Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Transcriptional Regulations - CNRS URA 2172


  Director : Kolb, Annie (akolb@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our lab is interested in transcription initiation, the first step of gene expression at which most regulation occurs. Our work is focused on the reprogramming of bacterial expression during two stressful events : the transition from exponential to stationary phase and the early steps of bacteriophage T4 infection. Sigma and anti-sigma factors of RNA polymerase play a key role in these processes.

Bacterial transcription is accomplished by a multisubunit RNA polymerase composed of the catalytic core enzyme (subunit composition a2 b b' w) which associates with one of the multiple s subunits, responsible for promoter recognition. Each holoenzyme Es recognizes a specific set of promoters allowing the cell to respond to different environmental stimuli. The E. coli genome encodes seven different s subunits, which compete for core binding. The association between core and s is highly regulated under different growth conditions by the availability of core and s factors and can be modulated by the presence of anti-s factors.



  report

cale

Comparison between s70AND sS RNA POLYMERASES (C. Deshayes, A. Kolb, , G. Jan, S. Lacour, E. Marquenet, E. Tate)

Bacteria spend most of their time not growing: in "stationary phase", they are much more resistant to many physical and chemical stresses (changes in pH, temperature, osmolarity, hydrogen peroxide... and antibiotics)

Most of the housekeeping genes expressed during exponential growth phase are transcribed by the holoenzyme containing the principal s factor, s 70. As cells reach the end of the exponential phase or are subjected to various environmental stresses, a new s factor called s S , or s 38 , comes into play. The stationary phase sigma factor s S is responsible for the transcription of many specific genes, important for survival in the stationary phase and for acquisition of the generalized stress resistance status.

The two s factors s S and s 70 are very similar in sequence especially in the DNA binding domains. Nevertheless they can discriminate between different sets of promoters. The discrimination mechanism is poorly understood. s S -dependent promoters are generally weak promoters with no -35 consensus sequences, but a C at position -13. Supercoiling and transcription factors affect differentially transcription initiation by Es s and Es 70 and can even determine the in vivo s factor selectivity.

In vitro most promoters are recognized by both s S and s 70 RNA polymerase holoenzymes although with different affinities and kinetics. Nevertheless in a competition assay containing core, s S and s 70 , the binding discrimination between the two holoenzymes reflects the in vivo situation : the two s factors compete for core binding. s S is much less abundant than s 70 and has a lower affinity for core. Hence the question is how in vivo s S can successfully compete with s 70.

interactions BETWEEN s AND ANTI-s factors (S. Igonet , G. Orsini)

Anti-s factors are s binding regulatory proteins that control the availability and function of various s factors. Our research focuses on the anti-s 70 factor AsiA of phage T4. We are interested in the mechanism of action of this factor and in the role of upstream RNA polymerase-promoter contacts in the function of this 10 kDa protein. Several anti-s factors sequester their cognate s and therefore inhibit the formation of the corresponding holoenzyme. The mechanism of action of AsiA is more complex as this protein has a dual function:

1- It binds strongly to region 4 of s 70 and inhibits s 70-dependent transcription from bacterial promoters containing "-10 -35 " recognition motives.

2- The s 70-AsiA complex is required in the holoenzyme to activate phage T4 middle transcription that also necessitates the presence of the T4-encoded MotA protein bound to the -30 recognition motif of T4 middle promoters. Therefore, AsiA and MotA constitute together a switching device designed to change promoter recognition and utilization.

The binding of AsiA to region 4 of s 70 blocks the functional interaction s 70/ -35 upstream promoter element. Using the glutamate anion, this blockade can be partially alleviated and we have analysed in detail the mechanism by which AsiA inhibits transcription from lacUV5, a "-10 -35 " promoter. The AsiA-containing holoenzyme slowly forms an active open complex at lacUV5. This ternary complex holoenzyme-AsiA-lacUV5 is activated by the CRP-cAMP complex, indicating the importance of upstream polymerase-promoter contacts for this activity. In addition reconstituted RNA polymerase containing a-subunits lacking their carboxy-terminal domain is totally inhibited by AsiA.

We are now studying the behaviour of AsiA-containing RNA polymerase relative to several phage T4 early (and very strong) promoters that have an extended upstream curved A/T rich sequence (up element). Transcription initiated at most of these T4 early promoters is markedly resistant to inhibition in the presence of AsiA. We are currently analyzing the features of the interaction holoenzyme Es 70/AsiA/early promoters which are responsible for this resistance to inhibition, a transcriptional property most likely significant during the development of phage T4.

Promoter Regulation by the CRP-CAMP complex : Collaborations with E. Krin(1), (Institut Pasteur) and Y. Huo and Y-P Wang(2) (Beijing University)

The E. coli cAMP receptor protein (CRP or CAP) was initially identified as an activator of s 70-dependent transcription at promoters for catabolic operons. However CRP participates in much wider regulatory networks, activating or repressing expression of many genes. In most cases when CRP is the only activator, protein-protein interactions between CRP and RNA polymerase are required to recruit RNA polymerase to the promoter.

1 . ArgG encodes argininosuccinate synthase and is the penultimate gene of the arginine biosynthesis pathway. It is activated by the CRP-cAMP from a CRP binding site located at —167.5 from the transcription start site. ArgG activation does not seem to require protein-protein contacts between CRP and RNA polymerase.

2. An other example of a atypical effect of CRP concerns the down-regulation of s 54 dependent promoters: for instance no matter the presence of an upstream CRP binding site the glnAp2 promoter is inhibited by CRP-cAMP. Primer extension and permanganate footprinting analysis indicate that the inhibitory effect is at the transcriptional level in vivo.

Keywords: RNA polymerase, stationary phase, sigma, anti-sigma, AsiA, cyclic AMP Receptor Protein (CRP), molecular microbiology, biochemistry



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Lavenir, Armelle, IP, (secretary,alavenir@pasteur.fr) Orsini, Gilbert, Assistant Professor, , Paris VIIorsini@pasteur.fr Tate, Edward, postdoc

Igonet, Sébastien, student Paris VI

Marquenet, Emélie, student Paris VII

Jan, Gaëlle, student, National Agricultural Institute of Paris-Grignon

Huo, Yixin, PhD student, Paris VII and Beijing University, China

Lacour, Stephan, PhD student, cooperation with EAWAG, Zurich, Switzerland

Deshayes, Caroline, student, Paris VII

Legat, Geneviève, Laboratory assistant, IP

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Régulations Transcriptionnelles - CNRS URA 2172


  Responsable : Kolb, Annie (akolb@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le démarrage de la transcription est la première étape de l'expression génique et la cible de nombreuses régulations. Notre travail porte sur deux thèmes principaux : la transition de la phase exponentielle à la phase stationnaire et les étapes précoces de l'infection par le bactériophage T4. Les facteurs sigma et anti-sigma de l'ARN polymérase jouent un rôle crucial dans la réponse à ces stress.



  rapport

cale

L'holoenzyme bactérienne est composée de l'enzyme cœur E constitué de 5 sous-unités (a2 b b' w) qui porte la machinerie catalytique, et d'un facteur s , responsable de la liaison au promoteur. La nature du facteur s détermine la spécificité de reconnaissance de l'ARN polymérase vis-à-vis du promoteur et chaque holoenzyme reconnaît une classe différente de promoteurs. Chez E. coli, il existe 7 facteurs s qui entrent en compétition pour la fixation à l'enzyme coeur. De nombreux facteurs s sont induits en réponse aux variations de l'environnement et sont très souvent contrôlés par des facteurs anti-s

ComparAison Entre les ARN POLYMERASES DE PHASE EXPONENTIELLE ET DE PHASE STATIONNAIRE Es 70 ET EsS (C. Deshayes, A. Kolb, G. Jan, S. Lacour, E. Marquenet, E.Tate)

Les bactéries passent la majorité de leur temps sans se multiplier : en phase stationnaire, elles présentent une résistance accrue à de nombreux stress (variations de température, de pH, d'osmolarité, résistance à l'eau oxygénée et aux antibiotiques...)

A l'entrée en phase stationnaire, il se produit des changements profonds de l'expression génétique qui sont encore mal compris. Chez les entérobactéries, à côté de s70 le facteur s majeur, apparaît un nouveau facteur d'initiation s S capable de diriger l'ARN polymérase vers une nouvelle classe de promoteurs. Produit du gène rpoS, s S est également induit en phase exponentielle de croissance à la suite de différents stress physiques ou chimiques et apparaît comme un régulateur central pour la survie des bactéries dans leur environnement naturel, la résistance généralisée aux stress et le contrôle de la virulence.

De tous les facteurs s, s S est celui qui présente la plus grande homologie avec le facteur s majeur, s 70. La conservation des séquences est particulièrement marquée au niveau des régions impliquées dans la fixation au promoteur. Pourtant Es S et Es 70 reconnaissent des classes distinctes de promoteurs. Les bases de cette discrimination sont encore mal comprises. Les promoteurs qui dépendent de s S sont en général des promoteurs faibles ; la plupart sont dépourvus d'hexamère -35 consensus mais possèdent souvent un C en position -13 en amont de la boîte -10. Le surenroulement de l'ADN et la présence de nombreux facteurs de transcription modulent le démarrage de la transcription des promoteurs dépendants de s S et peuvent même déterminer le choix du facteur s.

In vitro un grand nombre de promoteurs sont reconnus par les deux formes d'ARN polymérases, mais avec des affinités et des cinétiques différentes. La spécificité de reconnaissance apparaît plus stricte et conforme aux résultats in vivo dans un essai de compétition entre les deux facteurs s et l'enzyme coeur, qui est limitant dans la bactérie. s S est moins abondant que s 70 et possède une affinité 5 fois moindre pour l'enzyme coeur. D'autres facteurs semblent donc nécessaires in vivo pour permettre à s S de rivaliser avec s 70 .

LES INTERACTIONS s / ANTI-s(S. Igonet , G. Orsini)

Les facteurs anti-s sont des protéines régulatrices qui se lient spécifiquement à un facteur s et régulent in vivo la disponibilité et l'activité de ce facteur. Avec AsiA, le facteur anti-s 70 du phage T4, nous nous intéressons au mécanisme d'action de ce facteur ainsi qu'au rôle des contacts amont ARN polymérase-ADN du promoteur dans le fonctionnement de cette protéine de 10 kDa.

En se liant à leur cible, la plupart des facteurs anti-s empêchent l'association du facteur s correspondant avec l'enzyme coeur. Le mode d'action d'AsiA est plus complexe car cette protéine exerce sur la transcription par l'holoenzyme Es 70 deux effets que l'on peut distinguer :

-1. AsiA se lie fortement à la région 4 du facteur s 70 et inhibe la transcription à partir de promoteurs bactériens possédant des motifs consensus " -10-35 " et dépendant de s 70.

-2. La transcription à partir des promoteurs moyens du phage T4 requiert le complexe s 70-AsiA dans l'holoenzyme ainsi que la présence de la protéine MotA du phage, liée au niveau de l'ADN au motif " —30 "  de ces promoteurs. Au cours du développement du phage, le couple AsiA-MotA permet à l'ARN polymérase de changer de spécificité de reconnaissance et de se réorienter vers d'autres promoteurs .

La liaison d'AsiA à la région 4 de s 70 bloque l'interaction fonctionnelle entre s 70 et le motif -35 en amont des promoteurs classiques d'E. coli, comme le promoteur lacUV5. Par cinétique d'empreinte au permanganate, par attaque à la DNaseI et par photo-pontage au laser UV, nous avons montré que l'ARN polymérase contenant AsiA forme lentement un complexe ouvert et actif au promoteur lacUV5. L'effet majeur d'AsiA est ici de ralentir de près de 2 ordres de grandeur l'ouverture de la bulle de transcription. Ce complexe ternaire holoenzyme-AsiA-lacUV5 est activé par la protéine CRP liée à l'AMP cyclique, ce qui indique l'importance des contacts amont ARN polymérase-promoteur pour la formation de ce complexe ternaire. Ainsi, l'ARN polymérase possédant une délétion du domaine C-terminal des sous-unités a est totalement inhibée par AsiA dans les conditions où l'enzyme sans délétion ne l'est pas.

Nous étudions les propriétés de l'holoenzyme contenant AsiA vis-à-vis de plusieurs promoteurs précoces du phage T4 qui sont des promoteurs très forts. La plupart possèdent en amont une séquence riche en A/T susceptible de lier la sous-unité a de l'ARN polymérase et leur transcription est fortement insensible à l'inhibition exercée par AsiA. Nous analysons les facteurs de l'interaction holoenzyme Es 70 - AsiA -promoteurs précoces qui rendent compte de cette résistance à l'inhibition de la transcription, une propriété sans doute importante pour le développement du phage T4.

Regulation par le complexE CRP-AMP : Collaborations avec E. Krin(1), Institut Pasteur, & Y. Huo et Y-P Wang(2) de l'Université de Pékin

La protéine réceptrice de l'AMP cyclique (CRP) est impliquée dans le catabolisme de nombreuses sources de carbone et contrôle différentes fonctions chez les entérobactéries; son rôle activateur des gènes sensibles à la répression catabolique est bien connu et fait intervenir, pour la plupart des promoteurs, des interactions directes entre l'ARN polymérase contenant le facteur sigma majeur, Es70 et la protéine CRP liée à l'AMP cyclique (CRP-AMPc).

1. Le gène argG, qui spécifie la synthèse de l'argininosuccinate, un des 12 gènes nécessaires à la biosynthèse de l'arginine est régulé positivement par CRP-AMP cyclique mais la distance éloignée du site CRP à l'origine de transcription (-167.5) et l'étude de mutants de contrôle positif suggèrent que l'activation n'a pas lieu via des contacts protéine—protéine avec l'ARN polymérase.

2 . L'inhibition des promoteurs s 54-dépendants constitue un autre cas de régulation atypique par CRP. Dans le cas du promoteur glnAP2, la répression a lieu au niveau du démarrage de la transcription et est indépendante du site liant le complexe CRP-AMPc situé en amont du promoteur.

Mots-clés: ARN polymérase, phase stationnaire, sigma, anti-sigma, AsiA, protéine réceptrice de l’AMP cyclique (CRP), microbiologie moléculaire, biochimie



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Lavenir, Armelle, I.P.,alavenir@pasteur.fr Orsini, Gilbert, Université de Paris VII, (Maître de Conférences,orsini@pasteur.fr) Tate, Edward, postdoc

Igonet, Sébastien, étudiant Paris VI

Marquenet, Emélie, étudiant Paris VII

Jan, Gaëlle, étudiante, Institut National Agronomique de Paris-Grignon

Huo, Yixin, étudiant en thèse, Université de Pékin et de Paris VII,

Lacour Stephan, étudiant en thèse (coopération avec EAWAG, Zurich, Suisse)

Deshayes, Caroline, étudiante Paris VII

Legat, Geneviève, Aide de Laboratoire, I.P.

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr