Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Innate immunity and cell signaling


  Director : Philpott, Dana (philpott@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Recent studies into innate immune detection of pathogens have discovered a cytosolic surveillance system mediated by a family of proteins, call NBS/LRR (nucleotide-binding site/leucine-rich repeat) proteins, which are structurally similar to plant disease resistance proteins. The two prototypes of this family that have been best characterised are Nod1 and Nod2. We have shown that Nod1 plays a role in the intracellular sensing of Gram-negative bacterial infections of epithelial cells. Nod2, on the other hand, is mainly expressed in macrophages, but like Nod1, is likely to play a role in defense responses against bacterial infections. This is illustrated by the fact that mutations in Nod2 are associated with the inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn's disease, and render this molecule insensitive to bacterial stimulation. Studies in our laboratory focus on identifying the ligands of these molecules, characterization of the signalling pathways down-stream of receptor activation and, finally, the role of these proteins during in vitro and in vivo infection by bacterial pathogens.



  report

cale

Introduction

Epithelial cells comprising mucosal surfaces constitute the first line of defense against microbial pathogens. These cells are in the unique position of being in constant contact with bacteria and bacterial products yet these factors that are normally pro-inflammatory for other cell types do not induce epithelial cells to initiate a defensive response. However, epithelial cells are capable of pro-inflammatory responses since infection with pathogenic bacteria can induce NF-κB and secretion of cytokines. Our findings suggest that a discriminatory system has evolved in these cells based on the inside versus outside presentation of bacterial products known collectively as "pathogen-associated molecular patterns" or "PAMPs". Epithelial cells are refractory to extracellular bacteria and PAMPs yet when presented inside the cell, an inflammatory response is initiated. We have shown that a cytosolic protein called Nod1 (also known as CARD4) plays a role in this intracellular detection system in epithelial cells leading to the activation of pro-inflammatory pathways involving NF-κB.

Nod1 is a member of a new family of mammalian proteins ( photo1 ). Strikingly, this protein is similar to the plant disease resistance proteins "N" from tobacco and "RPS2" of Arabidopsis. Similar to these proteins, Nod1 has an C-terminal leucine-rich repeat (LRR) and a central nucleotide binding site (NBS). Nod1 also possesses an N-terminal CARD domain (for "caspase activating and recruitment domain") found also in the pro-apoptotic proteins, CED4 from C. elegans and APAF-1 in mammals. One homologue of Nod1, Nod2, was recently identified to be the first susceptibility gene involved in the chronic inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn's disease. Surprisingly, mutations in Nod2 are also responsible for another human genetic disease called Blau syndrome in which sufferers also present symptoms of inflammation. This information in conjunction with our findings implicates this family of proteins in the induction of inflammation. Furthermore, our studies suggest the possibility that this family of proteins represents human homologues of the plant disease-resistance proteins, and like their plant counterparts, are also involved in pathogen detection.

Bacterial ligands and potential co-receptors for Nod1 and Nod2. Student: Jérôme Viala. Post-doctoral fellow: Rafika Athman. In collaboration with Stephen Girardin and Philippe Sansonetti, Pathogénie Microbienne Moléculaire.

Our initial studies showed that presentation of bacterial products to the cytosolic compartment of epithelial cells was sufficient to activate Nod1 and Nod2 and initiate pro-inflammatory signal transduction through the induction of NF-κB. Our goal is to now identify the bacterial motifs recognised by Nod1 and Nod2 and to identify possible co-receptors for these bacterial products. Our findings with Nod2 have shown that this molecule is a general sensor of peptidoglycan through the recognition of muramyldipeptide (MDP), the minimal bioactive peptidoglycan motif common to all bacteria. Nod2 is mainly expressed in macrophages, which is consistent with our findings that these cells, but not epithelial cells, can detect microinjected MDP. Moreover, the 3020insC frameshift mutation, the most frequent Nod2 variant associated with Crohn's disease patients, fully abrogates Nod2-dependent detection of peptidoglycan and MDP. Together, these results impact on the understanding of Crohn's disease development. Additionally, the characterization of Nod2 as the first pathogen-recognition molecule that detects MDP will help to unravel the well-known biological activities of this immunomodulatory compound.

Characterisation of the signalling pathway activated down-stream of Nod proteins. Technician: Muguette Jéhanno.

We first implicated a role for the kinase RICK in sensing of invasive Shigella flexneri in the Nod1 pathway ( photo2 ). RICK is a kinase that, like IRAK1 in the TLR/IL-1 pathway, does not require the kinase activity for its ability to interact with IKKγ and activate NF-κB. We showed that RICK associates transiently with Nod1 following entry of S. flexneri and also with the IKK complex. Our goal now is to understand the regulation of the RICK/Nod1 complex and the RICK/IKK complex that is activated following bacterial infection by examining potential signal-induced modifications of RICK.

Role of Nod proteins during bacterial infection in vitro and in vivo. Students: Jérôme Viala and Leticia de Albuquerque Carneiro. In collaboration with Richard Ferrero, Unité Pathogénie Bactérienne des Muqueuses.

In order to test the role of Nod1 in bacterial infection we obtained Nod1-deficient mice from the group headed by Dr. John Bertin at Millennium Pharmaceuticals. Our aims are to 1) test different infection paradigms, including Salmonella typhimurium and Helicobacter pylori and 2) characterise primary intestinal epithelial cells isolated from these mice and infect these cultures in vitro with different bacterial pathogens.

Photo 1. NBS/LRR family of mammalian proteins showing the 8 mammalian proteins characterised to date and the domain structure of these proteins.

Photo 2 Schematic diagram of the Nod1 signaling pathway leading to the activation of NF-κB.

Keywords: Nod proteins; innate immunity; bacterial infection; NF-kappaB; Crohn's disease



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Lambrecht, Marie-Régine (lambrech@pasteur.fr) Philpott, Dana; Group Leader (philpott@pasteur.fr) Viala, Jérôme; PhD student (vialaj@pasteur.fr)

Carneiro, Leticia de Albuquerque; PhD student (lcarneir@pasteur.fr)

Athman, Rafika; post-doc (rathman@pasteur.fr)

Jéhanno, Muguette; technician (mjehanno@pasteur.fr)

Parmier, Martine; laboratory helper (parmier@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Immunité innée et signalisation


  Responsable : Philpott, Dana (philpott@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Des études récentes dans le domaine de la détection immunitaire innée de pathogènes ont permis la découverte d'un système de surveillance cytosolique médié par une famille de protéines NBS/LRR (nucleotide-binding site/leucine-rich repeat), qui sont structuralement similaires aux protéines de résistance exprimées chez les plantes. Deux membres de cette famille ont été bien caractérisés: Nod1 et Nod2. Nous avons montré que Nod1 joue un rôle dans la reconnaissance intracellulaire de bactéries gram-négatives dans les cellules épithéliales. Par ailleurs, Nod2 qui est principalement exprimé dans les macrophages, jouerait, comme Nod1, un rôle dans les réponses de défenses contre les infections bactériennes. Ceci est illustré par le fait que des mutations dans Nod2 sont associées à la pathologie inflammatoire de l'intestin, la maladie de Crohn et rendent cette molécule insensible aux stimulations bactériennes. Les études, menées au sein de notre laboratoire, ont pour but l'identification des ligands de ces molécules, la caractérisation des voies de signalisation en aval de l'activation de recepteurs et enfin le rôle de ces protéines au cours d'infections in vitro et in vivo par des pathogènes bactériens.



  rapport

cale

Introduction

Les cellules épithéliales bordant les surfaces mucosales constituent la première ligne de défense contre les pathogènes microbiens. Ces cellules présentent la caracteristique d'être en contact permanent avec des bactéries et des produits bactériens. Alors que ces bactéries ou produits bactériens sont normalement pro-inflammatoires pour de nombreuses populations cellulaires (via l'activation des Toll-like Receptors (TLRs) présents à la surface de nombreuses cellules), les cellules épithéliales n'induisent généralement pas de réponse de défense contre les bactéries avec lesquelles elles sont en contact. Ces cellules épithéliales sont pourtant capables d'induire une réponse inflammatoire lorsqu'elles sont infectées par une bactérie pathogène, en induisant l'activation de la voie de signalisation NF-kB et la sécretion de cytokines. Nos résultats ont permis de mettre en évidence qu'un nouveau système de détection des produits bactériens se trouve dans le cytosol des cellules, ce qui en fait un système complémentaire à celui médié par les TLRs à la surface des cellules. Ce système de detection intracellulaire des motifs bactériens est le système Nod, nommé ainsi car les deux premières protéines cytosoliques caractérisées pour leur capacité à détecter des motifs bactériens sont Nod1 et Nod2. En effet, nous avons montré que Nod1 joue un rôle crucial dans l'activation de NF-kB en réponse à l'infection des cellules épithéliales par Shigella flexneri. Nous avons également récemment montré que Nod2 détecte le peptidoglycane dans les macrophages via la reconnaissance d'un motif particulier, spécifique au peptidoglycane, le muramyl dipeptide.

La famille des protéines Nod comprend potentiellement d'autres molecules ayant des similarités avec Nod1 et Nod2 chez les mammifères ( photo 1)). Tout comme une classe de protéines de défense aux pathogènes des plantes, les Nods possèdent un domaine C-terminal de type leucine-rich repeat (LRR) flanqué d'un domaine central de type nucleotide binding site (NBS). De plus Nod1 et Nod2 possèdent en N-terminal un ou deux domaines CARD (pour "caspase activating and recruitment domain") que l'on trouve aussi dans de nombreuses molécules associées à l'apoptose (telles que les Caspases 1 et 9, ou la molécule adaptatrice Apaf-1). L'étude des protéines Nod a reçu récemment une extrème attention, depuis l'identification de Nod2 comme étant le premier gène de susceptibilité à une maladie inflammatoire chronique de l'intestin, la maladie de Crohn. Par ailleurs, une autre maladie inflammatoire, le syndrome de Blau, est aussi associée à des mutations dans le gène Nod2. Ainsi, ces découvertes, associées à nos observations, suggèrent que les Nods représentent une nouvelle famille de protéines détectant les motifs bactériens et jouant un rôle dans les processus inflammatoires.

Ligands bactériens et corécepteurs potentiels pour Nod1 et Nod2. Etudiant : Jérôme Viala. Post-doctorant : Rafika Athman. En collaboration avec Stephen Girardin et Philippe Sansonetti, Pathogénie Microbienne Moléculaire.

Nos travaux initiaux ont montré que l'introduction de produits bactériens dans le cytosol des cellules épithéliales suffisait à activer les récepteurs Nod1 et Nod2 et induire un signal pro-inflammatoire via l'activation de NF-kB. Dès lors, notre objectif est de déterminer les motifs reconnus par Nod1 et Nod2, et d'identifier de possibles corécepteurs pour ces produits bactériens. Nous avons pu démontré que Nod2 est un récepteur universel pour le peptidoglycane grâce à sa reconnaissance du motif minimal commun à l'ensemble des bactéries Gram + et Gram - : le muramyldipeptide (MDP). Nod2 est essentiellement exprimé dans les macrophages qui, à l'inverse des cellules épithéliales, sont capables de détecter le MDP microinjecté dans leur cytosol. De plus, la mutation la plus corrélée à l'existence d'une maladie de Crohn, le frameshift 3020insc, abolit totalement la détection du peptidoglycane et du MDP par Nod2. L'ensemble de ces résultats nous aident, d'une part, à mieux appréhender la pathogénie de la maladie de Crohn et, d'autre part, la caractérisation de Nod2 comme première molécule de reconnaissance d'un pathogène capable de détecter le MDP résout l'énigme des activités biologiques de cet immunomodulateur bien connu.

Caractérisation du signal de transduction activé par les protéines Nod. Technicienne : Muguette Jéhanno.

Nous avons démontré l'implication de la kinase RICK dans la cascade de transduction de Nod1 détectant des Shigella flexneri invasives (Cf. Photo 2 ). RICK est une kinase qui, comme IRAK1 dans la voie de transduction de TLR/IL-1, ne requiert aucune activité kinase pour interagir avec IKK et activer NF-kB. Nous avons montré que l'invasion par S. flexneri induit une association transitoire de RICK avec Nod1 d'une part, et avec le complexe IKK d'autre part. Notre objectif est maintenant de comprendre la régulation des complexes RICK/Nod1 et RICK/IKK qui se forment à la suite d'une infection bactérienne, en étudiant les possibles modifications de RICK induites par le signal de transduction.

Rôle des protéines Nod au cours de l'infection bactérienne in vitro et in vivo. Etudiants: Jérôme Viala and Leticia de Albuquerque Carneiro en collaboration avec Richard Ferrero, Unité Pathogénie Bactérienne des Muqueuses.

Dans le but de déterminer le rôle de Nod1 dans l'infection bactérienne, nous utiliserons les souris déficientes en Nod1 obtenues par le groupe du Dr. John Bertin (Millennium Pharmaceuticals). Nos but sont 1) tester différents modèles d'infection dont Salmonella typhimurium et Helicobacter pylori et 2) caractériser des cultures primaires de cellules épithéliales intestinales isolées à partir de ces souris et réaliser leur infection in vitro par différents pathogènes bactériens

Photo1. Famille des protéines NBS/LRR montrant qu'il existe 8 protéines caractérisées à ce jour chez les mammifères.

Photo 2. Schéma de la voie de signalisation de Nod1 entraînant l'activation de NF-kB.

Mots-clés: protéines Nod; immunité innée; infections bactériennes; NF-kappaB; maladie de Crohn



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Lambrecht, Marie-Régine (lambrech@pasteur.fr) Philpott, Dana; Chargée de recherche; Pasteurien (philpott@pasteur.fr) Viala, Jérôme; etudiant en thèse (vialaj@pasteur.fr)

Carneiro, Leticia de Albuquerque; etudiante en stage (lcarneir@pasteur.fr)

Athman, Rafika; post-doc (rathman@pasteur.fr)

Jéhanno, Muguette; technicienne supérieure (mjehanno@pasteur.fr)

Parmier, Martine; aide de laboratoire (parmier@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr