Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Molecular Mycology


  Director : DROMER Françoise (dromer@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

A better understanding of the interactions between the hosts and pathogenic fungi should improve the prognosis of systemic fungal infections. We thus focus our projects on Cryptococcus neoformans and Candida albicans pathogenicity by studying the host (clinical and epidemiological studies, animal models of infection) and the fungus (virulence factors, variability) sides.



  report

cale

Cryptococcosis is a life-threatening infection that occurs in up to 30% of patients with AIDS in tropical area in Africa and South East Asia. The most common clinical feature is a meningoencephalitis associated with a severe prognosis (³ 20% acute mortality) which explains the need for new prophylactic and therapeutic approaches. One of the characteristics of C. neoformans is the presence of a capsule made of polysaccharides, mainly glucuronoxylomannan (GXM). We are studying the pathophysiology of the infection and the virulence factors, among which the capsule has been shown to be the most important.

C. neoformans capsule (G. Janbon, F. Moyrand)

Among the evidence demonstrating a major role for the capsule in the virulence of the yeast, are the avirulence of acapsular strains and the various deleterious effects on the immune response assigned to GXM. Immunofluorescence studies with monoclonal antibodies specific for various epitopes of the GXM allowed us to demonstrate that the capsule structure is highly variable from cell to cell within a given yeast cell population. Our working hypothesis is that the variability of the capsule structure plays a role in the virulence of the yeast. The mechanisms and molecular determinants involved in the antigenic variability have been studied and uncovered for numerous procaryote and eucaryote microorganisms, but no study has been performed for pathogenic fungi. We have cloned different genes coding for proteins involved in the biosynthetic pathway of the cryptococcal capsule and are studying the mechanisms responsible for the capsule structure variability. A program of systematic disruption of the genes potentially involved in the capsule synthesis has been implemented and should provide within 2 years up to 150 mutants strains for study.

Sudy of a protein from C. neoformans involved in the humoral response during cryptococcosis (F. Dromer, S. Jacquelin, J. Lemay)

We have demonstrated that the humoral response to proteic antigens of C. neoformans correlates with the outcome of the infection in a model of disseminated cryptococcosis in outbred mice. We have identified one of the protein associated with a humoral response in mice surviving a lethal challenge and cloned the corresponding gene PEP1. The next step will be to determine if the presence of specific antibodies in the serum from patients with cryptococcosis is predictive of the outcome and to evaluate the potential usefulness of the protein in immunotherapy. This project is done in collaboration with JL Guesdon and S. Rouyre and Y. Germani (IP Bangui) (PTR58). After production of the recombinant protein, we designed two immunoenzymatic assays (ELISA and western-blot) that will now allow us to analyze the anti-GXM and anti-Pep1p antibodies in patients with cryptococcosis. Monoclonal antibodies specific for various epitopes of Pep1p have also been produced by using splenic cells from mice that have been immunized with rPep1p or that have survived a lethal challenge with C. neoformans. Their effect on the course of the infection as well as that of rPep1p will now be tested in the model of disseminated cryptococcosis.

Human cryptococcosis (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, L. Improvisi, O. Ronin)

A prospective multicentric prospective study on the pathophysiology of C. neoformans infection (Crypto A/D study) was designed in April 1997 to collect clinical data, isolates and sequential biological fluids from 230 patients diagnosed with cryptococcosis in France. We recently collected the last missing files and are starting the analysis.

We have studied the immune response (pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokines measured in plasma) in patients with cryptococcosis (75 HIV-positive patients and 14 HIV-negative patients) and analyzed the data according to the HIV status, the infecting serotype and the extend of the dissemination. We have shown that the inflammatory response in the plasma was increased in HIV-infected patients with cryptococcal fongemia compared to what is observed in patients with other immune defects or in the CSF. This is a further demonstration of the compartimentalization of the immune response during human cryptococcosis as already assessed in the murine model (O. Lortholary).

An observational study on the management of secondary prophylaxis for cryptococcosis in 280 HIV-infected patients under highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART) has been implemented in 2001 and should be analyzed in 2003 (O. Lortholary, collaboration INSERM U330, Bordeaux).

Candida albicans

C. albicans is a commensal of the digestive tract responsible for a wide range of infections in immunocompetent and immunodeficient patients. Patients with prolonged neutropenia following chemotherapy or bone marrow transplantation, organ transplant recipients are at risk for candidemia. C. albicans is also responsible of nosocomial infections in surgery units, intensive care units.

Biosynthesis of b-1,2 oligomannosides in C. albicans (G. Janbon, C. Mille)

Contact between C. albicans and the environment through the fungal cell wall involves interactions with various molecules, i.e. glucans (b-1,3 et b-1,6 glucose), mannans (a-1,2 et a-1,3 mannose) and mannoproteins. In addition, b-1,2 oligomannosides (associated with mannoproteins or a phospholipomannan, PLM) are found and several studies have shown that these b-1,2 oligomannosides are involved in the virulence of C. albicans. The biosynthetic pathway leading to glucans or mannoproteins have been at least partially described, whereas that leading to the b-1,2 oligomannosides are unknown. In collaboration with D. Poulain (Lille), we have identified some genes responsible for the synthesis of the b-1,2 oligomannosides in C. albicans, Candida glabrata and Saccharomyces cerevisiae in order to facilitate the study of their influence in the pathophysiology of candidiasis.

Prevention of gut colonization by C. albicans with synthetic b-1,2 oligomannosides (F. Dromer, L. Improvisi)

In collaboration with D. Poulain (Lille) and J.-M. Mallet (ENS, Paris), we demonstrated that synthetic b-1,2 oligomannosides but not a-1,2oligomannosides prevented gut colonization in a dose dependent manner in in the infant mouse model of instestinal candidiasis. This first demonstration that a synthetic analogue of a yeast adhesin can prevent yeast colonization in the gut opens the possibility of new prophylactic strategies.

Biofilm formation in C. albicans and Candida glabrata (G. Janbon, F. Dromer, I. Iraqui)

Biofilms are tridimentional structures composed of microorganisms that developed of various surfaces. Candida biofilms could colonize intravascular cathethers or prosthetic devices and be responsible for recurrence despite antifungal therapy. Our objective in collaboration with the groups of C. d'Enfert (UP Biologie et Pathogénicité fongiques) and JM Ghigo (G5, Génétique des biolfilms) is to determine molecular events that lead to the development of biofilms (PTR50). We have isolated several mutants of C. glabrata that are unable to form biofilms and are currently isolating the corresponding genes. We have also started to delete some of the genes of C. albicans which expression have been shown by transcriptome analysis to be induced during biofilm formation.

National Reference Center Mycology and Antifungal Agents (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary)

The National Reference Center has several missions that include (1) expertise in the identification of pathogenic fungi (J.C. Ganthier, D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin) and their molecular typing (S. Bretagne, D. Garcia-Hermoso), as well as antifungal susceptibility testing (D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin) and advice for the management of patients with severe mycoses; (2) epidemiological survey of all rare, severe or exotic mycoses as well as the emergence of resistance to antifungal drugs.

A regional observatory for yeasts (Observatoire des Levures) has been implemented in Paris and suburbs. Its objective is to monitor the infections and characterize overtime the yeasts responsible for fungemia (typing and susceptibility testing profiles).

Study of the efficacy of antifungal combinations (double and triple) on Aspergillus fumigatus has started in order to find means of improving the still severe prognosis of invasive aspergillosis (E. Dannaoui). The effect of new molecules (echinocandins and new azoles) is being studied in vitro in liquid medium using checkerboard experiments and in vivo in the disseminated model of aspergillosis in mice. The efficacy of some combinations are also determined in vitro on C. neoformans (E. Dannaoui, P. Schwarz)

Keywords: Cryptococcus neoformans, capsule, Candida albicans, polysaccharide, mycology, pathophysiology, antifungals, biofilms



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Edith Martin, Secretary,emartin@pasteur.fr DROMER, Françoise, IP, chef de laboratoire,dromer@pasteur.fr

JANBON, Guilhem, IP, chargé de recherches,janbon@pasteur.fr

LORTHOLARY, Olivier, AP-HP, olivier.lortholary@avc.ap-hop-paris.fr

GANTIER, Jean-Charles, Pr. des Universités, jc.gantier@cep.u-psud.fr

BRETAGNE, Stéphane, PU-PH, bretagne@univ-paris12.fr
MILLE, Céline, thesis student

LEMAY, Julie,jlemay@pasteur.fr

CHARLIER, Caroline,charlier@pasteur.fr

DANNAOUI, Eric,dannaoui@pasteur.fr

IRAQUI, Ismaïl,iiraqui@pasteur.fr

SCHWARZ, Patrick,pschwarz@pasteur.fr

IMPROVISI, Luce, engineer

JACQUELIN, Sébastien, technician

MOYRAND, Frédérique, technician,

RONIN, Olivier, technician,oronin@pasteur.fr

GARCIA-HERMOSO, Dea, engineer,dea@pasteur.fr

ANFRY, Lucile

TOURNAIRE, Marc


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Mycologie Moléculaire


  Responsable : DROMER Françoise (dromer@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Une meilleure connaissance de l'interaction entre l'hôte et les champignons pathogènes pourrait améliorer le pronostic des mycoses systémiques. Nous centrons nos recherches sur la pathogénicité de Cryptococcus neoformans et de Candida albicans par une approche simultanée de l'hôte (études cliniques et épidémiologiques, modèles animaux) et du pathogène (facteurs de virulence, variabilité).



  rapport

cale

Cryptococcus neoformans

L'étude de la physiopathologie des cryptococcoses et des mécanismes de virulence de Cryptococcus neoformans représente à terme les meilleurs moyens d'améliorer la prise en charge des patients atteints de cryptococcose, en nombre important puisque cette infection opportuniste touche au moins 25% des patients infectés par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine en zone tropicale. C. neoformans est une levure basidiomycète capsulée qui provoque des méningo-encéphalites de pronostic sévère malgré les traitements antifongiques (³ 20% de mortalité précoce), ce qui justifie la recherche de mesures thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques nouvelles.

Capsule de C. neoformans (G. Janbon, F. Moyrand)

Chaque cellule de C. neoformans est entourée d'une capsule polysaccharidique qui représente le facteur de virulence principal. Ainsi, les souches acapsulées sont avirulentes et la capsule a un effet délétère sur la réponse immunitaire. L'utilisation d'anticorps monoclonaux spécifiques nous a permis d'observer une grande variabilité de structure d'une cellule à l'autre au sein d'une même population cellulaire. Notre hypothèse de travail est que la variabilité de la structure de la capsule est, au moins pour une part, responsable de la virulence de C. neoformans. Alors que les mécanismes et les déterminants génétiques de la variabilité antigénique sont connues pour de nombreux micro-organismes procaryotes et eucaryotes, aucune étude n'a été menée en ce sens chez les champignons pathogènes. Nous avons cloné des gènes codant pour divers éléments de la voie de biosynthèse du polysaccharide capsulaire et étudions les mécanismes qui sont responsables de la variabilité de sa structure. Un programme de disruption systématique des gènes potentiellement impliqués dans la synthèse des polysaccharides capsulaires vient d'être lancé et devrait aboutir, en deux ans, à la construction de 150 souches mutantes.

Etude d'une protéine de C. neoformans impliquée dans la réponse humorale au cours de la cryptococose (F. Dromer, S. Jacquelin, J. Lemay)

En analysant la réponse humorale chez les souris inoculées par C. neoformans, nous avons mis en évidence l'existence d'anticorps préférentiellement produits par les animaux qui survivaient à l'infection. Nous avons identifié l'une des protéines impliquée dans cette réponse humorale, et cloné le gène PEP1. Notre objectif est de rechercher si la présence d'anticorps spécifiques est prédictive du pronostic de l'infection chez l'homme et d'étudier le potentiel vaccinal de cette protéine. Ce projet fait l'objet de ollaborations vec JL Guesdon et Sylvie Rouyre (Ingéniérie des Anticorps) et Y. Germain (IP Bangui) (PTR58). Après production de la protéine recombinante, nous avons mis au point deux tests immuno-enzymatiques (ELISA et immuno-empreinte) et sommes en train d'analyser la réponse humorale anti-GXM et anti-Pep1p des patients atteints de cryptococcose. Par ailleurs, plusieurs anticorps monoclonaux spécifiques de divers épitopes de cette protéine ont été générés en utilisant les cellules spléniques de souris immunisées ou survivant à l'infection par C. neoformans. Leur efficacité et celle de la protéine recombinante vont être testées dans le modèle expérimental de cryptococcose disséminée.

Cryptococcoses humaines (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, L. Improvisi, O. Ronin).

Une étude prospective clinique multicentrique nationale (étude Crypto A/D) sur la physiopathologie des infections dues à C. neoformans a été mise en place en avril 1997. Cette étude a permis de rassembler des données cliniques et épidémiologiques sur 230 patients infectés par C. neoformans, avec ou sans co-infection par le VIH. En parallèle, les souches ont été conservées pour typage et des liquides biologiques ont été prélevés à des temps importants du traitement. Nous avons récupéré les dernières données manquantes et allons débuter l'analyse.

L'étude de la réponse immunitaire plasmatique (cytokines pro- et anti-inflammatoire) de patients atteints de cryptococcose (75 patients infectés par le VIH et de 14 patients séronégatifs) est faite en fonction de la dissémination de l'infection, du sérotype infectant et du statut immunitaire de l'hôte. Nous avons pu démontrer que l'infection par le VIH était associée à une réponse inflammatoire augmentée dans le plasma des patients SIDA fongémiques par rapport à ce qui était observé sur d'autres terrains immunitaires et contrairement à ce que nous avons observé dans le LCR. Ces résultats sont un argument supplémentaire pour la compartimentalisation de la réponse immunitaire au cours de la cryptococcose humaine comme nous l'avons montré dans notre modèle expérimental (responsable O. Lortholary).

Depuis juin 2001, une étude observationnelle des conditions d'arrêt de la prophylaxie secondaire de la cryptococcose chez 280 sujets infectés par le VIH et traités par une thérapeutique antirétrovirale hautement active a été mise en place et sera analysée dans le courant de l'année 2003 (responsable O. Lortholary, collaboration INSERM U330 Bordeaux).

Candida albicans

Candida albicans, une levure ascomycète saprophyte du tube digestif, est le deuxième microorganisme étudié dans l'Unité de Mycologie Moléculaire. Cette levure est responsable d'infections sévères chez des patients immunodéprimés par des chimiothérapies aplasiantes, des transplantations d'organes ou de moelle osseuse, mais aussi d'infections nosocomiales dans des services de réanimation.

Etude de la biosynthèse des b1,2 oligo mannosides chez C. albicans (G. Janbon, C. Mille)

Le contact entre C. albicans et les cellules de l'hôte se fait au niveau de la paroi du champignon. Celle-ci est principalement composée de glucanes (polymères b-1,3 et b-1,6 de résidus glucose), de mannanes (polymères a-1,2 et a-1,3 de résidus mannose) et de mannoprotéines. En plus de ces polymères a de résidus mannose, des b-1,2 oligomannosides sont associés soit aux mannoprotéines pariétales soit au phospholipomannane (PLM). De nombreuses études ont montré que la présence de ces résidus était associée à la virulence de C. albicans. Alors que les voies de biosynthèse des b-glucanes et les mannoprotéines sont au moins partiellement connues, aucun gène participant à la synthèse des b-1,2 oligomannosides n'a été identifié que ce soit au niveau du PLM ou de la paroi. En étroite collaboration avec le laboratoire de D. Poulain à Lille, nous avons identifié des gènes nécessaires à la synthèse des b-1,2 oligomannosides chez C. albicans, Candida glabrata et Saccharomyces cerevisiae en vue de déterminer l'influence de ces résidus sur la physiopathologie des infections.

Prévention de la colonisation digestive par des sucres synthétiques mimant les b-1,2 oligomannosides de C. albicans (F. Dromer, L. Improvisi)

Dans le cadre d'une collaboration avec l'équipe de D. Poulain (Lille) et de J.-M. Mallet (ENS, Paris), nous avons mis au point, au laboratoire, le modèle de colonisation digestive du souriceau nouveau-né par C. albicans. Nous avons démontré que l'administration orale de b-1,2 oligomannosides synthétiques mais pas celle de a-1,2 oligomannosides prévenait de façon dose-dépendante la colonisation ultérieure par les levures. Cette démonstration de la capacité d'une adhésine fongique à prévenir la colonisation digestive ouvre la voie à de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques.

Etude de la formation de biofilms chez C. albicans et C. glabrata (G. Janbon, F. Dromer, I. Iraqui)

Les biofilms sont des structures tri-dimensionnelles de micro-organismes qui se développent sur différents supports. En ce qui concerne les Candida, ces structures peuvent se développer sur les cathéters ou encore sur des prothèses et sont certainement des sources de réinfection après un traitement antifongique. L'objectif de ce projet est donc de déterminer les mécanismes moléculaires de la formation de biofilms à Candida. Ce projet fait l'objet d'un PTR avec les groupes de C. D'enfert (UP Biologie et Pathogénicité fongiques) et de JM Ghigo (G5, Génétique des Biofilms) (PTR50). Nous avons isolé un grand nombre de mutants de C. glabrata ne formant plus de biolfilms et sommes en train d'isoler les gènes correspondants. Par ailleurs, nous avons commencé à déléter des gènes de C. albicans dont l'expression est induite lors de la formation des biofilms et identifiés grâce à l'étude du transcriptome.

Centre National de Référence Mycologie et Antifongiques (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary).

Les nouvelles missions du CNRMA sont très variées. Elles impliquent d'une part, une expertise dans le domaine de l'identification des levures et des champignons filamenteux pathogènes (J.-C. Gantier, D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin), leur typage moléculaire (S. Bretagne, D. Garcia-Hermoso), et les tests de sensibilité aux antifongiques (D. Garcia-Hermoso, O. Ronin), ainsi que dans la prise en charge des patients suspects ou atteints de mycoses sévères par le biais de conseils, et d'autre part, la surveillance épidémiologique des mycoses sévères, rares ou exotiques, et de la résistance aux antifongiques.

L'Observatoire des Levures a été mis en place, sur la région parisienne dans un premier temps, pour surveiller les infections et caractériser, au cours du temps, les espèces de levures responsables de fongémies (typage, profil de sensibilité).

L'étude de l'efficacité des associations doubles ou triples d'antifongiques sur Aspergillus fumigatus est également entreprise in vitro et in vivo dans le but d'améliorer, à terme, le pronostic encore très sévère des aspergilloses invasives (E. Dannaoui). L'effet de l'association des nouvelles molécules (échinocandines, nouveaux antifongiques azolés) ou de molécules de référence est ainsi déterminé en milieu liquide par la méthode de l'échiquier et in vivo dans un modèle d'aspergillose disséminée. L'efficacité de certaines associations est également testée in vitro sur C. neoformans en utilisant des techniques variées (E. Dannaoui, P. Schwarz).

Mots-clés: Cryptococcus neoformans, capsule, Candida albicans, polysaccharide, mycologie, physiopathologie, antifongiques, biofilms



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Edith MARTIN,emartin@pasteur.fr DROMER, Françoise, IP, chef de laboratoire,dromer@pasteur.fr

JANBON, Guilhem, IP, chargé de recherches,janbon@pasteur.fr

LORTHOLARY, Olivier, AP-HP, olivier.lortholary@avc.ap-hop-paris.fr

GANTIER, Jean-Charles, Pr. des Universités, jc.gantier@cep.u-psud.fr

BRETAGNE, Stéphane, PU-PH, bretagne@univ-paris12.fr

MILLE, Céline, thèse

LEMAY, Julie,jlemay@pasteur.fr

CHARLIER, Caroline,charlier@pasteur.fr

DANNAOUI, Eric,dannaoui@pasteur.fr

IRAQUI, Ismaïl,iiraqui@pasteur.fr

SCHWARZ, Patrick,pschwarz@pasteur.fr

IMPROVISI, Luce, ITA

JACQUELIN, Sébastien, technicien

MOYRAND, Frédérique, ITA,

RONIN, Olivier, ITA,oronin@pasteur.fr

GARCIA-HERMOSO, Dea, Ingénieur technologue,dea@pasteur.fr

ANFRY, Lucile, agent de laboratoire

TOURNAIRE, Marc, aide de laboratoire


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr