Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Immunorégulation


  Director : Lars Rogge (lrogge@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Immunoregulation group studies the molecular mechanismes that control the differentiation of naive T helper cells into polarized Th1 and Th2 effector cells. This differentiation process is initiated by ligation of the T cell receptor and is directed by a variety of cytokines present at the time of T cell priming and co-stimulatory and adhesive interactions between antigen presenting dendritic cells and T cells. Our main goal is to understand how these signals are integrated into a specific genetic program which determines the outcome of the immune response. Our group is also interested in the study of the post-translational control of transcription factors. In particular, we are addressing the role of ubiquitin ligases of the RING finger subtype in regulating transcriptional activity.



  report

cale

The differentiation of naive CD4+ T lymphocytes to either T helper type 1 (Th1) or Th2 cells is a critical aspect of the adaptive immune response, with broad implications in host defense and disease pathogenesis. Th1 cells promote cell-mediated immunity and are necessary to clear the organism from intracellular pathogens but can cause chronic inflammatory diseases. On the other hand, Th2 responses are essential to combat extracellular pathogens but are associated with allergies and asthma. These findings indicate that the development of Th1 and Th2 cells must be tightly controlled and that therapeutic modulation of immune reponses may have an impact on human diseases.

Control of T cell recruitment into inflamed joints

Chronic inflammatory diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis (RA) and juvenile idiopathic arthritis (JIA) are associated with the presence of Th1 cells in the inflamed synovium, but the mechanisms controlling recruitment of Th1 cells to inflamed joints are not fully understood. We have analyzed the role of lpha(1,3)-fucosyltransferase-VII (FucT-VII), an enzyme responsible for the generation of functional P- and E-selectin ligands, in the recruitment of T cells to inflamed joints. Using kinetic RT-PCR analysis we showed that the mRNA levels of FucT-VII, IFN-g, and IL-12Rb2 are upregulated in T cells infiltrating the inflamed joints in children with JIA compared to paired samples of peripheral blood T cells. Higher expression of FucT-VII mRNA in synovial fluid T cells correlated with increased binding of T cells to P-selectin. Moreover, FucT-VII expression and increased P-selectin binding capacity of T cells were associated with a more severe course of the disease. Finally, we could demonstrate that expression of FucT-VII in T cells resulted in an increased accumulation of these cells into human RA synovial tissue grafted into SCID mice. Our data indicate a critical role of FucT-VII in the enhanced homing of T cells to the inflamed synovium and suggest that inhibitors of FucT-VII enzyme activity may be of significant therapeutic value for the treatment of chronic arthritis.

Transcriptional control of T helper cell differentiation

The goal of our present studies is to elucidate the genetic program that controls the development and functional properties of human helper T cell subsets. In particular, we focus on the role of the transcription factors T-bet and GATA-3 in the initiation of Th1 or Th2-specific transcriptional cascades. We have introduced T-bet into Th2 cells and GATA-3 into Th1 cells by retrovirus-mediated gene transfer. The expression signatures of the resulting T cell populations were analyzed using Affymetrix U95A arrays. Preliminary data from these experiments indicate that GATA-3, but not T-bet, can "switch" the developmental program of T helper cells. We are currently analyzing the functional properties of the retrovirus-transduced T cells and the transcriptional and post-transcriptional regulation of T-bet and GATA-3 in helper T cells.

Identification of a novel transcriptional regulator

RING-finger proteins have been implicated in many fundamental cellular processes, including the control of gene expression. In Arabidopsis Thaliana a key regulator of light-dependent development is Constitutive Photomorphogenesis Protein 1 (atCOP1), a RING-finger protein that translates light/dark signals into specific changes in gene transcription. atCOP1 binds the basic-leucine zipper (bZIP) factor HY5 and suppresses its transcriptional activity, through a yet undefined mechanism. Furthermore, the pleiotropic phenotype of atCOP1 mutants indicates that atCOP1 may be a central regulator of several transcriptional pathways. We have cloned and characterized the human orthologue of atCOP1. Human COP1 (huCOP1) distributes both to the cytoplasm and the nucleus of cells and showed a striking degree of sequence conservation with atCOP1, suggesting the possibility of a functional conservation as well. We found that huCOP1 specifically binds bZIP factors of the Jun family through a conserved aminoacid motif and that expression of huCOP1 in mammalian cells downregulates c-Jun dependent transcription. huCOP1 suppressive effect on transcription required the integrity of its RING domain. We could demonstrate that the RING domain of huCOP1 displayed ubiquitin ligase activity in an autoubiquitination assay in vitro, however suppression of AP-1-dependent transcription by huCOP1 occurred in the absence of changes in c-Jun protein levels, suggesting that this inhibitory effect is independent of c-Jun degradation. Our findings indicate that huCOP1 is a novel regulator of AP-1-dependent transcription.

Keywords: Human, Th1/Th2, Autoimmunity, Cellular Differentiation, Microarrays, Rheumatoid Arthritis



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
    ROGGE, Lars, IP, (Chef de laboratoire,lrogge@pasteur.fr)

BIANCHI, Elisabetta, Inserm, (Poste Orange,ebianchi@pasteur.fr)

DENTI, Simona, post-doctoral fellow

MARTIN, Denise, post-doctoral fellow

GASPARIAN, Sona, Ph.D. student

LETIMIER, Fabrice, graduate student

SECHET, Emmanuel, (technicien,esechet@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Immunorégulation


  Responsable : Lars Rogge (lrogge@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le groupe Immunorégulation étudie les mécanismes moléculaires qui contrôlent la différenciation des cellules T helper naïves en cellules effectrices Th1 et Th2 polarisées. Le processus de différenciation est initié par ligation des récepteurs des cellules T et il est régulé par de nombreuses cytokines présentes au moment de la stimulation des cellules T et des interactions co-stimulatoires et adhésives entre les cellules dendritique présentant l'antigène et les cellules T. Notre but principal est de comprendre comment ces signaux sont intégrés dans un programme génétique spécifique qui détermine le résultat de la réponse immune. Notre groupe s'intéresse également à l'étude du contrôle post-translationel des facteurs de transcription. Nous déterminons en particulier le rôle des ligases ubiquitin des sous-types " RING finger " dans la régulation de l'activité transcriptionnelle.



  rapport

cale

La différenciation des cellules naïves T CD4+ en cellules T helper de type 1 (Th1) ou Th2 est un aspect critique de la réponse immune aux larges implications dans la défense de l'hôte et la pathogénèse. Les cellules Th1 promeuvent l'immunité médiée par les cellules et sont nécessaires pour débarrasser l'organisme d'agents pathogènes intracellulaires mais peuvent provoquer des maladies inflammatoires chroniques. D'autre part, les cellules Th2 sont essentielles pour combattre les agents pathogènes extracellulaires mais sont associées aux allergies et à l'asthme. Ces résultats montrent que le développement des cellules Th1 et Th2 doit être contrôlé étroitement et que la modulation thérapeutique des réponses immunes peut avoir un impact sur les maladies humaines.

Contrôle du recrutement des cellules T dans les articulations enflammées

Les maladies inflammatoires chroniques telles que la polyarthrite chronique évolutive (RA) et l'arthrite idiopathique juvénile (JIA) sont associées à la présence des cellules Th1 dans la synovie enflammée, mais l'on ne comprend pas très bien les mécanismes contrôlant le recrutement des cellules Th1 dans les articulations enflammées. Nous avons analysé le rôle de l'alpha(1,3)-fucosyltransférase-VII (FucT-VII), une enzyme responsable de la génération de ligands fonctionnels de sélectine P et E dans le recrutement des cellules T dans les articulations enflammées. En utilisant une analyse par kinetic RT-PCR, nous avons montré que les niveaux d'ARNm de FucT-VII, IFN-g et IL-12Rb2 sont augmentés dans les cellules T infiltrant les articulations enflammées chez des enfants atteints de JIA par comparaison avec des échantillons couplés de cellules de sang T périphériques. Une expression plus élevée d'ARNm de FucT-VII a correspondu avec une adhésion accrue des cellules T sur la sélectine P. De plus, l'expression de FucT-VII et la capacité accrue d'adhésion de la sélectine P étaient associées à une étape plus sévère de la maladie. Enfin, nous avons pu démontrer que l'expression de FucT-VII dans les cellules T a occasionné une accumulation accrue de ces cellules dans les tissus humains RA synoviaux greffés chez les souris SCID. Nos données montrent un rôle critique de FucT-VII dans la migration plus élevée des cellules T vers la synovie enflammée et suggèrent que les inhibiteurs de l'activité enzymatique de FucT-VII pourraient avoir une valeur thérapeutique significative pour le traitement de la polyarthrite chronique évolutive.

Contrôle transcriptionnel de la différenciation des cellules T helper

Le but principal de nos recherches en cours est d'élucider le programme génétique qui contrôle le développement et les propriétés fonctionnelles des sous-ensembles des cellules T helper humaines. Nous nous concentrons particulièrement sur le rôle des facteurs de transcription T-bet et GATA-3 dans l'initiation des cascades transcriptionnelles Th1 ou Th2-spécifiques. Nous avons introduit T-bet dans les cellules Th2 et GATA-3 dans les cellules Th1 par transfert de gènes médiés par des rétrovirus. Les signatures d'expression des populations de cellules T qui en résultent ont été analysées en utilisant des puces à ADN U95A d'Affymetrix. Les données préliminaires de ces expériences indiquent que GATA-3, mais pas T-bet, peut changer le programme de développement des cellules T helper. Nous analysons actuellement les propriétés fonctionnelles des cellules T transformées par retrovirus et la régulation transcriptionnelle et post-transcriptionnelle de T-bet et GATA-3 dans les cellules T.

Identification d'un nouveau régulateur transcriptionnel

Les protéines " RING-finger " ont été impliquées dans de nombreux processus cellulaires fondamentaux, dont le contrôle de l'expression du gène. Chez Arabidopsis Thaliana, un régulateur-clé du développement dépendant de la lumière est la Protéine 1 Constitutive de la Photomorphogénèse (atCOP1), une protéine " RING-finger " qui traduit des signaux lumineux/sombres en changements spécifiques dans la transcription du gène. atCOP1 lie le facteur HY5 " basic-leucine zipper " (bZIP) et supprime son activité transcriptionnelle, par un mécanisme qui n'a pas encore été défini. De plus, le phénotype pléiotropique des mutants d'atCOP1 montre qu'atCOP1 peut être un régulateur central de plusieur voies transcriptionelles. Nous avons cloné et caractérisé l'orthologue humain d'atCOP1. Le COP1 humain (huCOP1) est distribué à la fois dans le cytoplasme et dans le noyau des cellules et a montré un degré frappant de conservation des séquences avec atCOP1, suggérant aussi la possibilité d'une conservation fonctionnelle. Nous avons découvert que huCOP1 lie spécifiquement les facteurs bZIP de la famille Jun au moyen d'un motif conservé d'aminoacide et que l'expression de huCOP1 dans les cellules mammaliennes diminue la transcription dépendante de c-Jun. Les effets inhibiteurs de huCOP1 sur la transcription nécessitaient la totalité de son domaine RING. Nous avons pu démontrer que le domaine RING de huCOP1 montrait une activité de ligase ubiquitin au cours d'un test d'autoubiquitination in vitro. Cependant, la suppression par huCOP1 de la transcription dépendante d'AP-1 s'est produite en l'absence de changements dans les niveaux de la protéine c-Jun, suggérant que cet effet inhibiteur est indépendant de la dégradation de c-Jun. Nos résultats montrent que huCOP1 est un nouveau régulateur de la transcription dépendante d'AP-1.

Mots-clés: Humain, Th1/Th2, Autoimmunité, Différenciation cellulaire, puces à ADN, polyarthrite chronique évolutive



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
    ROGGE, Lars, IP, (Chef de laboratoire,lrogge@pasteur.fr)

BIANCHI, Elisabetta, Inserm, (Poste Orange,ebianchi@pasteur.fr)

DENTI, Simona, chercheur post-doctoral

MARTIN, Denise, chercheur post-doctoral

GASPARIAN, Sona, étudiante en thèse

LETIMIER, Fabrice, étudiant en DEA

SECHET, Emmanuel, (technicien,esechet@pasteur.fr)

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr