Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Histopathology


  Director : Michel Huerre (mhuerre@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Histotechnology and Pathology is involved with its collaborators in the study of different experimental models of bacterial diseases that involves the respiratory system (Mycobacteria, Bordetella), digestive tract (Helicobacter, Shigella, Clostridium, Listeria), viral infections (Hepatitis B virus) and parasitic infections (Entamoeba, Leishmania, Aspergillus). Our Unit study the recruitment of inflammatory cells in tissues, especially dendritic leucocytes. We perform the phenotypic analysis of genetically modified mutant strain. The laboratory also carry out quantitative autoradiography on tissue sections or whole body sections using a beta-imager.



  report

cale

I Human pathology, expertises and collaborations.

In collaboration with Nice university and Ste Anne hospital, Toulon, we have performed an atlas on infectious diseases pathology, especially parasitic and fungal diseases. Elsevier. Collection " le pathologiste "

In collaboration with the International network of Pasteur institute we have initiated a multicentric study on emerging infections, focused on the role of histopathology.

II Experimental pathology

2-1-Pulmonary infectious diseases

We have studied the histopathology of lesions induced by different strains of Mycobacteria, Bordetella, and Neisseria, especially elementary lesions and local recruitment of dendritic cells. Virulence factors of Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Coll. S. Cole) and induced pulmonary lesions have been investigated. The rd1 gene is integrated to the genome of Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M.t) but not within the genome of Mycobacterium bovis BCG and Mycobacterium microti (Mm). The introduction of rd1 genes into the Mycobacterium BCG or Mm increases the virulence and induced similar lesions in a mouse and a guinea pig model to that induced by virulent strains of M.t. suggesting that rd1 genes plays a major role in the pathogenicity. Other programs are in progress in collaboration with the team of B. Gicquel and the reference center for Mycobacteria (G. Marchal and V. Vincent)

2-2 Digestive infectious diseases

2-2-1 Gastric diseases induce by Helicobacter pylori (Hp)(Coll. E. Touati & A. Labigne). We have studied the chronic gastritis induced by Hp and mutagen role on the gastric epithelium in the transgenic murine strain Big Blue l Lac I. Induction of mutagen effects and local production of NO correlated with the time course and severity of the gastritis and metaplasia, that are considered as precancerous lesions). We didn't observe dysplasia lesions neither carcinoma in this model.

Others programs are in progress especially the activation of NF-Kb , the role of the Nod protein and the study of geographic pathology induced by various strains of Hp from Cambodia and Oceania.

2-2-2 Pathology of the intestine: Listeria , Clostridium & Shigella

Listeria (Coll M. Lecuit & P. Cossart): Listeria infects the digestive tract and the group of P. Cossart demonstrated the role of E-cadherin. Virulent strains of Listeria monocytogenes express internalin, which is the ligand of E-cadherin. We have shown that transgenic mice expressing human E-cadherin become susceptible to infection induced by those virulents strains but not to non-virulents strains internaline negative which are not able to invade the intestinal barrier. Placental lesions in human pathology are being investigated.

Shigella (Coll P. Sansonetti et A. Phalipon) Different mutant strains of Shigella have been studied to investigate invasiveness and local inflammatory response. (see chapter 2-5)

2-3 Hepatic pathology

2-3-1 Hepatitis B virus and liver tumorigenesis (Coll. M.A. Buendia, P. Tiollais).

Transgenic mice expressing the c-Myc oncogene driven by Woodchuck Hepatitis Virus (WHV) regulatory sequences develop hepatocellular carcinoma with a high frequency. To investigate genetic lesions that cooperate with Myc in liver carcinogenesis, a genome-wide scan has been conducted for loss of heterozygosity (LOH) and mutational analysis of b-catenine in 37 hepatocellular adenomas and carcinomas from C57BL/6 x castaneus F1 transgenic mice. In 10 representative cases, comparative genomique hybridization analysis revealed recurrent gains at chromosomes 16 and 19, but losses or deletions involving mostly chromosomes 4 and 14 generally prevailed over gains. Thus, Myc activation in the liver might select for inactivation of tumor suppressor genes on regions of chromosomes 4 and 14 in a context of low genomic instability.

2-4-2 Entamoeba histolytica (Coll. N. Guillen, M.C. Rigothier)

The protozoan parasite Entamoeba histolytica is the causative agent of amoebiasis characterized by dysentery and liver abscess. The physiopathology of hepatic lesions can be reproduced in the hamster animal model by the administration of trophozoites through the portal vein route. Using immunohistochemistry combined with Beta-imager, we have studied the chronology of hepatic abcesses after inoculation of Entamoeba histolytica, in parallel with an histopathological analysis. This experimental model allow to study the pathogenesis and virulence of wild type and mutant strains of amoeba. ( see chapter 2-5)

2-4 Analyse phénotypique de lignées murines génétiquement modifiées (Coll. L. Gresh, M. Yaniv)

HNF1beta has an essential role in epithelial differentiation of the visceral endoderm. The inactivation of HNFbeta in the hepatocytes and bile ducts cells, using the Cre/Lox system leads to a severe jaundice, and dysmorphogenesis of gallbladder and biliary ducts. Mutant mice also lack interlobular arteries, which emphasizes the link between arterial and biliary formation.

2-5 Quantitative autoradiography (A. Cardona)

The unit has developped several applications of quantitative auoradiography using the Beta-Imager, combined with pathological studies. Especially we have studied the mucosal surfaces of the respiratory tract and the role of the secretory component of IgA, which is a crucial step in achieving efficient protection of the epithelial barrier (Coll A. Phalippon). This technique has been used in experimental amoebiasis to perform the quantification of the number inflammation foci during liver infection by Entamoeba histolytica (Coll N. Guillen).

This procedures have been used in the study of serotonin receptors of human monocytes and in the study of brain from TNF-a knock-out mice with and without LPS stimulation.

Photo 1: Amoebic liver abscess. Histology and immunohistochemistry.

Photo 2: Study of epithelial barreer and IgA secretory component in using the Beta-Imager.

Keywords: Pathology, histopathology, Infectious diseases, pathogenesis, beta-imager



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Alonso Françoise, falonso@pasteur.fr Fiette Laurence, pathologiste, Chargée de recherche, lfiette@pasteur.fr

Huerre Michel, pathologiste, Head of the Unit, mhuerre@pasteur.fr

Elies Laetitia, D.E.S.V. in Veterinary Pathology Ave Patrick, technician supérieur, pave@pasteur.fr

Cardona Ana, Research ingeneer, cardona@pasteur.fr

Chimy Marie Christine, technician, mcchimy@pasteur.fr

Khun Huot, technician, hkhun@pasteur.fr

Matondo Jeanne

Maurin Sabine, technician, smaurin@pasteur.fr

Tanguy Myriam, technician, mtanguy@pasteur.fr

Wuscher Nicole, technician, nwuscher@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Histotechnologie et Pathologie


  Responsable : Michel Huerre (mhuerre@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Résumé: L'U.R.E. en Histotechnologie et Pathologie collabore à l'étude de plusieurs modèles d'infection bactérienne des muqueuses respiratoires (Mycobactéries, Bordetella), digestives (Helicobacter, Shigella, Clostridium, Listeria), d'infections virales (virus de l'hépatite B) et d'infections parasitaires et fongiques (Amibe du genre Entamoeba, Leishmania, Aspergillus). Notre Unité analyse également le recrutement des cellules inflammatoires, en particulier les leucocytes dendritiques. Elle étudie le phénotype de lignées murines génétiquement modifiées, l'inactivation de facteurs de transcription (vHNF1,HNF1,SNF5) et leur rôle au cours du développement embryonnaire. Notre laboratoire met en oeuvre des techniques d'autoradiographie quantitative sur coupes de tissus ou d'animaux entiers.



  rapport

cale

Nous envisagerons les expertises en pathologie humaine et les travaux de pathologie expérimentale.

I Activités d'expertises en pathologie humaine

En collaboration avec l'université de Nice et l'Hôpital Ste Anne, Toulon, édition d'un ouvrage consacré aux principales parasitoses et mycoses humaines.Elsevier, Collection " le pathologiste "

En collaboration avec le Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts associés, étude des pathogènes émergents en pathologie humaine.

II Pathologie expérimentale

2-1-Maladies infectieuses pulmonaires

Etude des lésions induites par les agents pathogènes à tropisme respiratoire. Rôle des leucocytes dendritiques dans les infections à Mycobactérium et à Bordetella. Application à l'étude des facteurs de virulence de Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Coll. S. Cole) La région rd1 est caractéristique du génome de Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M.t) alors qu'elle est absente dans le génome du BCG et de Mycobacterium microti (Mm). L'introduction du gène rd1 dans le BCG ou dans Mm restaure la virulence et induit des lésions pulmonaires et spléniques identiques aux lésions induites par Mt. chez la souris et le cobaye. La pathologie induite par des mutants caractérisés de Mycobactéries est également étudiée avec le groupe de B. Gicquel et le centre de référence des Mycobactéries (G. Marchal &V Vincent)

2-2 Maladies infectieuses digestives

2-2-1 Pathologie gastrique et Helicobacter pylori (Hp) (Coll. Unité de pathogénèse des muqueuses. E. Touati et A. Labigne) L'étude de la gastrite chronique induite par Hp et son effet mutagène dans l'épithélium gastrique a été achevé dans un modèle murin transgénique Big Blue l Lac I, ce dernier modèle caractérisé par un taux élevé de mutations. L'induction d'effets mutagènes et la production locale de NO dans le transgène utilisé comme indicateur sont corrélés à l'intensité des lésions de gastrite et de métaplasie, considérées comme des lésions préalables à la dysplasie et au carcinome. Cependant aucune lésion de dysplasie et/ou de carcinome n'a pu être observée dans ce modèle.

D'autres programmes sont en cours en particulier le rôle de NF-Kb, de la protéine Nod ainsi qu' un programme multicentrique avec les IP de Nouméa et du Cambodge et l'unité de Pathogénie des muqueuses.

2-2-2 Pathologie intestinale : Listeria et Shigella

Listeria (Coll M. Lecuit et P. Cossart): La voie d'introduction des Listeria est digestive et le mécanisme d'invasion fait intervenir les E-cadhérine, mécanisme mis en évidence par le groupe de P. Cossart. Les animaux transgéniques porteurs et exprimant la E-Cadherine humaine sont sensibles à l'infection induite par des souches virulentes de Listeria exprimant l'internaline et qui utilise la E-cadherine comme ligant spécifique, contrairement aux souches non virulentes qui ne peuvent franchir la barrière épithéliale digestive. Ce programme s'oriente actuellement vers l'étude du placenta, cible spécifique des infections à Listeria.

Shigella (Coll P. Sansonetti et A. Phalipon) Nous avons poursuivi l'étude de l'invasivité de différents mutants de Shigella dans plusieurs modèles expérimentaux digestifs et pulmonaires. (Cf 2-5)

2-3 Pathologie hépatique

2-3-1 Virus de l'hépatite B. Coll. M.A. Buendia et P. Tiollais.

Les animaux transgéniques surexprimant l'oncogène c-myc activé par les séquences du virus de l'hépatite woodchuck developpent des hépatocarcinomes. L'étude de 37 adénomes et/ou carcinomes de C57BL/6 x castaneous a révélé des instabilités (perte d'hétérozygotie, mutation du gène de la b caténine). Dans 10 cas représentatifs, l'analyse par hybridation génomique comparative révélait des gains génomiques sur les chromosomes 16 et 19 mais des délétions sur les chromosomes 4 et 14. L'activation de c-myc inactive les gènes suppresseur de tumeurs dans un contexte d'instabilité génomique. Ce modèle est intéressant pour définir les interactions entre les oncogènes et les gènes suppresseurs de tumeurs.

2-3-2 Abcès amibien du foie induit par Entamoeba histolytica (Coll. N. Guillen, M.C. Rigothier).

Entamoeba histolytica est un protozoaire responsable de lésions intestinales et hépatiques. On dispose d'un modèle animal permettant l'analyse des lésions hépatiques après introduction de trophozoites dans la veine porte. Nous avons étudié la chronologie de l'abcès amibien du foie en couplant une analyse histopathologique et une étude de la distribution d'amibes radiomarquées sur coupes (cf 2-5). Les polynucléaires neutrophiles migrent après quelques minutes, entourent les amibes hématophages et l'abcès constitué dès la 6 ème heure comporte des foyers de nécrose à partir de la 12 ème heure. Ce modèle est particulièrement intéressant pour analyser la pathogénèse comparée de mutants caractérisés.

2-4 Analyse phénotypique de lignées murines génétiquement modifiées (Coll. L. Gresh, M. Yaniv)

Le facteur de transcription HNFb joue un rôle essentiel dans la différentiation de l'endoderme viscéral. L'inactivation ciblée de ce gène dans les hépatocytes et les cellules biliaires, grâce au système Cre/Lox, induit une jaunisse sévère, associée à des troubles métaboliques importants de l'hépatocyte. L'absence de HNF1beta est à l'origine d'une anomalie de la différenciation des canaux biliaires et de la vésicule biliaire, ainsi que des artères interlobulaires. Cette dernière observation met en lumière la relation entre le développement des voies biliaires et artères intrahépatiques.

2-5 Autoradiographie quantitative sur coupes de tissus (A. Cardona)

Nous avons développé, parallèllement aux études de pathologie, différentes applications des techniques d'autoradiographie quantitative utilisant le Beta-Imager. En particulier, ces techniques ont permis de préciser le rôle du composant secrétoire dans la fonction protectrice des IgA secrétoire au cours de la shigellose expérimentale (Coll A. Phalipon). L'analyse au Beta-imager a également permis de quantifier la distribution des amibes Entamoeba en fonction du temps au cours de l'infection expérimentale du hamster (Coll N. Guillen). Ces techniques ont été utilisées également dans l'étude des récepteurs sérotoninergiques des monocytes humains et dans le cerveau de souris knock-out TNF-a avec ou sans stimulation par le LPS.

Photo 1 : Chronologie de l'abcès amibien du foie.

Photo 2 : Etude du revètement épithélial et des IgA secrétoires.

Mots-clés: pathologie infectieuse, Histopathologie, pathogénie, souris génétiquement modifiées, beta-imager



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Alonso Françoise, falonso@pasteur.fr Fiette Laurence, pathologiste, Chargée de recherche, lfiette@pasteur.fr

Huerre Michel, pathologiste, chef de service, mhuerre@pasteur.fr

Elies Laetitia, stage de D.E.S.V. d'Anatomie Pathologique Vétérinaire Ave Patrick, technicien supérieur, pave@pasteur.fr

Cardona Ana, Ingénieur de recherche, cardona@pasteur.fr

Chimy Marie Christine, technicienne, mcchimy@pasteur.fr

Khun Huot, technicien supérieur, hkhun@pasteur.fr

Matondo Jeanne, agent de laboratoire.

Maurin Sabine, technicienne, smaurin@pasteur.fr

Tanguy Myriam, technicienne, mtanguy@pasteur.fr

Wuscher Nicole, technicienne supérieure nwuscher@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr