Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Genomic analysis


  Director : Ivan MOSZER (moszer@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The activities of the Technical Platform 4 "Annotation" are many: assembly and initial annotation of new genome sequences, curation of annotated data collections, software development of genomic databases, genome analysis and molecular phylogeny. A large fraction of this work is performed in the framework of collaborations with other groups of the Institut Pasteur: research units, Génopole, computing center, and teaching department.



  report

cale

Assembly and annotation of new genome sequences (L. Frangeul, B. Giletti, S. Mativet)

We are developing the CAAT-Box software ("Contig-Assembly and Annotation Tool-Box"), which contains a set of methods for the follow-up of the assembly phases of a genome sequencing project, and for initiating the annotation phase starting from the finishing step (to get further details about CAAT-Box, please see prior activity reports). Several collaborations with groups involved in large-scale sequencing projects are maintained through this software:

  • Collaboration with the Unité de Génétique Moléculaire des Levures (B. Dujon): This group has undertaken the complete genome sequencing of Candida glabrata, in the framework of a Génopole project. We performed the assembly of 180,000 sequences produced by both the Institut Pasteur Génopole (TP1, C. Bouchier) and the Évry Génopole, and thus obtained over 700 contigs. In collaboration with TP1, we corrected low quality regions of these contigs and developed several strategies to close the gaps. We obtained a hundred contigs (13 Mbases) almost spanning the entire 13 chromosomes. In collaboration with the Laboratoire Bordelais de Recherche en Informatique (Université Bordeaux 1, D. Sherman), CAAT-Box was used for the annotation of the main contigs.

  • Collaboration with the Unité des Staphylocoques (N. El Solh): Following the public release of the complete genome sequence from seven strains of Staphylococcus aureus (N315, Mu50, MW2, MRSA, MSSA, 8325, COL), we have undertaken an exhaustive comparison of the 14,000 CDS. This allowed us to build a list of significant CDS: diverging genes between strains, or genes potentially involved in the pathogenic nature of the bacterium. We then used CAAT-Box to determine the sequence of specific primers, in order to design a macro-array containing 600 CDS.

  • Transversal Research Program Pasteur-Lille (C. Locht): CAAT-Box was used to define all the primers required for the making up of a complete macro-array for Bordetella pertussis.

  • Collaboration with the Unité des Cyanobactéries (N. Tandeau de Marsac): CAAT-Box was used to follow up the first assembly steps of the genome of Microcystis aeruginosa.

Annotated genomic databases (C. Boursaux-Eude, J.-C. Camus, L. Hummel, A. Marcel, M. Pryor)

Two additional bacterial genomes (Streptococcus pneumoniae R6 and Tigr4) were integrated in a GenoList-like database, named StreptoPneumoList. Likewise, in the framework of a Transversal Research Program with the Institut Pasteur of Lille (C. Locht), the genomes of three organisms of the Bordetella group (B. pertussis, B. parapertussis, B. bronchiseptica) will be imported soon in new GenoList databases.

In order to facilitate the integration of bibliographical references in the GenoList databases, a new tool was developed (BiblioDB). It allows the user to import all the references related to a given organism (e.g. through an EndNote file), and to link each reference to the relevant genes, through an adapted interface. These relationships are then integrated to the corresponding GenoList database.

This tool was used in the context of the reannotation of mycobacterial genomes (M. tuberculosis, M. bovis, M. leprae), in collaboration with the Unité de Génétique Moléculaire Bactérienne (S. Cole). Concerning M. tuberculosis, over 80 new CDS were predicted, notably through the use of the AMIGA program, and all the genes were classified according to a new functional classification. Many gene functions were revised, according to in-depth analysis of sequence comparison data and careful survey of the recent literature (over 1,000 references). Proteomic data were also integrated into the TubercuList database.

GenoList: towards a new multi-genome version (S. Moreira, L. Hummel, A. Marcel, E. Quevillon)

GenoList databases and Web servers are up and running for over ten years and they are internationally recognized. They combine a user-friendly presentation of the data, an intuitive browsing model, and query or analysis tools tightly integrated in the application and closely linked to the data. Each server however cannot handle more than a single organism, except for closely related strains. We are in the process of developing a multi-genome version of GenoList. This required first to enhance the conceptual data model, especially by adding relationships between organisms. The user interface is being completely rebuilt as well, and it will integrate new multi-genome comparison tools (coll. A. Le Roch, Unité des Cyanobactéries). On the technical side, we have decided to use a new development environment, WebObjects, well suited to the development of three-tier applications, and allowing us to quickly and easily maintain large Web applications.

SubScript: a transcriptome database (S. Moreira)

We built a database for the storage and the analysis of transcriptome data, named SubScript. It allows the user to submit new transcriptome experiments obtained with micro- or macro-arrays. The data model was designed with the precise type of information needed in mind (MGED-compliant), and the submission interface was developed in a user-friendly way. This work was performed through a strong interaction with laboratories performing the practical experiments, especially the Génopole TP2 (J.-Y. Coppée, G. Lacourrège). Statistical analysis tools are being developed now (coll. L. Marisa, Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens), by taking into account the intrinsic complexity of the data and the experiment schema. The application is developed using the WebObjects Web application server.

This project was initiated in the framework of the " BACELL Network " program for the functional analysis of Bacillus subtilis, in collaboration with the Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens (A. Danchin). New collaborations have been set up with IP groups participating to other functional analysis projects:

  • The Unité de Programmation Moléculaire et Toxicologie Génétique (P. Quillardet) belongs to a French consortium for the functional analysis of Escherichia coli (P. Bouloc).

  • The Unité d'Immunologie Moléculaire des Parasites is participating to the Pal+ program for the study of the transcriptome of Plasmodium falciparum (P. David).

  • The Laboratoire de Génomique des Microorganismes Pathogènes (P. Glaser) is analyzing the transcriptome of Streptococcus agalactiae.

These collaborations will allow us to increase the data available in our database, thus opening new opportunities for the cross-comparison of metabolic regulations from closely related organisms.

Phylogeny (C. Dauga)

Strategies to highlight gene evolution processes were determined in order to choose the best approaches to extract phylogenetic information from gene sequences. This requires in-depth understanding of concepts used in phylogeny, and the knowledge of the restrictions of phylogenetic tree construction models.

These strategies are intended to alleviate biological problems encountered by many research groups in molecular identification studies or epidemiology of organisms:

  • Collaboration with J. Raymond (Hôpital Saint Vincent de Paul) and A. Labigne (Unité de Pathogénie Bactérienne des Muqueuses) for the phylogeny of genes evolving by genetic drift and genetic recombinations in order to understand the contamination mode of a family by Helicobacter pylori;

  • Collaboration with A.-B. Failloux (Unité d'Écologie des Systèmes Vectoriels) for the phylogenetic study of two variable genes in order to determine the geographic origin of recently imported strains of Aedes albopictus.

These strategies are also required to understand the evolutive history of genes, lateral transfers, genetic recombinations and duplications in genome exploration:

  • Collaboration with H. de Reuse (Unité de Pathogénie Bactérienne des Muqueuses) in order to determine the evolutive mode of genes coding for aliphatic amidases in the Helicobacter pylori genome.

A new project for the definition of phylogenetic strategies to detect lateral gene transfers between neighbouring species is now being developed.

Teaching activities (C. Boursaux-Eude, C. Dauga, L. Frangeul)

Teaching is one of the missions of PT4:

  • Setting up of an initiation to bioinformatics for the General Microbiology course;

  • Participation to the Genome Analysis course (data processing);

  • Co-organization of the workshop Inserm 135: Identification of non cultured bacteria in clinical and environmental setting;

  • Lecture and class work "Phylogenetic analysis, theoretical principles and practice" for Bioinformatics teaching of Paris 7 university.

Keywords: annotation, databases, genome, transcriptome, phylogeny



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  LUCHIER, Françoise,fluchier@pasteur.fr (partial time) DAUGA, Catherine, IP, Research Scientist,cdauga@pasteur.fr

MOSZER, Ivan, IP, Research Scientist,moszer@pasteur.fr
PRYOR, Melinda, Post-doc fellow,mpryor@pasteur.fr BOURSAUX-EUDE, Caroline, Engineer,cbx@pasteur.fr

DEHOUX, Pierre, Engineer,pdehoux@pasteur.fr

FRANGEUL, Lionel, Engineer,lfrangeu@pasteur.fr

HUMMEL, Laurence, Engineer,lhummel@pasteur.fr (fixed-term contract)

MARCEL, Anne, Engineer,amarcel@pasteur.fr (fixed-term contract)

MOREIRA, Sandrine, Engineer,moreira@pasteur.fr

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Annotation


  Responsable : Ivan MOSZER (moszer@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les missions du Plateau Technique 4 " Annotation " sont diverses : elles concernent l'assemblage et l'annotation initiale de nouveaux génomes, le maintien de collections de données annotées, le développement logiciel de bases de données génomiques, l'analyse des génomes et la phylogénie moléculaire. Une grande partie de l'activité se déroule dans le cadre de collaborations avec différentes équipes de l'Institut Pasteur : unités de recherche, Génopole, service informatique, mais aussi le département des enseignements.



  rapport

cale

Assemblage et annotation de nouveaux génomes (L. Frangeul, B. Giletti, S. Mativet)

Nous développons le logiciel CAAT-Box (" Contig-Assembly and Annotation Tool-Box "), qui contient un ensemble de méthodes permettant de suivre les assemblages successifs d'un projet de séquençage génomique, et de débuter la phase d'annotation dès l'étape de finition de la séquence (pour plus de détails concernant CAAT-Box, voir les rapports d'activité des années précédentes). Ce logiciel nous permet d'entretenir de nombreuses collaborations avec des équipes impliquées dans des projets de séquençage de grande ampleur :

  • Collaboration avec l'Unité de Génétique Moléculaire des Levures (B. Dujon) : Cette dernière, dans le cadre d'un projet Génopole, a entrepris le séquençage complet du génome de Candida glabrata. Nous avons procédé à l'assemblage des 180 000 séquences produites par les Génopoles de l'Institut Pasteur (PT1, C. Bouchier) et d'Évry, aboutissant ainsi à plus de 700 contigs. En collaboration avec PT1, nous avons corrigé les zones de basse qualité de ces contigs et développé diverses stratégies permettant de les fusionner, pour obtenir une centaine de contigs (13 Mbases) qui recouvrent la quasi-totalité des 13 chromosomes. En collaboration avec le Laboratoire Bordelais de Recherche en Informatique (Université Bordeaux 1, D. Sherman), CAAT-Box a été utilisé pour l'annotation des principaux contigs.

  • Collaboration avec l'Unité des Staphylocoques (N. El Solh) : Après le dépôt dans le domaine public de la séquence complète de sept souches de Staphylococcus aureus (N315, Mu50, MW2, MRSA, MSSA, 8325, COL), nous avons entrepris une comparaison exhaustive des 14 000 CDS correspondantes. Cela nous a permis d'élaborer une liste de CDS d'intérêt : variants d'une souche à l'autre, ou gènes potentiellement impliqués dans le pouvoir pathogène de la bactérie. Nous avons ensuite utilisé CAAT-Box pour déterminer la séquence d'amorces nucléotidiques spécifiques, afin de réaliser une membrane à haute densité contenant 600 de ces CDS.

  • PTR Pasteur-Lille (C. Locht) : CAAT-Box a été utilisé pour définir l'ensemble des amorces nucléotidiques nécessaires à la réalisation d'une membrane à haute densité totale pour Bordetella pertussis.

  • Collaboration avec l'Unité des Cyanobactéries (N. Tandeau de Marsac) : CAAT-Box est utilisé pour suivre les premiers assemblages du génome de Microcystis aeruginosa.

Constitution de bases de données génomiques annotées (C. Boursaux-Eude, J.-C. Camus, L. Hummel, A. Marcel, M. Pryor)

Deux nouveaux génomes de microorganismes (Streptococcus pneumoniae R6 et Tigr4) ont été intégrés dans une base de données de type GenoList, dénommée StreptoPneumoList. De même, dans le cadre d'un PTR avec l'Institut Pasteur de Lille (C. Locht), les génomes de trois organismes de la famille Bordetella (B. pertussis, B. parapertussis, B. bronchiseptica) seront introduits très prochainement dans de nouvelles bases GenoList.

Afin de faciliter l'intégration de références bibliographiques dans les bases de données GenoList, un nouvel outil a été développé (BiblioDB). Il permet à l'utilisateur d'importer toutes les références propres à un organisme (via EndNote par exemple), et, par une interface adaptée, de relier chaque référence à un ou plusieurs gènes, ou, inversement, chaque gène à une ou plusieurs références. Ces relations sont ensuite intégrées à la base de données GenoList correspondant à l'organisme étudié.

Cet outil a notamment été exploité dans le cadre de la réannotation des génomes de mycobactéries (M. tuberculosis, M. bovis, M. leprae), en collaboration avec l'Unité de Génétique Moléculaire Bactérienne (S. Cole). Concernant M. tuberculosis, plus de 80 nouvelles CDS ont été prédites, notamment à l'aide du programme AMIGA, et l'ensemble des gènes ont été regroupés selon une nouvelle classification fonctionnelle. De nombreuses fonctions ont été revues, en exploitant des résultats de comparaison de séquences affinés, et à l'aide d'une consultation exhaustive de la littérature récente (plus de 1 000 références). Des données protéomiques ont également été intégrées à la base de données TubercuList.

GenoList : vers une nouvelle version multi-génomes (S. Moreira, L. Hummel, A. Marcel, E. Quevillon)

Les bases de données génomiques et les serveurs Web associés de type GenoList existent depuis plus de dix ans et sont reconnus sur le plan international. Ils allient une présentation conviviale des données, une navigation intuitive et la présence d'outils de recherche complètement intégrés dans l'application et étroitement liés aux données. Cependant chaque serveur ne peut gérer qu'un organisme simultanément, voire deux dans le cas de souches proches. Nous développons à l'heure actuelle une version multi-génomes de GenoList. Cela implique l'enrichissement du schéma conceptuel de la base de données avec, en particulier, l'ajout de relations pertinentes entre les différents organismes. Ces modifications de structure s'accompagnent d'une refonte de l'interface, qui a été complètement repensée en intégrant de nouvelles données, ainsi que des outils de comparaison multi-génomes (coll. A. Le Roch, Unité des Cyanobactéries). D'autre part, d'un point de vue technique, nous avons opté pour un nouvel environnement de développement, WebObjects, mieux adapté au développement d'applications trois-tiers, et permettant un développement rapide et une maintenance facilitée d'applications de grande envergure.

SubScript : une base de données transcriptomique (S. Moreira)

Nous avons créé une base de données, SubScript, permettant le stockage et l'analyse des données de transcriptome. SubScript permet de soumettre des expériences de transcriptome issues de micro- ou de macro-arrays. Nous avons développé le modèle de données (conforme aux spécifications MGED) et l'interface de soumission avec un souci constant de rigueur (type et quantité d'informations) et de convivialité. Ce travail a pu être réalisé grâce à une interaction forte avec les laboratoires impliqués dans la réalisation pratique des expériences, notamment le PT2 de Génopole (J.-Y. Coppée, G. Lacourrège). Le développement d'outils d'analyse statistique des données est en cours (coll. L. Marisa, Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens), en tenant compte de la complexité intrinsèque des données, mais aussi de la façon dont l'expérience a été réalisée. L'application est développée en utilisant le serveur d'application WebObjects.

Ce projet a été développé initialement dans le cadre du programme " BACELL Network " d'analyse fonctionnelle de Bacillus subtilis, en collaboration avec l'Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens (A. Danchin). Nous avons établi de nouvelles collaborations avec des groupes pasteuriens participant à des projets d'analyse fonctionnelle :

  • L'Unité de Programmation Moléculaire et Toxicologie Génétique (P. Quillardet) fait partie d'un consortium français d'analyse fonctionnelle d'Escherichia coli (P. Bouloc).

  • L'Unité d'Immunologie Moléculaire des Parasites participe au programme Pal+ pour l'étude du transcriptome de Plasmodium falciparum (P. David).

  • Le Laboratoire de Génomique des Microorganismes Pathogènes (P. Glaser) analyse le transcriptome de Streptococcus agalactiae.

Ces collaborations vont permettre d'enrichir la base de nouvelles données, offrant ainsi de nombreuses potentialités en terme d'analyse croisée et de comparaison des régulations métaboliques entre organismes proches.

Phylogénie (C. Dauga)

Des stratégies visant à mettre en évidence le mode évolutif des gènes sont élaborées afin de choisir les meilleures approches pour extraire l'information phylogénétique des séquences de gènes. Elles nécessitent la compréhension des concepts utilisés par la phylogénie et la connaissance des limites des modèles de construction d'arbres.

Ces stratégies répondent aux besoins rencontrés par différentes équipes de biologistes pour la réalisation d'études d'identification moléculaire ou de suivi épidémiologique des organismes :

  • Collaboration avec J. Raymond (Hôpital Saint Vincent de Paul) et A. Labigne (Unité de Pathogénie Bactérienne des Muqueuses) pour l'exploitation phylogénétique de gènes évoluant par accumulation de mutations et recombinaisons génétiques lors du suivi intra-familial de souches d'Helicobacter pylori ;

  • Collaboration avec A.-B. Failloux (Unité d'Écologie des Systèmes Vectoriels) pour l'utilisation phylogénétique de deux gènes variables recherchant l'origine géographique de souches d'Aedes albopictus récemment importées en France.

Ces stratégies répondent aussi à la nécessité de reconnaître l'histoire évolutive des gènes, les transferts, les recombinaisons génétiques, et les duplications, pour l'exploration des génomes :

  • Collaboration avec H. de Reuse (Unité de Pathogénie Bactérienne des Muqueuses) afin d'explorer le mode évolutif de gènes codant pour des amidases aliphatiques d'Helicobacter pylori.

Un projet portant sur la recherche de méthodes phylogénétiques pour la détection des transferts de gènes entre espèces proches est en développement.

Activités d'enseignement (C. Boursaux-Eude, C. Dauga, L. Frangeul)

Les activités d'enseignement font partie intégrante des missions de PT4 :

  • Mise en place d'une initiation à la bioinformatique pour le Cours de Microbiologie Générale ;

  • Participation au Cours d'Analyse des Génomes (traitement informatique des données) ;

  • Co-organisation de l'Atelier Inserm 135 : identification de bactéries non cultivables en clinique et dans l'environnement ;

  • Cours et travaux dirigés " Analyse phylogénétique, principes théoriques et pratiques " pour le cours de Bioinformatique de l'université Paris 7.

Mots-clés: annotation, bases de données, génome, transcriptome, phylogénie



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  LUCHIER, Françoise,fluchier@pasteur.fr (temps partiel) DAUGA, Catherine, IP, Chargé de Recherche,cdauga@pasteur.fr

MOSZER, Ivan, IP, Chargé de Recherche,moszer@pasteur.fr

PRYOR, Melinda, Stagiaire post-doctoral,mpryor@pasteur.fr BOURSAUX-EUDE, Caroline, Cadre Administratif et Technique,cbx@pasteur.fr

DEHOUX, Pierre, Ingénieur,pdehoux@pasteur.fr

FRANGEUL, Lionel, Cadre Administratif et Technique,lfrangeu@pasteur.fr

HUMMEL, Laurence, Cadre Administratif et Technique,lhummel@pasteur.fr (CDD)

MARCEL, Anne, Cadre Administratif et Technique,amarcel@pasteur.fr (CDD)

MOREIRA, Sandrine, Cadre Administratif et Technique,moreira@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr