlée aux niveaux cortical, sous-cortical et spinal. Les voies motrices peuvent subir des ré-organisations à ces différents niveaux, permettant une adaptation compensatrice après lésion. Nous explorons des stratégies de réparation au niveau spinal. S. Liu est un neurochirugien qui a décrit des méthodes pour la reconstruction des voies motrices après lésion de la moelle épinière au niveau thoraco-lombaire chez le rat et le primate. Les méthodes reposent sur la reconnection des racines motrices lombaires avec les motoneurones thoraciques. La chirurgie induit une régénération qui conduit à placer les muscles des pattes postérieures sous le contrôle des motoneurones thoraciques, lesquels sont a priori incapables de déterminer une locomotion. Des modèles expérimentaux sont ainsi créés dans lesquels le développement de connections efférentes et afférentes de montoneurones transplantés peut être étudié chez le rat adulte, de même que les conditions pour une réorganisation anatomique et fonctionnelle conduisant à un comportement moteur intégré.

T. Bréjot a documenté la cinétique de croissance axonale vers les muscles des pattes postérieures après chirurgie. En combinant la chirurgie avec la transplantation dans la corne antérieure, D. Bohl réalise des études semblables avec des cellules neurales progénitrices. A. Nosjean pose les mêmes questions chez la souris en utilisant des cellules souches embryonnaires, tel que les modèles de maladies motoneuronales disponibles chez la souris puissent être ultérieurement étudiés. Les cellules transplantées sont utilisées telles quelles, après traitement par des facteurs de différenciation ou après reprogrammation génétique.

En raison de la reconnection des muscles des pattes postérieures avec les motoneurones thoraciques, la motricité observée après traitement n'est pas adaptée à la locomotion. Dans le but d'améliorer les résultats fonctionnels, D. Bohl, S. Liu et A. Cressant soumettent les animaux à un entraînement moteur et induisent la sécrétion de facteurs neurotrophiques au niveau médullaire afin d'induire une réorganisation des circuits de commande.

Différenciation neurale

Les protéines à homéoboîtes sont des régulateurs transcriptionnels qui induisent l'expression de gènes cibles spécifiques contrôlant des voies de différenciation. L'identité des différents domaines et segments du SNC dépend de groupes de protéines à homéoboîtes et d'autres protéines régulatrices qui contrôlent la transcription de gènes spécifiques. Dans la plaque neurale proencéphalique, les patrons d'expression des homéogènes peuvent être reliés aux processus morphogènes primaires qui organisent le SNC embryonnaire en une série de domaines. A des étapes plus tardives, la mise en place de domaines dépend de l'action de centres organisateurs. Des anneaux transversaux de cellules neuroépithéliales pour le cerveau, le plancher et le toit du tube neural pour la moelle épinière fournissent des sources de molécules secrétées, telles que Shh, Fgf8 et BMP. Leur action morphogène permet d'établir l'identité régionale et le devenir des neurones dans les régions adjacentes du tube neural.

B. Durand a récemment isolé un nouvel homéogène chez le xénope et la souris, appelé barhl2. Le mode d'expression de barhl2 et les phénotypes induits chez l'embryon de xénope suggère un role dans l'organisation dorso-ventrale du tube neural. Selon des critères morphologiques en moléculaires, barhl2 semble reproduire les effets de l'activation par BMP et FGF, et de ce fait représente possiblement une cible pour l'effet morphogène de ces facteurs. barhl2 est un inhibiteur transcriptionnel spécifiquement exprimé dans le diencéphale dorsal, la partie dorsale de la rétine et le toit du tube neural aux étapes précoces du développement Son expression a un effet dorsalisant. Des études des mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires spécifiant la fonction de barhl2 sont réalisées afin d'identifier les régulateurs génétiques en amont et en aval de l'action de ce gène.

Autre projet

En collaboration avec le laboratoire de C. Petit, B. Delprat explore le potentiel des vecteurs viraux chez la souris dans des modèles de défauts génétiques de l'audition.

Mots-clés: thérapie génique, cellules souches, système nerveux, maladies lysosomales, motricité, gènes homéotiques



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Renée Communal,communal@pasteur.fr Delphine Bohl CR2 INSERM,dbohl@pasteur.fr

Béatrice Durand CR1 CNRS, bdurand@pasteur.fr

Jean Michel Heard DR1 INSERM ,jmheard@pasteur.fr

Song Liu CR1 INSERM, songliu@pasteur.fr

Anne Nosjean CR1 CNRS, nosjean@pasteur.fr

Arnaud Cressant Stage post-doctoral ,cressant@pasteur.fr

Benjamin Delprat Stage post-doctoral ,delprat@pasteur.fr

Thomas Bréjot Thèsard Paris VII ,tbrejot@pasteur.fr

Fengtian Chen Thèsard Paris VII, ftchen@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Desmaris Technicienne Supérieure 1D ,nchodan@pasteur.fr

Sébastien Franconi Technicien Supérieur 1D ,franconi@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr