Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Cyanobacteria - CNRS URA 2172


  Director : TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole (ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Cyanobacteria that appeared on our planet about 3 billion years ago contribute even today, by their ability to perform oxygenic photosynthesis, to the balance between CO2 and O2 in the atmosphere. Capable of acclimation to a wide range of environmental conditions, including extreme ones, they colonize most aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. Some of them produce hepatotoxins or neurotoxins harmful to animals and Man. The main objective of our research programme is to develop, by using a polyphasic approach, our knowledge of the biodiversity, the physiology and the genome of cyanobacteria, to elucidate their modes of acclimation to the environment, the bases of their toxicity, as well as to exploit their biotechnological potential.



  report

cale

1. The PCC or "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria" (R. Rippka, I. Iteman and M. Herdman)

The PCC is internationally recognized both for the quality of the strains (axenic cultures) and for the diversity of their morphological and physiological properties.

The PCC has several missions that include both service and research activities:

  • Preservation and development of biological resources (750 strains representing 57 genera); strain identification by a polyphasic approach; in 2002, new strains assignable to the genera Gloeocapsa and Aphanizomenon (a saxitoxin producer) entered the PCC; 450 strains are presented in a catalogue ( http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/ ).

  • Consultation and sale of strains to research laboratories and industries all over the world, including teaching institutions in France.

  • Development of molecular tools for the detection, identification and survey of cyanobacteria in laboratory cultures or in the environment;

  • Search for and characterisation of bio-active molecules of pharmaceutical interest (Collaboration with V. Bultel, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris); in the frame of a transverse research programme (PTR), entitled "Neurotoxins and related alkaloids" and coordinated by M. Herdman, development of a micro-detection method for neurotoxins; 10 % of the PCC strains tested were found to be neurotoxic.

Several databases in constant evolution are maintained in the Unit:

  • "CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access): properties of the strains in the PCC; "ITS size database": number and size of ITS amplicons (300 entries); "Photographic database" (610 entries); "Storage database": list of strains preserved in liquid nitrogen; the last three modules interact with Cyanobank.

  • Databases independent of CYANOBANK: "ITS sequence database" with 296 aligned sequences; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" (software ARB) with more than 900 aligned sequences; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database" with more than 13000 sequences that permit to choose oligonucleotide primers and probes; database (software GelCompare) of profiles generated by ITS-RFLP and amplification with HIP1 extended primers.

Expertises of cyanobacterial identification and determination of hepatotoxins in samples from surface waters are performed in collaboration with J.M. Delattre (Department of Waters and Environment, IP-Lille).

In the frame of the European contract COBRA "The Conservation of a vital European scientific and biotechnological resource: microalgae and cyanobacteria" (Programme "Quality of Life"), different cryopreservation methods are presently tested, as well as a PCR method using the repetitive repeat sequences HIP1, with variable extensions, for amplification and control of strain identity.

2. Molecular mechanisms of the acclimation of cyanobacteria to the environment

Light and nutrients act in a number of regulatory circuits in cyanobacterial metabolism, and play a key role in the formation of water blooms in planktonic species.

Cyanobacterial photoreceptors, ancestors of the plant phytochromes(Collaborations with W. Gärtner (Max Planck Institut, Mülheim, Germany), B. Quest (Max Planck Institut, Martinsried, Germany) and G. Karimova (Biochimie des Interactions Macromoléculaires, Institut Pasteur).

In Calothrix sp. PCC 7601, two systems of photoperception, the phytochrome-like CphA and CphB associated to the response regulators, RcpA and RcpB, respectively, display strong similarities to bacterial two-component regulatory systems. In vitro, a chromophore of the phycocyanobilin-type covalently binds to the residue Cys259 of CphA. In contrast, in CphB a chromophore of the biliverdin IXa -type binds not non-covalently to the Leu266 residue. The holoprotein CphB recovers spectral properties similar to the holoprotein CphA when Leu266 is replaced by a cysteinyl residue. CphA and CphB act at an early step of the transduction of the light signal by a mechanism of phosphorylation/dephosphorylation of RcpA and RcpB, respectively. The 3D structure of RcpA and RcpB is closely related to that of the response regulators of the CheY family, but they possess a novel dimerisation motif.

Carbon and nitrogen metabolism, floatation and toxicity(Collaboration with E. Dittmann, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany)

Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 is a representative of planktonic hepatotoxic cyanobacteria that synthesize gas vesicles (intracellular floatation devices) and under our latitude form blooms at the surface of water bodies during summer time. A research programme has been initiated to establish the relationships between the metabolism of carbon and nitrogen, the formation of gas vesicles and the production of hepatotoxins (microcystins). As in other unicellular cyanobacteria from freshwater previously studied in the Unit, a PII protein, whose phosphorylation state depends on the availability of carbon and nitrogen, has been evidenced in strain PCC 7806. This protein is a key element of a control system that coordinates the metabolism of nitrogen and carbon in response to variations of environmental parameters. This system also includes the global transcriptional regulator NtcA. A cluster of genes (gvpA1A2A3CNJKF/L), encoding components involved in gas vesicle synthesis, has been characterized. Some of these genes are organized in operons whose transcription is segmented. The promoter regions of some gvp genes and of gene modules involved in the non-ribosomal synthesis of microcystins contain a DNA binding site for the regulator NtcA, suggesting that their expression is controlled by nitrogen. The genes encoding the two sub-units of ribulose biphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (Rubisco), a key enzyme of the Calvin cycle of CO2 fixation, have also been characterized. A new gene coding for a protein sharing similarity with Rubisco has been discovered. The structure and function of the corresponding gene product overexpressed in E. coli are under study.

Cyanobacterial genomes (N. Tandeau de Marsac and I. Iteman)

Sequencing of the genome of the hepatotoxic cyanobacterium Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 is ongoing at the genopole from the Institut Pasteur (Collaborations with S. Cole and C. Bouchiez, Plate-forme Technique 1-Genomics, P. Glaser and F. Kunst, Laboratoire de Génomique des Micro-organismes Pathogènes).

A web server for the genomes of two cyanobacteria, Synechocystis PCC 6803 and Anabaena PCC 7120 has been established (http://genolist.pasteur.fr/CyanoList/). A multi-organism database, including bacterial and cyanobacterial genomes is in progress (Collaboration with I. Moszer, Plate-forme Technique 4-Annotation et Analyse de Génomes).

The annotation of the genome of the marine cyanobacterium Prochlorococcus SS120 is in progress (Collaboration with the Génoscope, Evry, France). This cyanobacterial species is very abundant at 200 m depth (low-light ecotype). The genome of SS120 can now be compared to those of other ecotypes of the genus Prochlorococcus (MED4 and MIT 9313) and to that of the marine Synechococcus WH8102 (sequences available at the DOE Joint Genome Institute, USA).

Photos : Toxic planktonic cyanobacteria: Oscillatoria PCC 6506, producer of neurotoxins (left) et Planktothrix PCC 10106, producer of hepatotoxins (right)

Keywords: Collection of cyanobacteria (PCC), Databases, Biodiversity, Toxins, Photoperception and signal transduction, Genome



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  LEFEBVRE Jacqueline,jlefebvr@pasteur.fr HERDMAN Michael,mherdman@pasteur.fr

HERDMAN/RIPPKA Rosmarie,rrippka@pasteur.fr

ITEMAN Isabelle,iiteman@pasteur.fr

MEJEAN Annick,amejean@pasteur.fr

ARAOZ Romulo

BEST Jennifer

COMTE Katia

COQUIN Aurélie

JOUANNIC Françoise

LE ROCH Albane

MLOUKA Alyssa

NASRI Aïcha

SINGER Alon

CASTETS Anne-Marie,acastets@pasteur.fr

COURSIN Thérèse,tcoursin@pasteur.fr

LAURENT Thierry,tlaurent@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Cyanobactéries - CNRS URA 2172


  Responsable : TANDEAU de MARSAC Nicole (ntmarsac@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

A l'origine de l'apparition de l'oxygène sur notre planète il y a plus de 3 milliards d'années, les cyanobactéries, par leur activité photosynthétique, participent encore de nos jours au maintien de l'équilibre des proportions entre le CO2 et l'oxygène dans l'atmosphère. Capables de s'adapter à des environnements même extrêmes, elles colonisent la plupart des écosystèmes aquatiques et terrestres. Nombre d'entre elles forment des efflorescences responsables de nuisances dans l'environnement et synthétisent des métabolites secondaires (hépatotoxines et neurotoxines) toxiques pour l'Homme et l'animal. L'objectif de nos travaux de recherche est de développer, par une approche pluridisciplinaire, notre connaissance de la biodiversité, de la physiologie et du génome des cyanobactéries, afin d'élucider leurs modes d'adaptation à l'environnement et les bases de leur toxicité, et d'exploiter leurs potentialités biotechnologiques.



  rapport

cale

1. La PCC ou "Pasteur Culture Collection of Cyanobacteria" (R. Rippka, I. Iteman, et M. Herdman)

La PCC est internationalement reconnue tant pour la qualité (cultures pures) que pour la diversité des propriétés morphologiques et physiologiques de ses souches.

Les missions de la PCC, qui comprend à la fois des activités de service et de recherche, sont multiples :

  1. Préservation et accroissement des ressources biologiques (750 souches représentant 57 genres), avec identification des souches par une approche polyphasique ; en 2002, de nouvelles souches des genres Gloeocapsa et Aphanizomenon (productrice de saxitoxine) ont été introduites dans la PCC ; 475 souches sont disponibles sur catalogue ( http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/banques/PCC/) ;

  2. Distribution et vente de souches (plus de 250 en 2002) à des laboratoires de recherche et des industriels dans le monde entier, ainsi que pour l'enseignement en France, associée à une importante activité de conseil ;

  3. Création d'outils moléculaires pour la détection, l'identification et le suivi des cyanobactéries en culture et dans l'environnement ; un test de "capture en plaque" mis au point dans l'Unité a été validé pour les principaux genres toxiques de la PCC ; à l'aide de séquences d'ARN 16S et d'ITS, il est maintenant possible de distinguer les souches planctoniques potentiellement toxiques des genres Planktothrix Oscillatoria. et

  4. Valorisation par la recherche et la caractérisation de composés bio-actifs (Collaboration avec V. Bultel, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris) ; Programme Transversal de Recherche sur les "Cyanobacterial neurotoxins and related alkaloids" coordonné par M. Herdman, mise au point d'une méthode de détection des neurotoxines à des concentrations micromolaires ; 10% des souches de la PCC analysées se sont avérées neurotoxiques.

Plusieurs bases de données maintenues dans l'Unité sont en constante évolution :

  • "CYANOBANK" (Windows 98, Microsoft Access) : propriétés des souches de la PCC ; "ITS size database" : nombre et taille des amplicons des ITS (300 entrées) ; "Photographic database" : 610 entrées ; "Storage database" : inventaire des souches conservées dans l'azote liquide ; les trois derniers modules interagissent avec CYANOBANK.

  • Bases de données indépendantes de CYANOBANK : "ITS sequence database" avec 296 séquences d'ITS de cyanobactéries alignées ; "Cyanobacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", maintenue sous le logiciel ARB avec plus de 900 séquences alignées ; "Bacterial 16S rRNA sequence database", qui permet de choisir des amorces oligonucléotidiques ou des sondes et comprend plus de 13000 séquences ; bases de données (sous GelCompare) des profils RFLP des ITS et des profils obtenus par amplification avec des amorces de type HIP1.

Une activité d'expertise est en place pour l'identification et le dosage des hépatotoxines dans les eaux de surface (Collaboration avec JM Delattre, Institut Pasteur de Lille).

Dans le cadre du contrat européen COBRA "The Conservation of a vital european scientific and biotechnological resource: microalgae and cyanobacteria" (Programme "Quality of Life"), des méthodes de cryopréservation sont actuellement testées, ainsi qu'une technique basée sur l'utilisation des séquences répétées de type HIP1 qui permettra, au moins pour certaines souches, un contrôle rapide de leur identité.

2. Les mécanismes moléculaires de l'adaptation des cyanobactéries à l'environnement (N. Tandeau de Marsac)

La lumière et les nutriments interviennent dans de nombreux circuits de régulation du métabolisme chez les cyanobactéries et jouent un rôle essentiel dans la formation des efflorescences chez les espèces planctoniques.

Les photorécepteurs des cyanobactéries, ancêtres des phytochromes de plantes(Collaborations avec W. Gärtner (Max Planck Institut, Mülheim, Allemagne), B. Quest (Max Planck Institut, Martinsried, Allemagne) et G. Karimova (Biochimie des Interactions Macroméculaires, Institut Pasteur).

Chez Calothrix sp. PCC 7601, deux systèmes de photoperception, les phytochromes CphA et CphB associées respectivement aux régulateurs de réponse, RcpA et RcpB, présentent de fortes similitudes avec les systèmes à deux composants bactériens. In vitro, un chromophore de type phycocyanobiline se fixe de manière covalente sur le résidu Cys259 de la protéine CphA. Dans le cas de CphB, il s'agit d'un chromophore de type biliverdine IXa , lié de manière non covalente à un résidu Leu266. L'holoprotéine CphB récupère des propriétés spectrales voisines de l'holoprotéine CphA, lorsque le résidu Leu266 est remplacé par un résidu cystéinyl. CphA et CphB interviennent dans une étape précoce de la transmission du signal "lumière" par un mécanisme de phosphorylation/déphosphorylation de RcpA et RcpB, respectivement. La structure tridimensionnelle de RcpA et RcpB s'apparente à celle des protéines de la famille des régulateurs de réponse de type CheY, mais elles possèdent un motif de dimérisation qui est nouveau.

Métabolisme du carbone et de l'azote, flottaison et toxicité (Collaboration avec E. Dittmann, Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Allemagne)

Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 est une souche réprésentative des cyanobactéries planctoniques hépatotoxiques qui sous notre latitude, grâce à une abondante synthèse de vésicules à gaz (flotteurs intracellulaires ou GV), forme des efflorescences à la surface des plans d'eau en périodes estivales. Un programme de recherche, visant à établir les relations qui existent entre le métabolisme carbone/azote, la formation des GV et la production des hépatotoxines (microcystines) chez cette souche, a été mis en œuvre. Comme chez les autres souches unicellulaires dulcicoles étudiées antérieurement dans l'Unité, il existe, chez la souche PCC 7806, une protéine PII dont l'état de phosphorylation dépend de la disponibilité en azote et en carbone. Cette protéine est un élément clé d'un système de contrôle qui coordonne le métabolisme de l'azote et du carbone en réponse à des variations des paramètres environnementaux. Ce système comprend également un régulateur transcriptionnel global, NtcA. Un groupe de gènes (gvpA1A2A3CNJKF/L), codant les composants impliqués dan la synthèse des vésicules à gaz, a été caractérisé. Certains de ces gènes forment des opérons dont la transcription est segmentée. Les régions promotrices de certains des gènes gvp, et des modules qui sont impliqués dans la synthèse non-ribosomale des microcystines contiennent un site de liaison à l'ADN pour le régulateur NtcA, suggérant un contrôle de l'expression par l'azote. Les gènes codant les deux sous-unités de la ribulose diphosphate carboxylase/oxygénase (Rubisco), enzyme clé du cycle de Calvin de fixation du CO2, ont également été caractérisés, ainsi qu'un gène codant une protéine similaire à cette dernière ; la structure et la fonction du produit de ce nouveau gène surexprimé chez E. coli sont en cours d'étude.

Génomes cyanobactériens (N. Tandeau de Marsac et I. Iteman)

Le séquençage du génome de la cyanobactérie hépatotoxique Microcystis aeruginosa PCC 7806 est en cours à la génopole de l'Institut Pasteur (Collaborations avec S. Cole et C. Bouchiez, Plate-forme Technique 1-Génomique, et P. Glaser et F. Kunst du Laboratoire de Génomique des Micro-organismes Pathogènes).

Un serveur pour les génomes des cyanobactéries, Synechocystis PCC 6803 et Anabaena PCC 7120, a été mis en place (http://genolist.pasteur.fr/CyanoList/). Une base de données multi-organismes, incluant les génomes de bactéries et de cyanobactéries, est en cours de construction (Collaboration avec I. Moszer, Plate-forme Technique 4-Annotation et Analyse génomique).

L'annotation du génome de la cyanobactérie marine Prochlorococcus SS120 est en cours (Collaboration avec le Génoscope d'Evry). Cette souche se développe à 200 m de profondeur (écotype dit "Low light").Son génome va pouvoir être comparé avec ceux d'autres écotypes du genre Prochlorococcus (MED4 et MIT 9313) et avec celui d'une souche marine du genre Synechococcus WH8102 (séquences sont disponibles au DOE Joint Genome Institute, USA).

Légendes des photos : Cyanobactéries planctoniques toxiques : Oscillatoria PCC 6506, productrice de neurotoxines (à gauche) et Planktothrix PCC 10106, productrice d'hépatotoxines (à droite)

Mots-clés: Collection de cyanobactéries (PCC) , Bases de données , Biodiversité , Toxines , Photoperception et transmission de signaux , Génome



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  LEFEBVRE Jacqueline (jlefebvr@pasteur.fr) HERDMAN Michael, CNRS (Chargé de Recherche 2,mherdman@pasteur.fr)

HERDMAN/RIPPKA Rosmarie, IP (Chargée de Recherche 4,rrippka@pasteur.fr)

ITEMAN Isabelle, IP (Chargé de Recherche 2,iiteman@pasteur.fr)

MEJEAN Annick, Université Paris 7 (Maître de Conférences,amejean@pasteur.fr)

ARAOZ Romulo, Chercheur Post-doctoral

BEST Jennifer, Chercheur Post-doctoral

COMTE Katia, Chercheur Post-doctoral

COQUIN Aurélie, Etudiante en DEA

JOUANNIC Françoise, Stagiaire Qualité

LE ROCH Albane, Etudiante en DESS

MLOUKA Alyssa, Etudiante en Thèse

NASRI Aïcha, Stagiaire (Etudiante en Thèse)

SINGER Alon, Chercheur Post-doctoral

CASTETS Anne-Marie, CNRS (Assitante-Ingénieur,acastets@pasteur.fr)

COURSIN Thérèse, IP (Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire,tcoursin@pasteur.fr)

LAURENT Thierry, IP (Technicien de Laboratoire,tlaurent@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr