Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Genomics of Microbial Pathogens


  Director : Frank KUNST, Philippe GLASER (fkunst@pasteur.fr, pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our main research interests are  the study of the diversity and evolution of pathogenic microorganisms in relation to virulence and the study of global gene expression using macro- or microarays. The studied organisms are the pathogenic bacteria Listeria monocytogenes, Listeria ivanovii, Streptococcus agalactiae, Photorhabdus luminescens, and Neisseria meningitidis.



  report

cale

Genome analysis of the genus Listeria (C. Buchrieser, E. Milohanic, C. Rusniok , T. Vallaeys, P . Glaser)

Listeria monocytogenes is a bacterium causing serious food-borne infections (mortality rate of 30 %) The clinical signs of listeriosis are most frequently meningitis, abortion and neonatal infections. The genus Listeria comprises two pathogenic species, L. monocytogenes and L. ivanovii (a bovine pathogen), and four non-pathogenic relatives : L. innocua, L. seeligeri, L. welshimeri et L. grayi. The genome sequence (2.94 megabases) of L. monocytogenes strain EGD-e has been completed by a consortium of 10 laboratories coordinated by P. Glaser and P. Cossart (Institut Pasteur, Unité des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules). We compared this sequence to that of L. innocua whose sequence was determined in our laboratory (P. Glaser et al., 2001. Science, 294: 849-852 ; brevets FR n°0004629 et FR n° 0012697). In order to get insight into the gene flux and the diversity within the genus Listeria we partially sequenced an epidemic strain of L. monocytogenes (serovar 4b) and — in collaboration with the German consortium " Pathogenomics " - we are sequencing the genomes of L. ivanovii and L. grayi. To understand the molecular basis of virulence of L. monocytogenes and certain particularly virulent strains, we extend these genome analyses to a large number of isolates. In collaboration with the Laboratoire de Référence des Listeria (directed by P. Martin), we have constructed macroarrays carrying genes absent in at least one of three Listeria strains (L. monocytogenes EGDe, 4b and L. innocua). The hybridization results obtained for more than one hundred strains of different origin and features showed that it is a diagnostic and strain typing tool allowing distinction of species within the genus Listeria and classification of strains belonging to the species L. monocytogenes in five groups, and several sub-groups. These results allowed us to identify specific markers for each subgroup as well as genes probably involved in virulence.

In collaboration with the Unité des Interactions Bactéries Cellules (directed by P. Cossart) and the Genopole Institut Pasteur we are studying global gene expression of L. monocytogenes using macroarrays. In particular, we have studied the targets of PrfA, a global virulence regulator of L. monocytogenes. The effect of the prfA mutation is more complex than initially expected. PrfA controls directly or indirectly three classes of genes. Analysis of our data led to the following hypotheses: 1) the presence of cellobiose in the culture medium prevents activation of Listeria monocytogenes virulence genes, confirming the results obtained in other laboratories that cellobiose could be considered as a signal indicating non-infectious conditions of growth; 2) PrfA apparently acts as both an activator and a repressor; 3) a relation exists between two regulons in L. monocytogenes, the PrfA and sigma B regulon (Milohanic et al., 2002. Mol. Microbiol., in press).

Genome analysis of Photorhabdus luminescens (E. Duchaud, C. Rusniok, F. Kunst)

Photorhabdus luminescens is a commensal of a nematode and an insect parasite. This bacterium is both a model to study host-parasite interactions, and a potential industrial exploitable bacterium because of its capacity to synthesize numerous toxins (insecticides, bacteriocides and fungicides) and to secrete numerous enzymes. The genome sequence of 5.6 megabases has been determined and has been nearly entirely annotated. In collaboration with the Laboratoire de Pathologie Comparée (INRA, Montpellier) and the company Aventis CropScience we have identified numerous genes encoding toxins. Three patent applications have been deposited (PCT FR n° 0200483 ; FR n° 0204798 et FR n° 0204799). A manuscript describing the analysis of this genome is in preparation.

Genome analysis of Streptococcus agalactiae (M. Zouine, E. Couvé, C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, P. Glaser and F. Kunst)

Streptococcus agalactiae is a causative agent of neonatal infections, including 85 % of meningites of the newborn (<2 months) and 10 % of infants (2 months — one year). In collaboration with the team of P. Trieu Cuot (Faculté de Médecine Necker), we have determined the complete genome sequence of strain NEM316, which caused sepsis in a new-born. This genome has a size of 2.2 Mb and contains 2136 predicted genes. Interestingly, we identified 14 genomic regions resembling pathogenicity islands. Most of the known or putative virulence genes are located on these pathogenicity islands. Therefore the genome organization of S. agalactiae is different from that found in other Streptococci, such as S. pneumoniae or S. pyogenes, but is reminiscent of that found for pathogenic E. coli. Genome analysis also identified a great number of genes coding for surface proteins, which are potentially interesting for the development of a vaccine (Glaser et al. 2002. Mol. Microbiol. 45 : 1499-1513 ; patent PCT FR n° 0201460).

We recently constructed macroarrays containing PCR products representing the complete genome of S. agalactiae NEM316. In collaboration with the team of P. Trieu-Cuot (Faculté de Médecine Necker), these macroarrays are used to study the effects of different culture conditions (pH, oxidative stress, anaerobiosis, growth in the presence of human serum) and different mutations in regulatory genes on global transcription to evaluate the importance of these conditions and these regulatory genes for virulence.

Genome analysis of Neisseria meningitidis (C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, E. Couvé, P. Glaser)

Neisseria meningitidis is the etiological agent of meningitis. Vladimir Pelicic (Faculté de Medecine Necker-Enfants Malades) has constructed a transposon library of 4000 insertion mutants of N. meningitidis 8013 (serogroup C). The transposon insertion sites of 4000 mutants have been characterized by sequencing. We are determining the complete sequence of this strain in collaboration with C. Bouchier (Génopole, Institut Pasteur). The complete genome sequence in combination with the 4000 mutants characterized and positioned on the chromosome will be a powerful tool for identifying virulence genes and for the phenotypic characterization of these genes.

Keywords: genomics, comparative genomics, evolution, arrays, microbial pathogens, virulence, bioinformatics



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  DULIEU Isabelle (idulieu@pasteur.fr)

Luchier Françoise (fluchier@pasteur.fr)

BUCHRIESER Carmen, IP (Chargé de Recherche IP,cbuch@pasteur.fr)

GLASER Philippe, IP (Chef de Laboratoire IP,pglaser@pasteur.fr)

KUNST Frank, CNRS, IP (DR2 CNRS, Chef de Laboratoire IP,fkunst@pasteur.fr)

VALLAEYS Tatiana, INRA (CR1,tvallaey@pasteur.fr)

CAZALET Christel, CNRS (Ph. D. Student)

DUCHAUD Eric, IP (Postdoctoral fellow,educhaud@pasteur.fr)

FEURER Carole, IP (Predoctoral fellow, Master’s degree Univ. Cork, Ireland)

MILOHANIC Eliane, (Postdoctoral fellow,emilohan@pasteur.fr)

ZOUINE Mohamed, IP (Postdoctoral fellow,mzouine@pasteur.fr)

CHETOUANI Farid, IP (Ingénieur,fchetou@pasteur.fr)

COUVÉ Elisabeth, IP (Technician,ecouve@pasteur.fr)

DOUALOT Harry, IP (Laboratory assistant)

RUSNIOK Christophe, IP (Technician,rusniok@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Génomique des Micro-Organismes Pathogènes


  Responsable : Frank KUNST, Philippe GLASER (fkunst@pasteur.fr, pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les recherches menées dans le laboratoire de Génomique des Microorganismes Pathogènes ont pour objectif d'élucider les bases génomiques de l'acquisition de la virulence par des bactéries pathogènes. Dans ce but, nous combinons l'étude de la diversité et de l'évolution des microorganismes pathogènes et l'analyse de l'expression globale des gènes à l'aide de puces à ADN. Nous étudions cinq bactéries pathogènes : Listeria monocytogenes, Listeria ivanovii, Streptococcus agalactiae, Photorhabdus luminescens et Neisseria meningitidis.



  rapport

cale

Analyse génomique du genre Listeria (C. Buchrieser, E. Milohanic, C. Rusniok , T. Vallaeys, P . Glaser)

Listeria monocytogenes est une bactérie responsable d'infections d'origine alimentaire, mortelle dans 30 % des cas, dont les signes cliniques les plus fréquents sont des méningites, des avortements et des infections néonatales. Le genre Listeria comprend deux espèces pathogènes, L. monocytogenes et L. ivanovii (pathogène des ruminants), et quatre non-pathogènes : L. innocua, L. seeligeri, L. welshimeri et L. grayi. La séquence génomique de la souche EGDe de Listeria monocytogenes (2,94 mégabases) a été déterminée entièrement, dans le cadre d'un programme européen coordonné par P. Cossart (Institut Pasteur) et P. Glaser. Nous avons comparé cette séquence à celle de L. innocua déterminée par notre équipe (P. Glaser et al. 2001. Science 294 : 849-852 ; brevets FR n°0004629 et FR n° 0012697). Afin de comprendre les flux de gènes et la diversité au sein du genre Listeria, nous avons partiellement séquencé le génome d'une souche épidémique de L. monocytogenes (sérovar 4b), et - en collaboration avec le consortium allemand " Pathogenomics " - nous séquençons les génomes de L. ivanovii et de L. grayi. Afin de comprendre les bases moléculaires de la virulence de L. monocytogenes et de certaines souches particulièrement virulentes, nous étendons ces analyses génomiques à un grand nombre d'isolats. En collaboration avec le Laboratoire de Référence des Listeria (dirigé par P. Martin), nous avons élaboré des macro-arrays portant les gènes absents dans au moins une des trois souches de Listeria (L. monocytogenes EGDe, 4b et L. innocua). Les résultats d'hybridation obtenus pour plus de cent souches d'origine et de caractéristiques différentes démontrent qu'il s'agit d'un outil de typage et de diagnostic puissant permettant de différencier les espèces du genre Listeria et de subdiviser les souches appartenant à l'espèce L. monocytogenes en cinq groupes, et plusieurs sous-groupes. Ces résultats nous ont permis d'établir des marqueurs spécifiques pour chaque sous-groupe et d'identifier des gènes probablement impliqués dans la virulence.

En collaboration avec l'Unité des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules (dirigée par P. Cossart), nous avons associé à ces études génomiques une étude globale de la transcription au moyen de macroarrays. En particulier, nous avons étudié les cibles du régulateur de virulence PrfA. L'effet de la mutation prfA est plus complexe que nous ne l'avions imaginé. PrfA contrôle directement ou indirectement trois classes de gènes. Ces travaux nous ont conduit à proposer les hypothèses suivantes : 1) les gènes de virulence de Listeria monocytogenes ne sont pas activés en présence du cellobiose dans le milieu de culture, confortant les résultats obtenus dans d'autres laboratoires. La présence de cellobiose pourrait être un signal indiquant des conditions de croissance non-infectieuses; 2) PrfA agit apparemment à la fois comme activateur et répresseur ; 3) chez L. monocytogenes il existe apparemment une relation entre deux régulons, le régulon PrfA et le régulon de stress dépendant de sigma B (Milohanic et al., 2002. Mol. Microbiol., sous presse).

Analyse du génome de Photorhabdus luminescens (E. Duchaud, C. Rusniok, F. Kunst)

Photorhabdus luminescens est une bactérie commensale d'un nématode et un parasite d'insecte. Cette bactérie est à la fois un modèle pour l'étude des interactions hôte-parasite et, potentiellement, une bactérie industrielle en raison de sa capacité à synthétiser de nombreuses toxines (insecticides, bactéricides et fongicides) et à sécréter de nombreuses enzymes. La séquence complète de son génome, long de 5,68 mégabases, a été déterminée et annotée. En collaboration avec le Laboratoire de Pathologie Comparée, dirigée par N. Boemare (INRA, Montpellier), l'Unité de Génétique des Génomes Microbiens, dirigée par A. Danchin (Institut Pasteur), et la société Aventis CropScience nous avons identifié de nombreux gènes codant pour des toxines. Trois demandes de brevet ont été déposées (PCT FR n° 0200483 ; FR n° 0204798 et FR n° 0204799). Un manuscrit décrivant l'analyse de ce génome est en préparation.

Analyse du génomede Streptococcus agalactiae (M. Zouine, E. Couvé, C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, P. Glaser, F. Kunst)

Streptococcus agalactiae est responsable d'infections bactériennes néo-natales, de 85% des méningites du nouveau-né (< 2 mois) et de 10% de celles du nourrisson (2 mois à un an). En collaboration avec l'équipe de P. Trieu Cuot (Faculté de Médecine Necker) nous avons déterminé la séquence complète du génome de la souche NEM316 qui a été responsable d'un cas de septicémie fatale chez un nouveau-né. Ce génome est long de 2,2 mégabases et nous y avons prédit 2136 gènes. Un résultat surprenant de l'analyse de ce génome a été l'identification de 14 régions correspondant à des îlots mobiles. La majorité des gènes de virulence connus ou potentiels se trouvent dans ces régions. Certaines ont donc toutes les caractéristiques d'îlots de pathogénicité. La situation est donc très différente de celle trouvée pour d'autres streptocoques pathogènes, comme S. pneumoniae ou S. pyogenes, et rappelle celle trouvée chez les souches pathogènes d'Escherichia coli. L'analyse de ce génome nous a aussi permis d'identifier un grand nombre de protéines de surface du S. agalactiae, qui sont potentiellement utilisables comme constituants de vaccins (Glaser et al. 2002. Mol. Microbiol. 45 : 1499-1513 ; brevet PCT FR n° 0201460).

Récemment nous avons développé des macro-arrays portants des sondes représentant l'ensemble des gènes de S. agalactiae. En collaboration avec l'équipe de P. Trieu-Cuot (Faculté de Médecine Necker), nous étudions l'effet des conditions de culture en relation avec le processus infectieux (pH, stress oxydatif, anaérobiose, croissance en présence du sérum humain) et de mutations de gènes régulateurs sur la transcription globale afin d'évaluer l'importance de ces conditions et de ces régulateurs pour l'identification de nouveaux gènes de virulence et le développement de vaccins.

Analyse du génome de Neisseria meningitidis (C. Rusniok, C. Buchrieser, E. Couvé, P. Glaser)

Neisseria meningitidis est l'agent responsable de méningites à méningocoques. Vladimir Pelicic (Faculté de Médecine Necker) a construit une collection de 4000 mutants d'insertion de la souche de N. meningitidis 8013 (Sérogroupe C). Son équipe détermine par séquençage les sites d'insertion de ces 4000 transposons. En collaboration avec C. Bouchier (Génopole Institut Pasteur), nous déterminons la séquence complète du génome de cette souche. Nous aurons alors à notre disposition un outil unique comprenant la séquence complète du génome de la souche parentale, et une collection de 4000 souches mutantes caractérisées au niveau moléculaire. L'étape suivante sera la caractérisation phénotypique de ces souches mutantes. Notre équipement en robots facilitera cette analyse.

Mots-clés: génomique, génomique comparative, évolution, arrays, microorganismes pathogènes, virulence



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  DULIEU Isabelle (idulieu@pasteur.fr)

LUCHIER Françoise (fluchier@pasteur.fr)

BUCHRIESER Carmen, IP (Chargé de Recherche IP,cbuch@pasteur.fr)

GLASER Philippe, IP (Chef de Laboratoire IP,pglaser@pasteur.fr)

KUNST Frank, CNRS, IP (DR2 CNRS, Chef de Laboratoire IP,fkunst@pasteur.fr)

VALLAEYS Tatiana, INRA (CR1,vallaeys@pasteur.fr)

CAZALET Christel, CNRS (Étudiante en thèse,ccazalet@pasteur.fr)

DUCHAUD Eric, IP (Chercheur post-doctoral,educhaud@pasteur.fr)

FEURER Carole, IP (Boursière, Master’s degree Univ. Cork, Irlande)

MILOHANIC Eliane (Chercheur post-doctoralemilohan@pasteur.fr)

ZOUINE Mohamed, IP (Chercheur post-doctoral,mzouine@pasteur.fr)

CHETOUANI Farid, IP (Ingénieur)

COUVÉ Elisabeth, IP (Technicienne supérieure,ecouve@pasteur.fr)

DOUALOT Harry, IP (Aide de Laboratoire)

RUSNIOK Christophe, IP (Technicien supérieur,rusniok@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr