Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Genetic Predisposition to Infectious Diseases


  Director : Cécile Julier (cjulier@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main aim of our studies is the mapping, identification and study of genes involved in the susceptibility/resistance to multifactorial diseases: one autoimmune disease, type 1 diabetes (T1D), and infectious diseases, malaria and dengue. The genetic approach, common to these two types of diseases, is based on familial studies as well as population-based studies (case/control). For T1D, two susceptibility genes are already known, HLA and insulin, and our research is focusing on the identification of the other genes, whose chromosomal localisation we have been able to confirm in some cases.



  report

cale

Genetic susceptibility to type 1 diabetes in human Responsible: Cécile Julier

Based on our previous studies performed in French, North-American and Scandinavian families with at least two siblings affected with T1D, we were able to confirm linkage of T1D to 11q13 (IDDM4 locus) and 6q21 (IDD15 locus) regions, with stringent statistical criteria. These regions, and new ones that we identified in our recent genome-wide scan in Scandinavian families, are the focus of detailed genetic studies in our laboratory, in order to identify the responsible genes and variants. These studies are mostly based on systematic association screening in these regions, with complementary approaches: (1) studies of consanguineous T1D families and monogenic or oligogenic subtypes, (2) association studies in sub-groups defined according to phenotypic and genetic criteria. In addition, we participate in an international consortium on T1D (T1DGC), whose aim is to organize genetic studies of T1D on a large scale.

Wolcott-Rallison syndrome and EIF2AK3 gene Responsible: Cécile Julier

Wolcott-Rallison syndrome is a very rare autosomal recessive disorder, characterized by the association of a neonatal permanent insulin-dependent diabetes and epiphyseal dysplasia. From the study of two consanguineous families, with a total of 10 individuals, 5 of which were affected children, and 1 was a healthy child, we were able to identify the gene mutated in this disorder. This is EIF2AK3 (translation initiation factor 2-a kinase 3), in which we identified mutations segregating with the disorder in the two families studied. This gene represents a potential candidate for frequent forms of diabetes (type 1 and type 2). Interestingly, the region of this gene (2p12) shows linkage to T1D in Scandinavian families (see above), which strengthens our hypothesis that this gene may be involved in the susceptibility to T1D.

Genetic studies of susceptibility to infectious diseases: malaria and dengue Responsible: Anavaj Sakuntabhai, Cécile Julier

Several genes have been implicated in the resistance to severe malaria. Our project is to identify genes involved in the variability of phenotypes related to malaria infection, and to study the mechanisms involved. These studies are based on the analysis of families located in areas of endemic malaria: Senegal and Thailand. Many epidemiological, clinical and immunological studies have been performed in the Senegalese families during the last 10 years (Pasteur Institutes of Paris and Dakar, IRD). In these families, we found evidence for the implication of genetic factors in several relevant phenotypes. We performed a genome-wide scan in these families (collaboration with the Centre National de Génotypage, Evry) with complementary studies of candidate genes and regions, in order to map and identify these genetic factors. A similar study is in progress in Thai families.

Dengue virus is endemic in several tropical countries, particularly in South-East Asia, where the infection results in 1-2% of cases in severe forms, hemorrhagic or shock, which can lead to death. Our project is to identify susceptibility genes for these severe cases, using a "candidate genes" approach in case/control populations for severe forms of dengue, which have been collected in Thailand.

Keywords: autoimmune diseases, infectious diseases, type 1 diabetes, malaria, dengue, genetic susceptibility, human genetics



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Julier, Cécile, INSERM (DR2, cjulier@pasteur.fr)

Sakuntabhai, Anavaj, Institut Pasteur, (chargé de recherche, anavaj@pasteur.fr)

Chayanon Peerapittayamongkol, post-doc, poste vert INSERM

Senée, Valérie, post-doc, grant from FRM

Ndiaye, Rokhaya, thesis student

Ghandil, Pegah, thesis student

Duchatelet, Sabine, thesis student

Kalayanarooj, Sita, thesis student (Thaïlande)

Samadi, Zarah, Institut Pasteur of Iran, grant from the Pasteur Institutes’ network

Kirchner, Johanne, DEA student

Casadémont, Isabelle, (Ingénieur de Recherche, Institut Pasteur, igautier@pasteur.fr)

Joffret, Marie-Line, (Ingénieur de Recherche, Institut Pasteur, mjoffret@pasteur.fr)

Blanc, Hervé, (Technicien Supérieur, Institut Pasteur, herveb@pasteur.fr)

Roux, Cécile, (Secrétaire, Institut Pasteur, croux@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Génétique des Maladies Infectieuses et Autoimmunes


  Responsable : Cécile Julier (cjulier@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le but principal de nos études est la localisation, l'identification et l'étude des gènes impliqués dans la prédisposition/résistance à des maladies multifactorielles : une maladie autoimmune, le diabète de type 1 (DT1), et des maladies infectieuses, le paludisme et la dengue. L'approche génétique, commune à ces deux types de maladies, est basée sur des études familiales ainsi que des études de populations (cas/contrôles). Pour le DT1, deux gènes de prédisposition sont déjà connus, HLA et insuline, et nos recherches visent à identifier les autres gènes, dont nous avons dans certains cas établi la localisation chromosomique.



  rapport

cale

Génétique de la prédisposition au diabète de type 1 chez l'homme. Responsable : Cécile Julier

Nos études antérieures réalisées sur des familles d'origine française, nord-américaine et scandinave comportant au moins deux enfants atteints de DT1 nous ont permis de confirmer la liaison génétique dans les régions 11q13 (locus IDDM4) et 6q21 (locus IDDM15), selon des critères statistiques stringents. Ces régions chromosomiques ainsi que de nouvelles régions détectées au cours de notre récent criblage de génome dans des familles scandinaves font l'objet d'études détaillées dans notre laboratoire, en vue de l'identification des gènes et variants responsables. Ces études sont basées essentiellement sur des analyses systématiques d'association dans ces régions, complétées par des approches alternatives : (1) études de familles consanguines de DT1 et de sous-types monogéniques ou oligogéniques, (2) études d'association dans des sous-groupes définis selon des critères phénotypiques et génétiques. Par ailleurs, nous participons à un consortium international sur le DT1 (T1DGC), dont le but est d'organiser à grande échelle les études génétiques sur le DT1.

Syndrome de Wolcott-Rallison et gène EIF2AK3 Responsable : Cécile Julier

Le syndrome de Wolcott-Rallison est un syndrome autosomal récessif très rare associant un diabète néonatal insulino-dépendant irréversible et une pathologie osseuse de type dysplasie épiphysaire. Par l'étude de deux familles consanguines, comportant au total 10 individus, dont 5 enfants malades et un enfant sain, nous avons pu identifier le gène responsable de ce syndrome. Il s'agit de EIF2AK3 (translation initiation factor 2-a kinase 3), pour lequel nous avons identifié des mutations ségrégeant avec la pathologie dans les deux familles étudiées. Ce gène représente un candidat potentiel pour les formes fréquentes de diabète. De façon intéressante, la région de ce gène (2p12) montre une liaison génétique avec le DT1 dans les familles scandinaves (cf ci-dessus), ce qui renforce l'hypothèse de son implication dans le DT1.

Etude génétique de la prédisposition aux maladies infectieuses : paludisme et dengue Responsables : Anavaj Sakuntabhai, Cécile Julier

Plusieurs gènes ont été impliqués dans la résistance aux formes graves de paludisme. Notre projet a pour but d'identifier les gènes intervenant dans la variabilité des phénotypes en rapport avec l'infection palustre, ainsi que d'explorer les mécanismes impliqués. Ces études sont basées sur l'analyse de familles situées en zones d'endémie palustre : Sénégal et Thaïlande. Les familles sénégalaises ont fait l'objet de nombreuses études épidémiologiques, cliniques, et immunologiques depuis environ 10 ans (Instituts Pasteur de Dakar et de Paris, IRD). Dans ces familles, nous avons mis en évidence l'implication de facteurs génétiques dans plusieurs phénotypes d'intérêt. Nous avons réalisé un criblage du génome (collaboration avec le Centre National de Génotypage, Evry), ainsi qu'une étude plus fine au niveau de certains gènes et régions candidats, afin de localiser et identifier ces facteurs génétiques. Une étude similaire est en cours dans les familles thaïlandaises.

Le virus de la dengue est endémique dans plusieurs pays tropicaux, et en particulier en Asie du Sud-Est, où il est responsable dans 1-2% des cas de formes graves, de type hémorragie ou choc, pouvant entraîner la mort. Notre projet est d'identifier des gènes de prédisposition à ces formes graves, par une approche de type " gènes candidats " dans des populations cas/contrôles pour les formes graves de dengue, qui ont été recrutées en Thaïlande.

Mots-clés: maladies autoimmunes, maladies infectieuses, diabète de type 1, paludisme, dengue, prédisposition génétique, génétique humaine



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Roux, Cécile, (croux@pasteur.fr) Julier, Cécile, INSERM (DR2, cjulier@pasteur.fr)

Sakuntabhai, Anavaj, Institut Pasteur, (chargé de recherche, anavaj@pasteur.fr)

Chayanon Peerapittayamongkol, post-doc, poste vert INSERM

Senée, Valérie, post-doc, bourse FRM

Ndiaye, Rokhaya, étudiante thèse

Ghandil, Pegah, étudiante thèse

Duchatelet, Sabine, étudiante thèse

Kalayanarooj, Sita, étudiante thèse (Thaïlande)

Samadi, Zarah, Institut Pasteur d’Iran, bourse EGIDE

Kirchner, Johanne, étudiante DEA

Casadémont, Isabelle, (Ingénieur de Recherche, Institut Pasteur, igautier@pasteur.fr)

Joffret, Marie-Line, (Ingénieur de Recherche, Institut Pasteur, mjoffret@pasteur.fr)

Blanc, Hervé, (Technicien Supérieur, Institut Pasteur, herveb@pasteur.fr)

Roux, Cécile, (Secrétaire, Institut Pasteur, croux@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr