Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Morphogenesis Molecular Genetics - CNRS URA 1947


  Director : ROBERT, Benoît (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory is involved in the study of embryonic induction in vertebrate development. The main emphasis is on the role of Msx1 and Msx2 in signal transduction associated to several signalling pathways (BMP, WNT...). These two homeobox genes are prominently expressed in sites of induction and our approach relies on mouse mutants we have produced for both genes. We also analyse the relationship between expression of these genes and cell plasticity, in the prospect of isolating pluripotent somatic stem cells.



  report

cale

The Morphogenesis molecular Genetics Laboratory is involved in the study of ecto-mesodermal induction mechanisms that are implicated in organogenesis, with special emphasis on limb initiation and morphogenesis and on formation of the dorsal midline of the neural tube, in vertebrates. This work relies primarily on the analysis of mice mutant for Msx1 or Msx2 that we produced by homologous recombination.

Function of Msx genes in limb morphogenesis (Yvan Lallemand, Mathilde Maufras, Marie-Anne Nicola).

Msx1 and Msx2 are homeobox genes prominently expressed in regions of induction between ectoderm and mesoderm. Both genes have been inactivated by insertion of an nLacZ reporter gene in the coding sequence, which further permits to monitor gene expression. Msx1 mutants exhibit cranio-facial defects at birth in derivatives of the first branchial arches (maxilla, mandible, tooth buds) which lead to perinatal death; Msx2 mutants are viable and fertile, but their hair follicles are abnormal and they loose hair shortly after birth. Neither mutation affects limb formation. However, the double homozygous mutant exhibits oligodactyly and compound mutants, which retain only one functional allele for either gene, polydactyly. These mutants furthermore show a delay in phalanx ossification and in interdigital webbing regression. All these defects may be correlated with alterations in the BMP4 signalling pathway, which is involved in many steps of limb morphogenesis.

Function of Msx genes in the formation of the dorsal midline of the neural tube (Antoine Bach, Yvan Lallemand, Marie-Anne Nicola).

Msx1 and Msx2, as well as Msx3, are also expressed at the dorsal midline of the neural tube. We have observed that Msx1 mutants suffer from hydrocephalus. Histological analysis shows that the subcommissural organ, an ependymal secretory structure located under the posterior commissure of the brain, is absent in the mutant. Further investigations demonstrated that the whole roof of the diencephalon is affected. In the absence of Msx1, several signalling factors normally expressed in the dorsal midline (BMPs, WNTs, ...) are missing, which leads to the downregulation of genes expressed laterally. Thus, Msx1 seems to be required for the function of the dorsal midline as a signalling centre. Analysis of the early phenotype and of Msx1/Msx2 double mutants shows that these genes are required for the expression of Wnt1, which plays an essential role in cellular proliferation in the dorsal neural tube. Our observations indicate that at this site, Msx genes may be involved in signal transduction between the ectoderm and the neuroectoderm.

Expression of Msx genes as a signature of cell plasticity (Marie-Anne Nicola; in collaboration with Didier Montarras, Unité de Génétique moléculaire du Développement).

At induction sites, Msx genes are expressed in mesenchymal cells that proliferate and differentiate into several histological cell types (bone, tendon, dermis...). Furthermore, they are induced in regeneration blastema in urodele amphibians. Recent work has shown that forced expression into differentiated myotubes leads them to fragmentation and re-entry in cell cycle. These cells can then give rise to derivatives from several lineages. These properties suggest that expression of Msx genes may be associated with a state of cell plasticity characteristic of pluripotent stem cells. Taking advantage of the nLacZ reporter in the Msx1 and Msx2 loci, we have observed expression of these genes in scattered cells in adult mice, especially in blood vessels. Vascular cells in culture do proliferate while retaining Msx gene expression and simultaneously express markers from two distinct lineages, endothelium and smooth muscle.

Keywords: Embryonic induction, Msx, limb, neural tube, intercellular signalling, hydrocephalus



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Demond, Anne (ademond@ pasteur.fr) Robert, Benoît, Institut Pasteur (brobert@pasteur.fr)

Lallemand, Yvan, Institut Pasteur (yvanlal@pasteur.fr)

Bach, Antoine, PhD student from Paris XI University

Maufras, Mathilde, DEA student from Paris VI University

Nicola, Marie-Anne (Engineer Institut Pasteur,manicola@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Génétique Moléculaire de la Morphogénèse - CNRS URA 1947


  Responsable : ROBERT, Benoît (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire étudie les mécanismes de l'induction embryonnaire chez les vertébrés. Nous analysons en particulier le rôle des gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2, qui sont exprimés dans des régions d'induction, dans la transduction de signaux de différentes voies de signalisation (BMP, WNT…), à l'aide de mutants de souris que nous avons produits. Nous analysons également les relations entre l'expression de ces gènes et la plasticité cellulaire, dans la perspective d'isoler des cellules souches somatiques.



  rapport

cale

Le laboratoire de Génétique moléculaire de la Morphogenèse se consacre à l'étude des mécanismes d'induction à l'œuvre dans l'organogenèse, en particulier dans l'émergence et la morphogenèse du membre et dans la formation de la ligne médiane dorsale du tube neural, chez les vertébrés. Ce travail repose en grande partie sur l'analyse de souris mutantes pour les gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2, que nous avons produites par recombinaison homologue.

Rôle des gènes de la famille Msx dans la morphogenèse du membre (Yvan Lallemand, Mathilde Maufras, Marie-Anne Nicola).

Les gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2 sont exprimés essentiellement dans des régions d'induction entre ectoderme et mésoderme. Nous avons inactivé ces deux gènes par insertion du gène rapporteur nlacZ, ce qui permet de suivre leur expression pendant le développement de l'embryon et de mieux cerner les phénotypes mutants. Les mutants de Msx1 présentent à la naissance des défauts des dérivés du premier arc branchial (maxillaire, mandibule, bourgeons dentaires), qui sont létaux ; les mutants de Msx2 sont viables et fertiles, mais leurs follicules pileux sont altérés et ils perdent leur pelage. Ni l'une ni l'autre mutation n'affecte le développement du membre, mais leur combinaison entraîne des oligodactylies chez le double mutant homozygote et des polydactylies chez des mutants composés qui conservent un seul allèle fonctionnel pour l'un des deux gènes. Ces mutants ont par ailleurs des retards dans l'ossification des phalanges et dans la régression des membranes interdigitales. Tous ces défauts peuvent être reliés à des altérations de la voie de signalisation BMP4, qui joue de multiples rôles dans la morphogenèse du membre.

Rôle des gènes de la famille Msx dans la formation de la ligne médiane dorsale du tube neural (Antoine Bach, Yvan Lallemand, Marie-Anne Nicola).

Les gènes Msx1 et Msx2, ainsi que Msx3, sont également exprimés dans la ligne médiane dorsale du tube neural. Nous avons observé une hydrocéphalie chez le mutant de Msx1. L'analyse histologique montre que l'organe sub-commissural, structure épendymaire sécrétrice au niveau de la commissure postérieure du cerveau, est absent chez le mutant. Nos investigations montrent qu'en fait, c'est la totalité du toit du diencéphale qui est affectée. En l'absence de Msx1, plusieurs facteurs de signalisation normalement exprimés dans la ligne médiane dorsale (BMP, WNT,...) manquent, ce qui conduit à la répression de gènes exprimés plus latéralement. MSX1 est donc un facteur essentiel pour le fonctionnement de la ligne médiane du diencéphale comme centre de signalisation. L'analyse des phénotypes précoces et du double mutant Msx1/Msx2 montre que ces gènes sont requis pour l'expression de Wnt1, qui code une fonction essentielle pour la prolifération cellulaire dans les structures dorsales du tube neural. Nos observations indiquent que, à ce site également, les gènes Msx pourraient être impliqués dans la transduction des signaux d'induction entre ectoderme et neurectoderme.

L'expression de Msx comme signature d'un état de plasticité cellulaire (Marie-Anne Nicola; en collaboration avec Didier Montarras, Unité de Génétique moléculaire du Développement).

Aux sites d'induction, les gènes Msx sont exprimés dans des cellules mésenchymateuses qui prolifèrent et peuvent donner naissance à plusieurs lignages cellulaires (os, tendon, derme...). Ils sont également induits dans les blastèmes de régénération chez les amphibiens. Des travaux récents montrent que leur expression forcée dans des myotubes différenciés conduit ceux-ci à se fragmenter, entrer en prolifération et redonner, dans des conditions appropriées, des dérivés de plusieurs lignages. Ces propriétés suggèrent que l'expression de ces gènes peut être liée à un état de plasticité cellulaire caractéristique des cellules souches pluripotentes. Grâce au gène rapporteur nlacZ introduit dans Msx1 et Msx2, nous avons observé l'expression de ces gènes dans des cellules éparses chez la souris adulte, en particulier dans les vaisseaux sanguins. Les cellules vasculaires mises en culture prolifèrent tout en continuant à exprimer Msx et simultanément, des marqueurs de deux lignages distincts, endothélium et muscle lisse.

Mots-clés: Induction embryonnaire, bourgeon de membre, tube neural, signalisation intercellulaire, hydrocéphalie



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Demond, Anne (ademond@ pasteur.fr) Robert, Benoît, Institut Pasteur (Chef de Laboratoire,brobert@pasteur.fr)

Lallemand, Yvan, Institut Pasteur (Chargé de Recherche,yvanlal@pasteur.fr)

Bach, Antoine, Étudiant de thèse, Université de Paris XI

Maufras, Mathilde, Etudiante de DEA, Université Paris VI

Nicola, Marie-Anne (Ingénieur Institut Pasteur,manicola@pasteur.fr)

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr