Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Papillomaviruses


  Director : Gérard ORTH (gorth@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Certain human papillomavirus (HPV) genotypes display an oncogenic potential. These viruses most often cause inapparent infections of the skin and genital mucous membranes. They may induce intraepithelial lesions that most frequently regress but may occasionally progress into invasive cancer. Such a process accounts for the great majority of carcinomas of the uterine cervix. Model diseases allow us to analyze the factors underlying the interindividual variation in the susceptibility to oncogenic papillomaviruses and the mechanisms involved.



  report

cale

Susceptibility genes to infection with oncogenic HPVs: epidermodysplasia verruciformis Michel Favre

Epidermodysplasia verruciformis (EV), is a rare autosomal recessive genodermatosis, characterized by an abnormal susceptibility to HPV5 and related HPVs. HPV5 infection of EV patients is associated with a risk of developing skin carcinomas. EV HPVs are widespread but their pathogenicity in the general population remains unknown.

The genetic study of consanguineous families, in collaboration with L.-A. Rueda (Bogota) and B. Bouadjar (Algiers), allowed us to map a major susceptibility locus for EV (EV1) in the chromosomal region 17q25. We very recently identified nonsense mutations affecting two adjacent novel genes (EVER1, EVER2) localized in EV1. These mutations, when homozygous, segregate with the disease and inactivate one of the two genes. EVER1 and EVER2 proteins display no homology with known human proteins. They are located in the endoplasmic reticulum ( Photo ). This first identification of genes conditioning the susceptibility to oncogenic HPVs opens new avenues to understand the cellular or immunologic mechanisms involved in the control of latency and pathogenicity of these viruses. Current experiments are aimed at unraveling the function of EVER genes.

Do HPVs associated with epidermodysplasia verruciformis play a role in psoriasis ? Michel Favre, Gérard Orth

Psoriasis is a hyperproliferative, inflammatory skin disease with a strong genetic background. The activation of T lymphocytes by as yet unidentified keratinocyte antigens plays a central role in the pathogenesis of the disease. In collaboration with S. Majewski and S. Jablonska (Warsaw), we showed that the prevalence of antibodies specific of the capsid proteins of HPV5, the genotype associated with EV carcinomas, is 10-20-fold higher in patients with psoriasis as compared to the general population. We detected HPV5 and other EV HPVs in over 80% of psoriasis plaques by a PCR approach. The EV1 susceptibility locus for EV is mapped within a susceptibility locus for familial psoriasis in 17q25. Our aim is to determine whether the variability of EVER1 and EVER2 genes plays a part in the pathogenesis of psoriasis and whether the expression of EV HPV proteins contributes to the epidermal hyperproliferation and autoimmune phenomena that characterize the disease.

Genetic factors controlling the evolution of lesions induced by oncogenic PVs F. Breitburd

Our aim is to understand the factors controlling the regression or persistence and malignant progression of skin warts induced in domestic rabbits by the cottontail rabbit PV, for which we characterized two subtypes, CRPVa and CRPVb. We have found that wart evolution depends both on the virus subtype and on polymorphic MHC genes involved in the binding of antigenic peptides and their presentation to T lymphocytes. We have identified an haplotype of these genes that, when homozygous, is associated with a mode of wart evolution depending on the virus subtype: regression (CRPVb) or persistence (CRPVa). We have observed that regression involves an early massive infiltration of warts by CD4+ T cells followed by CD8+ T cells and macrophages. By swapping different regions between the two viral DNAs, we constructed infectious chimeric genomes and identified the subgenomic region encoding the viral protein(s) likely to be target(s) for regression. This region contains the gene encoding the E6 oncoproteins and that encoding the CRPV specific E8 protein, that we found to play a major role in wart formation and growth. The data demonstrate unambiguously the role of both the host immunogenetic factors and the virus genetic variation in the expression of the oncogenic potential of papillomaviruses.

HPV-associated cervical intraepithelial neoplasia in HIV-infected women Gérard Orth

HIV infection and the resulting immunodeficiency are associated with an increased prevalence and severity of cervical intraepithelial neoplasia (CIN) caused by genital HPV genotypes. These lesions are potential precursors of carcinoma of the uterine cervix. In collaboration with I. Heard (Hôpital G. Pompidou), we have analyzed the impact of highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART) on the regression of low- or high-grade CIN towards normality or a lower grade in seropositive women. This study disclosed a two-fold higher risk of regression among patients receiving HAART as compared to patients without HAART. A greater increase of CD4 cell counts was observed among patients showing regression under HAART, which suggests some restoration of specific cell-mediated immune responses. Virologic follow-up of the patients, however, showed that cervical HPV infection persists in the majority of cases, in spite of regression. Thus, the impact of HAART does not warrant modifying the gynecologic follow-up of HIV-infected patients under HAART.

Photo: Cytoplasmic localization of the EVER1 protein: EVER1 protein (a) has the same localization as calnexin (b), a protein of the endoplasmic reticulum.

Keywords: Oncogenic papillomaviruses, susceptibility genes, epidermodysplasia verruciformis, psoriasis, carcinoma of the uterine cervix, HIV, virology, genetics



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  SENLECQUES, Danielle (dsenlecq@pasteur.fr) ORTH, Gérard, Institut Pasteur, (gorth@pasteur.fr)

BREITBURD, Françoise, INSERM, (fbreit@pasteur.fr)

FAVRE, Michel, INSERM (mfavre@pasteur.fr)

BERGERON, Christine, Pasteur-CERBA, (bergeron@pasteur-cerba.com)

SALMON, Jérôme

NONNENMACHER, Mathieu

BERTAUX, Claire

MAHE, Emmanuel, Chef de clinique-assistant, Hôpital Bichat (quart temps)

ZYGADLO, Agnieszka (29/10/01– 30/09/02)

KIM, Chul-Jang (03/09/01-28/06/02)

LI VIGNI, Rosalba (01/02/01 – 01/03/02)

CASSONNET, Patricia, (pcassonn@pasteur.fr)

FLAMANT, Patricia, (pflam@pasteur.fr)

LEMOINE, Nadine (nlemoine@pasteur.fr)

PONS, Christian, (cpons@pasteur.fr)

AJINCA, Marthe


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Papillomavirus


  Responsable : Gérard ORTH (gorth@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Certains papillomavirus humains (PVH) ont un potentiel oncogène. Ces virus provoquent le plus souvent des infections inapparentes des muqueuses génitales ou de la peau. Ils peuvent induire des lésions intra-épithéliales qui régressent le plus souvent ou persistent et, parfois, se transforment en cancer. Ce processus est responsable, en particulier, de la grande majorité des cancers du col de l'utérus. Des maladies modèles nous permettent d'analyser les facteurs responsables des variations individuelles de sensibilité à ces virus, ainsi que les mécanismes mis en jeu.



  rapport

cale

Gènes de prédisposition à l'infection par les PVH oncogènes : l'épidermodysplasie verruciforme Responsable : Michel Favre

L'épidermodysplasie verruciforme (EV), une génodermatose autosomique récessive rare, se caractérise par une sensibilité anormale au PVH5 et à des PVH apparentés. L'infection par le PVH5 confère aux patients un risque de développer des cancers cutanés. Les PVH de l'EV sont très répandus mais leur pouvoir pathogène pour la population générale reste incompris. L'analyse génétique de familles consanguines, réalisée en collaboration avec L.-A. Rueda (Bogota) et B. Bouadjar (Alger), nous a permis de localiser un locus majeur de sensibilité à l'EV (EV1) dans la région chromosomique 17q25. Nous avons très récemment identifié des mutations non-sens affectant deux nouveaux gènes adjacents (EVER1, EVER2,) localisés dans ce locus. Ces mutations ségréguent, à l'état homozygote, avec la maladie et inactivent l'un ou l'autre de ces gènes. Les protéines EVER1 et EVER2 ne montrent pas d'homologie avec les protéines humaines connues. Elles sont localisées dans le réticulum endoplasmique (Photo ). Cette première identification de gènes conditionnant la sensibilité à un PVH oncogène ouvre des perspectives nouvelles pour la compréhension des mécanismes cellulaires ou immunologiques qui contrôlent la latence et le pouvoir pathogène des PVH. Nos travaux ont pour objet d'établir la fonction de ces gènes.

Les PVH associés à l'épidermodysplasie verruciforme jouent-ils un rôle dans le psoriasis ? Responsables : Michel Favre, Gérard Orth

Le psoriasis est une dermatose hyperproliférative, inflammatoire, comportant une composante génétique importante. L'activation de lymphocytes T par des antigènes, non identifiés, des kératinocytes joue un rôle central dans la pathogénie de la maladie. En collaboration avec S. Majewski et S. Jablonska (Varsovie), nous avons montré que la prévalence des anticorps spécifiques des protéines de la capside du PVH5 (le génotype associé aux carcinomes de l'EV) est de 10 à 20 fois plus élevée chez les patients psoriasiques que dans la population générale. Nous avons détecté ce virus et d'autres PVH de l'EV dans plus de 80 % des lésions de psoriasis, par la technique de PCR. Le locus EV1 de sensibilité à l'EV est situé au sein d'un locus de prédisposition au psoriasis familial dans la région 17q25. Nous cherchons à déterminer si la variabilité des gènes EVER1 et EVER2 joue un rôle dans la pathogenèse du psoriasis et si l'expression de certaines protéines des PVH de l'EV contribue à l'hyperprolifération des kératinocytes et aux phénomènes auto-immuns qui caractérisent cette maladie.

Facteurs génétiques contrôlant l'évolution des lésions associées aux PV oncogènes. Responsable : Françoise Breitbrud.

Nous étudions les facteurs déterminant la régression ou la persistance et la transformation maligne des verrues induites chez le lapin par le PV du lapin cottontail, dont nous avons caractérisé deux sous-types (PVLCa et b). Nous avons montré que cette évolution dépend, à la fois, du sous-type viral et de gènes polymorphes du CMH mis en jeu dans la fixation des peptides antigéniques et leur présentation aux lymphocytes T. Nous avons identifié un haplotype de ces gènes qui, à l'état homozygote, est associé, selon le virus, à la régression (PVLCb) ou à la persistance (PVLCa) des verrues. Nous avons observé que cette régression met en jeu une infiltration massive des verrues par des cellules T CD4+, puis par des cellules T CD8+ et des macrophages. En utilisant des génomes chimères (hybrides) infectieux construits in vitro par échange de diverses régions des ADN viraux, nous avons identifié la région du génome codant la protéine virale qui constitue la cible de la régression. Cette région contient le gène des oncoprotéines E6 et celui de la protéine E8, spécifique du PVLC, dont nous avons montré le rôle majeur dans la formation et la croissance des verrues. Ces données montrent, sans ambiguïté, le rôle des facteurs immunogénétiques de l'hôte et celui de la variabilité virale dans l'expression du potentiel oncogène d'un papillomavirus.

PVH génitaux, néoplasies intra-épithéliales du col utérin et infection par le VIH Responsable : Gérard Orth

L'infection par le VIH et l'immunodéficience qui en résulte s'accompagnent d'une prévalence élevée et d'une gravité accrue des néoplasies intra-épithéliales cervicales (NIC), précurseurs potentiels des carcinomes du col de l'utérus. En collaboration avec I. Heard (Hôpital G. Pompidou), nous étudions l'impact des nouveaux traitements anti-rétroviraux sur la régression des NIC vers la normalité ou une sévérité moindre, chez des patientes séropositives. Cette étude a révélé une probabilité de régression deux fois plus élevée chez les patientes sous trithérapie. L'augmentation du taux de cellules CD4+ liée à ce traitement a été plus grande lorsqu'une régression a été observée. Ceci suggère une restauration de l'immunité cellulaire spécifique. Cependant, l'étude virologique des patientes a montré que l'infection du col utérin par les PVH potentiellement oncogènes persiste, dans la majorité des cas, malgré la régression. L'effet de la trithérapie est donc insuffisant pour que soit modifiée la surveillance gynécologique des patientes infectées par le VIH.

Photo : Localisation cytoplasmique de la protéine EVER1: La protéine EVER1 (a) a la même localisation que la calnexine (b), une protéine du réticulum endoplasmique.

Mots-clés: Papillomavirus oncogènes, gènes de sensibilité, épidermodysplasie verruciforme, psoriasis, cancer du col de l’utérus, VIH, virologie, génétique



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  SENLECQUES, Danielle, (dsenlecq@pasteur.fr) ORTH, Gérard, Institut Pasteur, (Professeur, gorth@pasteur.fr)

BREITBURD, Françoise, INSERM, (DR2, fbreit@pasteur.fr)

FAVRE, Michel, INSERM (DR2, mfavre@pasteur.fr)

BERGERON, Christine, Pasteur-CERBA, (Chef de laboratoire associé, bergeron@pasteur-cerba.com)

SALMON, Jérôme, doctorant (jsalmon@pasteur.fr)

NONNENMACHER, Mathieu, doctorant (mnonnen@pasteur.fr)

BERTAUX, Claire, étudiante DEA

MAHE, Emmanuel, Chef de clinique-assistant, Hôpital Bichat (quart temps)

ZYGADLO, Agnieszka, étudiante DEA (29/10/01– 30/09/02)

KIM, Chul-Jang, Postdoctorant (03/09/01-28/06/02)

LI VIGNI, Rosalba, Postdoctorante (01/02/01 – 01/03/02)

CASSONNET, Patricia, (Technicienne supérieure de laboratoire, pcassonn@pasteur.fr)

FLAMANT, Patricia, (Technicienne de laboratoire qualifiée, pflam@pasteur.fr)

LEMOINE, Nadine, (nlemoine@pasteur.fr) (mi-temps)

PONS, Christian, (Technicien d’animalerie, cpons@pasteur.fr)

AJINCA, Marthe (Agent de laboratoire)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr