Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Eukaryotic and Viral Translational Control - CNRS URA 1966


  Director : KEAN, Katherine M. (kathiemb@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

This year's main aim was to consolidate our preliminary results and hypotheses concerning mechanisms of initiation of viral protein synthesis (translation). Several RNA viruses have been studied (picornaviruses, hepatitis C virus, rabies virus, rotavirus). Concerning cellular protein synthesis, our work has focused primarily on FGF6, a member of the fibroblast growth factor family - mitogenic peptides implicated in physiological processes including oncogenesis, angiogenesis, morphogenesis, tissue regeneration and survival.



  report

cale

Structure-function analysis of the poliovirus (PV) IRES

Picornavirus mRNAs are amongst those translated by an alternative mechanism of initiation, from an IRES (for Internal Ribosome Entry Segment). Picornavirus IRESes are approximately 450 nucleotides long, and are structured into several domains. Domain E is accepted to be important in PV neurovirulence, as it contains residues that are mutated in the three vaccine strains which have played a crucial role in the control of poliomyelitis since the 1950s and which have been a keystone of the imminent world-wide poliovirus eradication goal. These mutations have been implicated as strong determinants of attenuation and to understand how they act, we have been comparing their effects in a single genomic background, that of wild-type PV type 1. We found last year that only one of the three mutations resulted in a significantly defective IRES. Previously, it had been proposed that the structure of a stem within domain E could be destabilised upon introduction of this mutation. This year we have examined this question biophysically, using RNA melting curve techniques (in collaboration with E Westhof and A Werner, IBMC, Strasbourg). Instead of a structural destabilisation, our experimental results indicate that the mutation strengthens the stem structure at low ionic strength. This goes against the current dogma concerning the correlation between IRES structure and function. Thus we are currently confirming our results by biochemical and enzymatic probing analyses.

Communication between the IRES and the 3' poly(A) tail of picornavirus mRNAs

Picornavirus IRESes have been classified into 3 groups on the basis of primary sequence and secondary structure conservation, as well as their functional properties. We previously showed that the presence of the 3' poly(A) tail stimulated translation initiation efficiency from representatives of all three types of picornavirus IRES. This is mediated by interactions between the proteins that bind the 5' IRES and the poly(A) tail, which are analagous to those that allow physical circularisation of cellular capped, polyadenylated mRNAs and are required for their efficient translation. However, we found last year that trans stimulation of standard capped mRNAs by the presence of exogenous poly(A) chains could mechanistically substitute for 3' poly(A) tail co-operation with the 5' cap. This year we examined the question of the effects of exogenous poly(A) chains on IRES-driven translation. Not only stimulation but also translation inhibition was evidenced according to the IRES examined and most interestingly, members of one of the groups of IRES split into the two opposing subsets. The repartition observed correlates with biological properties of the viruses which up until now had been believed to intervene later in the viral life-cycle than poly(A) tail-mediated stimulation of translation.

Communication between the 5' and 3' ends of rotavirus and hepatitis C virus (HCV) mRNAs

Rotavirus mRNAs are capped at the 5' end, but are not polyadenylated at their 3' ends, carrying instead a 7 nucleotide consensus sequence which binds a viral protein (NSP3) that could perform the equivalent role to that of the cellular poly(A) binding protein (PABP) in terms of mRNA circularisation. This year we have shown that the functional analogies between these proteins extend to include a dramatic NSP3-induced stimulation of rotavirus mRNA translation efficiency, i.e. once again implicating RNA-protein and protein-protein interactions that would ensure circularisation of the mRNA in efficient translation initiation. As seen for poly(A) effects on 5' cap mediated translation, we found that the rotavirus 3' end sequence could exert its stimulatory effect equally well when supplied in trans as when present in cis. The most "atypical" viral mRNA sequence we have studied is that of HCV, which has an IRES at the 5' end and a 98 nucleotide highly structured cloverleaf (the X region) at the 3' end rather than a poly(A) tail. Nevertheless, we previously showed that translation from the HCV IRES is stimulated by the presence of the X region at the 3' end of the RNA, and proposed that HCV RNA would be circularised via a completely different protein complex from other mRNAs analysed. We are currently testing this hypothesis using electron microscopy techniques (in collaboration with G. Pehau-Arnaudet, Plate-forme de cryomicroscopie moléculaire, Institut Pasteur — see relevant activity report). In the meantime, we have shown that despite the significant differences between this mRNA and other mRNAs studied, once again translation stimulation can be ensured by the cognate 3' end sequence supplied in trans.

The different cases seen of trans stimulation by mRNA 3' end sequences refute the hypothesis of continuous ribosome recycling at the post-termination stage of translation. Such results suggest either stimulation by increased de novo ribosome recruitment, or by direct transfer of the 40S ribosomal subunit from the stop codon to the 5' end of the mRNA. Furthermore, they open the possibility to the fact that competent mRNAs could be altruistic and lend their 3' ends to disabled neighbours.

Characterisation of the quasi-species distribution of the HCV IRES in infected individuals

We have extended a functional study concerning patients infected with HCV genotype 1b or 3a that we began last year (in collaboration with J-M. Pawlotsky and M. Soler, hôpital Henri Mondor, Créteil), looking at the intrinsic activity of variant IRESes and their stimulation by the X region. The HCV X region is a most remarkable modulator of variant IRES activity. Its stimulatory capacities vary between 3 and 1000-fold depending on the exact sequence and intrinsic activity of the variant IRES, but it can equally well be neutral or exert an inhibitory effect on IRES activity. These modulatory effects are not specific for a single IRES genotype. Functional differences between variant IRESes correlate with structural differences as assessed by biochemical and enzymatic probing of the RNA.

Regulation of rabies virus (RV) translation (in collaboration with Y. Jacob and E. Real, Virology Department, Institut Pasteur)

RV, a Rhabdovirus, induces a partial inhibition of host cell macromolecular synthesis. For VSV, the prototype of this family, the M2 viral protein has been implicated in this process. Using the yeast two-hybrid system, we have shown that the p40 subunit of the cellular eIF3 complex (responsible for the delivery of the 40S ribosomal subunit to the 5' end of mRNAs via its interaction with both this subunit and eIF4G) interacts with the RV M2 protein. We have confirmed the M2-p40 interaction by co-immunoprecipitation of these two proteins synthesised in vitro. In addition, we have found that the translation efficiency of an artificial mRNA coding for M2 is 10 times less efficient than that of a control mRNA in vitro. The mutation of a PPxY motif strongly conserved throughout rhabdovirus M2 proteins reduced the affinity of the M2-p40 interaction and partially rescued the in vitro translation efficiency. Our global results led us to propose an original model of translation control whereby the neo-synthesised M2 protein interacts immediately with the eIF3 complex fixed on the viral RNA, blocking successive cycles of translation initiation. This hypothesis is supported by recent results whereby an insect virus IRES that does not require eIF3 for translation initiation was used to drive M2 protein synthesis. In this case, the translation of the RNA coding for M2 was as efficient as that of the control mRNA..

Regulation of murine FGF6 translation

We chose to examine translation of this protein because of its physiological properties, but also because it is known that the mRNA encompasses three potential translation initiation sites. In addition, gene expression is extremely tightly controlled both spatially and temporally, being restricted to skeletal muscle precursors during 7 days of embryonic development. We found that two FGF6 mRNAs exist, which differ in the length of their 5' noncoding regions. Furthermore, we have shown that the endogenous protein profile in different mouse cell lines is dramatically different, i.e. it seems that the initiation codon usage profile varies according to the cell type and differentiation state. For the moment we have been unable to determine whether differential use of the two mRNAs contributes to FGF6 translation regulation.

Keywords: translation initiation, IRES, RNA structure-function, mRNA 5’-3’ cross-talk, eIF3



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  BALLET, Saskya, IP, (secretary,sballet@pasteur.fr) KEAN, Katherine M., CNRS, (Research Director, Head of Laboratory,kathiemb@pasteur.fr)

BORMAN, Andrew M., IP, (Researcher)

MICHEL, Yanne M., PhD student

MALNOU, Cécile E., PhD student

QUESNOIT, Mélanie, Diploma student

DEVEAUX, Vanessa, undergraduate rotation student

JUFFROY, Olivier, undergraduate rotation student

LHUILLIER, Pierre, undergraduate rotation student

PAULOUS, Sylvie, IP (technician)

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Régulation de la traduction eucaryote et virale - CNRS URA 1966


  Responsable : KEAN, Katherine M. (kathiemb@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre but primaire cette année était de consolider nos résultats préliminaires et hypothèses concernant l'initiation de la synthèse protéique (traduction) virale. Plusieurs virus à ARN ont été étudiés (picornavirus, virus de l'hépatite C, virus rabique, rotavirus). En traduction cellulaire, nous avons abordé l'étude de l'FGF6, un membre de la famille des facteurs de croissance fibroblastiques - cytokines impliquées dans des processus physiologiques tels que l'oncogenèse, l'angiogenèse, la morphogenèse, la régenération et la survie tissulaire.



  rapport

cale

Analyse structure-fonction de l'IRES du poliovirus (PV)

Les ARNm des picornavirus font partie de ceux qui sont traduits par un mécanisme alternatif, par initiation à partir d'un IRES (pour Internal Ribosome Entry Segment). Les IRES des picornavirus sont longues d'environ 450 nt, structurés en différents domaines. Le domaine E est d'une grande importance pour la neurovirulence du PV, contenant des résidus qui sont mutés dans les trois souches vaccinales qui ont joué un rôle clé dans le contrôle de la poliomyélite paralytique depuis les années 1950 et dans l'objectif imminent d'éradication mondiale de cette maladie. Pour mieux comprendre comment ces déterminants potentiels d'atténuation agissent, nous les avons placé dans un même contexte génomique, celui du PV de type 1 sauvage. L'année dernière nous avons trouvé qu'un seul d'entre eux résulte en un IRES fortement défectueux. Auparavant, il a été proposé que la présence de cette mutation déstabiliserait la structure d'une tige au sein du domaine E de l'IRES. Cette année nous avons examiné cette hypothèse par des techniques biophysiques de courbes de fusion de l'ARN (en collaboration avec E Westhof et A Werner, IBMC, Strasbourg). Nos résultats tendent à démontrer au contraire une renforcement de cette tige à basse force ionique. Ceci contredit le dogme actuel de la corrélation entre la structure de l'IRES et sa fonction. Ainsi, nous sommes en train d'effectuer des études de sondage biochimique et enzymatique de l'ARN dans ces mêmes conditions pour confirmer ces résultats.

Communication entre l'IRES et la queue poly(A) en 3' des ARNm des picornavirus

Les IRES des picornavirus ont été classifié en 3 groupes selon leurs séquences primaires et structures secondaires prédites, ainsi que leurs propriétés fonctionnelles. Nous avons déjà montré que la présence de la queue poly(A) en 3' de l'ARNm stimule l'efficacité de l' initiation de la traduction à partir des IRES représentatives de tous les trois types. Cette stimulation est mediée par des interactions entre les protéines qui fixent l'IRES en 5' et la queue poly(A), qui sont analogues à celles qui permettent de circulariser physiquement les ARNm cellulaires et sont nécessaires pour leur traduction efficace. Cependant, nous avons trouvé l'année dernière que pour les ARNm cellulaires coiffés, l'apport des chaînes poly(A) exogènes peut se substituer à la co-opération entre le coiffe en 5' et la queue poly(A) en 3'. Cette année nous avons étudié les effets des chaînes poly(A) exogènes sur l'activité des IRES des picornavirus. Nous avons constaté non seulement une stimulation mais aussi une inhibition de l'efficacité de la traduction selon l'IRES analysé et de façon très intéressant les membres de l'un des groupes d'IRES se divisent dans les deux camps opposés. La répartition observée corrèle avec des propriétés biologiques des différents virus que l'on pensait intervenir dans le cycle viral après la stimulation de la traduction par la queue poly(A).

Communication entre les extremités 5' et 3' des ARNm du rotavirus et du virus de l'hépatite C (HCV)

Les ARNm du rotavirus sont coiffés à l'extrémité 5', mais ne sont pas polyadenylés à leurs extrémités 3', qui comportent une séquence consensus de 7 nt qui fixe une protéine virale NSP3. NSP3 pourrait jouer un rôle équivalent à celui de la protéine cellulaire PABP, qui fixe la queue poly(A), en termes de la circularisation de l'ARNm viral. Cette année nous avons montré que l'analogie fonctionnelle entre ces protéines s'étend à une stimulation dramatique de l'efficacité de la traduction de l'ARNm rotaviral par la protéine NSP3. Ainsi, encore une fois des interactions ARN-protéine et protéine-protéine qui circulariseraient l'ARNm sont impliquées dans l'initiation efficace de la traduction. Comme pour les effets de la poly(A) sur la traduction coiffe-dependent, la séquence rotavirale est un stimulateur aussi efficace lors qu'elle est fournie en trans qu'en cis. L'ARNm virale la plus particulière que nous avons étudié est celle du HCV, qui comporte un IRES en 5' et 98 nt fortement structurés en forme d'une feuille à trèfle (la région X) à l'extrémité 3' plutôt qu'une queue poly(A). Cependant, nous avons déjà démontré que la traduction à partir de l'IRES du HCV est stimulée par la présence de la région X à l'extrémité 3' de l'ARN et nous avons proposé que l'ARN du HCV serait circularisé, mais par un complexe protéique totalement différent de celui en jeu pour les autres ARNm analysés. Cette hypothèse est actuellement à l'étude par des techniques de microscopie électronique (en collaboration avec G. Pehau-Arnaudet, Plate-forme de cryomicroscopie moléculaire, Institut Pasteur — voir son rapport d'activité). Entre temps, nous avons montré que malgré les différences significatives entre l'ARNm du HCV et les autres ARNm étudiés, la région X fourni en trans peut stimuler la traduction à partit de l'IRES.

Les différents cas observés de stimulation de l'initiation de la traduction par des séquences 3' en trans nient à l'hypothèse d'un recyclage en continue des ribosomes qui viennent de terminer un cycle de traduction, indiquant plutôt soit une augmentation du recrutement de novo des ribosomes soit un transfert direct du sous unité ribosomique 40S du codon stop à l'extrémité 5' de l'ARN. De plus, elle ouvre la possibilité que les ARNm compétents pour la traduction pourraient agir de façon altruiste, en prêtant leurs extrémités 3' à des voisins qui n'en ont plus.

Caractérisation de la distribution quasi-espèce de l'IRES du HCV chez l'homme

Cette année, nous avons étendu une étude fonctionnelle concernant des patients infectés par le HCV de génotype 1b or 3a démarrée l'année dernière en collaboration avec J-M. Pawlotsky et M. Soler (hôpital Henri Mondor, Créteil), examinant l'activité intrinsèque des IRES variants et leurs stimulation par la région X. La région X de l'ARN du HCV est un modulateur remarquable de l'activité des IRES variants. Sa capacité de stimulation peut monter de 3 à 1000 fois, selon la séquence exacte de l'IRES et son activité intrinsèque, mais X peut également être neutre ou inhibiteur. Ces effets différentiels de la région X ne sont pas spécifiques des IRES provenant d'un seul génotype. Des différences fonctionnelles entre des IRES variants corrèlent avec des différences structurales décelées par sondage biochimique et enzymatique de l'ARN.

Régulation de la traduction du virus rabique (RV) (en collaboration avec Y. Jacob et E. Real, Département de Virologie, Institut Pasteur)

RV, un Rhabdovirus, induit une inhibition partielle de la synthèse macromoléculaire dans la cellule hôte. Pour le VSV, qui est le prototype des Rhabdoviridae, la protéine virale Matrice (M2) a été impliquée dans cette inhibition. Par le biais du système " double-hybride " chez la levure, nous avons identifié la sous-unité p40 de la complexe eIF3 (complexe responsable de la livraison de la sous-unité ribosomique 40S à l'extrémité 5' de l'ARNm par son interaction à la fois avec la sous unité 40S et la protéine eIF4G) comme facteur qui interagisse avec la protéine M2 du RV. L'interaction M2-p40 a été confirmée par co-immunoprecipitation des deux protéines après leur synthèse in vitro. De plus, nous avons démontré que la traduction d'un ARN artificiel codant pour M2 est 10 fois moins efficace qu'un ARN témoin in vitro. La mutation d'un motif PPxY, qui est fortement conservé dans la protéine M2 des Rhabdovirus, réduit l'affinité de l'interaction M2-p40, et sauve partiellement l'efficacité de la traduction in vitro. L'ensemble de nos résultats nous a conduit à proposer un modèle original de régulation de la traduction, selon lequel la protéine M2 néo-synthétisée interagira immédiatement avec la complexe eIF3 qui est fixée sur l'ARN virale, et bloquera les cycles supplémentaires d'initiation de la traduction. Cette hypothèse est soutenue par des résultats récents, où nous avons synthétisé la protéine M2 à partir de l'IRES d'un virus d'insecte qui agit de façon indépendante de la complexe eIF3. Dans ce cas, la traduction de l'ARN codant pour la protéine M2 est aussi efficace qui celle d'un ARN codant pour une protéine témoin.

Régulation de la traduction de la protéine FGF6 de la souris

Nous avons choisi d'examiner la régulation de la traduction de cette protéine à cause de ses propriétés physiologiques, mais également à cause de la nature de l'ARNm. En effet, l'ARNm comprend trois sites potentiels d'initiation de la traduction. De plus, l'expression génétique de l'FGF6 est très étroitement contrôlée aussi bien dans l'espace que dans le temps, étant restreinte aux précurseurs de muscle squelettique pendant 7 jours du développement embryonnaire. Nous avons trouvé deux ARNm codant la protéine FGF6 qui diffèrent dans la longueur de leurs régions 5' noncodantes. De plus, nous avons montré que le profil protéique endogène dans différentes lignées cellulaires de souris varie dramatiquement, c.a.d. il semble que le profil d'usage de codon d'initiation varie selon le type cellulaire et son état de différentiation. Pour l'instant, nous n'avons pas pu déterminer si l'utilisation différentielle des deux ARNm joue un rôle dans la régulation de la traduction de l'FGF6.

Mots-clés: Initiation de la traduction, IRES, ARN structure-fonction, coopération ARNm 5’-3’, eIF3



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  BALLET, Saskya (sballet@pasteur.fr) KEAN, Katherine M., CNRS, (DR2, chef d’Unité,kathiemb@pasteur.fr)

BORMAN, Andrew M., IP, (CR)

MICHEL, Yanne M., étudiante en thèse

MALNOU, Cécile E., étudiante en thèse

QUESNOIT, Mélanie, étudiante en DEA

DEVAUX, Vanessa, étudiante en licence

JUFFROY, Olivier, étudiant en licence

LHUILLIER, Pierre, étudiant en licence

PAULOUS, Sylvie, IP, (technicienne)

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr