Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Molecular Immunology


  Director : Oreste Acuto (oacuto@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Molecular Immunology Unit studies the mechanisms of T cell activation. The molecular information carried by activated antigen presenting cells (APC) loaded with antigen is relayed to the T cell through a complex device formed by membrane receptors and a vast array of intracellular signaling proteins (e.g., protein tyrosine and serine/threonine kinases ; adapter proteins, small G proteins and membrane lipids and cytoskeletal components). This machinery decodes the signals (positive and negative) coming from the external milieu and determines the destiny of T cells whether they become effectors of the immune response or memory cells, or anergized cells. These differentiation programs are shaped by cell proliferation, gene re-programming and cell death. Our research is focused on the understanding of the role of some key signaling components on these events.



  report

cale

Mechanism controlling the activity of Lck by CD45 (Claudine Irles and Frédérique Michel)

The protein tyrosine kinase (PTK) Lck is a key element in the controls of the T cell activation threshold. Lck is essential in the triggering of a cascade of biochemical events initiated by the T cell antigen receptor (TCR) engagement leading to clonal expansion and differentiation. Lck is positively controlled by the transmembrane protein tyrosine phosphatase CD45 and at the same time to a negative control by the PTK Csk. The latter is found at the plasma membrane concentrated in the special lipid micro-domains called GEMs (Glycosphyngolipid-enriched membranes) or "lipid rafts". The equilibrium between these two opposing controls is the primary mechanism that establishes the activation threshold in T cells. CD45 possesses an intracellular phosphatase domain and exists in different isoforms expressed at different stages of T cell thymic development and during antigen driven differentiation. These isoforms, of which CD45RAB or BC and CD45R0 are the most abundant, differ in the dimensions and glycosylation content of their extracellular portions (ectodomain). The functional role of CD45 ectodomain was investigated in our laboratory by generating protein chimeras whose ectodomains, borrowed from other surface proteins, were of different size and glycosylation content; some very different from CD45, others somewhat mimicking CD45 ectodomain. Our studies demonstrated that CD45 ectodomain finely regulates its function by determining the interaction of the entire protein and therefore of the intracellular phosphatase domain with the "lipid rafts". In so doing, CD45 ectodomain determines the activation state of Lck at the basal level and after TCR triggering. Our studies also indicate the existence of an in cis interaction of CD45 ectodomain with one or more components of the lipid rafts (see model proposed in Figure1). Future studies are oriented towards the identification of CD45 binding partners and of small molecules capable of inhibiting this interaction.

Regulation and role of the PTK ZAP-70 during the T cell activation process (Vincenzo Di Bartolo, in collaboration with Marie and Bernard Malissen, Marseille)

Zap-70 (zeta-associated protein of 70 kDaltons) is a PTK essential for triggering T cell activation and is regulated by Lck. Zap-70, which associates to the TCRs engaged in the binding to antigen/MHC, possesses a region (named interdomain B, I-B) containing regulatory tyrosines (Tyr) previously discovered in our laboratory to be phosphorylated upon TCR engagement. In collaboration with the group of Marie and Bernard Malissen we have studied in vivo the role of two of them, Tyr315 and Tyr319, using mouse strains homozygous for mutation at either of these tyrosines. We found that Tyr315 concurs to an allosteric mechanism regulating effective binding of Zap-70 to the ITAM motifs of the CD3-z chains of the TCR, but has a minor role in T cell development. In contrast, Tyr319 was found to be quasi-essential for thymic positive selection of T cells in agreement with our previous in vitro data indicating the key importance of this residue in regulating TCR-mediated signaling.

In another collaborative study with Claire Hivroz at the Curie Institute, it was found that ZAP-70 is essential for the recruitment of all major components of the TCR signaling machinery and for re-orientation of the microtubules towards the T cell-APC contact (a function likely required for the polarization of the secretion and endocytic processes). However, unexpectedly, at least part of the immunological synapse (such as the individual pattern of segregation of the receptor CD2 and CD45 in the form of supra-molecular activation clusters, SMAC) appeared normal. These data suggest that other kinases, in addition to Zap-70, concur to the formation of the mature immunological synapse.

Molecular mechanisms of CD28 co-stimulation: new signaling pathways (Fabien Blanchet )

We have previously reported that CD28, the co-stimulatory T cell specific receptor, required for optimal T cell proliferation and differentiation, acts as a direct molecular amplifier of the TCR signaling machinery. We have undertaken a study aimed at discovering novel pathways by which CD28 exerts this function. Our recent work conducted by mass spectrometry allowed us to identify at least two novel proteins involved in CD28 signaling and found to interact with CD28 intracellular tail. Interestingly, we found that one of these proteins connects CD28 to a previously unsuspected metabolic pathway needed for certain regulatory protein modifications and for cell growth.

Study of the function of the adapter SH3P7 in the formation of the immunological synapse (Setsuko Mise-Omata)

We have studied the function of the protein adapter SH3P7 (also called Hip55 or mammalian Actin binding protein 1, mAbp1), recently identified. SH3P7 possesses a SCAD domain that binds to polymerized actin and an SH3 domain. The latter was suggested to bind to Dynamin 1 (also called "pinchase) a protein involved in the mechanism responsible for the formation of endocytotic vesicles. However, the actual function of SH3P7 has not yet been identified. Towards this goal, we applied the technology of RNA interference (iRNA) to inhibit the expression of SH3P7 initially in human cells of epithelial origin. Studies by fluorescence microscopy revealed that cells with reduced expression of SH3P7 have a marked defect in the endocytotic process with disruption of the early endosomal compartment. However, other processes that involve active membrane re-modeling, such as ruffling consequent to Rac-dependent lamellipodia formation were apparently intact. We then obtained stable T cell lines with reduced expression of SH3P7 expression to study its impact on the formation and stability of the immunological synapse between the T cell and the APC.

Figure legend. Schematic representation of the mechanism by which CD45 positively regulates Lck activity (e.g. , by dephosphorylating the negative regulatory Tyrosine 505 at Lck C-terminus) by weakly interacting with lipid rafts. X represents the hypothetical partner that mediates this interaction.

Keywords: T cell activation, kinases, phosphatases, adapter proteins, immunological synapse



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  HOUSSIN Wendy; whoussin@pasteur.fr ACUTO, Oreste, IP, (Unit Director, oacuto@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL, Frédérique, IP, (Permanent staff scientist, fmichel@pasteur.fr)

DI BARTOLO, Vincenzo, IP (Permanent staff scientist, vbartolo@pasteur.fr)

MISE-OMATA, Setsuko, (post-doctoral research scientist, mise@pasteur.fr)

BLANCHET, Fabien, PhD student

IRLES, Claudine, PhD student

MARQUEZ CAMPOS, Maria Elena, PhD student

FOULON, Eliane, DEA student

CADET-DANIEL, Véronique (technician, vcadet@pasteur.fr)

MONTAGNE, Benjamin (technician, bmontagn@pasteur.fr)

HOUSSIN, Wendy (secretary, whoussin@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Immunologie Moléculaire


  Responsable : Oreste Acuto (oacuto@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité d'Immunologie Moléculaire étudie les mécanismes moléculaires de l'activation des lymphocytes T. Les signaux adressés au lymphocyte T (LT) par la cellule présentatrice d'antigène (CPA) sont relayés à l'intérieur de la cellule par une multitude de protéines intracellulaires (telles que des tyrosine et sérine/thréonine kinases, des protéines adaptatrices, des petites protéines G et des composants du cytosquelette). Ce système décode les signaux (positifs et négatifs) provenant de l'extérieur et détermine le devenir des LT en cellules effectrices de la réponse immunitaire, en cellules mémoires ou en les rendant incapables de répondre (cellules " anergisées ") au travers de mécanismes qui impliquent la prolifération, la re-programmation génique ou encore la mort cellulaire.

Nos projets de recherches portent sur la compréhension du rôle et la régulation fine d'un certain nombre d'éléments de l'appareil de signalisation.



  rapport

cale

Mécanisme de contrôle de l'activité de Lck par CD45 (Claudine Irles et Frédérique Michel)

La protéine tyrosine kinase (PTK) Lck contrôle le seuil d'activation des LT en déclenchant des événements biochimiques complexes, en cascade, aboutissant à la prolifération et la différenciation du LT. Lck est soumis en même temps à un contrôle positif de la part de la tyrosine phosphatase transmembranaire CD45 et négatif par la PTK Csk qui est associée, dans les LT au repos, à la protéine membranaire PAG/Cbp résidante dans les GEMs (glycosphingolipid-enriched membranes) ou " radeaux lipidiques ". L'équilibre entre ces deux effets opposés régule la réactivité (le seuil d'activation) du LT. CD45 est exprimé sous forme de plusieurs isoformes au cours du développement thymique et de la différenciation des LT après stimulation par l'antigène. Ceux-ci (i.e. CD45RAB et CD45RO) diffèrent par les dimensions et le degré de glycosylation de leur ectodomaine. Le rôle de l'ectodomaine de CD45 a été étudié dans le but de déterminer s'il régule l'activité de CD45. Cette question a été abordée à l'aide de chimères de CD45, dont les ectodomaines respectifs (empruntés à d'autres récepteurs membranaires) étaient de taille et de glycosylation différentes ou similaires à celles de CD45. Nos travaux montrent que l'ectodomaine de CD45 régule finement sa fonction en influençant son interaction avec les " radeaux lipidiques ". De ce fait, l'ectodomaine de CD45 détermine l'état d'activation de Lck présent dans les " radeaux lipidiques " et la réponse du LT à l'engagement du TCR par l'antigène. Nos études suggèrent fortement qu'une interaction in cis existe au niveau membranaire entre CD45 et un ou plusieurs composants présent(s) dans les " radeaux lipidiques " (selon le modèle indiqué dans la figure 1).

Régulation et rôle de la protéine tyrosine kinase ZAP-70 pendant l'activation des LT (Vincenzo Di Bartolo, en collaboration avec B. et M. Malissen)

Zap-70 (Zeta chain-associated protein de 70 kDaltons) est une protéine tyrosine kinase (PTK) essentielle dans le déclenchement de l'activation du LT. Elle s'associe au récepteur de l'antigène (TCR) quand celui-ci est engagé par son ligand (le complexe antigène/CMH). Zap-70 possède une région de connexion (dite interdomaine B ; l'IB) entre ses deux domaines SH2 et son domaine tyrosine kinase. Dans l'IB résident des tyrosines régulatrices que nous avons précédemment décrites comme étant phosphorylées lorsque le TCR est stimulé. Nous avons étudié le rôle des tyrosines 315 (Y315) et 319 (Y319) de l'interdomaine B in vivo en collaboration avec le groupe de Bernard et Marie Malissen à Marseille, chez des souris " knock-in " portant l'une ou l'autre tyrosine mutée. Au travers de cette étude, nous avons conclu que par un mécanisme allostérique, la Y315 assure une association efficace de Zap-70 aux motifs ITAM des chaînes CD3-zeta du TCR mais joue un rôle mineur dans le développement. En revanche, la Y319 provoque un défaut grave de sélection positive thymique et confirme in vivo son importance dans la régulation de la fonction de Zap-70.

Une autre étude menée en collaboration avec l'équipe de C. Hivroz (Institut Curie, Paris) vient de révéler que, bien qu'essentiel pour le recrutement des principaux composants de signalisation et de l'orientation des microtubules vers le contacte TL-APC (une fonction apparemment requise pour la polarisation des processus de sécrétion et endocytose). Toutefois, de manière inattendue, une partie de la configuration de la synapse immunologique (par exemple, la topologie de ségrégation des protéines CD2 et CD45, dans la forme de supra-molecular activation clusters, SMAC) est normale en absence de Zap-70. Ces observations laissent supposer que, outre ZAP-70, d'autres kinases jouent un rôle important dans la formation de la synapse immunologique.

Mécanismes moléculaires de la co-stimulation CD28 : nouvelles voies de signalisation (Fabien Blanchet)

Une autre étude a porté sur l'identification de nouvelles voies de signalisation activées par CD28, le récepteur de co-stimulation nécessaire pour une prolifération et différentiation optimales des LT au cours de la réponse immunitaire. Nos travaux, à l'aide de la spectrométrie de masse, ont permis d'identifier de nouveaux partenaires de signalisation qui interagissent avec CD28. Ces études ont mené à l'identification d'au moins deux nouveaux partenaires interagissant avec le domaine cytoplasmique de CD28. En outre, ces mêmes études ont révélé des connexions, insoupçonnées jusqu'à présent, du signal CD28, à certaines voies métaboliques contrôlant des modifications post-traductionnelles de protéines de signalisation et la croissance cellulaire.

Etude de la fonction de la protéine adaptatrice SH3P7 et la synapse immunologique. (Setsuko Mise-Omata)

Nous avons entamé une étude de la fonction de la protéine SH3P7, récemment identifiée. SH3P7 est une protéine adaptatrice qui possède un domaine de type SCAD qui lie l'actine polymérisée et un domaine de type SH3. Des données récentes ont démontré que SH3P7 est capable de former un complexe avec la dynamine 1 (appelée également " pinchase "), une des protéines qui contribuent au mécanisme de formation des vésicules endocytiques. Toutefois, la fonction précise de SH3P7 n'est pas claire et afin de la découvrir nous avons appliqué la technique d'ARN-interférence (ARNi). En transfectant dans des cellules 293T un oligonucléotide d'ARN double brin, correspondant à une séquence de SH3P7, nous avons inhibé fortement l'expression de la protéine SH3P7. L'analyse par microscopie en immunofluorescence de ces cellules montre une forte inhibition de l'endocytose du récepteur de la transferrine avec quasi-disparition du compartiment endocytique précoce (early endosome, EE). Ces données montrent pour la première fois que SH3P7 est impliquée dans la formation des vésicules de la membrane plasmique dérivées du processus d'endocytose (in press). Nous avons aussi obtenu par ARNi l'ablation stable mais partielle de SH3P7 dans des lignées de lymphocytes T. Nous testons les conséquences de l'absence de l'expression de SH3P7 sur la formation de la synapse immunologique et sur la transmission du signal dans les LT.

Légende de la Figure 1 :

Représentation schématique du mécanisme par lequel CD45 régule positivement l'activité de Lck à travers une interaction faible avec les radeaux lipidiques (en déphosphorylant le site de régulation négative, la tyrosine 505, qui est contrôlée par la PTK Csk recrutée à la membrane via la protéine PAG/Cbp). X représente un composant hypothétique du raft responsable de cette interaction.

Mots-clés: Lymphocytes T, kinases, phosphatases, protéines adaptatrices, synapse immunologique



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  HOUSSIN Wendy ; e-mail : whoussin@pasteur.fr ACUTO, Oreste, IP, (Chef de l’Unité, oacuto@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL, Frédérique, IP, (Chargée de recherche, fmichel@pasteur.fr)

DI BARTOLO, Vincenzo, IP (Chargé de recherche, vbartolo@pasteur.fr)

MISE-OMATA, Setsuko, (Chercheur post-doctoral)

BLANCHET, Fabien, étudiant en thèse

IRLES, Claudine, étudiante en thèse

MARQUEZ CAMPOS, Maria Elena, étudiante en thèse

FOULON, Eliane, étudiante en DEA

CADET-DANIEL, Véronique (technicienne, vcadet@pasteur.fr)

MONTAGNE, Benjamin (technicien, bmontagn@pasteur.fr)

HOUSSIN, Wendy (secrétaire, whoussin@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr