Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Regulation of Gene Expression


  Director : Danchin Antoine (adanchin@hkucc.hku.hk, adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Genomics is like cryptography; how can we understand a text written in an unknown language? Champollion managed to decipher hieroglyphics thanks to simultaneous inscription of the same text on the Rosetta Stone. The studies undertaken by our Unit are based on this approach, comparing the texts of pairs of genomes. Exploitation of the mine of information represented by the complete sequence of genomes led to the concretisation of a precise aim, developed during the sequencing programme: to elucidate the link between genome architecture and cell structure.



  report

cale

The work of the Genetics of Bacterial Genomes Unit (GBG, member of CNRS URA 2171) is based on the long-term aim of determining the way in which bacterial genes work together. Exploitation of the mine of information represented by complete genome sequences led to the concretisation of a precise aim, progressively developed during the sequencing programme: to elucidate the link between genomic architecture and cell structure. This link is based on a simple supposition, leading to the hypothesis that cells may be considered to organise assembly procedures and therefore to serve effectively as "Turing machines", the conceptual ancestors of computers. However, as these "machines" produce similar "machines", they are faced with the paradox described by the mathematician John von Neumann: they must have an image of the machine somewhere. It is thus a natural progression to try to determine whether this image is actually found in the genome itself. The aim of the work of this Unit is to explore this hypothesis by systematically combining in vivo experiments and in silico experiments, new techniques made possible by the advent of computers.

1. How does the model bacterium Bacillus subtilis use sulphur?

The aim of sequencing the genome of Bacillus subtilis was to investigate the role, if indeed there is one, of the distribution of genes on the chromosome in determining the temporal and structural expression of those genes. After much reflection, we chose to study polyamine metabolism, and the metabolism of sulphur in particular, as particularly sensitive probes for studying the possible links between genomic structure, cell structure and gene expression. Sulphur is a particularly important element in this field because it is highly reactive, which makes it particularly sensitive to all forms of selection pressure and subject to compartmentalisation in the cell.

Although sulphur is ubiquitous (all proteins start with a sulphur-containing amino-acid residue), this element has not been studied in detail (due to intrinsic experimental difficulties). However, the sequencing of all the genes in a genome, in parallel with efficient techniques for modifying genes in situ, should make it possible to investigate sulphur metabolism. The Unit's first task was to define the problem and to identify the main pathways for the anabolism and catabolism of sulphur-containing molecules in B. subtilis. The first regulatory elements were then detected. The systematic use of new "large-scale" biological techniques (proteome and transcriptome analyses) made it possible to study global regulation in response to the availability of sulphur in the medium and to identify novel genes involved in sulphur metabolism. All the stages of polyamine synthesis have been identified, in particular, those linked to sulphur metabolism. This led researchers from the Unit (and from HKU Pasteur Research Centre, created at the same time by the Head of the Unit) to characterise the entire pathway for the recuperation of methionine. This pathway begins with S-adenosylmethionine, and regenerates methionine by recycling S-methylthioribose without oxidation. This pathway is highly original and one of the enzymes involved, which is very similar to ribulose bisphosphate carboxylase (RuBisCo) – the most abundant enzyme on Earth, responsible for the fixation of carbon dioxide by plants – raises questions about the way in which enzymatic activities were recruited to metabolic pathways during the course of evolution and about the origins of RuBisCo itself.

The conclusion of these studies is that bacteria from the same class as B. subtilis (which contains many pathogenic bacteria, including the causal agent of anthrax) behave differently from enterobacteria, not only in the regulation of the corresponding pathways (which is normal as regulatory systems are not well conserved during evolution), but also in the metabolic reactions themselves. This renders the study of these bacteria particularly interesting, opening up new avenues for the identification of totally new antibiotic targets (patent pending). The resemblance of these bacteria to archebacteria is quite remarkable. This is an important observation in the current debate concerning the origin of cells lacking nuclei.

2. Chromosomal organisation and control of gene expression (Enterobacteria)

Although numerous studies have been carried out by laboratories worldwide, the structure of the bacterial chromosome is very poorly understood, as is its link with gene expression and cell structure. The main model other than B. subtilis is Escherichia coli (due to the enormous amount of information available concerning this bacterium worldwide). However, to put experiments into an integrated biological context, the results are compared with those obtained for other related bacteria, in particular Photorhabdus luminescens, which was chosen because it lives in pure cultures in the natural environment and interacts with specific well-identified hosts (a nematode and insect larvae).

The H-NS protein, the function of which is still unknown despite the large number of studies carried out over the last thirty years, has been studied in more detail. This protein interacts with DNA or RNA (or both), but its direct or indirect role in controlling the structure of the chromosome is not understood. A detailed phylogenetic study investigating the possible function of this protein in organisms living in very different environments (cold in particular, as it is a "cold-shock" protein) and the role of this protein within cells (using large-scale transcriptomic and proteomic techniques, in particular) was associated with analysis of acid shock or growth in an acidic environment. These studies revealed that the protein is probably involved in proton management in the cell. It seems to interact preferentially with RNA, in as yet undetermined conditions. We have shown that, in addition to acting as a negative regulator, this protein also plays a positive role, which we also analysed by comparative genomic methods.

3. In silico genomic analysis

An essential element of the Unit's activity is the integration of in silico predictive studies (genomic analysis) and experimental investigations. New databases have been constructed, making it possible both to annotate genomic sequences in more detail systematically, and to link genomic annotations with large-scale biological data (transcriptome analysis). This organisation of information has made it possible to study genomic sequences in detail and to discover a number of new properties, concerning evolution in particular. One important and unexpected observation concerns the major role played by metabolism in shaping the genomic sequence itself. It seems like we are dealing with a finished game, limited to objects that represent the alphabet in the four-letter genomic language, and this restricts what can be written. However, in silico approaches can also be used to study the organisation of the chromosome itself and to put forward hypotheses about the distribution of genes with respect to cell structure. This has made it possible to draw up hypotheses, which we are now going to test experimentally.

Figure 1: A novel metabolic pathway for the recycling of methionine

Figure 2: The larvae of the mosquito Anopheles gambiae are sensitive to a Photorhabdus luminescens toxin that has been characterised in the laboratory

Keywords:



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  BEAUDEUX Annie

abeaudeu@pasteur.fr

MARTIN-VERSTRAETE Isabelle, CM University Paris 7

iverstra@pasteur.fr

CHARLES Jean-François, Head of Laboratory, Institut Pasteur

jcharles@pasteur.fr

PIMENTEL CACHAPUZ ROCHA Eduardo, CR CNRS

erocha@pasteur.fr

TENDENG Christian, oral examination for thesis on 12/11/2002

AUGER Sandrine, oral examination for thesis on 02/19/2003

FANG Gang, 1ste year for thesis on october 2002

BURGUIERE Pierre, 1ste year for thesis on october 2002

MARISA Laetita, 2nd year for DESS on october 2002

PASCAL Géraldine, 2ème année for thesis on october 2002

CHAKROUN Nesrine, trainee for Engineer from 09/16/2002 to 02/28/2003

KRIN Evelyne, Engineer CNRS

ekrin@pasteur.fr

TURLIN Evelyne, Technician of Laboratoiry

eturlin@pasteur.fr

BRITO-FRAVALLO Emma, Assistant of Laboratory

Ebrito@pasteur.fr

MARANGHI Laurence, Assistant of Laboratory


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Régulation de L'Expression Génétique


  Responsable : Danchin Antoine (adanchin@hkucc.hku.hk, adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

La génomique s'apparente à la cryptographie : comment comprendre un texte écrit dans une langue inconnue ? Champollion réussit à déchiffrer les hiéroglyphes grâce à l'écriture simultanée du même texte sur la Pierre de Rosette. Les travaux de l'Unité s'inspirent de cette approche en comparant les textes de couples de génomes. L'exploitation de la mine d'information que représente la connaissance complète des génomes a concrétisé un objectif précis, conçu au cours du programme de séquençage, comprendre le lien qui existe entre l'architecture des génomes et l'architecture cellulaire.



  rapport

cale

Les travaux de l'Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens (GGB, membre de l'URA 2171 du CNRS) sont fondés sur un projet à long terme, celui de comprendre comment les gènes bactériens fonctionnent collectivement. L'exploitation de la mine d'information que représente la connaissance complète du texte des génomes a concrétisé un objectif précis, constitué peu à peu au cours du programme de séquençage, celui de comprendre le lien qui existe entre l'architecture des génomes et l'architecture cellulaire. Ce lien repose sur une conjecture simple, qui fait l'hypothèse qu'en première approximation il est possible de considérer les cellules comme organisant des procédures d'assemblage, et sont en quelque sorte des " machines de Turing ", les ancêtres conceptuels des ordinateurs. Mais comme ces ordinateurs produisent des machines semblables, ils ont à faire face à un paradoxe noté par le mathématicien John von Neumann, qui leur impose d'avoir quelque part une image de la machine. Il est donc naturel de rechercher si cette image ne se trouve pas dans le génome lui-même. L'objectif des travaux de l'Unité est d'explorer cette hypothèse en combinant systématiquement des expériences in vivo et de la façon neuve créée par l'avènement des oridinateurs " in silico ".

1. Comment la bactérie modèle Bacillus subtilis utilise le soufre

Le projet de séquençage du génome de Bacillus subtilis tentait de comprendre le rôle, s'il existe, de la répartition des gènes dans le chromosome, par rapport à leur expression temporelle et architecturale. Une réflexion approfondie a identifié le métabolisme des polyamines, et surtout le métabolisme du soufre comme des sondes particulièrement sensibles des liens possibles entre architecture génomique, architecture cellulaire et expression génétique. Le soufre, dans ce domaine, est un élément privilégié en raison de sa très grande réactivité, qui en fait un élément particulièrement sensible à toutes les pressions de sélection et sujet à une importante compartimentation dans la cellule.

Malgré sa présence universelle (toutes les protéines commencent par un résidu soufré) le soufre a été un élément peu étudié (en raison des difficultés intrinsèques des expériences associées), mais la connaissance de tous les gènes d'un génome, en parallèle avec des techniques efficaces de modification des gènes in situ, permet de renouveler la question. Les travaux de l'Unité ont donc consisté, d'abord, à mettre en place la problématique, puis à déterminer les voies principales de l'anabolisme puis du catabolisme des molécules soufrées chez B. subtilis. Dans un deuxième temps les premiers éléments de régulation ont été mis au jour. L'utilisation systématique de la nouvelle " biologie à grande échelle " (analyse du protéome et du transcriptome) a permis d'étudier la régulation globale en réponse à la disponibilité en soufre dans le milieu et d'identifier de nouveaux gènes intervenant dans le métabolisme du soufre. Toutes les étapes de la synthèse des polyamines ont été identifiées, et en particulier celles qui sont liées au métabolisme du soufre. Cela a conduit les chercheurs de l'Unité, (et du HKU Pasteur Research Centre, créé dans le même temps par le chef de l'Unité) à caractériser complètement le cycle de récupération de la méthioninequi, à partir de la S-adénosylméthionine, régénère la méthionine par recyclage sans oxydation du S-méthylthioribose. Cette voie est très orIginale, et l'une des enzymes impliquées, très voisine de la ribulose-bisphosphate-carboxylase (RuBisCo), l'enzyme la plus abondante sur terre, responsable de la fixation du gaz carbonique par les plantes, conduit à s'interroger à la fois sur le concept de recrutement d'activités enzymatiques dans les chemins métaboliques au cours de l'évolution, et sur l'origine même de la RuBisCo.

La conclusion de ces travaux est que les bactéries de la même classe que B. subtilis (c'est le cas de nombreuses bactéries pathogènes, de l'agent du charbon, en particulier) se comportent différemment des entérobactéries, non seulement dans la régulation des voies correspondantes (ce qui est habituel, car les régulations se conservent peu au cours de l'évolution), mais dans les réactions métaboliques elles-mêmes. Cela donne un intérêt particulier à leur étude, en fournissant des pistes intéressantes pour l'identification de cibles antibiotiques totalement nouvelles (brevet déposé). Leur ressemblance avec les Archébactéries est par ailleurs tout à fait notable. Il s'agit d'une observation importante dans le débat actuel qui entoure l'origine des celles sans noyau.

2. Organisation du chromosome et contrôle de l'expression génétique (Entérobactéries)

Malgré de très nombreux travaux, par des laboratoires du monde entier, l'architecture chromosomique bactérienne est très mal connue, de même que son lien avec l'expression génétique et avec l'architecture cellulaire. Outre B. subtilis, le modèle privilégié est Escherichia coli (du fait de l'immense connaissance mondiale à son sujet), mais, afin de replacer les expériences dans un contexte biologique intégré, les expériences sont comparées aux résultats obtenus avec d'autres bactéries apparentées, et en particulier avec le modèle Photorhabdus luminescens, choisi parce qu'il vit en cultures pures en milieu sauvage et interagit avec des hôtes très bien identifiés (un nématode et des larves d'insectes)..

Plus spécialement, c'est la protéine H-NS, dont la fonction, malgré de très nombreuses études dans le monde depuis trente ans, n'est toujours pas connue qui a fait l'objet des études les plus approfondies. Cette protéine interagit avec des acides nucléiques ARN ou ADN (ou les deux) mais son rôle dans l'architecture du chromosome, directe ou indirecte, est incompris. Une étude phylogénétique poussée est destinée à glâner des hypothèses sur sa fonction à partir d'organismes vivants dans des milieux très variés (à froid en particulier, puisqu'il s'agit d'une protéine du " choc froid "), et son rôle dans la cellule (en particulier au moyen de techniques à grande échelle, transcriptome et protéome) a été assoicé à l'analyse de chocs acides ou de croissance en milieu acide. Ces études ont démontré une relation forte avec la gestion des protons par la cellule. La cible préférentielle de son action paraît être l'ARN, dans des conditions qui restent à élucider. A côté de son rôle de régulateur négatif nous avons mis en évidence un rôle positif de la protéine, analysé aussi par génomique comparative.

3. Génomes in silico

Un élément essentiel de l'activité de l'Unité est l'intégration entre la prédiction in silico (analyse génomique) et les réalisations expérimentales. De nouvelles bases de connaissance permettant à la fois d'enrichir systématiquement les annotations génomiques, et de les relier aux données de la biologie à grande échelle (étude du transcriptome) ont été construites. Grâce à cette organisation de la connaissance il a été possible d'étudier le texte génomique en détail et de découvrir bon nombre de propriétés nouvelles, en particulier de son évolution. Une observation importante est le rôle majeur, non soupçonné jusque là, du métabolisme dans la formation du texte génomique lui-même. Tout se passe comme si l'on avait un jeu fini, et limité des objets qui représentent l'alphabet à quatre lettre du texte génomique, et que cela contraignait ce qui peut être écrit. Mais les approches in silico ont aussi servi à explorer l'organisation du chromosome lui-même et de proposer des hypothèses sur la façon dont les gènes y sont répartis, en relation avec l'architecture cellulaire. Cela a permis la prédiction d'objets particuliers dont l'étude expérimentale va commencer, pour valider ou infirmer les hypothèses proposées.

Figure 1 : Une nouvelle voie métabolique, le recyclage de la méthionine

Figure 2 : Les larves de moustique sont sensibles a une toxine de Photorhabdus luminescens caractérisée au laboratoire.

Mots-clés: génomique fonctionnelle, organisation du chromosome, métabolisme du soufre, transcriptome, protéome



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  BEAUDEUX Annie

abeaudeu@pasteur.fr

MARTIN-VERSTRAETE Isabelle, MC Université Paris 7

iverstra@pasteur.fr



CHARLES Jean-François, Chef de Labo IP

jcharles@pasteur.fr



PIMENTEL CACHAPUZ ROCHA Eduardo, CR CNRS

erocha@pasteur.fr

TENDENG Christian, soutenance de thèse 11/12/2002

AUGER Sandrine, soutenance de thèse 19/02/2003

FANG Gang, 1ère année de thèse octobre 2002

BURGUIERE Pierre, 1ère année de thèse octobre 2002

MARISA Laetitia, 2ème année DESS octobre 2002

PASCAL Géraldine, 2ème année de thèse octobre 2002

CHAKROUN Nesrine, Ingénieur stagiaire du 16/09/2002 au 28/02/2003

HULLO Marie-Frabnçoise, Ingénieur CNRS

mfhullo@pasteur.fr



KRIN Evelyne, Ingénieur CNRS

ekrin@pasteur.fr



TURLIN Evelyne, Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire

eturlin@pasteur.fr



BRITO-FRAVALLO Emma, Aide de Laboratoire

ebrito@pasteur.fr



MARANGHI Laurence, Aide de Laboratoire


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr